Helena Coggan - The Orphanage of Gods - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444794762
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2019
  • Hardback £17.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444794748
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2019

The Orphanage of Gods

By Helena Coggan

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Imaginative, thrilling and highly readable fantasy novel from a bright young voice. Perfect for fans of the DIVERGENT series.

A magical, thrilling stand-alone novel from teenage writing sensation Helena Coggan who has been hailed as 'the next J. K. Rowling' (Today Programme, USA)

************

Praise for Helena Coggan's 'The Catalyst'

'This year's Divergent' - Sun

'A phenomenal achievement . . . assured, frightening, action-packed' - Observer

'A pulsing, labyrinthine, emotionally visceral plot' - Metro

Biographical Notes

Helena Coggan wrote the first draft of her debut novel, The Catalyst, when she was thirteen. It was published two years later and was named as one of 2015's Debuts of the Year by the Guardian and Amazon, and featured by The Sunday Times, the Observer, the Daily Mail, the Sun, the Daily Metro, the Sunday Express, Radio 4, NBC, and BBC Breakfast. Up until she started writing it, she spent most of her time waiting for her Hogwarts letter to arrive, or for the Tardis to appear in her garden; she would like to pretend she has stopped doing this now, but doubts she ever will.

She lives in London with her parents and sister, and spends most of her time suppressing the thought that she should probably be doing her homework. This is her third novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444794755
  • Publication date: 10 Jan 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder Paperbacks

Before I Find You

Ali Knight
Authors:
Ali Knight

Hodder & Stoughton

Muse of Nightmares

Laini Taylor
Authors:
Laini Taylor
Hodder & Stoughton

A Spark of Light

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

The Sunday Times bestselling author of Small Great Things returns with a provocative, masterfully written new novel.

Yellow Kite

End the Struggle and Dance With Life

Susan Jeffers
Authors:
Susan Jeffers
Two Roads

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Hodder & Stoughton

Springtime at Wildacre: a gorgeously uplifting, feel-good romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

In the little village of Welford flowers are blooming, the lambing season is underway... and love is in the air.Mandy Hope is on cloud nine. Hope Meadows, the animal rescue and rehabilitation centre she founded, is going really well. And she's growing ever closer to handsome villager Jimmy Marsh. What's more, James Hunter, her best friend, is slowly learning to re-embrace life after facing tragedy.But when an unexpected crisis causes Mandy to lose confidence in her veterinary skills, it's a huge blow. If she can't learn to forgive herself, then her relationship with Jimmy, and the future of Hope Meadows, may be in danger. It'll take friendship, love, community spirit - and one elephant with very bad teeth - to remind Mandy and her fellow villagers that springtime in Yorkshire really is the most glorious time of the year.Hope Meadows is based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Cathy Bramley.**Praise for the Hope Meadows series**'Incredibly lovely' - Rachel's Random Reads'A stunning, emotional, beautiful tale of friendship and love' Books of All Kinds'Just the right amount of nostalgia... wonderful and very poignant' - The World is a Book Blog'Heartwarming and endearing... a gorgeous story filled with hope, joy, sweetness and light combined with the honesty of real life' - Amazon'Full of friendship, community spirit and some heart-breaking moments that will leave you wanting to stay curled up on the sofa until it is complete' - Amazon'Will leave you feeling cosy and uplifted' - Goodreads'An adorable read [with] a real sense of village community' Bookworms and Shutterbugs'Full of charm' Amazon

Sceptre

Claudia

Anthony Trevelyan
Authors:
Anthony Trevelyan

How good are people? Let me tell you, Dee: people are as good as the pair of eyes they believe is on them...When Claudia Talwar is called to meet a mysterious visitor in the reception of her Manchester office block, she can't believe her eyes. It's Samson Glaze, former hippy turned internationally famous entrepreneur, and the fifteen-years-absent father figure of her youth.It doesn't take much for Samson to convince her to help find his son, Reggie Glaze, who's got into a bit of trouble: namely, he's joined a group called Tarantula who wear black armbands and seem obsessed with 'the next world'. Before she knows it, Claudia finds herself swept into a dark adventure of solar power, a hammer wielding assassin, and the end of our world . . .'Trevelyan's prose is wholly readable, with wonderful, concise details that conjure full moments in perfect little capsules' Dublin Inquirer

Hodder & Stoughton

The Man I Think I Know

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERSOON TO BE A MAJOR FILM PRODUCED BY JULIA ROBERTSNothing is as permanent as it appears...Denver, 1962Kitty Miller has come to terms with her unconventional single life. She loves the bookshop she runs with her best friend, Frieda, and enjoys complete control over her day-to-day existence.Then the dreams begin.Denver, 1963Katharyn Andersson is married to Lars, the love of her life. They have beautiful children, an elegant home, and good friends. It's everything Kitty Miller once believed she wanted - but it only exists when she sleeps. Convinced that these dreams are simply due to her overactive imagination, Kitty enjoys her nighttime forays into this alternate world.But with each visit, the more irresistibly real Katharyn's life becomes.Can she choose which life she wants? If so, what is the cost of staying Kitty, or becoming Katharyn?A hauntingly powerful novel that freshly considers the timeless question - 'What if?'

Hodder & Stoughton

The Dark Net

Benjamin Percy
Authors:
Benjamin Percy

'One of the best Stephen King novels not written by the master himself' - New York Times*******************The dark net is an online shadowland for criminals to operate anonymously, but when a demonic force begins to hack the minds of its users there is nowhere left to hide.Twelve-year-old Hannah has been fitted with a high-tech prosthetic that restores her sight, but can't understand why she can now see shadows surrounding certain people.Lela, an emotionally shut-off, technophobic journalist stumbles onto a story nobody wants her to uncover. A story someone will kill to keep hidden.A former evangelist, Mike, suffers demons - figurative and literal - and keeps an arsenal of weapons stored in the basement of the homeless shelter he runs.And Derek, is a hacker who believes himself a soldier, part of a cyber army dedicated to changing the world for the better.With the virus spreading throughout the net and an ancient evil threatening to break lose on the real world, it falls to these strangers to stop the rising darkness. THE DARK NET is a cracked-mirror version of the digital nightmare we already live in, a timely and wildly imaginative techno-thriller about the evil that lurks in real and virtual spaces, and the power of a united few to fight back.

Hodder Paperbacks

Towers in the Mist

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

When Faithful Crocker, an impoverished young man with a love of learning, travels to Oxford in the hope of becoming a scholar, he is offered a home with Canon Leigh and his eccentric family.As Faithful begins to fulfil his academic dream, the Leigh family navigate the tricky waters of first love, uncover shocking secrets and experience devastating loss.A charming tale of hope and love, set amid the dreaming spires of Elizabethan Oxford.

Sceptre

Evening Primrose: a heart-wrenching novel for our times

Kopano Matlwa
Authors:
Kopano Matlwa
Hodder Paperbacks

A City Dreaming

Daniel Polansky
Authors:
Daniel Polansky
John Murray

A History of Running Away

Paula McGrath
Authors:
Paula McGrath

Book of the Year in the Irish Times'A wonderful storyteller' Joseph O'ConnorIn 1982 Jasmine wants to box, but in 1980s Ireland boxing is illegal for girls.In 2012 a gynaecologist agonises about a job offer which would mean escape from the increasingly fraught atmosphere of her Dublin hospital. But what about her mother, stuck in a nursing home?And in Maryland Ali, whose mother has recently died, hooks up with a biker gang to escape from grandparents she didn't know she had.Gradually revealing the unexpected connections between the three women, A History of Running Away is a brilliantly written novel about running away, growing up and finding out who you are.

Sceptre

Spaceman of Bohemia

Jaroslav Kalfar
Authors:
Jaroslav Kalfar
Hodder Paperbacks

The Reaction

Helena Coggan
Authors:
Helena Coggan
Hodder Paperbacks

The Catalyst

Helena Coggan
Authors:
Helena Coggan
Hodder Paperbacks

The Edge of Nowhere

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George
Hodder & Stoughton

The Rosemary Tree

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Michael Stone was once a famous author. That was before he went to prison. Now, recently released, Michael needs a new beginning. Weighed down by failure and despair, the town of Silverbridge seems too offer him a quiet, rural escape from the past. Kind, gentle vicar John Wentworth takes Michael under his wing, and introduces him to his family and friends. At the vicarage, John's inexplicably discontented wife Daphne brings up their daughters. Bedridden Harriet, John's former nanny, deals impatiently with a world to which she cannot actively participate. At the family home, Belmaray, Aunt Maria is burdened by the worry of a failing estate. And at the grim little town school is fiery teacher Mary O'Hara, determined to foster change. A story of courage and community, set in the beautiful Devonshire countryside.

Hodder & Stoughton

Between the Lines

Jodi Picoult, Samantha van Leer
Authors:
Jodi Picoult, Samantha van Leer

An enchanting YA novel from Number One bestselling author Jodi Picoult, co-written with her teenage daughter.Delilah knows it's weird, but she can't stop reading her favourite fairy tale. Other girls her age are dating and cheerleading. But then, other girls are popular.She loves the comfort of the happy ending, and knowing there will be no surprises.Until she gets the biggest surprise of all, when Prince Oliver looks out from the page and speaks to her.Now Delilah must decide: will she do as Oliver asks, and help him to break out of the book? Or is this her chance to escape into happily ever after?Read between the lines for total enchantment . . .