Gerald Seymour - Red Fox - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444760088
    • Publication date:27 Mar 2014

Red Fox

By Gerald Seymour

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Beautiful, seductive and extremely dangerous, Franca Tantardini is one of Italy's most ruthless political extremists. When she is captured in a shoot-out, her fanatical young lover, Giancarlo Battestini, vows to set her free and, with quiet watchfulness, waits for the moment to strike.

In Rome, a British businessman, Geoffery Harrison, has been taken hostage by a ruthless organised crime syndicate - kidnap is, after all, a growth industry. The British Government are adamant that they will not pay the two-million-dollar ransom and discharge responsibility to the Italian police. As political wrangling takes hold, Battestini sees a weakness and realises that the only way to secure the release of his beloved Franca is to capture Harrison and bargain his life for hers.

The authorities are confronted with a terrible choice. Should they release a woman who has masterminded the murder of so many or let an innocent man die?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444760071
  • Publication date: 27 Mar 2014
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
A wholly riveting read — Daily Express
The best suspense novel I've read this year — Daily Mail
His best thriller yet: taut, suspenseful, eminently topical' — Sunday Indpendent
Not only is the story top class, for a relative outsider Seymour shows a remarkable insight into the minds of the young anarchists — Sunday Tribune
Mulholland Books

Girls Like Us

Cristina Alger
Authors:
Cristina Alger
Mulholland Books

Girl Last Seen

Nina Laurin
Authors:
Nina Laurin

Two missing girls. Thirteen years apart.An intense psychological thriller for readers of I Am Watching You, The Luckiest Girl Alive, and All the Missing Girls.Olivia Shaw has been missing since last Tuesday. She was last seen outside the entrance of her elementary school in Hunts Point wearing a white spring jacket, blue jeans, and pink boots.I force myself to look at the face in the photo, into her slightly smudged features, and I can't bring myself to move. Olivia Shaw could be my mirror image, rewound to thirteen years ago.If you have any knowledge of Olivia Shaw's whereabouts or any relevant information, please contact...I've spent a long time peering into the faces of girls on missing posters, wondering which one replaced me in that basement. But they were never quite the right age, the right look, the right circumstances. Until Olivia Shaw, missing for one week tomorrow.Whoever stole me was never found. But since I was taken, there hasn't been another girl.And now there is.

Hodder & Stoughton

Witchfinder

Andrew Williams
Authors:
Andrew Williams

A brilliant novel of espionage and betrayal from 'one of Britain's most accomplished thriller writers' (Daily Mail)London 1963. The Beatles, Carnaby Street, mini-skirts. But the new mood hasn't reached the drab and fearful corridors of MI5 and MI6. Many agents joined the secret service to fight the Nazis. Now they are locked in a Cold War against the Russians.And some of them are traitors.The service has been shaken to its core by the high-profile defections of Cambridge-educated spies Burgess, MacLean and now Philby. Appalled at such flagrant breaches of British security, the Americans are demanding a rigorous review.Harry Vaughan is brought back from Vienna to be part of it. The Chief asks him to join two investigators - Arthur Martin and Peter Wright - who are determined to clean out the stables, and the first target of their suspicions is the Deputy Director General of MI5, Graham Mitchell.Harry slips back into a relationship with an old flame, Elsa, and joins the hunt - somewhat reluctantly. He is sceptical of the case against Mitchell and wary of the messianic fervour of the two spycatchers. But the further the investigation goes - and the deeper his commitment to Elsa becomes - the greater the sense of paranoia and distrust that spreads through the 'wilderness of mirrors' that is the secret service. The only certainty is that no-one is above suspicion. Including Harry Vaughan.

Coronet

Black Ops

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

A series of gruesome killings take place in Dubai, Ghana and America. The victims are all connected with the SAS. In Hereford Danny Black realises they have something more specific in common - they were all involved in training a young Muslim soldier, Ibrahim Khan.Khan has been working under cover in Islamic State in a mission organised by MI6. Danny Black sets out to track him down with the help of Khan's MI6 handler on a trail that leads him to a library of ancient manuscripts in Damascus, the Syrian desert and finally back in the Brecon Beacons. There Danny discovers that he has finally met his match, his deadliest enemy - and it is the last person he ever expected.

Mulholland Books

Make Them Sorry

Sam Hawken
Authors:
Sam Hawken

Camaro Espinoza is 'the deadliest female protagonist since Jon Land's Caitlin Strong and Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander' (Booklist).Camaro doesn't particularly want to get involved with other people's lives, other people's problems. But she can tell that the woman in her gym is looking for help. And when she learns that Faith has a stalker, she agrees to give her a few defense lessons. She's not expecting the stalker to become so violent so quickly. Or to have been hired by someone. Faith, it seems, has made some serious enemies... and now they're going after Camaro too. They're about to find out that that was a mistake.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Bone Fire

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes

The brand new Oswald de Lacy thriller, for fans of C.J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S.J. Parris.1361. Plague has returned to England - thirteen years after the devastation of The Black Death. As destruction advances towards his estate in Kent, Oswald de Lacy leads his family to the safety of a remote castle in the marshes - where his friend Godfrey is preparing a fortress to survive the coming disaster. The rules are clear: once the de Lacys and other guests are inside the castle the portcullis will be lowered and no-one permitted to enter or leave until the Pestilence has passed. And then a murderer strikes. Oswald is confronted with a stark choice - leave and face the ravages of the plague, or stay and place his family at the mercy of a brutal killer. With word of his skills as an investigator preceding him, it falls to Oswald to unmask the murderer in their midst. Host, guest, or servant - everyone is a suspect in this poisoned refuge of secrets, deceit and malice.

Hodder & Stoughton

This is Gomorrah

Tom Chatfield
Authors:
Tom Chatfield
Hodder & Stoughton

Girl at Midnight

Katarzyna Bonda
Authors:
Katarzyna Bonda

For seven years, Sasza Zaluska has lived with her little girl in the north of England. Far from her previous job as an undercover cop, far from her dependence on alcohol and the traumatic case that made her flee from the police, her family and her native Poland. But now she is coming back. This time, Sasza is looking for a quieter life. She has studied to become a psychological profiler and she soon picks up a freelance job to check out some threats made against the owner of a nightclub. But no sooner has Sasza visited the club than a man is murdered there and Sasza finds herself drawn back towards the world she left behind. The dead man is a musician - famous for one song in particular: Girl at Midnight. Both the song and the crime seem to be connected to a double tragedy of years before, when a brother and sister both died on the same day. Now Sasza Zaluska must follow a crooked, complex trail from a violent past to a more sophisticated criminal present, in which the gangsters have corrupted every level of society. Girl at Midnight has old over a million copies in Poland and Katarzyna Bonda has become her country's undisputed Queen of Crime.

Mulholland Books

The Starter Wife

Nina Laurin
Authors:
Nina Laurin
Hodder & Stoughton

Don't Say a Word

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly
Two Roads

A Single Source

Peter Hanington
Authors:
Peter Hanington
Hodder Paperbacks

Before I Find You

Ali Knight
Authors:
Ali Knight

PERFECT FOR FANS OF KILLING EVE, THE GUILTY WIFE AND FRIEND REQUEST'A sharp, witty psychological suspense with a difference. Be prepared for a fast ride and an unexpected destination' Jane Corry, Sunday Times Bestselling author of The Dead ExMaggie is a husband watcher. A snooper, a marriage doctor, a killer of happy-ever-afters. She runs her own private detective agency specialising in catching out those who cheat. And she's very good at it. Until Helene walks through her door.Helene is a husband catcher. A beautiful wife, a doting stepmother, a dazzling presence at parties. She counts herself lucky to have married one of the most eligible men in town - Gabe Moreau. Until she sees something that threatens her little family of three.Alice is a perfect daughter. Apple of her father's eye, a kind stepchild to Helene, a tragic daughter of a dead mother. She lives a sheltered but happy life. Until she finds a handwritten note on her father's desk: 'You owe me. I'm not going away.'All three women suspect Gabe Moreau of keeping secrets and telling lies. But not one of them suspects that the truth could result in murder . . .'Ridiculously addictive and compelling - I tore through this crisp, taut character-driven delight in one day!' Angela Clarke, Sunday Times bestselling author of Follow Me, Watch Me and Trust Me'Fabulously whip-smart and twisty with a feisty female lead who crackles off the page' Eve Chase, author of The Vanishing of Audrey WildePRAISE FOR ALI KNIGHT'Crackles from first page to last' Daily Mail'A suspenseful Hitchcockian tale . . . [one of the] top ten crime books to take on holiday' Telegraph'Tightly-plotted, high-pitched psychological thriller . . . what Ali Knight does so successfully is broach the great divide between public and private space' Daily Mirror'A clever thriller . . . a gripping read' Sunday Mirror'Pacey and disquieting, Knight's debut hints she might be a successor to Sophie Hannah's queen of suspense crown' Stylist'A really enjoyable read' Number one bestselling author, Martina Cole'Top notch suspense!' Number one bestselling author, Lisa Gardner'Like The Girl on the Train, brilliantly twisty and compulsive' Elizabeth Fremantle, author of The Poison Bed

Mulholland Books

The Elephant of Surprise

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Hodder & Stoughton

Disturbance

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh
Hodder Paperbacks

Never Go There

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly
Mulholland Books

On My Life

Angela Clarke
Authors:
Angela Clarke
Mulholland Books

The Stranger Inside

Laura Benedict
Authors:
Laura Benedict
Hodder & Stoughton

Breathe

Dominick Donald
Authors:
Dominick Donald
Hodder & Stoughton

The Cutting Edge

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The new thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series.It is spring, and the semi-preserved body of a young Jewish woman is discovered buried in the Maine woods. It is clear that she gave birth shortly before her death.But there is no sign of a baby.Private detective Charlie Parker is engaged by the lawyer Moxie Castin to shadow the police investigation and find the infant, but Parker is not the only searcher. Someone else is following the trail left by the woman, someone with an interest in more than a missing child, someone prepared to leave bodies in his wake.And in a house by the woods, a toy telephone begins to ring.For a young boy is about to receive a call from a dead woman . . .