Rebecca Mascull - The Visitors - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £17.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444765205
    • Publication date:02 Jan 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444765229
    • Publication date:02 Jan 2014

The Visitors

By Rebecca Mascull

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Rebecca Mascull's first novel is the tale of a wonderful friendship, but it is also a thrilling adventure, a heartbreaking love story and a compelling ghost story.

Imagine if you couldn't see
couldn't hear
couldn't speak...
Then one day somebody took your hand and opened up the world to you.

Adeliza Golding is a deaf-blind girl, born in late Victorian England on her father's hop farm. Unable to interact with her loving family, she exists in a world of darkness and confusion; her only communication is with the ghosts she speaks to in her head, who she has christened the Visitors. One day she runs out into the fields and a young hop-picker, Lottie, grabs her hand and starts drawing shapes in it. Finally Liza can communicate.

Her friendship with her teacher and with Lottie's beloved brother Caleb leads her from the hop gardens and oyster beds of Kent to the dusty veldt of South Africa and the Boer War, and ultimately to the truth about the Visitors.

Biographical Notes

Rebecca Mascull is the author of THE VISITORS and SONG OF THE SEA MAID. She has previously worked in education, has a Masters in Writing and lives by the sea in the east of England. Visit her website rebeccamascull.tumblr.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444765236
  • Publication date: 17 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Hodder & Stoughton

Song of the Sea Maid

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull

A rich, evocative second novel from the author of THE VISITORS.In the 18th century, Dawnay Price is an anomaly. An educated foundling, a woman of science in a time when such things are unheard-of, she overcomes her origins to become a natural philosopher.Against the conventions of the day, and to the alarm of her male contemporaries, she sets sail to Portugal to develop her theories. There she makes some startling discoveries - not only in an ancient cave whose secrets hint at a previously undiscovered civilisation, but also in her own heart. The siren call of science is powerful, but as war approaches she finds herself pulled in another direction by feelings she cannot control.'Beautifully written... wonderful stuff.' - Sarah Broadhurst, The Bookseller.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder Paperbacks

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent.'Maine writes beautifully' THE TIMESScotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them. An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.*****'Stunning' Booklist'Riveting' Publishers Weekly'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines' RT Reviews

Hodder Paperbacks

The Wild Air

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull

In Edwardian England, aeroplanes are a new, magical invention, while female pilots are rare indeed. When shy Della Dobbs meets her mother's aunt, her life changes forever. Great Auntie Betty has come home from Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, across whose windswept dunes the Wright Brothers tested their historic flying machines. Della develops a burning ambition to fly and Betty is determined to help her. But the Great War is coming and it threatens to destroy everything - and everyone - Della loves.Uplifting and page-turning, THE WILD AIR is a story about love, loss and following your dreams against all odds.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Cat of Yule Cottage

Lili Hayward
Authors:
Lili Hayward
Hodder & Stoughton

The Spook Who Spoke Again

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

Marcus Didius Alexander Postumus is a special boy. He is twelve, or perhaps eleven. He has two mothers and various possible fathers, so he worries who will take care of him. He is self-confident yet vulnerable, intelligent yet sinister. He knows not many people like him. When his birth mother, Thalia the snake-dancer, takes him to live with her troupe of exotic performers, Postumus sees it as useful experience even though it involves him mucking out menagerie cages. No one anticipates how much havoc he will wreak. On his first day a tragedy occurs. No one else cares, so Postumus decides he alone must solve this crime and impose retribution on the guilty. As son and brother to the famous investigators Falco and Albia, he knows murder is punished by execution. Postumus single-mindedly sets out to accomplish this, sidetracked by nothing, not even a rehearsal of Falco's legendary play, The Spook Who Spoke...

Hodder Paperbacks

The Emperor's Knives: Empire VII

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dreams of Fair Women

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

Land of Heart's Desire

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Iestyn Mortymer was sentenced to twenty-one years transportation to the colonies for his part in the Chartist Rebellion of 1839. But three years on, he escaped during the massacre of the British Army in Afghanistan, and returned to Wales under a false identity.His beautiful Afghan lover Durrani, granddaughter of Dost Mahommed, the King of Kabul, having been banished from her country because of her relationship with Iestyn, joins him with their son, Suresh, to begin a new life in West Wales, farming at Cae White, near Carmarthen.However, Durrani's grandfather has other ideas. His kingship is under threat from Akbar Khan, his traitorous warrior son. To prevent Akbar from seizing the throne, Dost Mahommed changes his mind about his granddaughter's banishment and now seeks to have young Suresh returned to Kabul, in order for the child to take the throne, with his mother as Queen regent. The Dost's insistent command finds little welcome among the residents of Cae White Farm, however, and Iestyn prepares for battle...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Love That God Forgot

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

Send Her Victorious

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

1848. When the French people besiege Paris, King Louis Philippe flees to England and the French aristocracy run for their lives. Even the Pope deserts the Vatican.Europe is in turmoil. Fearing economic and social collapse, the French provisonal government distractsworld attention by recruiting a Queen voctoria 'look alike', one madame Alicia Bernard, and then claiming that they have succeeded in abducting Victoria for a trial in Paris for'crimes against the poor'. Alicia Bernard stands alone before the howling mobs, until barrister Andre Pelon is appointed to defend her...

Hodder & Stoughton

Tales From Tiger Bay

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

To Slay The Dreamer

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

From the Spanish sierras to the French Pyrenees, one desperate cause unites them.As the stromclouds gather in the passionate fight against the Fascists, a young Spanish countess and a trained american assassin join forces with the partisans in a desperateattempt on the life of General Franco.TO SLAY THE DREAMER is a rich and compelling story of a group of patriots ready to die for their country - a moving novel of dangerous loyalty amidst the ultimate futility ofwar.

Hodder & Stoughton

Peerless Jim

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Jim Driscoll, adopted Welshman, one of the greatest boxers who ever lived. Robust, hot-headed, a born fighter - and a legend in his own lifetime. Moving between South Wales, London and America in the early years of thetwentieth century, this is the dramatic story of a true-life sporting hero - a story of fierce pride and burning ambition, but also of human weakness and a lovethat survives against all odds.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Fire People

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The White Cockade

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Healing Blade

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

An epic of the days when personal honour and patriotism were moreimportant than any one man's life. John Regan has a secret mission crucial to the success of the infamousUnited Irishmen's Rebellion of 1798.A thrilling historical adventure for younger readers from the bestselling author of Rape of the Fair Country, first published in 1971 and now available as an eBookfor the first time.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Dream And The Destiny

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

This Sweet And Bitter Earth

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Sinews of Love

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Deadly Eurasian

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Mei Kayling, a member of the Chinese Red Guard and undercover agent, must lead a column of refugees across the mountains of China into Hong Kong, a perilous journey through villages blasted by an apparent nuclear explosion. It soon becomes clear that the blast was caused by a bomb from an American warship, carried out by a crewmember who has since disappeared; and so Mei must hunt for the missing man, a quest that takes her to the US in her efforts to determine if the explosion was an accident, or was ordered by the Pentagon...