Marcia Clark - The Competition - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Competition

A Rachel Knight novel

By Marcia Clark

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

Los Angeles DA Rachel Knight is brought in to the aftermath of a high-school shooting in Marcia Clark's most topical thriller yet.

It's every parent's worst nightmare. A Columbine-style massacre in a crowded high school hall has left the community shocked to the core. Two students are identified as the killers. Both are dead, believed to have committed a mutual suicide.

But in the aftermath, as LA Special Trials prosecutor Rachel Knight and Detective Bailey Keller dig deeper, they realise that the pieces don't add up. Did the shooters really kill themselves? Or are they still on the loose?

When someone starts dropping clues that another horrific crime is in the works, Rachel and Bailey scramble desperately to identify their suspects. The question now isn't whether they plan to kill again. It's whether they can be stopped...

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444755282
  • Publication date: 03 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
Clark handles sometimes painfully raw scenes with great sensitivity...a tour de force — Booklist
A ticking time bomb of a thriller...The twisty plot and dynamic duo make for a suspenseful, if sobering, page-turner — Publishers Weekly
Marcia Clark has upped the ante yet again... Pulse-pounding, poignant, and provocative, this is a story that will engage your heart and your mind — Examiner
Thrilling — Closer
When it comes to Californian crime, Ms Clark knows her onions — Grazia
It's no big surprise that Marcia Clark knows her way around a courtroom, and a murder mystery - but she's also a terrific writer and storyteller — James Patterson
Praise for Marcia Clark and the Rachel Knight series — .
Clark's latest legal thriller...builds real drama out of its tabloid crime and makes Knight a likable crusader for truth in Tinseltown — People
It's no big surprise that Marcia Clark knows her way around a courtroom, and a murder mystery - but she's also a terrific writer and storyteller. — James Patterson
Suspenseful and gripping.... the best yet in the series. Clark's own expertise enables her to realistically portray the drama and vicissitudes of a criminal prosecution — Publishers Weekly
Legal thrillers don't get much better than this.... Boasting a feisty protagonist, a winning supporting cast, and steadily escalating courtroom drama, KILLER AMBITION finds Clark at the top of her game — Booklist
A refreshing and suspenseful portrayal of high-stakes trials — Los Angeles Times
You must read this book: it is wildly and complexly plotted, ebulliently witty and filled with riotous humor; it details the inner workings of the L.A. legal system with unprecedented accuracy and verve - and to top it off, it is a damn, damn, good thriller — James Ellroy
This introduction to LA special prosecutor Rachel Knight charms from the first line then surfs a tide of knockabout humour, sassy backchat and armour-piercing observation — Daily Telegraph
Knight makes a compelling protagonist - rebellious, straight-forward, salty — Guardian
Spying on the system's inner workings proves increasingly addictive, and it's refreshing to find a lead character pursuing a stressful life because she actually enjoys it. A blade-sharp read. — Financial Times
Marcia Clark knows her villains, and GUILT BY DEGREES gives us one you won't forget. She also gives us one of the toughest and most appealing heroes to come along in a very long time. Prosecutor Rachel Knight is smart, funny, and just about fearless in her pursuit of justice and a good martini — Joseph Finder
Hodder & Stoughton

Outfox

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

The Bone Fire

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes

The brand new Oswald de Lacy thriller, for fans of C.J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S.J. Parris.1361. Plague has returned to England - thirteen years after the devastation of The Black Death. As destruction advances towards his estate in Kent, Oswald de Lacy leads his family to the safety of a remote castle in the marshes - where his friend Godfrey is preparing a fortress to survive the coming disaster. The rules are clear: once the de Lacys and other guests are inside the castle the portcullis will be lowered and no-one permitted to enter or leave until the Pestilence has passed. And then a murderer strikes. Oswald is confronted with a stark choice - leave and face the ravages of the plague, or stay and place his family at the mercy of a brutal killer. With word of his skills as an investigator preceding him, it falls to Oswald to unmask the murderer in their midst. Host, guest, or servant - everyone is a suspect in this poisoned refuge of secrets, deceit and malice.

Hodder & Stoughton

This is Gomorrah

Tom Chatfield
Authors:
Tom Chatfield
Hodder & Stoughton

Girl at Midnight

Katarzyna Bonda
Authors:
Katarzyna Bonda
Mulholland Books

Girls Like Us

Cristina Alger
Authors:
Cristina Alger
Mulholland Books

Her Fugitive Heart

Adi Tantimedh
Authors:
Adi Tantimedh
Hodder & Stoughton

A Capitol Death

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

The next book in the gripping Flavia Albia series, by acclaimed author Lindsey DavisA tragic accident . . . or was it?Emperor Domitian has been awarded (or rather, has demanded) yet another Triumph to celebrate two so-called victories. Preparations are going smoothly until one of the men overseeing arrangements for the celebration accidentally falls to his death from a cliff on the symbolic Capitoline Hill. But an old woman comes forward, insisting that the man was in fact pushed - and she refuses to leave it alone. Tiberius is soon dragged in to find out what really happened, and swiftly passes the job to Flavia Albia. Flavia suspects there's more to the incident than meets the eye, as there are plenty of people who would have been delighted to be rid of the overseer. He was an abusive swine who couldn't organise a booze-up in a winery and was caught up in a number of scams, including one surrounding the supply of imperial purple dye and a family of shellfish-boilers. As Flavia finds herself drawn into a theatrical world of carnival floats, musicians, incense and sacrificial beasts, can she see to the heart of the matter and catch those responsible for the unpopular man's untimely death?*************Praise for Lindsey Davis and the Flavia Albia series'Lindsey Davis has seen off all her competitors to become the unassailable market leader in the 'crime in Ancient Rome' genre . . . Davis's squalid, vibrant Rome is as pleasurable as ever' - Guardian'Davis's prose is a lively joy, and Flavia's Rome is sinister and gloriously real' - The Times on Sunday'For fans of crime fiction set in the ancient world, this one is not to be missed' - Booklist'Davis's books crackle with wit and knowledge . . . She has the happy knack of making the reader feel entirely immersed in Rome' - The Times(P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Stone Mothers

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

'The Victorians used to call their mental hospitals stone mothers,' I say. 'They thought the design of the building could literally nurse the sick back to health.'Marianne grew up in the shadow of the old asylum, a place that still haunts her dreams. She was seventeen when she fled the town, her family, her boyfriend Jesse and the body they buried.Now, forced to return, she can feel the past closing around her. And Jesse, who never forgave her for leaving, is finally threatening to expose the truth.Marianne will do anything to protect the life she's built; the husband and daughter who must never know.Even if it means turning to her worst enemy...But Marianne may not know the whole story - and she isn't the only one with secrets they'd kill to keep.Moving back through time to reveal twists you'll never see coming, Stone Mothers is the gripping new suspense novel from the bestselling author of He Said/She Said.'Poignant and tragic, full of unexpected shifts and twists, addictively scary and thrillingly audacious.' Nicci French'The plot is so CLEVER... and the writing is perfection.' Marian Keyes'The incomparable Erin Kelly has written another captivating, cleverly constructed contemporary novel.' Paula Hawkins

Hodder Paperbacks

Before I Find You

Ali Knight
Authors:
Ali Knight
Hodder Paperbacks

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George
Mulholland Books

On My Life

Angela Clarke
Authors:
Angela Clarke
Mulholland Books

Friends Like These

Sarah Alderson
Authors:
Sarah Alderson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Cutting Edge

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Mulholland Books

Murder at the Grand Raj Palace

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan
Mulholland Books

Jackrabbit Smile

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Hodder & Stoughton

Never Go There

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly
Two Roads

The Butcher's Hook

Janet Ellis
Authors:
Janet Ellis
Mulholland Books

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan

Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra inherits two unexpected mysteries.The first is the case of a drowned boy, whose suspicious death no one seems to want solved.And the second is a baby elephant.As his search for clues takes him across the teeming city of Mumbai, from its grand high rises to its sprawling slums and deep into its murky underworld, Chopra begins to suspect that there may be a great deal more to both his last case and his new ward than he thought.And he soon learns that when the going gets tough, a determined elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs...

Mulholland Books

Killer Ambition

Marcia Clark
Authors:
Marcia Clark
Mulholland Books

Trouble in Paradise

Marcia Clark
Authors:
Marcia Clark