Chase Novak - Brood - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444760910
    • Publication date:09 Oct 2014
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444760934
    • Publication date:08 Oct 2015

Brood

By Chase Novak

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The spine-chilling follow-up to BREED, which Stephen King called 'by turns terrifying and blackly funny...a total blast'.

They should never have been born...

Adam and Alice Twisden are not ordinary children. Their parents used an experimental fertility treatment, and paid a horrific cost.

The twins' aunt is determined to give them the love and stability that they have never known. But outside the refuge she is trying to create, dark forces are combining. Troops of other feral offspring roam the New York streets. And there are people out there who wish to destroy them... and others who see a way to profit from them.

As the city becomes a battleground, Adam and Alice must decide where their loyalties lie. They are determined to remain human - and yet their own unnatural urges are growing ever stronger...

Biographical Notes

Chase Novak is the pen name of the celebrated American novelist Scott Spencer, whose bestselling work has sold millions of copies world wide, and who has twice been nominated for the National Book Award. Spencer's most recent novel, Man In The Woods, was published in 2010, and he is at work on another part of a linked chain of novels taking place in upstate New York.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444760927
  • Publication date: 09 Oct 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
A gloriously ghoulish read — Irish Tatler
A richly imagined, hideous, surprising world...Who could ask for anything more? — PopMatters
Praise for BREED — .
The best horror novel I've read since Peter Straub's Ghost Story. By turns terrifying and blackly funny, BREED is a total blast. — Stephen King
A nightmarish, yet sickeningly plausible world... An exceptional novel that's crying out for a movie adap — SFX
Novak puts an innovative spin on the idea that inside every parent lurks a monster, and delivers pulse-racing set pieces as a pervasive sense of dread blossoms into something poisonous. The result is a stylish parable of greed, peppered with plenty of dry urban humour — Financial Times
Delightfully entertaining... redolent of Roald Dahl at his creepy best — Washington Post
Above and beyond its fatality count BREED has originality on its side; the ending is a true shocker. — New York Times
Chase Novak unleashes truly scary literary horror villains in BREED: Mom and Dad... a thrill to read — USA Today
A slice of shivering dread — New York Daily News
Hodder & Stoughton

The Fifth Doctrine

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew
Hodder & Stoughton

The Outsider

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Mulholland Books

Expecting to Die

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder Paperbacks

Why Did You Lie?

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

The Sunday Times top crime read of the year. A journalist on the track of an old case attempts suicide. An ordinary couple return from a house swap in the states to find their home in disarray and their guests seemingly missing. Four strangers struggle to find shelter on a windswept spike of rock in the middle of a raging sea. They have one thing in common: they all lied.And someone is determined to punish them...WHY DID YOU LIE is a terrifying tale of long-delayed retribution from Iceland's Queen of Suspense.

Mulholland Books

River of Souls

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes

Jude Shelley, the daughter of a prominent cabinet minister, was assaulted and left for dead in the river Thames. Her attacker was never caught. A year later, forensic psychologist Alice Quentin is asked to re-examine the case.Then another body is found: an elderly priest, washed up at Westminster Pier. An ancient glass bead is tied to his wrist. Alice is certain that the Shelleys are hiding something - and that there will be more victims unless she can persuade them to share what they know. The Thames has always been a site of violent sacrifice. And Alice is about to learn that some people still believe in its power...

Hodder & Stoughton

A Time of Torment

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder Paperbacks

Finders Keepers

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

A riveting crime thriller about a reader whose obsession with a reclusive writer goes too far, featuring the same trio of unlikely and winning heroes King introduced in MR MERCEDES.1978: Morris Bellamy is a reader so obsessed by America's iconic author John Rothstein that he is prepared to kill for a trove of notebooks containing at least one more unpublished novel. 2009: Pete Saubers, a boy whose father was brutally injured by a stolen Mercedes, discovers a buried trunk containing cash and Rothstein's notebooks.2014: After thirty-five years in prison, Morris is up for parole. And he's hell-bent on recovering his treasure.Now it's up to retired detective Bill Hodges - running an investigative company called 'Finders Keepers' - to rescue Pete from an ever-more deranged and vengeful Morris...Not since Misery has King written with such visceral power about a reader with such a dangerous obsession. Finders Keepers is spectacular suspense, and it is King writing about how literature shapes a life for good, for bad, for ever.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Steel Kiss

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder Paperbacks

The Devil's Anvil

Matt Hilton
Authors:
Matt Hilton
Hodder & Stoughton

Morning Star

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown

Darrow is a Helldiver, one of a thousand men and women who live in the vast caves beneath the surface of Mars, generations of people who spend their lives toiling to mine the precious elements that will allow the planet to be terraformed. Just knowing that, one day, people will be able to walk the surface of the planet is enough to justify their sacrifice. The Earth is dying, and Darrow and his people are the only hope humanity has left. Until the day Darrow learns that it is all a lie. That Mars has been habitable - and inhabited - for generations, by a class of people calling themselves the Golds. A class of people who look down at Darrow and his fellows as slave labour, to be exploited and worked to death without a second thought. Until the day Darrow, with the help of a mysterious group of rebels, disguises himself as a Gold and infiltrates their society.

Mulholland Books

Honky Tonk Samurai

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Mulholland Books

After She's Gone

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Game for All the Family

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

'One of the great unmissables of this genre - intelligent, classy and with a wonderfully Gothic imagination' - The Times He's not your son. It's not up to you to save him. But you have to try. After escaping London and a career that nearly destroyed her, Justine plans to spend her days doing as little as possible in her beautiful home in Devon.But soon after the move, her daughter Ellen starts to withdraw when her new best friend, George, is unfairly expelled from school. Justine begs the head teacher to reconsider, only to be told that nobody's been expelled - there is, and was, no George. Then the anonymous calls start: a stranger, making threats that suggest she and Justine share a traumatic past and a guilty secret - yet Justine doesn't recognise her voice. When the caller starts to talk about three graves - two big and one small, to fit a child - Justine fears for her family's safety. If the police can't help, she'll have to eliminate the danger herself, but first she must work out who she's supposed to be...

Mulholland Books

Crooked

Austin Grossman
Authors:
Austin Grossman
Hodder & Stoughton

Brush Back

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Hodder & Stoughton

The Hunter's Kind

Rebecca Levene
Authors:
Rebecca Levene
John Murray

Death is a Welcome Guest

Louise Welsh
Authors:
Louise Welsh

Longlisted for the Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Novel of the YearMagnus McFall was a comic on the brink of his big break when the world came to an end. Now, he is a man on the run and there is nothing to laugh about.Thrown into unwilling partnership with an escaped convict, Magnus flees the desolation of London to make the long journey north, clinging to his hope that the sickness has not reached his family on their remote Scottish island.He finds himself in a landscape fraught with danger, fighting for his place in a world ruled by men, like his fellow traveller Jeb - practical men who do not let pain or emotions interfere with getting the job done.This is a world with its own justice, and new rules.Where people, guns and food are currency.Where survival is everything.Death is a Welcome Guest defies you to put it down, and leaves you with questions that linger in the mind long after you read the last page.

Mulholland Books

A Killing of Angels

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes

Getting into the mind of a killer isn't for the faint of heart... Psychologist Alice Quentin must track down a murderer in the City, in this thrilling novel for fans of Nicci French and Ruth Rendell. At the height of a summer heatwave, a killer stalks the City of London.The avenging angel leaves behind a scattering of feathers with each body - but why these victims? What were their sins? Psychologist Alice Quentin only agrees to help out on the case because she owes Detective Don Burns a favour. But soon she finds herself deep in the toxic heart of the Square Mile - a place where money means more than life, and no one can be counted innocent. With fascinating characters and a page-turning plot, Kate Rhodes's novels are perfect for fans of Nicci French and Val McDermid.

Mulholland Books

Crossbones Yard

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes