Kate Rhodes - Blood Symmetry - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444785630
    • Publication date:06 Apr 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444785623
    • Publication date:14 Jul 2016

Blood Symmetry

Alice Quentin 5

By Kate Rhodes

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

Getting inside the mind of a killer isn't for the faint of heart... A woman and her son are abducted; the boy escapes; the woman vanishes. Alice must unlock the child's memories and understand why the killers are obsessed with blood.

Clare Riordan and her son Mikey are abducted from Clapham Common early one morning. Hours later, the boy is found wandering disorientated. Soon after, a pack of Clare's blood is left on a doorstep in the heart of the City of London.

Alice Quentin is brought in to help the traumatised child uncover his memories - which might lead them to his mother's captors. But she swiftly realises Clare is not the first victim... nor will she be the last.

The killers are driven by a desire for revenge... and in the end, it will all come down to blood.

Biographical Notes

Kate Rhodes was born in London. She has worked as a teacher and university lecturer, and now writes full-time.

Kate began her writing career as a poet, publishing two prizewinning collections. She has held a Hawthornden fellowship and been shortlisted for Forward and Bridport Prizes. She has written five novels in the Alice Quentin series, CROSSBONES YARD, A KILLING OF ANGELS, THE WINTER FOUNDLINGS, RIVER OF SOULS and BLOOD SYMMETRY, the first of which was selected by Val McDermid for the Harrogate Crime festival's New Blood panel championing new crime writers. In 2014 Kate Rhodes won the Ruth Rendell Short Story Award, sponsored by the charity InterAct.

Visit her website at http://katerhodes.org or follow her on Twitter @K_RhodesWriter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444785616
  • Publication date: 14 Jul 2016
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
Fast paced and harrowing, this gripping novel will leave you guessing until the end — Bella
An original and exciting story made all the more disturbing by the fact that the underlying premise is based on real events. An excellent read. — Rachel Abbott
Atmospheric and suspenseful — The Lady
Excellent...based on a true, fascinating and shocking story — Literary Review
The plot has more twists and turns than the path of the legendary river and flows along just as swiftly. We couldn't put it down! — Best Magazine
Praise for Kate Rhodes — .
Rhodes goes from strength to strength with this acute reminder of how bureaucratic neglect produced mass tragedy. A fast-paced, riveting read. — Alex Marwood
The pace never lets up in Kate Rhodes' latest thriller - and neither does the blood! A fast and at times gruesome read made doubly compelling for having its basis in fact. — Tamar Cohen
Great twists, turns and surprises — Sun
Alice is a vividly realised protagonist whose complex and harrowing history rivals the central crime storyline — Sophie Hannah, Daily Express
A pacy psychological thriller that makes good use of its London setting — Laura Wilson, Guardian
A fast-moving, entertaining mix of sex, suspense and serial killings — Washington Post
Hodder & Stoughton

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi
Hodder & Stoughton

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George
Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David
Mulholland Books

Green Sun

Kent Anderson
Authors:
Kent Anderson

Before Hanson arrived in Oakland, he had already seen some of the worst of humanity on a tour of duty in Vietnam and a stint in the Portland, Oregon police department. And then he moves to California to join the under-funded, understaffed Oakland police force. Unlike nearly all of his fellow officers, Hanson deliberately chooses to live in the precinct that he patrols; he takes seriously his duty to serve and protect the black community--his neighbors--in East Oakland. Hanson befriends a neighborhood boy, embarks on a romantic relationship, and tries to remain in a notorious drug dealer's good graces, all while struggling to stay a good cop despite the forces of hate and violence threatening him from all sides. GREEN SUN is bracingly relevant to both the political and cultural moment we're currently living in: Hanson is a white cop who meets black civilians not as antagonists, but as allies against his becoming the type of cop that he hates most.

Sceptre

The Last of the Greenwoods

Clare Morrall
Authors:
Clare Morrall
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin

The Wicked Cometh will take readers on a heart-racing journey through backstreets swathed with fog to richly curtained, brightly lit country houses; from the libraries and colleges of gentlemen, to sawdust-strewn gin palaces where ne'er-do-wells drink and scheme, all told through the eyes of a heroine with nothing to lose. The year is 1831. Down the murky alleyways of London, acts of unspeakable wickedness are taking place and no one is willing to speak out on behalf of the city's vulnerable poor as they disappear from the streets.Out of these shadows comes Hester White, a bright young woman who is desperate to escape the slums by any means possible.When Hester is thrust into the world of the aristocratic Brock family, she leaps at the chance to improve her station in life under the tutelage of the fiercely intelligent and mysterious Rebekah Brock. But whispers from her past slowly begin to poison her new life and both she and Rebekah are lured into the most sinister of investigations.Hester and Rebekah find themselves crossing every boundary they've ever known in pursuit of truth, redemption and passion. But their trust in each other will be tested as a web of deceit begins to unspool, dragging them into the blackest heart of a city where something more depraved than either of them could ever imagine is lurking . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Iron Gold

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown
Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis

A girl missingA woman, searchingA killer, planning...A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter. FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.She knows how it feels to be lost...Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly. With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa's skin. Everything she has buried - her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death - threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself...and return to the darkness she's been hiding from for years.

Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King
Mulholland Books

The Zealot's Bones

D.M. Mark
Authors:
D.M. Mark
Hodder Paperbacks

The Roanoke Girls: the addictive Richard & Judy Book Club thriller 2017

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
Coronet

Warlord

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Two Roads

Can you hear me?

Elena Varvello
Authors:
Elena Varvello

'Utterly gripped me from beginning to end' Victoria Hislop'Move over Ferrante, there's a new Elena in town' Independent'There is much beauty and sadness in this slim novel' The TimesIn the August of 1978, the summer I met Anna Trabuio, my father took a girl into the woods...I was sixteen.He had been gone a long time already, but that was it - not even a year after he lost his job and that boy disappeared - that was when everything broke.1978. Ponte, a small community in Northern Italy. An unbearably hot summer like many others.Elia Furenti is sixteen, living an unremarkable life of moderate unhappiness, until the day the beautiful, damaged Anna returns to Ponte and firmly propels Elia to the edge of adulthood. But then everything starts to unravel.Elia's father, Ettore, is let go from his job and loses himself in the darkest corners of his mind.A young boy is murdered.And a girl climbs into a van and vanishes in the deep, dark woods...Translated by Alex Valente | Winner of an English PEN Award

Sceptre

Outskirts

John Grindrod
Authors:
John Grindrod
Mulholland Books

What Goes Around

Julie Corbin
Authors:
Julie Corbin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

Flavia Albia's day-old marriage is in trouble - her new husband may be permanently disabled and they have no funds. So when Palace officials ask her to help expose a plotter in their midst she is obliged to accept their commission. The plot could not be bigger. Ever since he died in AD 68, apparently by his own hand, Rome has been haunted by reports that the Emperor Nero is in fact very much alive and about to return to claim his throne. Two Nero pretenders have emerged in the East and met grisly fates. But now, as the Emperor Domitian, whose tyrannical, paranoid reign grows ever more unpopular, fights a war in faraway Dacia, there emerges a far more sinister contender. What's more the rumour is that this false Nero is already in Rome. Plunged into the conspiracy, Flavia must infiltrate the house of the Parthians who have smuggled in this new impostor, negotiate with spies, dodge the assassins sent by the Palace traitor, and somehow cope with her stricken husband.Can she succeed before the impostor is revealed? Or will Rome once more be plunged into civil war?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Most Dangerous Place on Earth: An 'astonishing debut novel'

Lindsey Lee Johnson
Authors:
Lindsey Lee Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

Sting

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Mulholland Books

The Alice Quentin Collection 1-3

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes
Hodder & Stoughton

The Vanished Man

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

A killer flees the scene of a homicide at a prestigious Manhattan music school and locks himself in a classroom. Within minutes, the police have him surrounded. Then a scream rings out, followed by a gunshot. The police break down the door. The room is empty.Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs are brought in to investigate. For the ambitious Sachs, solving the case could earn her a promotion. For the quadriplegic Rhyme, it means relying on his protégé to ferret out a master illusionist they've dubbed the conjurer, who baits them with murders that become more diabolical with each crime.As the fatalities rise and the minutes tick down, the pair must move beyond the smoke and mirrors to prevent a terrifying act of vengeance that could become the greatest vanishing act of all.(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton