Elizabeth Anthony - Breathless for You - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444768985
    • Publication date:20 Mar 2014

Breathless for You

By Elizabeth Anthony

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Sex and scandal in the Downton Abbey era, by the author of All I Want is You.

Set in the 1920s, this passionate, provocative tale is perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and E.L. James' Fifty Shades of Grey.

November 1921. Since arriving in London, Madeline, the young French ward of Ash, the new Duke of Belfield, has become the subject of lurid speculation, and when she's offered the chance to travel to Belfield Hall, Ash's country seat in Oxfordshire, Madeline is eager to seek refuge there.

But Oxfordshire is not as quiet a retreat as she assumed, for soon she clashes with a handsome gamekeeper - Nathan Mallory - whose seduction techniques are astounding and addictive. Meanwhile, Madeline's secret nightmares of her own dark past in Paris continue to haunt her.

At the same time Madeline realises that her guardian the Duke (whom she holds in the highest regard) has an impossible love too - for his Sophie, the former servant girl. It's in Madeline's power to reunite the two, but quite possibly at the cost of her own happiness - and her choices are made even more difficult by the secret machinations of powerful people who would do anything to keep Sophie and Ash apart . . .

Biographical Notes

Elizabeth Anthony discovered historical novels early in her teens. After graduating from university she worked as a tutor in English Studies, but always dreamed of writing. Her ambition was fulfilled with the publication of an eighteenth-century thriller received with great acclaim in the UK and US and translated into nine languages. She has also written several historical romances. Elizabeth lives with her husband in the Peak District.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444768978
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
I could barely put it down . . . A wonderful, addictive tale of romance . . . an intense love story. — Life Between Pages on ALL I WANT IS YOU
Downton-esque tale — The Lady magazine on ALL I WANT IS YOU
I really, really loved All I Want Is You, it was such a passionate and moving story . . . I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a passionate story with lots of drama. — 23reviewstreet.blogspot.co.uk
Hodder & Stoughton

Sacred Grounds

Éric Giacometti, Jacques Ravenne
Authors:
Éric Giacometti, Jacques Ravenne

In a Europe on the verge of collapse, the Nazi organisation Ahernebe is pillaging sacred landmarks across the world. Their aim is to collect treasures with occult powers, which will help them establish the Third Reich. The organisation's head, Himmler, has sent SS officers to search a Tibetan sanctuary in a forgotten valley in the Himalayas, whilst he travels to a monastery in Spain, to find a mysterious painting. Which ancient power do the Nazis believe they hold the key to?Meanwhile, in London, Churchill has discovered that the war against Germany will also be a spiritual one: their light must fight the occult if they are to win . . .

Sceptre

The Whispering Muse

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón
Hodder & Stoughton

Nora

Brenda Davies
Authors:
Brenda Davies

1939. Seventeen-year-old Nora Jennings has spent her life secure and sheltered in the certainty of a bright, happy future - until one night of passion has more catastrophic consequences than she ever could have anticipated. Labelled a moral defective and sectioned under the Mental Deficiency Act, she is forced to endure years of unspeakable cruelty at the hands of those who are supposed to care for her. 1981. When psychiatrist Janet Humphreys comes across Nora, heavily institutionalised and still living in the hospital more than forty years after her incarceration, she knows that she must be the one to help Nora rediscover what it is to live. But as she works to help Nora overcome her tragic past, Janet realises she must finally face her own.Based on a true story, Nora is the raw, heart-breaking yet ultimately uplifting tale of a young woman cut down in her prime, and of the woman who finally brings her back to life.

Two Roads

The Year Without Summer

Guinevere Glasfurd
Authors:
Guinevere Glasfurd
Hodder & Stoughton

Requiem for a Knave

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin

After the death of his mother, young Alwin of Whittaker leaves the only home he has ever known to seek answers about his unknown father through a pilgrimage to the shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham. On the journey, Alwin falls in with a band of violent and marauding soldiers and is witness to their terrible crimes. When Alwin later joins up with a group of pilgrims, he must hide his identity...but he is not the only one with secrets to keep. Rosamund, a young woman travelling the same path, has much to conceal too. The journey to discovering who he really is will lead Alwin into great danger and great passion. These are dark times, and through them, Alwin must shine a light. Will the revelations to come destroy everything that came before?

Hodder & Stoughton

A Daughter's Journey

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

Secrets of the Homefront Girls

Kate Thompson
Authors:
Kate Thompson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Long Flight Home

A.L. Hlad
Authors:
A.L. Hlad

A moving, masterfully written story of love and sacrifice, perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Dear Mrs Bird. Inspired by fascinating, true, yet little-known events during World War II, The Long Flight Home is a testament to the power of courage in our darkest hours. Hope flies behind enemy lines...It is September 1940, and as German bombs fall on Britain, fears grow of an impending invasion. Enemy fighter planes blacken the sky around Epping Forest, the home of Susan Shepherd and her grandfather, Bertie. After losing her parents as a child, Susan found comfort in raising homing pigeons. Duchess has proven to be the most extraordinary of all Susan's birds, as the two share a special bond and an unusual curiosity about the world. Thousands of miles away in Buxton, Maine, a young crop-duster pilot named Ollie Evans has decided to travel to Britain to join the Royal Air Force. His quest brings him to the National Pigeon Service, where Susan is involved in a new, covert assignment. The mission aims to air-drop hundreds of homing pigeons in German-occupied France, where many will not survive. As the mission date draws near, the friendship between Ollie and Susan deepens. When Ollie's plane is downed behind enemy lines, both know that the chances of a reunion are very remote. Will Duchess's devotion and sense of duty become an unexpected lifeline, and prove that hope is never truly lost?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Devil's Slave

Tracy Borman
Authors:
Tracy Borman
John Murray

Gun Island

Amitav Ghosh
Authors:
Amitav Ghosh
Hodder & Stoughton

Where There's a Will

Beth Corby
Authors:
Beth Corby
Hodder & Stoughton

A Brightness Long Ago

Guy Gavriel Kay
Authors:
Guy Gavriel Kay
Hodder Paperbacks

The Mother-in-Law

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth
Hodder & Stoughton

One Perfect Family

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Two Roads

Frieda

Annabel Abbs
Authors:
Annabel Abbs
Hodder & Stoughton

A Sea of Gold

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

'Tension surges through A Sea of Gold . . . In this rousing yarn, Stockwin again raises naval fiction to a new level' - Quarterdeck'Stockwin has surpassed himself with A Sea of Gold . . . a fine, fully favoured vintage yarn' - Warships1809. After his heroic actions during the retreat to Corunna, Captain Sir Thomas Kydd is the toast of London society. Here he falls in with the legendary frigate captain, Lord Thomas Cochrane.So begins a relationship, professional and personal, that will be unlike any that Kydd has known: a relationship that will lead him, almost simultaneously, to first glory, then ruin.The French fleet is massing in the Basque Roads in a near impregnatable position. The Admiralty orders Cochrane to command an attack, to the chagrin of more senior officers who object to being overlooked and Cochrane's reputation for daring. Cochrane insists that his new friend, Kydd, is in the forefront of the assault armada, a motley collection of rocket, bomb and fire ships that will set the anchorage ablaze - this despite Kydd's almost pathological fear of fire. The fallout from what follows will see Kydd financially ruined, with only his former shipmates, his oldest friend of all, Nicholas Renzi, and the whisper of hidden Spanish treasure promising the sea of gold that he needs to save himself. ********************Praise for Julian Stockwin's Kydd series'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' Daily Express'This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail' Nautical Magazine'Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book' Historical Naval Society'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian

Sceptre

CoDex 1962

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón

'This is a work of great ambition ... above all it feels like a work of virtuoso narrative for its own sake; an Icelandic 1001 Nights.' The Sunday TimesJósef Loewe can recall the moment of his birth in August, 1962 and everything that has happened since - or so he claims to the woman listening to the tale of his life . . .A love story He begins with his father, Leo, a starving Jewish fugitive in World War II Germany. In a small-town guesthouse, Leo discovers a kindred spirit in the maid who nurses him back to health; together they shape a piece of clay into a baby.A crime story Leo escapes to Iceland with the clay boy inside a hatbox, only to become embroiled in a murder mystery. It is not until 1962 that his son Jósef can be born.A science-fiction story In modern-day Reykjavík, a middle-aged Jósef attracts the interest of a rapacious geneticist. Now, what lies behind Jósef's tale emerges. And as the story of genesis comes full circle, we glimpse the dangerous path ahead for humankind. In this epic novel, Sjón has woven ancient and modern material into a singular masterpiece - encompassing genre fiction, history, theology, folklore, expressionist film, poetry, comic strips, myth, drama and, of course, the rich tradition of Icelandic storytelling.

Hodder & Stoughton

Not That I Could Tell

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser
Hodder Paperbacks

A Time for Renewal

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

A Time to Remember

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs