Sarah Lotz - The Three - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444775358
    • Publication date:22 May 2014
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444770391
    • Publication date:22 May 2014

The Three

By Sarah Lotz

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

The extraordinary, unforgettable new thriller for fans of The Shining Girls, The Passage and Lost.

Lost meets The Passage in this incredible new thriller, for all fans of The Shining Girls and Stephen King.

They're here ... The boy. The boy watch the boy watch the dead people oh Lordy there's so many ... They're coming for me now. We're all going soon. All of us. Pastor Len warn them that the boy he's not to­­--
The last words of Pamela May Donald (1961 - 2012)

Black Thursday. The day that will never be forgotten. The day that four passenger planes crash, at almost exactly the same moment, at four different points around the globe.

There are only four survivors. Three are children, who emerge from the wreckage seemingly unhurt. But they are not unchanged. And the fourth is Pamela May Donald, who lives just long enough to record a voice message on her phone. A message that will change the world.

The message is a warning.

Biographical Notes

Sarah Lotz is a screenwriter and novelist who pens novels under the name S.L Grey with author Louis Greenberg; YA novels with her daughter, as Lily Herne; and is one third of pseudonymous author Helena S. Paige. Lauren Beukes calls her 'a natural-born storyteller. Like the hand reaching up from the dark well, she'll drag you into her thrall. You'll come up gasping.' Sarah lives in Cape Town with her family and other animals.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444770360
  • Publication date: 22 May 2014
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Compulsive reading — Marie-Claire
Sarah Lotz has just written the perfect horror story. This will be undoubtedly one of the best horror stories published in 2014. — The Book Plank
It's reminiscent of Stephen King's CARRIE and THE THREE comes preloaded with praise from the master of horror himself. It deserves it: this high-concept thriller is a blast. — The Guardian
Tiptoeing the tightrope between fantasy and horror — Daily Mail
One of the finest, freakiest horror novels I've read. — Chuck Wendig
The author's use of the oral-history format, with its shifting voices and points of view, is a stroke of genius: the reader is in a state of near-constant confusion at the beginning, which is slowly replaced by unease and then dread as the various commentators start to see the bigger picture. A very creepy, very effective novel. — David Pitt, Booklist
Mulholland Books

On My Life

Angela Clarke
Authors:
Angela Clarke

Hodder & Stoughton

The Ninth Metal

Benjamin Percy
Authors:
Benjamin Percy

Hodder Paperbacks

The Mother-in-Law

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth
Hodder & Stoughton

Disturbance

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh

You don't know what's going on in Sara's house...Or in her head.Sara is lonely. No one talks to her - not even her bad-tempered workaholic husband or her two beloved sons. Her solace is her house, the biggest in the village, hidden away behind high hedges.Then she strikes up a friendship with Katie, a college student living nearby, and a new world opens up. Her neighbours have been dying to get to know her, and they rush to help when Sara is devastated by a terrible accident.But nothing is quite what it seems. And when new betrayals and shocking revelations disturb her peace, Sara realises she has no choice: she must act to protect the safety of those she loves.

Hodder & Stoughton

Missing Person

Sarah Lotz
Authors:
Sarah Lotz
Coronet

Red Strike

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder & Stoughton

Dark Age

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown

***The explosive fifth novel in the Red Rising Series***The Number One New York Times bestselling author of Morning Star returns to the Red Rising universe with the thrilling sequel to Iron Gold.For a decade Darrow led a revolution against the corrupt colour-coded Society. Now, outlawed by the very Republic he founded, he wages a rogue war on Mercury in the hope that he can still salvage the dream of Eo. But as he leaves death and destruction in his wake, is he still the hero who broke the chains? Or will another legend rise to take his place?Lysander au Lune, the heir in exile, has returned to the Core. Determined to bring peace back to mankind at the edge of his sword, he must overcome or unite the treacherous Gold families of the Core and face down Darrow over the skies of war-torn Mercury. But theirs are not the only fates hanging in the balance.On Luna, Mustang, Sovereign of the Republic, campaigns to unite the Republic behind her husband. Beset by political and criminal enemies, can she outwit her opponents in time to save him? Once a Red refugee, young Lyria now stands accused of treason, and her only hope is a desperate escape with unlikely new allies.Abducted by a new threat to the Republic, Pax and Electra must trust in a thief for their salvation - and Ephraim must look to them for his chance at redemption.As alliances shift, break, and re-form - and power is seized, lost, and reclaimed - every player is at risk in a game of conquest that could turn the Rising into a new Dark Age.PRAISE FOR THE RED RISING SERIES:'Pierce Brown's empire-crushing debut is a sprawling vision . . . Ender, Katniss, and now Darrow' - Scott Sigler, New York Times bestselling author of Pandemic'[A] top-notch debut novel . . . Red Rising ascends above a crowded dystopian field' - USA Today'[A] spectacular adventure . . . one heart-pounding ride . . . Pierce Brown's dizzyingly good debut novel evokes The Hunger Games, Lord of the Flies, and Ender's Game. . . . [Red Rising] has everything it needs to become meteoric' - Entertainment Weekly

Mulholland Books

The Stranger Inside

Laura Benedict
Authors:
Laura Benedict
Mulholland Books

Boy in the Well

Douglas Lindsay
Authors:
Douglas Lindsay

Book 2 in the DI Westphall series.'The Boy in the Well is a dark and satisfying mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the company of DI Ben Westphall, a compelling personality . . . This one comes thoroughly recommended' James OswaldThe body of a young boy is discovered at the bottom of a well that has been sealed for two hundred years.Yet the corpse is only days old . . .Soon, similarities from an old crime emerge and DI Ben Westphall must look to the past to piece together the dark and twisted events taking place in the present.

Mulholland Books

The Death Knock

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper
Hodder & Stoughton

Last Man Standing

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Mulholland Books

Take Me In

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant
Mulholland Books

Song of the Dead

Douglas Lindsay
Authors:
Douglas Lindsay
Hodder & Stoughton

Shell Game

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Mulholland Books

The Forbidden Place

Susanne Jansson
Authors:
Susanne Jansson
Hodder & Stoughton

Breathe

Dominick Donald
Authors:
Dominick Donald
Mulholland Books

The Prometheus Man

Scott Reardon
Authors:
Scott Reardon
Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew
Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

The long-awaited standalone sequel to SONS OF THE BLOOD.In this sweeping epic novel, which can be read as a completely standalone story or as the sequel to SONS OF THE BLOOD, the New World Rising series opens out into the pageant and power of renaissance Europe.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Did You See Melody?

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

'Outstandingly brilliant' Clare MackintoshDid she really see Melody?The stunning new pageturner from the Queen of Psychological Suspense. Pushed to breaking point, Cara Burrows abandons her home and family and escapes to a five-star spa resort she can't afford. Late at night, exhausted and desperate, she lets herself into her hotel room and is shocked to find it already occupied - by a man and a teenage girl.A simple mistake on the part of the hotel receptionist - but Cara's fear intensifies when she works out that the girl she saw alive and well in the hotel room is someone she can't possibly have seen: the most famous murder victim in the country, Melody Chapa, whose parents are serving life sentences for her murder.Cara doesn't know what to trust: everything she's read and heard about the case, or the evidence of her own eyes. Did she really see Melody? And is she prepared to ask herself that question and answer it honestly if it means risking her own life?What people are saying about DID YOU SEE MELODY?'I was hooked!...there was a cracking ending!' GoodReads reviewer'Really good reading that moved at a fast pace and kept me engaged throughout. Highly recommended.' GoodReads reviewer'Oh superb. Excellent. All the other expletives. Ms Hannah still showing us how twisting a plot is done properly.' GoodReads reviewer