Charlotte Lamb - In the Still of the Night - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

In the Still of the Night

By Charlotte Lamb

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A heart-pounding tale of secrets and obsession from the queen of romantic suspense

Annie Lang, star of the TV police drama The Force, is a character known to millions. Men want to protect her; women want to be her friend.

But the actress with the innocent face harbours her own terrible secret.

Two very different men dominated Annie's past and both of them vanished eight years ago. Since that fateful night, ambition has driven Annie to the top.

Now at the peak of her success, she has everything she has ever wanted except love. And then one day love begins to stalk her . . .

How is this connected to what happened eight years ago? What else does Annie's perfect façade hide? And, after all this time, will love bring about Annie's end?

Biographical Notes

Charlotte Lamb was Mills & Boon's top-selling author. Her novels have been translated in many languages and are bestsellers around the world. She died in October 2000.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444770339
  • Publication date: 28 Mar 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton

Praise for DEEP AND SILENT WATERS:
'Impossible to put down. The dark and erotic tale of Venice past and present, and lovers past and present, is tailor-made to suck the reader in as sure as every soap opera on day-time television hooks viewers.'

Isle of Man Examiner
Lose yourself in this irresistible mystery — Woman's Realm
Hodder & Stoughton

The Absolution

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Mulholland Books

The Stranger Inside

Laura Benedict
Authors:
Laura Benedict
Mulholland Books

Friends Like These

Sarah Alderson
Authors:
Sarah Alderson
Mulholland Books

The Forbidden Place

Susanne Jansson
Authors:
Susanne Jansson

In the remote Swedish wetlands lies Mossmarken: the village on the edge of the mire where, once upon a time, people came to leave offerings to the gods. Biologist Nathalie came in order to study the peat bogs. But she has a secret: Mossmarken was once her home, a place where terrible things happened. She has returned at last, determined to confront her childhood trauma and find out the truth.Soon after her arrival, she finds an unconscious man out on the marsh, his pockets filled with gold - just like the ancient human sacrifices. A grave is dug in the mire, which vanishes a day after. And as the police investigate, the bodies start to surface...Is the mire calling out for sacrifices, as the superstitious locals claim? Or is it an all-too-human evil?An international sensation, THE FORBIDDEN PLACE is a darkly gripping tale of the stories we tell ourselves to survive, and the terrible consequences they can have.

Hodder Paperbacks

Clockwork City

Paul Crilley
Authors:
Paul Crilley
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Hodder & Stoughton

Tall Order

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

***Number One New York Times bestselling author Sandra Brown returns with another suspenseful, sexy thriller***Twenty-five years ago, Major Franklin Trapper became a national icon when he lead a handful of survivors to safety after the bombing of a Dallas hotel. For years, he gave frequent speeches and interviews but then suddenly dropped out of the public eye, shunning all media. Now, ambitious TV journalist Kerra Bailey is determined to get an exclusive with the Major - even if she has to wrangle an introduction from his estranged son, former ATF agent John Trapper.Trapper wants no association with the Major, but despite himself, he agrees to the meet. But when the interview goes catastrophically awry - with unknown assailants targeting his father and Kerra - Trapper starts a hunt to track down the gunmen . . . and finally discover who was responsible for the Dallas bombing.Kerra is wary of a man so charming one moment and dangerous the next, and she knows Trapper is withholding evidence from his ATF investigation into the bombing. But having no one else to trust and enemies lurking closer than they know, Kerra and Trapper join forces to expose a sinuous network of lies and conspiracy - and uncover who would want a national hero dead.*************Praise for Sandra Brown'Suspense that has teeth'Stephen King'Lust, jealousy, and murder suffuse Brown's crisp thriller' Publishers Weekly'An edge-of-the-seat thriller that's full of twists . . . Top stuff!'Star

Mulholland Books

The Banker's Wife

Cristina Alger
Authors:
Cristina Alger
Mulholland Books

Her Watchful Eye

Julie Corbin
Authors:
Julie Corbin

The GRIPPING new thriller, from the author of What Goes Around and Do Me No Harm.Do you ever feel that prickle on the back of your neck, as though someone's watching you?Someone is watching Hannah.Her name is Ruby, and her job as CCTV operative means she can follow Hannah everywhere she goes.It's against the law, but Ruby is willing to do whatever is necessary to keep Hannah safe.And there's no harm in just watching.Until just watching isn't enough . . .So the next time you get that feeling, and you think you're alone . . . think again.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder Paperbacks

One Kind Man

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

1931, Lancashire:When Finn Carlisle loses his wife and unborn child, he spends a few years travelling to keep the sad memories at bay. Just as he's ready to settle down again, his great-uncle dies and leaves everything to him. This includes Heythorpe House in Ellindale just down the road from Leah Willcox and her little fizzy drink factory.Finn finds a village of people in dire need of jobs, a house that hasn't been cleaned or lived in for thirty years and Reggie, an eleven-year-old who's run away from the nearby orphanage and its brutal Director Buddle. When Finn sees the marks left by regular beatings, he decides Reggie will never go back there.But Buddle has other plans for the child, and will stop at nothing to get Reggie back in his cruel grasp. Finn's new neighbours help him save Reggie but other surprises throw his new plans into turmoil.***********Praise for the Ellindale series'One of the most lovely and heartwarming books I have ever read!' - 5 STARS - Between the Pages 'A book of family, love, friendship and loyalty' - 5 STARS - Stardust Book Reviews'I was gripped from the very first word on the very first page and I wasn't released until the last word on the last page . . . When I finished I felt like I had been through an emotional wringer' - 5 STARS - Ginger Book Geek***********What readers are saying about ONE KIND MAN'Brilliant' - 5-STARS'Loved it, can't wait for the next one' - 5-STARS'Another excellent read from Anna Jacobs' - 5-STARS

Hodder Paperbacks

Once in a Lifetime

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder Paperbacks

The Rest of Me: the uplifting new novel from the bestselling author of My Everything

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh

'I laughed, I identified, I shed a tear. A lovely story that deserves to fly. I loved it.' Amanda Jennings'Katie Marsh writes achingly beautiful, life-affirming stories that break your heart and refuel your hope' Miranda Dickinson. *******Alex Fox knows there are lots of things she should be. She should be the perfect wife to her chronically ill husband Sam, and the perfect mother to their two daughters. She should be excelling in her high-stress job. And she should be completing the demanding to-do lists she makes to keep herself on track. Even if, just sometimes, she doesn't have time to breathe.When Sam's condition worsens and Alex donates a kidney to save his life, her carefully scheduled existence starts to unravel - eventually forcing her to face up to a past that she has buried for years.As the family she has fought so hard for threatens to fall apart, can Alex finally confront the mistakes that have shaped her - and rediscover what is most important in life?The Rest of Me is an emotional and uplifting story which will make you laugh, cry and hug the people you love a little bit tighter. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Dillon and Amanda Prowse. ****What readers are saying about The Rest of Me:'This heart-wrenching tale was one of the best I've come across. A beautiful book, an un-put-downable one, which will stay with me awhile.' Goodreads, 5 stars'Sensitive and thought-provoking... I adored it' - Netgalley, 5 stars'This book is amazing from the start...beautifully written with real life issues that I could relate to. I definitely recommend this is a top read.' - Netgalley, 5 stars'Katie's best book yet - I absolutely LOVED it!' - Goodreads, 5 stars'A proper tear jerker. [It] showed that family, love and pulling together in times of trouble really does help you pull through almost any crisis. Tissues needed throughout.' - Amazon, 5 stars 'A really engaging and emotive book, which kept me hooked. Highly recommended read.' - Netgalley, 5 stars'Another excellent book from Katie Marsh. A thought-provoking and emotional read. Thoroughly recommended.' Netgalley, 5 stars'An uplifting book which had me gripped throughout' - Netgalley

Hodder & Stoughton

The Outsider

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Hodder Paperbacks

The Family Next Door

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth
Coronet

Global Strike

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

Charles Street was once a highly-respected agent working for MI6, until a terrible mistake cost him his job. Now he's a desperate man, living on past glories and struggling to make ends meet. Until he makes a discovery that has the power to bring down the new President of the United States. But when Street tries to cash in on this discovery, he finds himself pursued by a Russian snatch squad.Strike Back hero John Porter and Regiment renegade John Bald are recruited by their handler to head to Washington, D.C. Their mission: find Street before the Russians.What begins as a routine exfiltration quickly descends into a brutal struggle and the ex-SAS legends will need to use all of their fighting instincts to stay alive.A startling revelation that leads from the White House to the Kremlin threatens to trigger a new global conflict...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder & Stoughton

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips

From the 'Marian Keyes of the social media age' comes Trying, a hilarious novel about what to expect when you're not expecting 'Brilliant' Stylist'Funny, bittersweet and touching . . . I couldn't put it down!' Marian Keyes ********* Olivia and Felix are trying for a baby. They even moved to the suburbs in anticipation of their future family. But despite approaching her cycle and their sex life with military precision, there's still no sign of what felt like the sure next step, whilst friends' broods seem to be growing by the week. Meanwhile, vying for a promotion at work under the (very attentive) watch of a new boss sends Olivia down a dangerous road of risking it all. Does a happy ever after, she starts to question, even have to include a baby? A hugely funny, searingly honest comedy for fans of Sharon Horgan's Catastrophe, Dawn O'Porter's The Cows and Mhairi McFarlane's It's Not Me, It's You. ********* More praise for Trying:'A tender and funny story' Prima'Warm and brilliant' Lucy Vine, author of Hot Mess'A deeply moving and raw story, told with great humour' Louise O'Neill, author of Asking for It

Hodder & Stoughton

Flame in the Mist

Renée Ahdieh
Authors:
Renée Ahdieh