Gerald Seymour - The Journeyman Tailor - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444760262
    • Publication date:21 Nov 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444784978
    • Publication date:21 Nov 2013

The Journeyman Tailor

By Gerald Seymour

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The only rule for survival in Ireland is: Hear nothing, see nothing, know nothing.

In the villages and on the mountains of County Tyrone, in the heartland of the Provisional IRA's most active Brigade, the golden rule is 'Hear nothing, see nothing, know nothing'. To collaborate with British Intelligence is to invite an inescapable death sentence.

But there is word on the mountain that inside the Brigade there is a 'tout', an informer. He will be identified, interrogated, tortured, then hooded and shot.

Gary Brennard, the MI5 field agent, and Parker, who runs the informer, have to protect their man at all costs: he is the critical asset to hold on to until the stakes are high enough... and if the innocent step into the crossfire, that's just bad luck.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444760255
  • Publication date: 21 Nov 2013
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Finely written with tension, action, suspense, atmosphere and topical authenticity — Sunday Telegraph
The pace is relentless... With such writing, Seymour deservedly ranks among today's top thriller writers — Sunday Express
A dark, rainswept novel, full of excitement and the vicious amorality of patriotism — The New Yorker
It's many years since I have been so gripped by a thriller — Daily Telegraph
Mulholland Books

In Her Eyes

Sarah Alderson
Authors:
Sarah Alderson

You're at home with your family. You think you're safe. You're wrong...Ava's life is the kind other people envy: loving husband; great kids; beautiful house. Until the night that a violent home invasion plunges her world into chaos.In the aftermath of the attack, Ava needs answers to two questions. Who has targeted her family? And why?But things aren't adding up. She is starting to suspect that someone knows more than they are letting on. That everything she thought she knew about the people closest to her was a lie.Ava needs to know what happened that night. And to do that she must decide who she can really trust. Because she's about to discover that her family is in more danger than she ever imagined...For fans of Rachel Abbott, Laura Marshall and Cara Hunter, IN HER EYES is a brilliantly twisty thriller about the secrets that lie behind a seemingly perfect life.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Perfect Couple

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder & Stoughton

If She Wakes

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta

New York Times bestselling author Michael Koryta, the 'master' (Stephen King) of American thriller writing, returns with an electrifying new novel about two women fighting for their lives against an enigmatic killer.Tara Beckley is a college senior assigned to chaperone a visiting engineer to a conference. On the road, she is the victim of a brutal accident that kills the engineer but leaves Tara in a vegetative state - or, at least, so her doctors think. Really, Tara is the prisoner of locked-in syndrome, fully alert, but unable to move a muscle. Trapped in her body, she discovers that someone powerful wants her dead. But why? And what can she do, lying in a hospital bed, to stop them?Meanwhile, Abby Kaplan, an insurance investigator, is assigned to Tara's case. A former stunt driver, Abby has returned to Maine after a disaster in Hollywood left a beloved actor dead and her own reputation - and nerves - shattered. She has nothing left to give to the case, but she can tell there's more to the accident than meets the eye.When Abby starts asking questions, things spin out of control fast, leaving her boss murdered, Abby on the run, and an enigmatic young hit man on her heels.If She Wakes is a tension-filled thriller from one of the masters of the genre.

Mulholland Books

Boy in the Well

Douglas Lindsay
Authors:
Douglas Lindsay

Book 2 in the DI Westphall series.'The Boy in the Well is a dark and satisfying mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the company of DI Ben Westphall, a compelling personality . . . This one comes thoroughly recommended' James OswaldThe body of a young boy is discovered at the bottom of a well that has been sealed for two hundred years. Yet the corpse is only days old . . .No one comes forward to identify #Boy9, and DI Ben Westphall's only suspects are the farmers on whose land the well sits. They certainly seem as though they have something to hide. But it might not be what he thinks.Soon, similarities from an old crime emerge and Westphall must look to the past to piece together the dark and twisted events taking place in the present.

Mulholland Books

Willing to Die

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

A mother will do anything to protect her baby . . . WHEN A KILLER HAS NOTHING TO LOSEThe crime scene is as puzzling as it is brutal. Paul and Brindel Latham are found dead in their beautiful San Francisco home, each the victim of a gunshot wound to the head. THERE'S EVERY REASONFor Detective Regan Pescoli, news of her sister's death brings grief and guilt. She and Brindel weren't close, and Pescoli barely knows her teenage niece, Ivy, who lands on her doorstep in Grizzly Falls, Montana. Though Pescoli is on maternity leave, she's soon deeply involved in a very personal investigation. TO BE AFRAID . . .But as the list of suspects keeps growing, so does the body count. And Pescoli is about to find that both her and her loved ones are at the mercy of a killer who'll go to any lengths to see her suffer . . .Praise for Lisa Jackson'Jackson shows yet again why she is one of the best...A pure nail biter' Harlan Coben on You Don't Want to Know'Shiveringly good suspense! Each chapter will leave you wondering who to trust. The answer: You don't want to know . . .'Lisa Gardner on You Don't Want to Know'Absolutely tension filled...Jackson is on top of her game' Suspense Magazine on Tell Me

Hodder Paperbacks

The Mother-in-Law

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth
Mulholland Books

The Elephant of Surprise

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale

Hap and Leonard are an unlikely pair - Hap, a self-proclaimed white trash rebel, and Leonard - a tough-as-nails Black, gay, Vietnam vet and Republican - but they're the closest friend either of them has in the world. After years of crime-solving companionship, something's changed: Hap, recently married to their P.I. boss, Brett, is now a family man. Amidst the worst flood East Texas has seen in years, the two run across a woman who's had her tongue nearly cut out, pursued by a heavily armed pair of goons. Though she can't talk much, on account of the tongue, it turns out the girl survived a mob hit, and the boss has come to clean up the mess. On a chase that blows even the East Texas swampgrass back, Hap and Leonard must save the girl, and vanquish her foes, before the foes get them first. With a new case to solve, and a brand-new challenge to their relationship, will Hap and Leonard's friendship survive? Will Hap and Leonard survive?With Lansdale's trademark humor, whip-smart dialogue, and plenty of ass-kicking adventures to be had, you won't want to miss Hap and Leonard's latest.

Mulholland Books

On My Life

Angela Clarke
Authors:
Angela Clarke

Framed. Imprisoned. Pregnant. Jenna thought she had the perfect life: a loving fiancé, a great job, a beautiful home. Then she finds her stepdaughter murdered; her partner missing. And the police think she did it...Locked up to await trial, surrounded by prisoners who'd hurt her if they knew what she's accused of, certain someone close to her has framed her, Jenna knows what she needs to do: Clear her name Save her baby Find the killer But can she do it in time? 'An angry, powerful read - one of those rare crime novels with more to deliver than routine thrills.' Mick Herron, author of London Rules 'A compelling, vividly realised prison drama with a mystery at its heart. Hugely enjoyed it.' Steve Cavanagh, author of Thirteen'This is an eye-opening, jaw-dropping read that will keep you up to the wee small hours.' Liz Nugent, author of Skin Deep'Intelligent, pacy thriller... Taut, claustrophobic, fast-paced, moving. An incredibly gripping read.'Will Dean, author of Dark Pines

Hodder & Stoughton

Battle Sight Zero

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Mulholland Books

The Forbidden Place

Susanne Jansson
Authors:
Susanne Jansson
Hodder & Stoughton

Flight or Fright

Stephen King, Bev Vincent, Michael Lewis, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Richard Matheson, Ambrose Bierce, E.C. Tubb, Tom Bissell, Dan Simmons, Cody Goodfellow, John Varley, Joe Hill, David J. Schow, Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Peter Treemayne, James L. Dickey
Authors:
Stephen King, Bev Vincent, Michael Lewis, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Richard Matheson, Ambrose Bierce, E.C. Tubb, Tom Bissell, Dan Simmons, Cody Goodfellow, John Varley, Joe Hill, David J. Schow, Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Peter Treemayne, James L. Dickey
Mulholland Books

Liar, Liar

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Damned Serious Business

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

'The novel is an absorbing briefing on cyberwarfare as well as a masterclass in characterisation' SUNDAY TIMES Thriller of the MonthThere is a new cold war raging and its frontline warriors are Russian hackers - gang-members working freelance for the FSB, successor to the KGB. Massive thefts of personal information, electoral interference, catastrophic disruption of commercial and social services, banks, airlines, even whole countries disabled - this is happening now.Nicknamed 'Boot' because of his obsession with the Duke of Wellington and the battle of Waterloo, Edwin Coker is a case officer at the Vauxhall headquarters of MI6. When a young hacker falls into his hands and reveals details of a secret meeting, Boot conceives a daring plan to strike back - not with a computer virus of his own, but with a bomb that will seriously damage the Russian operation, spreading fear and distrust.Now Boot and his little team need a 'deniable' handler to deliver the explosives across the border from Estonia into Russia and bring the hacker back out. They turn to Merc, an ex-soldier fighting in Iraq, a gun-for-hire who knows how to get out of a tight spot. They hope.From the moment Merc sets out to cross the River Narva things do not go to plan and when the hacker's sister becomes involved, his mission turns from tough to near impossible. The scene is set for a classic story of pursuit and evasion and an epic battle for survival.

Hodder & Stoughton

Jericho's War

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder Paperbacks

No Mortal Thing

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder & Stoughton

The Whistler

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

The Trespasser

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French
Hodder Paperbacks

Harry's Game

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder & Stoughton

Pet Sematary

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder Paperbacks

The Likeness

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French

Still traumatised by her brush with a psychopath, Detective Cassie Maddox transfers out of the Murder squad and starts a relationship with fellow detective Sam O'Neill. When he calls her to the scene of his new case, she is shocked to find that the murdered girl is her double. What's more, her ID shows she is Lexie Madison - the identity Cassie used, years ago, as an undercover detective. With no leads, no suspects and no clues to Lexie's real identity, Cassie's old boss spots the opportunity of a lifetime: send Cassie undercover in her place, to tempt the killer out of hiding to finish the job.