Kevin Powers - Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444780826
    • Publication date:03 Apr 2014

Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting

By Kevin Powers

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

The acclaimed author of THE YELLOW BIRDS returns with an extraordinary debut poetry collection.

Shortlisted for the 2014 TS Eliot Prize
Shortlisted for the 2014 Forward Prize for Best First Collection
Poetry Book Society Choice

In this remarkable debut poetry collection, National Book Award finalist and Iraq war veteran Kevin Powers creates a startling, affecting portrait of a life shaped by war. LETTER COMPOSED DURING A LULL IN THE FIGHTING captures the many moments that comprise a soldier's life: driving down the Texas highway; waiting for the unknown in the dry Iraq heat; writing a love letter; listening to a mother recount her dreams. Written with honesty and insight, these poems strive to make sense of war and its echoes through human experience.

Just as THE YELLOW BIRDS was hailed as the 'first literary masterpiece produced by the Iraq war,' (Los Angeles Times) this collection will prove to be a powerful, enduring classic.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444780819
  • Publication date: 03 Apr 2014
  • Page count: 112
  • Imprint: Sceptre
Like the best war poets, Kevin Powers' real subject is not the battle for land or governance, but the battle for one man's soul. In dramatising that inner conflict, he achieves a poetry both urgent and universal. — Michael Symmons Roberts, winner of the 2013 Forward and Costa prizes
Extraordinary...Brilliantly observed and deeply affecting. — Michiko Kakutani, New York Times on THE YELLOW BIRDS
Powers is a poet first, so THE YELLOW BIRDS is spare, incredibly precise, unimproveable. — Dave Eggers, Observer
Kevin Powers has produced a masterpiece of war literature and a classic. — Hilary Mantel, Times, on THE YELLOW BIRDS
There is a plain-speaking, backyard tone to these poems, its ancestry stretching all the way back to such writers as Fenimore Cooper and Washington Irving... it is probably advisable to dip into this piecemeal rather than attempt to absorb its brutal richesse in one sitting... To paraphrase Samuel Johnson, perhaps every poet should think meanly of himself for not producing a debut collection quite as powerful as this one. — Sunday Express
A powerful and very affecting collection. — Poetry London
Sceptre

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Pitchaya Sudbantha
Authors:
Pitchaya Sudbantha
Sceptre

When All Is Said

Anne Griffin
Authors:
Anne Griffin

Maurice Hannigan, a successful eighty-four-year-old Irish farmer, sits alone at the bar of the Rainsford House Hotel in County Meath, on the east coast of Ireland, talking in his head to his son who lives in New Jersey. Over the course of the evening he has five drinks, raises five toasts and tells us five memories: one for each person who has meant the most to him over the course of his lifetime. But this is no ordinary night. When all the toasts are done, when all the ghosts are laid to rest, Maurice's final drink will be his last. Offering a glimpse at the life of a flawed man who has trusted few but loved deeply, When All is Said is a heart breaking love story with a beautifully crafted structure.

Hodder & Stoughton

This Bed Thy Centre

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Unspeakable Skipton

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Delve into the sparkling and satirical world of Pamela Hansford Johnson with this wickedly funny tragicomedy about an expatriate and destitute English author living in Bruges. 'Very funny' Independent'Witty, satirical and deftly malicious' Anthony BurgessLiving in near destitution in Bruges, once successful British author Skipton is skulking in a café when he spies a group of well to do countrymen on holiday. Surviving on payments from his long-suffering publishers for novels he has no intention of delivering, and money from an elderly aunt, he spies an opportunity to swindle the tourists. But when an Italian aristocrat arrives, Skipton recognises an opportunity to earn even more, and conspires with a Flemish antique dealer to sell him a convincing fake. But will the conman himself be conned?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Resort

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Delve into the witty and wonderful world of Barbara Pym, in this tale of love, guilt and secrecy, perfect for fans of Barbara Pym and Elizabeth Jane Howard.'Very funny' IndependentWriter Christine Hall's own loving relationships and empathetic intelligence make her the perfect confidante for a group of friends: architect Eric Aveling - whose wife Lois is dying, Junius Evans, Aveling's flamboyant business partner, and, above all, eccentric, impulsive Celia Baird. When death forces a realignment of relationships within the group even the perceptive Christine is not prepared for the final outcome. Moving between London and a south coast seaside town, The Last Resort is a sensitive and vividly human exploration of the hidden side of marriage, where dark undercurrents of duty, guilt, secrecy and loneliness can all play a part in deviating the course of love and influencing the choices that life thrusts upon us.'Remarkable' Olivia Laing, Guardian'Miss Johnson is one of the most accomplished women writers' Kirkus

Hodder & Stoughton

The Red Ribbon

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Sceptre

A Shout in the Ruins

Kevin Powers
Authors:
Kevin Powers

Following his hugely celebrated debut novel, The Yellow Birds, Kevin Powers returns to the battlefield and its aftermath, this time in his native Virginia, just before and during the Civil War and ninety years later. The novel pinpoints with unerring emotional depth the nature of random violence, the necessity of love and compassion, and the fragility and preciousness of life. It will endure as a stunning novel about what we leave behind, what a life is worth, what is said and unsaid, and the fact that ultimately what will survive of us is love.

John Murray

A History of Running Away

Paula McGrath
Authors:
Paula McGrath
Coronet

Warlord

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder & Stoughton

Rise Like Lions

Ben Okri
Authors:
Ben Okri
Hodder Paperbacks

2020

Paul Cornish, Kingsley Donaldson
Authors:
Paul Cornish, Kingsley Donaldson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell

'A modern-day The Help' - Emerald Street'It's a book to read and then read again.' The Book Bag'I loved The Maid's Room with its exquisite writing, married with a shocking and powerful story line that had me gripped and moved until the uplifting conclusion.' Katie Marsh, author of A Life Without You and This Beautiful Life'A beautifully written and deeply moving novel . . . crafted with a mixture of grim detail, dark humour and poignancy, at times it's hard to believe that this book is a work of fiction. Genuinely excellent. *****' Heat******'This is where she sleeps. A cupboard. A bedroom. A windowless box.'Sisters Dolly and Tala have never felt further from home. In the blistering heat of Singapore, they spend their days enabling ex-pats to have lives they could never afford for themselves.Even though she has little freedom, Dolly can just about live with her job if it means she's able to support her beloved young daughter back in the Philippines. One day - if she's lucky - Dolly may even be able to go back and see her.Tala, however, just can't keep her mouth shut about the restrictive, archaic rules maids are forced to abide by on pain of deportation. She risks everything to help her fellow maids, who have struggled to have their voices heard for far too long.In a world where domestic workers are treated so poorly, The Maid's Room explores how women can come together to change each other's lives, and be the architects of their own futures.

Hodder & Stoughton

Stryker 7

Michael Arnold
Authors:
Michael Arnold
Sceptre

The Brittle Star

Davina Langdale
Authors:
Davina Langdale
John Murray

Four Princes

John Julius Norwich
Authors:
John Julius Norwich
Coronet

Bad Soldier

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

'first rate set operational pieces' - Sunday TimesA migrant boat battles through the rough Mediterranean. Its passengers are desperate, starving and scared.They are also being ruthlessly targeted by the SAS.Islamic State militants are smuggling themselves into Europe using these boats. Only by locating such men before they make it into the UK can the Regiment stop them committing their acts of terror on British soil.When one of these migrants reveals plans for a sickening Christmas Day atrocity in London, SAS operative Danny Black is tasked with infiltrating the most dangerous theatre of war in the world: Islamic State heartland. There, he and his team must lift a brutal IS commander - the only man who knows all the details of the London attack. The commander surrounds himself with vicious militants and a harem of sex slaves whom he treats in the most sadistic ways imaginable. And his jihadi wife is, if possible, even more abominable than him.As Danny pits himself against the violent thugs of the Islamic State, he learns that it is not just the UK that is under threat. His very presence on the mission has put at risk the safety of those closest to him. And he discovers that there are greater forces at work here, who do not care if the innocent live or die.Now there is nothing Danny will not do, no line he will not cross, to protect his family. Whether that makes him a good soldier or a bad soldier he neither knows nor cares. Because as he is fast learning, it is sometimes impossible to tell the difference between the two.And as every SAS soldier is trained to understand, the worst threats often come from the most unexpected places...

Coronet

Night of Sorrows

Graham Hancock
Authors:
Graham Hancock
Hodder & Stoughton

Mariner

Malcolm Guite
Authors:
Malcolm Guite
Hodder & Stoughton

Altar of Blood: Empire IX

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches