Ali Knight - Until Death - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444777123
    • Publication date:07 Nov 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473657144
    • Publication date:15 Sep 2017

Until Death

By Ali Knight

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

The unputdownable new psychological suspense novel by the author of WINK MURDER and THE FIRST CUT.

Marriage is a prison for Kelly. Her controlling and manipulative husband Christos videos her in the house, has her followed and tracks her every move. She may be desperate to leave, but she's not stupid. If she runs, he'll make sure she never sees her children again.

Christos has a mistress, Sylvie, keen to pander to his every whim and even keener to step into Kelly's shoes, should she ever vacate them.

Kelly thinks it's stalemate for their twisted threesome, but one of Christos's container ships is about to dock in London with a secret cargo that will change all their lives forever.

If Kelly is to escape, it will be in a way she never imagined, and people will get hurt . . .

Biographical Notes

Ali Knight has worked as a journalist and sub-editor at the BBC, Guardian and Observer and helped to launch some of the Daily Mail and Evening Standard's most successful websites. She lives with her family in London.

Visit Ali's website to find out more about her and her psychological thrillers at www.aliknight.co.uk and follow her on Twitter www.twitter.com/aliknightauthor.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444777116
  • Publication date: 07 Nov 2013
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
A clever thriller with a heartfelt depiction of an abusive marriage, this is a gripping read — Sunday Mirror
Praise for THE FIRST CUT — :
[A] suspenseful Hitchcockian tale . . . [one of the] top ten crime books to take on holiday — Telegraph
Top notch suspense! From first page to last, Knight delivers as she plunges an ordinary married couple into a steadily growing horror of past lies, fresh betrayals and murderous revenge. — Lisa Gardner
'It is some time since I have been so completely absorbed and taken out of myself . . . This is Ali Knight's second book and it is hard to imagine how she can beat it, but I hope to goodness that she does! — www.shotsmag.co.uk
The resourceful self-reliance of the imperilled heroine Nicky . . . the large cast and complicated happenings make an intriguing . . . read and Ali Knight writes well. — Literary Review
This thriller will have you on the edge of your seat desperate to read more. Perfect for fans of James Patterson . . . I was left completely shocked with the twist at the end. — www.crimefictionlover.com
Praise for WINK MURDER — :
Jo Nesbo, Stephen King, Patricia Cornwell and Ali Knight — Independent Books of the Year 2011
A tight-plotted, too-close-for-comfort thriller that races to the finish. Pacey and disquieting, Knight's debut hints she might be a successor to Sophie Hannah's queen of suspense crown. — Stylist Book of the Week
'A really enjoyable read.' — Martina Cole
'Crackles from first page to last.' — Daily Mail
'Tightly-plotted, high-pitched psychological thriller . . . what bright new talent Ali Knight does so successfully, and with a welcome fresh eye, is broach the great divide between public and private space.' **** — Daily Mirror
'A fast-paced whodunit.' — Woman and Home
'A psychological drama that grips from first to last' — Choice
Hodder Paperbacks

The Silent Ones

Ali Knight
Authors:
Ali Knight
Mulholland Books

SEAL Team Six Book 3: Hunt the Falcon

Don Mann, Ralph Pezzullo
Authors:
Don Mann, Ralph Pezzullo
Hodder & Stoughton

Caribbee

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder Paperbacks

In the Woods

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French

When he was twelve years old, Adam Ryan went playing in the woods with his two best friends. He never saw them again. Their bodies were never found, and Adam himself was discovered with his back pressed against an oak tree and his shoes filled with blood. He had no memory of what had happened. Twenty years on, Rob Ryan - the child who came back - is a detective in the Dublin police force. He's changed his name. No one knows about his past. Then a little girl's body is found at the site of the old tragedy and Rob is drawn back into the mystery. Knowing that he would be thrown off the case if his past were revealed, Rob takes a fateful decision to keep quiet but hope that he might also solve the twenty-year-old mystery of the woods.

Hodder & Stoughton

The First Cut

Ali Knight
Authors:
Ali Knight
Hodder & Stoughton

Wink Murder

Ali Knight
Authors:
Ali Knight
Hodder & Stoughton

Slash and Burn

Matt Hilton
Authors:
Matt Hilton

Joe Hunter is enjoying some much needed r&r when a young woman approaches him to help find her missing sister Imogen. Kate Piers knows about Joe from her dead brother Jake, Hunter's former comrade in arms, and for that reason alone he feels obliged to help. The fact that Kate is very attractive doesn't hurt.Together they go to Imogen's Kentucky home where they are immediately attacked by a bunch of thugs, acting on behalf of local businessman Robert Huffman. Huffman outwardly respectable but the psychotic twins he uses as his enforcers give the game away: he has links to organised crime and a deadly reputation with a blade. Huffman is also looking for Imogen, and kidnaps Kate to act as bait. Looks like Joe is in trouble again . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Different Seasons

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

The world had teeth and it could bite you with them anytime it wanted. Trisha McFarland discovered this when she was nine years old. Lost in the woods.Trisha has only veered a little way off the path. But in her panic to get back to her family, she takes a turning that leads into the tangled undergrowth, deeper into the woods.At first it's just the bugs, midges and mosquitoes. Then comes the hunger. For comfort she tunes her Walkman into broadcasts of the Red Sox baseball games and the performances of her hero Tom Gordon.As darkness begins to fall and Trisha struggles for survival and a way out, she realises that she is not alone. There's something else in the woods - watching. Waiting.

Hodder & Stoughton

Blaze

Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Bachman

At 6'7" and built like a bear, Clay Blaisdell is one big mother, but his capers are strictly small-time until he meets George Rackley. George introduces him to a hundred cons and the one big score that every small timer dreams of: kidnap.The Gerards are filthy rich, and their child, the last twig on the family tree, could be worth millions. And after all a baby can't ID you, so you can return it alive.There's only one problem: when the time comes for the deal to go down, George, the brains of the partnership, has died.Or has he?Now Blaze is running into the teeth of a howling storm and the cops are closing in. He's got a baby as a hostage, and the Crime of the Century just turned into a race against time in the white hell of the Maine woods.Lost for years amongst Stephen King's papers, and published for the first time ever in 2007, Blaze is a heartstopping thriller reminiscent of Steinbeck's Of Mice and Men with the power of a noir fable.

Hodder & Stoughton

So Cold The River

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta
Hodder & Stoughton

The Face of Death

Cody Mcfadyen
Authors:
Cody Mcfadyen

Why did he leave her alive?They find the girl in the master bedroom, the bodies of the family around her. She's holding a gun to her head. And she will only talk to Smoky Barrett.Smoky is just starting to pick up the pieces of her own life. She knows what it's like to lose everyone you love. But her tragedy is nothing compared with this case. Because this isn't the first time it's happened. Sixteen-year-old Sarah Kingsley has lost her family before. Not once, but twice.Someone out there wants her to stare death in the face - again and again . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Something Rotten

Jasper Fforde
Authors:
Jasper Fforde
Hodder & Stoughton

The Bone Collector

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

Their first case, their worst killer...New York City has been thrown into chaos by the assaults of the Bone Collector, a serial kidnapper and killer who gives the police a chance to save his victims from death by leaving obscure clues. Baffled, the cops turn to the one man with a chance of solving them - Lincoln Rhyme.Left paralysed by a debilitating accident, ex NYPD cop Rhyme has to dig deep into the only world he has left - his astonishing mind - to have any hope of solving the case. With the help of a young police officer, Amelia Sachs, he starts to close in on the killer. But as he edges closer to the truth, the Bone Collector is closing in on Lincoln Rhyme himself.

Hodder & Stoughton

Lost in a Good Book

Jasper Fforde
Authors:
Jasper Fforde

Thursday Next, literary detective and newlywed is back to embark on an adventure that begins, quite literally on her own doorstep. It seems that Landen, her husband of four weeks, actually drowned in an accident when he was two years old. Someone, somewhere, sometime, is responsible. The sinister Goliath Corporation wants its operative Jack Schitt out of the poem in which Thursday trapped him, and it will do almost anything to achieve this - but bribing the ChronoGuard? Is that possible?Having barely caught her breath after The Eyre Affair, Thursday must battle corrupt politicians, try to save the world from extinction, and help the Neanderthals to species self-determination. Mastadon migrations, journeys into Just William, a chance meeting with the Flopsy Bunnies, and violent life-and-death struggles in the summer sales are all part of a greater plan. But whose? and why?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Charlemagne Pursuit

Steve Berry
Authors:
Steve Berry
Sceptre

A Perfect Spy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré
Hodder & Stoughton

All the Colours of Darkness

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Eyre Affair

Jasper Fforde
Authors:
Jasper Fforde

There is another 1985, somewhere in the could-have-been, where the Crimean war still rages, dodos are regenerated in home-cloning kits and everyone is deeply disappointed by the ending of 'Jane Eyre'. In this world there are no jet-liners or computers, but there are policemen who can travel across time, a Welsh republic, a great interest in all things literary - and a woman called Thursday Next. In this utterly original and wonderfully funny first novel, Fforde has created a fiesty, loveable heroine and a plot of such richness and ingenuity that it will take your breath away.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Birthday Girl

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather