Charlotte Lamb - In the Still of the Night - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

In the Still of the Night

By Charlotte Lamb

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A heart-pounding tale of secrets and obsession from the queen of romantic suspense

Annie Lang, star of the TV police drama The Force, is a character known to millions. Men want to protect her; women warm to her too. But, in the real world, the actress with the innocent face harbours her own terrible secret. Why do those who get close to Annie have a habit of dying - suddenly and violently - in the still of the night? Two very different men dominated Annie's past. Both vanished eight years ago. Since that fateful night, ambition has driven Annie to the top. Now at the peak of her success, she has everything she has ever wanted except love - the one thing she would trade it all for. And then one day love begins to stalk her . . .

Biographical Notes

Charlotte Lamb was Mills & Boon's top-selling author. Her novels have been translated in many languages and are bestsellers around the world. She died in October 2000.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444770339
  • Publication date: 28 Mar 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton

Praise for DEEP AND SILENT WATERS:
'Impossible to put down. The dark and erotic tale of Venice past and present, and lovers past and present, is tailor-made to suck the reader in as sure as every soap opera on day-time television hooks viewers.'

Isle of Man Examiner
Lose yourself in this irresistible mystery — Woman's Realm
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Hodder Paperbacks

Camino Island

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

All trails became dead-ends. Tips that had at first seemed urgent now faded away. The waiting game began. Whoever had the manuscripts would want money, and a lot of it. They would surface eventually, but where and when, and how much would they want?The most daring and devastating heist in literary history targets a high security vault located deep beneath Princeton University.Valued at $25 million (though some would say priceless) the five manuscripts of F Scott Fitzgerald's only novels are amongst the most valuable in the world. After an initial flurry of arrests, both they and the ruthless gang of thieves who took them have vanished without trace.Dealing in stolen books is a dark business, and few are initiated to its arts - which puts Bruce Kable right on the FBI's Rare Asset Recovery Unit's watch list.A struggling writer burdened by debts, Mercer Mann spent summers on Florida's idyllic Camino Island as a kid, in her grandmother's beach cottage. Now she is being made an offer she can't refuse: to return to the peace of the island, to write her novel - and get close to a certain infamous bookseller, and his interesting collection of manuscripts . . .

Coronet

Warlord

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
John Murray

Spook Street

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
Hodder & Stoughton

What Goes Around

Julie Corbin
Authors:
Julie Corbin

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of The Girlfriend and The Silent Wife.457 five star Goodreads ratingOnce you start reading, you won't want to stop. Two women, two secrets, one murder... If someone took away your perfect life, how far would you go to get it back? Ellen's family is her world. So when her husband leaves her for another woman, she is almost destroyed. But not quite, because Ellen has a plan, a way to make those who have hurt her suffer. Leila is the other woman. She finally has everything she ever wanted. But Leila's brother has come back into her life, raking up a past that needs to stay buried. One of them will pay for their actions with their life, but which one?******* Goodreads reviews'It was a unique novel, the story was nothing like I have ever read before. I was gripped all the way through and I'll definitely be recommending it to my other book lover friends. Can't wait to read more by Julie Corbin!''An excellent psychological drama...It's not difficult to see why Julie Corbin is so highly rated and her back catalogue has just made my tbr list that bit more unmanageable. Definitely recommend this.''I've been a fan of Julie's books for a few years now, so was really looking forward to reading 'What goes around'. Her books are very well written and always gripping, and this one is no exception.'

John Murray

Real Tigers

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA GOLDSBORO GOLD DAGGER AND THE IAN FLEMING STEEL DAGGER 'If you read one spy novel this year, read Real Tigers' The Spectator'The finest new crime series this millennium' Mail on SundayLondon's Slough House is where disgraced MI5 operatives are reassigned to spend the rest of their careers pushing paper. But when one of these fallen spies is kidnapped by a former soldier bent on revenge, the agents must breach the defenses of Regent's Park to steal valuable intel in exchange for their comrade's safety.The kidnapping is only the tip of the iceberg, however, as the agents uncover a larger web of intrigue that involves not only a group of private mercenaries, but also the highest authorities in the Security Service.After years spent as the lowest on the totem pole, the spies suddenly find themselves caught in the midst of a conspiracy that threatens not only the future of Slough House, but of MI5 itself . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Morning Star

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown

'Homer meets Homeland in deep space' in the third novel of the Red Rising trilogy, the crashing conclusion to the story that began in RED RISING and continued in GOLDEN SON.Darrow is the reaper of Mars. Born to toil, carved to fight, destined to lead. But he is a broken man. Exposed as a Red in a world ruled by Golds, he has been captured and tortured until he is something less than human. And yet, he is humanity's last chance.He must call on every last ounce of strength in facing a godlike, ruthless enemy. Darrow was born a Red. He became a Gold. Now he must transcend them all and become the hero his people believe he is.

Hodder Paperbacks

Death Trap

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

Teenager Nikki Bell is the only witness to the brutal murder of two members of her family and their cleaner. She's lucky to be alive. But the murder isn't a one-off. It's part of a bigger, more violent attack planned on affluent families in the area - and now Nikki, as the only living witness, is a dangerous threat to the well-orchestrated scheme. As the net draws tighter around the killers, DI Rio Wray must do whatever it takes to keep Nikki alive. But when you're dealing with criminals, there's no line they won't cross... In a kill-or-be-killed-world, who will be first to pull the trigger?

Coronet

Hunter Killer

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

Hodder & Stoughton

Golden Son

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown

Ender's Game meets The Hunger Games in MORNING STAR , the second in an extraordinary trilogy from the New York Times bestselling author of RED RISING.'I'm still playing games. This is just the deadliest yet.' Darrow is a rebel forged by tragedy. For years he and his fellow Reds worked the mines, toiling to make the surface of Mars inhabitable. They were, they believed, mankind's last hope. Until Darrow discovered that it was all a lie, and that the Red were nothing more than unwitting slaves to an elitist ruling class, the Golds, who had been living on Mars in luxury for generations. In RED RISING, Darrow infiltrated Gold society, to fight in secret for a better future for his people. Now fully embedded amongst the Gold ruling class, Darrow continues his dangerous work to bring them down from within. It's a journey that will take him further than he's ever been before - but is Darrow truly willing to pay the price that rebellion demands?A life-or-death tale of vengeance with an unforgettable hero at its heart, Golden Son guarantees Pierce Brown's continuing status as one of fiction's most exciting new voices.

Hodder Paperbacks

Red Rising

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown

***The first book in the incredible New York Times bestselling series***Darrow is a Helldiver. A pioneer of Mars.Born to slave beneath the earth so that one day, future generations might live above it.He is a Red - humankind's lowest caste. But he has something the Golds - the ruthless ruling class - will never understand.He has a wife he worships, a family who give him strength. He has love.And when they take that from him, all that remains is revenge . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Angel of Death

Charlotte Lamb
Authors:
Charlotte Lamb
Hodder & Stoughton

Deep and Silent Waters

Charlotte Lamb
Authors:
Charlotte Lamb
Hodder & Stoughton

Treasons of the Heart

Charlotte Lamb
Authors:
Charlotte Lamb
Hodder & Stoughton

Walking in Darkness

Charlotte Lamb
Authors:
Charlotte Lamb

Beautiful heiress Catherine Gowrie has spent her life protected by one of America's wealthiest families and married to one of Britain's most successful men. Now her all-powerful father is close to his greatest ambition - nomination as Presidential candidate. Nothing must be allowed to stand in his way.But Sophie Narodni, a young journalist from Prague carries a secret that could destroy everything Don Gowrie has dreamed of - if he doesn't silence her first.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Tommyknockers

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

Everything is familiar. But everything has changed.Coming back to the little community is like walking into a nightmare for Jim Gardener, poet, drunk, potential suicide.It all looks the same, the house, the furniture, Jim's friend Bobbi, her beagle (though ageing), even the woods out at the back.But it was in the woods that Bobbi stumbled over the odd, part-buried object and felt a peculiar tingle as she brushed the soft earth away.Everything is familiar. But everything is about to change.

Hodder & Stoughton

False Friends

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

The ninth all-action thriller in the bestselling Dan 'Spider' Shepherd series. The most wanted man in the world is dead. Now those loyal to him seek revenge. When Navy Seals track down and kill Osama Bin Laden in Pakistan, it's obvious there was a traitor on the inside. After the false friends are revealed to be two British students, Malik and Chaudhry - former Islamic fundamentalists recruited by MI5 - they become targets themselves. Dan 'Spider' Shepherd must teach the pair how to survive undercover with al-Qaeda closing in. But Spider is not used to playing the handler. And with the line between mentor and friend beginning to blur, and a terrorist plot putting thousands of lives at stake, can he protect everyone before it's too late?

Hodder & Stoughton

Fair Game

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

The eighth book in the bestselling Dan 'Spider' Shepherd series. Kidnapping is one of the cruellest crimes - lives are put at risk for cold, hard cash. But when Somali pirates seize the crew of a yacht off the coast of Africa, they bite off more than they can chew.One of the hostages has friends in high places and Spider Shepherd is put on the case. He goes deep undercover in an audacious plan to bring an end to the pirate gang's reign of terror.But as Shepherd closes in on his quarry he realises that there's much more at stake than the lives of the hostages and that the pirates are involved in a terrorist plot that will strike at the heart of London.

Hodder & Stoughton

Lost Dogs and Lonely Hearts

Lucy Dillon
Authors:
Lucy Dillon
Hodder Paperbacks

Skin and Bone

Kathryn Fox
Authors:
Kathryn Fox