Rebecca Muddiman - Tell Me Lies - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444791662
    • Publication date:10 Mar 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473634497
    • Publication date:10 Mar 2016
Books in this series

Tell Me Lies

By Rebecca Muddiman

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

There's a body in Lauren James's back garden. And everyone is telling lies... A twisty tale of corruption, deceit and deadly consequences from prize-winning northern crime writer Rebecca Muddiman.

What would you do to protect your family?

Tell a lie?
Break the law?
Or solve the problem... for good?

The body in Lauren James's back garden belongs to her ex-boyfriend, Ritchie. DI Gardner thinks it's an open-and-shut case. But he reckoned without the interference of Lauren's father, local businessman and aspiring politician Walter James. And he couldn't know about the secrets that everyone involved wants to hide.

When a murder touches so many lives, not even the cops are immune from the consequences. In the end you must decide what you can live with: a loving lie or the deadly truth?

Biographical Notes

Rebecca Muddiman is from Redcar and has lived there all her life except for time working in Holland where she lived on a canal boat, and in London, where she lived six feet away from Brixton prison. She has a very boring day job, a degree in Film and Media and an MA in Creative Writing. In 2010 she won a Northern Writers' Time to Write Award and the Northern Crime Competition in 2012. She is the author of two previous novels: STOLEN and GONE. She lives with her boyfriend, Stephen, and dog, Cotton, in a semi-detached house which they have christened 'Murder Cottage'.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444791655
  • Publication date: 10 Mar 2016
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
Praise for Rebecca Muddiman — .
Captivating and fast-paced, GONE has a riveting storyline and gritty characters in a super-twisty plot. — Mel Sherratt, author of Taunting the Dead
The strength of the characters maintain the story's pace...we shall hear much more of Ms Muddiman — Daily Mail on GONE
Captivating and fast-paced, GONE has a riveting storyline and gritty characters in a super-twisty plot. — Mel Sherratt
An intriguing and enjoyable read — Mystery People on STOLEN
A compelling page-turner of a crime novel from a talented new author — The Little Reader Library on STOLEN
Gripping...keeps the reader guessing all the way to the very last pages — The Book Bag on STOLEN
Hodder & Stoughton

The Puppet Maker

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay
Hodder & Stoughton

Careless Love

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The new thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series.It is spring, and the semi-preserved body of a young Jewish woman is discovered buried in the Maine woods. It is clear that she gave birth shortly before her death.But there is no sign of a baby.Private detective Charlie Parker is engaged by the lawyer Moxie Castin to shadow the police investigation and find the infant, but Parker is not the only searcher. Someone else is following the trail left by the woman, someone with an interest in more than a missing child, someone prepared to leave bodies in his wake.And in a house by the woods, a toy telephone begins to ring.For a young boy is about to receive a call from a dead woman . . .(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Death in August

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi
Mulholland Books

The Deaths of December

Susi Holliday
Authors:
Susi Holliday

'A cracking read. The perfect Christmas gift for crime fans' C. L. Taylor, author of The Lie'A quirky, cleverly plotted crime story' Sunday Mirror'A festive cracker of a crime novel' Cass Green, author of In a Cottage in a Wood'Dark and satisfying, it is a fine antidote to Christmas cheer' Daily Mail**********************************It looks like a regular advent calendar. Until DC Becky Greene starts opening doors . . . and discovers a crime scene behind almost every one. The police hope it's a prank. Because if it isn't, a murderer has just surfaced - someone who's been killing for twenty years. But why now? And why has he sent it to this police station? As the country relaxes into festive cheer, Greene and DS Eddie Carmine must race against time to catch the killer. Because there are four doors left, and four murders will fill them . . .It's shaping up to be a deadly little Christmas.*******************Goodreads reviewers are raving about this gripping festive thriller!'A deeply twisted, festive murder, thriller, mystery with a good psychological twist to it.''Christmas books are normally romances so I enjoyed The Deaths of December for the anti Christmas twist.''The perfect festive read for those who like to be curled up in front of the fire with the lights down low ready to be thrilled and chilled in equal measure'

Mulholland Books

Cruel Mercy

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

'Effortlessly blends the brutal and the tender, the dark and the light. Aector McAvoy is a true original. So is David Mark.' Mick Herron, author of Dead LionsDS Aector McAvoy's brother-in-law Valentine is missing. In New York City, half the world away.And the two men he travelled with have just been found in an open grave upstate: one dead, one as good as. McAvoy doesn't believe Valentine killed them. He does believe he's in trouble. And so he follows him to New York, determined to find out what happened. But Valentine is in more danger than McAvoy could have imagined. And McAvoy's walking into it right after him: into the darkness of murder, revenge, and a forty-year-old crime...

Hodder & Stoughton

Did You See Melody?

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

'Outstandingly brilliant' Clare MackintoshDid she really see Melody?The stunning new pageturner from the Queen of Psychological Suspense. Pushed to breaking point, Cara Burrows abandons her home and family and escapes to a five-star spa resort she can't afford. Late at night, exhausted and desperate, she lets herself into her hotel room and is shocked to find it already occupied - by a man and a teenage girl.A simple mistake on the part of the hotel receptionist - but Cara's fear intensifies when she works out that the girl she saw alive and well in the hotel room is someone she can't possibly have seen: the most famous murder victim in the country, Melody Chapa, whose parents are serving life sentences for her murder.Cara doesn't know what to trust: everything she's read and heard about the case, or the evidence of her own eyes. Did she really see Melody? And is she prepared to ask herself that question and answer it honestly if it means risking her own life?What people are saying about DID YOU SEE MELODY?'I was hooked!...there was a cracking ending!' GoodReads reviewer'Really good reading that moved at a fast pace and kept me engaged throughout. Highly recommended.' GoodReads reviewer'Oh superb. Excellent. All the other expletives. Ms Hannah still showing us how twisting a plot is done properly.' GoodReads reviewer

Hodder Paperbacks

When the Music's Over

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Mulholland Books

The Last Cut

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay
Mulholland Books

You Will Pay

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

Souls of Air

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft

Linköping's top detective, Malin Fors, is about to take on a case that's a little too close for comfort. Her daughter has just discovered a dead body. It is that of a 79-year-old resident at the nursing home where she works. He's been hanged by his own alarm cord. At first it looks like a straightforward suicide. But when the autopsy suggests foul play, Malin uncovers some disturbing rumours about the home's management and its millionaire owner. Was it a mercy killing, or was someone trying to silence the victim?Who could possibly benefit from the death of an elderly man? Only someone with a lot to gain - or a lot to lose...(P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder Paperbacks

The Graveyard of the Hesperides

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder Paperbacks

The Nine Tailors

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

A Death at Fountains Abbey

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson
Mulholland Books

Dead Pretty

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

The fifth novel in the DS McAvoy series by bestselling author David Mark, perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Peter Robinson.Hannah Kelly has been missing for nine months. Ava Delaney has been dead for five days. One girl to find. One girl to avenge. And DS Aector McAvoy won't let either of them go until justice can be done. But some people have their own ideas of what justice means...DEAD PRETTY is the stunning new novel from one of Britain's most original crime writers.

Mulholland Books

The Winter Foundlings

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes
Hodder & Stoughton

In the Teeth of the Evidence

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

All that was left of the garage was a heap of charred and smouldering beams. In the driving seat of the burnt-out car were the remains of a body . . . An accident, said the police. An accident, said the widow. She had been warning her husband about the danger of the car for months.Murder, said the famous detective Lord Peter Wimsey - and proceeded to track down the killer.'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail' P. D. James(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Mulholland Books

Gone

Rebecca Muddiman
Authors:
Rebecca Muddiman
Mulholland Books

Blood Reckoning

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay

A brutal killer is on the loose in this page-turning DI Jack Brady investigation. Fans of Peter James and Tania Carver will love this gripping serial killer thriller.'A powerful and intelligent thriller from a must-read writer' David Mark on BLIND ALLEYIn the 1970s, a terrifying serial killer stalked the streets of Tynemouth. The press called him the Joker. The crimes stopped - but the man was never caught. And now he's back. A body has been found in a sleazy motel room, murdered in exactly the same way as the Joker's first victims. Is it a copycat? A trick? Or is the Joker at work once more? It's only DI Jack Brady's first day back - and this will be his most twisted case yet. As Brady digs into both the old murders and the new, he must confront revenge, betrayal, love and lies...and a truly ruthless killer.

Mulholland Books

Blind Alley

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay

The third Jack Brady case - a gritty murder mystery perfect for fans of Peter James and Tania Carver.'A powerful and intelligent thriller from a must-read writer' David MarkThree brutal attacks. One near-fatal beating. And a deadly score to settle. DI Jack Brady is riding high after the successful outcome of his previous case, but his world is about to come crashing down.There's a serial rapist plaguing the streets of Whitley Bay. Three young women have been horribly abused, and his boss and the press are screaming for answers. Everything seems to point to his old friend and foe, gangster Martin Madley, though Brady still struggles to believe he's capable of such acts. With time running out before the villain strikes again, Brady must follow every scrap of evidence. But there are forces at work he knows nothing about, and his persistence is leading both him and those close to him ever further into danger...