Julian Stockwin - Tyger - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444785432
    • Publication date:08 Oct 2015
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444785456
    • Publication date:08 Oct 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473619098
    • Publication date:08 Oct 2015

Tyger

Thomas Kydd 16

By Julian Stockwin

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brien, Bernard Cornwall, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail: Tyger is the sixteenth novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Captain Kydd series.

'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian

Captain Sir Thomas Kydd's part in Britain's doomed occupation of Buenos Aires has put him on the wrong side of some powerful men at the Admiralty. He is given a poisoned commission that some hope will destroy his career: a recently mutinied ship.

But enemies aboard and on the high seas are just the start of the problem. Soon he will have to take his untested and untrustworthy crew into the Baltic where they will get entangled with Napoleon's invasion of Prussia. With the stakes desperate, the task seemingly impossible and the French implacable, Kydd could return home once more a hero - or find himself facing a court martial.

**************

What readers are saying about TYGER

'A delightful seafaring story' - 5 stars

'TYGER is ablaze with brilliant, inventive and authentic storytelling . . . Stockwin's best' - 5 stars

'My favourite of the series' - 5 stars

'Julian Stockwin - long may you continue writing!' - 5 stars

'Another top-notch story' - 5 stars

Biographical Notes

Julian Stockwin was sent at the age of fourteen to Indefatigable, a tough sea-training school. He joined the Royal Navy at fifteen before transferring to the Royal Australian Navy, where he served for eight years in the Far East, Antarctic waters and the South Seas. In Vietnam he saw active service in a carrier task force.

After leaving the Navy (rated Petty Officer), Julian practised as an educational psychologist. He lived for some time in Hong Kong, where he was commissioned into the Royal Naval Reserve. He was awarded the MBE and retired with the rank of Lieutenant Commander. He now lives in Devon with his wife Kathy. More information can be found on his website at www.JulianStockwin.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444785425
  • Publication date: 05 May 2016
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book. — Historical Naval Society on The Admiral's Daughter
Stockwin's writing is enriched by his own experiences in the Royal Navy, whcih gives scenes of fighting and tempest an authenticity to delight anyone who shares his passion for the sea. — Daily Telegraph
Paints a vivid picture of life aborad the mighty ship-of-the-line — Daily Express
'More historically accurate than the Patrick O'Brian series' — Royal Navy Sailing Association journal on the KYDD series
'This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail.' — Nautical Magazine on VICTORY