Robyn Young - Sons of the Blood - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444777741
    • Publication date:28 Jul 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444777758
    • Publication date:28 Jul 2016

Sons of the Blood

New World Rising Series Book 1

By Robyn Young

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The epic novel of action, conspiracy and suspense from bestselling storyteller Robyn Young, author of the Brethren and Insurrection trilogies.

'Robyn Young realistically evokes the brutal world of the late fifteenth century, and interweaves a gripping tale with a highly original take on Richard III and the Princes in the Tower. Provocative and grounded upon impressive research, this is historical fiction of a high calibre. More, please!' Alison Weir

1483: A secret war is born...

Jack Wynter is trapped in sun-baked Seville, sent there by his father with a locked box he's been told to guard with his life. A vital task, or just a ruse to get an illegitimate son out of the country?

But, then, when his father is arrested for treason, Jack finds himself at the heart of a deadly conspiracy.

Seeking answers to the mystery he has inherited, Jack returns to England, where his half-brother, Harry, broods bitterly over their father's apparent preference for a bastard son and young Prince Edward is due to become king... unless his uncle, Richard of Gloucester, makes a play for the throne.

Jack Wynter is coming home, to a realm of danger, intrigue and war. Somehow, he is connected to a secret that stretches across Europe, and beyond. A secret with the power to kill him - or make him.

Sons of the Blood is the first in an epic new series from the Sunday Times bestselling author. Look out for part two, Court of Wolves.

Biographical Notes

Robyn Young was born in Oxford and grew up in the Midlands and Devon. She has a Masters in Creative Writing from the University of Sussex and lives and writes in Brighton full-time. Her first novel, BRETHREN, was the bestselling hardback debut novel of 2006, with the paperback also going straight into the top ten bestseller list. Two more bestsellers followed, CRUSADE and REQUIEM, completing the Brethren trilogy, which has now sold over a million copies and been translated into nineteen languages. It was followed by the highly acclaimed Insurrection trilogy, which follows the life and times of Robert the Bruce and his struggle against Edward of England in the war of Scottish independence.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444777734
  • Publication date: 24 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Robyn Young realistically evokes the brutal world of the late fifteenth century, and interweaves a gripping tale with a highly original take on Richard III and the Princes in the Tower. Provocative and grounded upon impressive research, this is historical fiction of a high calibre. More, please! — Alison Weir
Young has done her research and writes with her usual gusto. The battle scenes are gory and the plot twists sharp. — The Times
The first novel in a new series by Robyn Young, and this in itself is a cause for celebration. Robyn Young is one of the finest writers I've read in recent years. Her prose is beautiful, her historical fiction enriched by meticulous research and great empathy for its characters. — For Winter Nights blog
An astounding feat of historical fiction that breathes new life into a turbulent, exciting, and surprisingly relevant period of history. Crammed full with action, adventure, intrigue, politics and brilliant characters, this is a must read. — The Bookbag
A vivid and utterly compelling novel that brilliantly evokes one of the darkest and most turbulent periods of our history. I could not put it down. — Tracy Borman
Hodder & Stoughton

Retribution: The Centurions III

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder & Stoughton

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Mulholland Books

The Zealot's Bones

D.M. Mark
Authors:
D.M. Mark
Hodder & Stoughton

The Empire Collection Volume III

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches

The most recent three novels in Anthony Riches' thrilling EMPIRE series, including The Emperor's Blood, Thunder of the Gods, Altar of Blood, now available in one page-turning collection.The Emperor's Blood (VII)Centurion Marcus Aquila is back in Rome, hunting the men who destroyed his family. But the urge to exact his own brutal justice upon the shadowy cabal of assassins who butchered his family means that he must face them on their own ground, risking his own death at their hands. A senator, a gang boss, a praetorian officer and, deadliest of all, champion gladiator Mortiferum - the Death Bringer - lie in wait.Thunder of the Gods (VIII)With Rome no longer safe, Marcus and his Tungrian legion are ordered east to the desolate border lands where Rome and Parthia have vied for supremacy for centuries. Ordered to relieve the siege of an isolated fortress, their task is doomed to bloody failure unless they can turn the disaffected Third Legion into a fighting force capable of resisting the terrifying Parthian cataphracts. And Marcus must travel to the enemy capital Ctesiphon on a desperate mission, the only man who can persuade the King of Kings to halt a war that threatens the humiliation of the empire and the slaughter of his friends.Altar of Blood (IX)Ordered to cross the river Rhenus into barbarian Germany and capture a tribal priestess who may be the most dangerous person on the empire's northern border, the Tungrians are soon subject to the machinations of an old enemy who will stop at nothing to sabotage their plans before they have even set foot on the river's eastern bank. With two of the Bructeri tribe's greatest treasures in their hands, they must regain Roman territory by crossing the unforgiving wilderness that was the graveyard of Roman imperial strategy two hundred years before.

Hodder Paperbacks

Marston Moor

Michael Arnold
Authors:
Michael Arnold
Hodder & Stoughton

Kingdom

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder Paperbacks

Renegade

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

King Edward I of England marches on Scotland, inspired by an Arthurian prophecy and aiming to unite the British Isles under a single crown.One man alone can thwart Edward's plan. But on the run in Ireland, hunted by a relentless assassin, Robert Bruce seems a long way from achieving his ambition.Born to a line of kings, Robert will not bow to a conqueror. Robert finds that to survive he must abandon everything he holds dear. He was always prepared to die on the battlefield - but who else must he sacrifice to keep his hopes alive?Renegade is a dazzling story of conspiracy and divided loyalties, battle and betrayal, and a superb portrait of the medieval world.

Hodder Paperbacks

Requiem

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

The Brethren Trilogy

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

From the burning plains of Syria to the filthy backstreets of Paris and London, the Brethren trilogy is the story of Will Campbell, coming of age in a time of conspiracy, passion, politics and war.Will has been brought up from boyhood in the ways of the all-powerful Order of the Knights Templar. With a tragedy in his past that looms over his future, he faces a long, hard apprenticeship to the foul-tempered scholar Everard, before he can have any chance of becoming a Knight. As he struggles to survive in the harsh discipline of the Temple, Will must try to make sense of many things: his own past, the dangerous mystery that surrounds Everard, and his confused feelings for Elwen, the strong-willed young woman whose path seems always to cross his own.Meanwhile, a new star is rising in the East. A ruthless fighter and brilliant tactician, the former slave Baybars has become one of the greatest generals and rulers of his time. Haunted by his early life, he is driven by an unquenchable desire to free his people from the European invaders of his homeland.With page-turning suspense and thrilling action, the Brethren trilogy brilliantly evokes that extraordinary clash of civilizations known in the West as the Crusades. Robyn Young portrays a rich cast of characters, reflecting on each side greed, ambition and religious fanaticism, as well as courage, love and faith.

Hodder & Stoughton

Crusade

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

Insurrection

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

1286 A.D. Scotland is in the grip of the worst winter in living memory. Some say the Day of Judgement has arrived. The King of Scotland rides out from Edinburgh into the stormy night. On the road he is murdered by one of his own men, leaving the succession to the throne wide open. Civil war threatens as the powerful Scottish families jostle for power, not knowing that King Edward I of England has set his own plans for conquest in motion. But all is not destined to go Edward's way. Through the ashes of war, through blood feuds and divided loyalties, a young squire will rise to defy England's greatest king. His name is Robert Bruce. Insurrection is the first in an addictive and action-packed trilogy in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Manda Scott.(P)2010 Hodder & Stoughton Audiobooks

Hodder & Stoughton

The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

Brethren

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

Julie Corbin

Julie Corbin is Scottish and grew up just outside Edinburgh. She has lived in East Sussex for the last twenty-five years and raised her three sons in a village close to the Ashdown Forest. She is trained as a nurse and combines running the medical department in a boarding school with writing novels, short stories and currently a radio play.Her psychological thrillers have been described as 'creepy and gripping' (Closer) and 'remarkably assured... suspenseful narrative' (Daily Mail)She speaks at writing events, book groups and libraries, and runs writing workshops for beginners and more experienced writers.Visit Julie's website at www.juliecorbin.com and follow her on Twitter @Julie_Corbin

Lili Hayward

Lili Hayward is a writer from the south of England with a love for all things hidden, lost and historical. When she isn't writing fiction (or reading it) she can be found wandering bookshops, shouting at weeds on her allotment, or working on various urban growing projects. She lives with her partner in the Westcountry and keeps the company of two beautiful and opinionated ex-stray cats.

Mandasue Heller

Mandasue Heller was born in Cheshire and moved to Manchester in 1982. She spent ten years living in the notorious Hulme Crescents which have since become the background to her novels. Not only is she a talented writer, but she has also sung in cabaret and rock groups, seventies soul cover bands and blues jam bands.www.facebook.com/mandasue.hellerwww.twitter.com/mandasueheller

Michael Koryta

Michael Koryta's novels have won the LA Times Book Prize and the Great Lakes Book Award and been nominated for the Edgar, Shamus, Quill and Barry awards. A former private investigator and newspaper reporter, he published his first novel at the age of twenty-one. His work has been translated into twenty languages.Visit Michael Koryta's website at www.michaelkoryta.com and follow Michael on Twitter @mjkoryta

Nancy Horan

Nancy Horan is the author of Loving Frank. She lives and writes on an island near Seattle. Her first novel, the story of Frank Lloyd Wright and Mamah Cheney, was a New York Times bestseller and a Richard & Judy Book Club pick.