Rebecca Mascull - The Visitors - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £17.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444765205
    • Publication date:02 Jan 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444765229
    • Publication date:02 Jan 2014

The Visitors

By Rebecca Mascull

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Rebecca Mascull's first novel is the tale of a wonderful friendship, but it is also a thrilling adventure, a heartbreaking love story and a compelling ghost story.

Imagine if you couldn't see
couldn't hear
couldn't speak...
Then one day somebody took your hand and opened up the world to you.

Adeliza Golding is a deaf-blind girl, born in late Victorian England on her father's hop farm. Unable to interact with her loving family, she exists in a world of darkness and confusion; her only communication is with the ghosts she speaks to in her head, who she has christened the Visitors. One day she runs out into the fields and a young hop-picker, Lottie, grabs her hand and starts drawing shapes in it. Finally Liza can communicate.

Her friendship with her teacher and with Lottie's beloved brother Caleb leads her from the hop gardens and oyster beds of Kent to the dusty veldt of South Africa and the Boer War, and ultimately to the truth about the Visitors.

Biographical Notes

Rebecca Mascull is the author of THE VISITORS and SONG OF THE SEA MAID. She has previously worked in education, has a Masters in Writing and lives by the sea in the east of England. Visit her website rebeccamascull.tumblr.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444765236
  • Publication date: 17 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Sceptre

The Fatal Tree

Jake Arnott
Authors:
Jake Arnott
Hodder Paperbacks

The Wild Air

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull
Hodder & Stoughton

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides comes a stunningly evocative historical novel, perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent.'Beautifully told and quietly absorbing' - Kate RiordanScotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them. An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.***'Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness' The Times'Riveting' Publishers Weekly'Stunning' Booklist'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines' RT Reviews

Hodder Paperbacks

The Cat of Yule Cottage

Lili Hayward
Authors:
Lili Hayward
Hodder & Stoughton

The Hamilton Affair

Elizabeth Cobbs
Authors:
Elizabeth Cobbs

Love Hamilton: An American Musical? You'll adore The Hamilton Affair.THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERWar will bring them together. Peace will tear them apart. History will make them immortal . . .Born a bastard and raised an orphan in the stifling heat of the Caribbean, Alexander Hamilton must prove his worth on the bloody battlefields of the American Revolution. A wealthy child of privilege, Elizabeth Schuyler has never wanted for anything, yet she longs for a life of so much more. When fate brings them together, a passionate, life-long love affair begins. But to Alexander, burdened by his tragic origins, matters of honour can never be forgotten. As he risks everything for the future of his bold new country, this extraordinary marriage will be tested like no other - and become forever immortalised in hearts and minds.Praise for THE HAMILTON AFFAIR:'The Hamilton novel that immediately leaps to the top of the list' Joseph J. Ellis 'A portrait of a love so deep it was able to survive betrayal and a devastatingly public scandal'Booklist'Cobbs' depiction of Hamilton will endear him in the hearts of readers' Publishers Weekly

Hodder Paperbacks

Song of the Sea Maid

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull
Hodder & Stoughton

Kit

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato
Hodder & Stoughton

Deadly Election

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder & Stoughton

The Spook Who Spoke Again

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder Paperbacks

The Emperor's Knives: Empire VII

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder & Stoughton

Beloved Exile

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Iestyn Mortymer, captured during the chartist Rebellion, is tried at the Monmouth Assizes and sentenced to twenty-one years transportation for crimes against Her Imperial Majesty Queen Victoria. Torn from his young wife Mari, he is exiled to Afghanistan - a country as violated and outraged as his native Wales. On all sides Iestyn witnesses signs of increasing hostility towards the English, and of the crumbling edifice of the Empire. Involved in the appalling 'Afghan Promenade' that cost the British army 17,000 lives, caught up by intrigue, murder and deadly deception, he cannot escape the fact that this is a time when every white face in the country is dubbed an Unbeliever, every redcoat a potential target of violence. Yet, despite everything, there is another escape that he is determined to make. Back to Wales...An epic blend of history and fiction, a swirling canvas of politics, war, servitude and passion, BELOVED EXILE marks the glorious culmination of Alexander Cordell's Welsh sagas.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Dreams of Fair Women

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Hong Kong in the nineteenth century: a heady, overwhelming mixture of worldly commercialism, moral corruption and Eastern tradition. Into this strange and exciting world, on board the S.S. Mongolia comes Milly Smith, daughter of a Hong Kong tycoon, destined for a marriage of convenience to a greedy financier. But during the course of her journey Milly has attracted the attentions of fellow passanger, the wild and dashing pirate, Eli boggs. Set against a turbulent historical backdrop of Hong Kong's piracy, the slave trade and the infamous Opium War, The Dreams of Fair Women is a classic historical adventure from the author of The Rape of the Fair Country.

Hodder & Stoughton

Land of Heart's Desire

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Love That God Forgot

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

Send Her Victorious

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder Paperbacks

The Devil in the Marshalsea

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson

WINNER OF THE CWA HISTORICAL DAGGER AWARD 2014.Longlisted for the John Creasey Dagger Award for best debut crime novel of 2014.London, 1727 - and Tom Hawkins is about to fall from his heaven of card games, brothels and coffee-houses into the hell of a debtors' prison.The Marshalsea is a savage world of its own, with simple rules: those with family or friends who can lend them a little money may survive in relative comfort. Those with none will starve in squalor and disease. And those who try to escape will suffer a gruesome fate at the hands of the gaol's rutheless governor and his cronies.The trouble is, Tom Hawkins has never been good at following rules - even simple ones. And the recent grisly murder of a debtor, Captain Roberts, has brought further terror to the gaol. While the Captain's beautiful widow cries for justice, the finger of suspicion points only one way: to the sly, enigmatic figure of Samuel Fleet.Some call Fleet a devil, a man to avoid at all costs. But Tom Hawkins is sharing his cell. Soon, Tom's choice is clear: get to the truth of the murder - or be the next to die.A twisting mystery, a dazzling evocation of early 18th Century London, THE DEVIL IN THE MARSHALSEA is a thrilling debut novel full of intrigue and suspense.

Hodder & Stoughton

Tales From Tiger Bay

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

The people who inhabited the dockland area of Cardiff, know as Tiger Bay,have engraved their personalities on the very air of Bute Street and, under Alexander Cordell's vivid pen, the streets are crammed again with everycreed and nationality; from priests and nuns to dockers and drunks; boxers,rugby fanatics, concubines and Bute Street ladies. The place comes alive in all its bawdy strength and colour.

Hodder & Stoughton

To Slay The Dreamer

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

From the Spanish sierras to the French Pyrenees, one desperate cause unites them.As the stromclouds gather in the passionate fight against the Fascists, a young Spanish countess and a trained american assassin join forces with the partisans in a desperateattempt on the life of General Franco.TO SLAY THE DREAMER is a rich and compelling story of a group of patriots ready to die for their country - a moving novel of dangerous loyalty amidst the ultimate futility ofwar.

Hodder & Stoughton

Peerless Jim

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Jim Driscoll, adopted Welshman, one of the greatest boxers who ever lived. Robust, hot-headed, a born fighter - and a legend in his own lifetime. Moving between South Wales, London and America in the early years of thetwentieth century, this is the dramatic story of a true-life sporting hero - a story of fierce pride and burning ambition, but also of human weakness and a lovethat survives against all odds.

Hodder & Stoughton

This Sweet And Bitter Earth

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

The men of the North Wales slate quarries lived dangerous, unhealthy and underpaid lives; as a boy Toby Davies joined them. The quarries taught himprecious truths about poverty and exploitation, but Toby also learned of love from the two beautiful women in his life - Bron and Nanwen O'Hara. Toby moved south to seek work in the coal mines, but found no easier future.He was there at the notorious Tonypany riots of 1910 and the police occupationof the Rhondda, and would never forget the savagery of the battles fought betweenthe workers and the bosses.