Julian Stockwin - Tyger - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444785425
    • Publication date:05 May 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444785456
    • Publication date:08 Oct 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473619098
    • Publication date:08 Oct 2015

Tyger

Thomas Kydd 16

By Julian Stockwin

  • Hardback
  • £18.99

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brien, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail: Tyger is the sixteenth novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Captain Kydd series.

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story - 'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' Guardian

The greatest naval trial in the Georgian period is underway at Portsmouth with the court martial of Sir Home Popham, Captain Sir Thomas Kydd's commanding officer in the doomed occupation of Buenos Aires. Kydd has some sympathy for Popham's unauthorised action but his support for his former commander leaves him athwart some very influential people in the Admiralty.

With his frigate L'Aurore unfit for sea, Kydd is given a commission that some hope will destroy his career. Tyger has recently mutinied but instead of having her company dispersed around the fleet as is customary, the ship is pressed into immediate service in the North Sea. Kydd faces a crew still under some malign influence.

Enemies aboard and on the high seas are just the start of the problem. Soon he will have to take his untested and untrustworthy crew into the Baltic and there they will get entangled with Napoleon's invasion of Prussia. The stakes are desperate, the task seemingly impossible and the French implacable. But the only way for Kydd to avoid disgrace is to gamble his reputation and crew on a crazy mission to snatch a Prussian division out of the jaws of Napoleon's advancing army. Will he return home once more a hero, or himself face a court martial?

Biographical Notes

Julian Stockwin was sent at the age of fourteen to the TS Indefatigable, a tough sea-training school. He joined the Royal Navy at fifteen before transferring to the Royal Australian Navy, where he served for eight years in the Far East, Antarctic waters and the South Seas. He was awarded the MBE and retired with the rank of Lieutenant Commander. He now lives in Devon with his wife Kathy.

Tyger is the sixteenth book in the Kydd series. Julian has also written one work of non-fiction, Stockwin's Maritime Miscellany, and a standalone historical novel, The Silk Tree. More information can be found on his website at www.julianstockwin.com or by following Julian on Twitter: @julianstockwin

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444785432
  • Publication date: 08 Oct 2015
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book. — Historical Naval Society on The Admiral's Daughter
Stockwin's writing is enriched by his own experiences in the Royal Navy, whcih gives scenes of fighting and tempest an authenticity to delight anyone who shares his passion for the sea. — Daily Telegraph
Paints a vivid picture of life aborad the mighty ship-of-the-line — Daily Express
'More historically accurate than the Patrick O'Brian series' — Royal Navy Sailing Association journal on the KYDD series
'This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail.' — Nautical Magazine on VICTORY