Max Barry - Lexicon - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444764659
    • Publication date:20 Jun 2013
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444764673
    • Publication date:20 Jun 2013

Lexicon

By Max Barry
Read by Heather Corrigan and Zach Appelman

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Words are weapons, and one man is immune, in this dazzlingly original thriller from the author of Jennifer Government.

Sticks and stones break bones.
Words kill.

They recruited Emily from the streets. They said it was because she's good with words.

They'll live to regret it.

Wil survived something he shouldn't have. But he doesn't remember it.

Now they're after him and he doesn't know why.

There's a word, they say. It shouldn't have got out. But it did.

And they want it back...

Find out why in one of the most mind-bending, page-turning, thrilling novels you'll ever read.


Winner of the Aurealis Award for Science-Fiction and GoodReads finalist in the SF category.

(P)2013 Penguin Audiobooks US

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444779561
  • Publication date: 20 Jun 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
Hodder & Stoughton

Providence

Max Barry
Authors:
Max Barry
Hodder Paperbacks

This is Gomorrah

Tom Chatfield
Authors:
Tom Chatfield
Hodder & Stoughton

The Runner

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

Hodder & Stoughton

Haven't They Grown

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

The new standalone from the 'Queen of psychological suspense' - with a disturbingly impossible situation. '[One] of the great unmissables of the genre - intelligent, classy and with a wonderfully gothic imagination' The Times*********All Beth has to do is drive her son to his Under-14s away match, watch him play, and bring him home.Just because she knows her ex-best friend lives near the football ground, that doesn't mean she has to drive past her house and try to catch a glimpse of her.Why would Beth do that, and risk dredging up painful memories? She hasn't seen Flora for twelve years. She doesn't want to see her today, or ever again.But she can't resist.She parks outside the open gates of Newnham House, watches from across the road as Flora and her children Thomas and Emily step out of the car. Except...There's something terribly wrong. Flora looks the same, only older. As Beth would have expected.It's the children. There's something wrong with the children. Twelve years ago, Thomas and Emily were five and three years old. Today, they look precisely as they did then. They are still five and three. They are Thomas and Emily without a doubt - Hilary hears Flora call them by their names - but they haven't changed at all. They are no taller, no older... Why haven't they grown?

Mulholland Books

In Her Eyes

Sarah Alderson
Authors:
Sarah Alderson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Institute

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

Combining the suspense of THE OUTSIDER with the childhood camaraderie in IT, THE INSTITUTE is a powerful new novel from Stephen King which is destined to become the No. 1 blockbuster of Autumn 2019.Deep in the woods of Maine, there is a dark state facility where kids, abducted from across the United States, are incarcerated. In the Institute they are subjected to a series of tests and procedures meant to combine their exceptional gifts - telepathy, telekinesis - for concentrated effect. Luke Ellis is the latest recruit. He's just a regular 12-year-old, except he's not just smart, he's super-smart. And he has another gift which the Institute wants to use...Far away in a small town in South Carolina, former cop Tim Jamieson has taken a job working for the local Sherriff. He's basically just walking the beat. But he's about to take on the biggest case of his career.Back in the Institute's downtrodden playground and corridors where posters advertise 'just another day in paradise', Luke, his friend Kalisha and the other kids are in no doubt that they are prisoners, not guests. And there is no hope of escape.But great events can turn on small hinges and Luke is about to team up with a new, even younger recruit, Avery Dixon, whose ability to read minds is off the scale. While the Institute may want to harness their powers for covert ends, the combined intelligence of Luke and Avery is beyond anything that even those who run the experiments - even the infamous Mrs Sigsby - suspect.Thrilling, suspenseful, heartbreaking, THE INSTITUTE is a stunning novel of childhood betrayed and hope regained.(P)2019 Simon & Schuster Audio

Coronet

Earwig

Brian Catling
Authors:
Brian Catling
Coronet

Black Ops

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

A series of gruesome killings take place in Dubai, Ghana and America. The victims are all connected with the SAS. In Hereford Danny Black realises they have something more specific in common - they were all involved in training a young Muslim soldier, Ibrahim Khan.Khan has been working under cover in Islamic State in a mission organised by MI6. Danny Black sets out to track him down with the help of Khan's MI6 handler on a trail that leads him to a library of ancient manuscripts in Damascus, the Syrian desert and finally back in the Brecon Beacons. There Danny discovers that he has finally met his match, his deadliest enemy - and it is the last person he ever expected.

Hodder & Stoughton

What You Pay For

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew

DI Birch joined the police to find her little brother, who walked out of his life one day and was never seen again. She stayed to help others, determined to seek justice where she could.On the fourteenth anniversary of Charlie's disappearance, Birch takes part in a raid on one of Scotland's most feared criminal organisations. It's a good day's work - a chance to get a dangerous man off the streets. Two days later, Charlie comes back. It's not a coincidence. When Birch finds out exactly what he's been doing all those years, she faces a terrible choice: save the case, or save her brother. But how can you do the right thing when all the consequences are bad? As she interrogates Charlie, he tells his story: of how one wrong turn leads to a world in which the normal rules no longer apply, and you do what you must to survive.From one of the most acclaimed new voices in crime fiction, What You Pay For is a brilliantly tense and moving novel about the terrible disruption caused by violence and the lines people will cross to protect those they love.

Mulholland Books

The Art of Dying

Douglas Lindsay
Authors:
Douglas Lindsay

DI WESTPHALL.No ordinary detective.No ordinary investigations.A twisting new crime series set in the Scottish Highlands. For fans of James Oswald and John Connolly.'Douglas Lindsay is an underrated writer with an eccentric, blisteringly satirical voice . . . enjoyably bizarre. I loved it' Sunday Express When businessman Thomas Peterson is killed outside a football ground in the Highlands, there are several witnesses. Yet the hunt for the killer is proving as futile as the search for a motive.Possible connections to Russian money and an eerie retirement home are soon thrown into the mix. To further complicate things, DI Westphall's MI6 past is coming back to haunt him. Guilt stalks his dreams, but could there be a message in these nightmares?Westphall is in danger of losing his head just when he needs it the most. He must find answers, and fast, before the murderer strikes again.Praise for the DI Westphall series'Richly atmospheric . . . Lindsay solidifies his place as one of the rising stars of tartan noir' Publishers Weekly'The Boy in the Well is a dark and satisfying mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the company of DI Ben Westphall, a compelling personality . . . This one comes thoroughly recommended' James OswaldA darkly atmospheric thriller with a labyrinthine plot with more twists than a Grand Prix track. (Michael Wood, author of the DCI Matilda Darke series)A really addictive plot, and so atmospheric. Clever and unexpected (S D Sykes, author of the Oswald de Lacy series)'A Tartan Noir tour de force. Lindsay writes with an economy and skill all too rare in modern fiction . . . Brilliant' Tony Black, author of the DI Bob Valentine series

Hodder & Stoughton

If She Wakes

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta
Hodder & Stoughton

Don't Say a Word

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly
Two Roads

A Single Source

Peter Hanington
Authors:
Peter Hanington
Hodder Paperbacks

Not That I Could Tell

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser
Hodder & Stoughton

Miracle Creek: A 'most anticipated' book of 2019

Angie Kim
Authors:
Angie Kim
Hodder & Stoughton

Stone Mothers

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Fifth Doctrine

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
John Murray

Moscow, Midnight

John Simpson
Authors:
John Simpson

MP Patrick Macready has been found dead in his flat. The coroner rules it an accident, a sex game gone wrong. Jon Swift is from the old stock of journos - cynical, cantankerous and overweight - and something about his friend's death doesn't seem right. Then days after Macready's flat is apparently burgled, Swift discovers that his friend had been researching a string of Russian government figures who had met similarly 'accidental' fates. When the police refuse to investigate further, Swift gets in touch with his contacts in Moscow, determined to find out if his hunch is correct. Following the lead, he is soon drawn into a violent underworld, where whispers of conspiracies, assassinations and double-agents start blurring the line between friend and foe.But the truth will come at a price, and it may cost him everything.

Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew

The mother of a victim. The mother of the killer. Both need answers.In the aftermath of a tragedy, the world needs an explanation. In Edinburgh, after the Three Rivers College shooting, some things are clear. They know who. They know when. No one can say why.For three women the lack of answers is unbearable: DI Helen Birch, the detective charged with solving the case. Ishbel, the mother of the first victim, struggling to cope with her grief. And Moira, mother of the killer, who needs to understand what happened to her son. But as people search for someone to blame, the truth seems to vanish...From a prizewinning poet, ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS is a searing, compelling and powerful debut.'As scarily plausible as it is utterly captivating, this is an absorbing and unforgettable debut.' Heat'Raw, powerful, compassionate and deeply moving, with page-turning tension to the end. A stunning debut.' Karen Robinson, Sunday Times Crime Club'You'll be gripped by the unexpected truths that emerge. Compelling.' Marie Claire

Hodder Paperbacks

Black Sunday

Thomas Harris
Authors:
Thomas Harris

All the FBI and Mossad know is that something apocalyptic is being planned sometime soon. They don't know about the observation balloon, the biggest flying fragmentation bomb of all time. The bomb which is being primed for the terrible day when it will hang over the biggest football crowd of the season. The day of horror and devastation.Black Sunday.