Malcolm Macdonald - World From Rough Stones - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

World From Rough Stones

By Malcolm Macdonald

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The first book in the classic Stevenson saga. An epic story of ambition and daring at the dawn of the Victorian age.

'A natural successor to the late Ronald Delderfield' Yorkshire Post

England in 1839. A time of change, upheaval and limitless possibility. Every new mile of railroad track and every belching smokestack is a sign of the advancing age of opportunity, where fortune awaits those with the courage and determination to seize it.

""Lord John"" Stevenson is the clever, ruthless and hugely popular foreman working on a project to build the world's longest railway tunnel. A near-fatal accident brings the waifish buyet savvy Nora Telling into his life. Together with an ill-married couple, Walter and Arabella Thornton, they risk everything in their quest to achieve the wealth and power they so desperately desire. Their relentless ambition sets them on a path that will lead to fame, fortune and the founding of a dynasty.



For more information and a full bibliography visit www.malcolmmacdonald.org.

Biographical Notes

Bestselling author Malcolm Macdonald was born in Gloucestershire in 1932. After thirteen years as a non-fiction writer he turned to the richly-documented and compulsive historical novels for which he has been named the 'natural successor to the late Ronald Delderfield'. He lives with his wife in Ireland. For more information, visit www.malcolmmacdonald.org.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444752212
  • Publication date: 25 Jul 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Scenes of which Hardy would have been proud — Gillian Reynolds
Rich and exciting — Washington Star
Zestful research and Macdonald's mastery of the dialects and speech of all classes bring his novel noisily to life from the first to the last page. — The Times
A powerful new novel...a successful attempt to blend fiction with authenticity. The story is rich with colourful characters, brawling, boozing and bedding...leaves the reader waiting impatiently for the next novel in what must be a memorable series. — Yorkshire Evening Post
Engrossing - a book to revel in. — Charleston Evening Post
An immense spectrum of life as the early Victorians lived it...a marvellously told story alive with believable people. — Charleston Evening Post
He is every bit as bad as Dickens. — Martin Seymour-Smith
John Murray

The Wolf and the Watchman

Niklas Natt och Dag
Authors:
Niklas Natt och Dag
Sceptre

Varina

Charles Frazier
Authors:
Charles Frazier

The new novel from the number one bestselling author of Cold Mountain - a stunning portrait of the devastation left by the American Civil War, as seen through the eyes of a woman who played a part at the heart of it.'Riveting...this is a sharp, evocative novel' - Publishers Weekly'Beneath the chilling, photogenic story, the writing remains beautiful' - IndependentWith her marriage prospects ruined in the wake of her father's financial decline, teenage Varina Howell decides her best option is to wed the much-older widower Jefferson Davis, with whom she expects a life of security as a Mississippi landowner. When he instead pursues a career in politics and is appointed President of the Confederacy, it puts Varina at the white-hot centre of one of the darkest moments in American history - culpable regardless of her intentions.As the Confederacy prepares to surrender and she finds herself friendless and alone, Varina and her children escape Richmond. With her marriage in tatters and the country divided, they travel south, now fugitives with 'bounties on their heads, an entire nation in pursuit'.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Red Ribbon

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle

The thrilling follow up to The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy, featuring Wiggins - an ex-soldier who was trained as a child by Sherlock Holmes. Praise for The Irregular 'H.B. Lyle has found the golden thread between Bond and Holmes' Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland'Impressive period detail and sharp dialogue add charm to the strong plot' Daily Mail'A thrilling story of espionage, murder and the creation of the Secret Service' Charles Cumming, author of A Colder WarCaptain Vernon Kell's fledgling secret intelligence service faces being shut down before it has even begun its job of saving the Empire from German and Russian spies. Harassed by politicians, like the ambitious Winston Churchill, bullied by Special Branch, undermined by his colleague Cumming's ill-advised foreign ventures and alarmed at his wife's involvement with militant suffragettes, Kell is making no progress in tracking high-profile leaks from the government. To make matter worse, his only agent, Wiggins, would rather be working on cases of his own.Wiggins grew up on the streets, one of the urchins trained in surveillance by Sherlock Holmes and known as the Baker Street Irregulars. He has promised to avenge the death of his best friend, and to track down a missing girl.But when his search takes him towards a club in Belgravia - a club containing a lot of young women and presided over by the fearsome Big T, one of his former gang-mates - Wiggins is drawn into a conspiracy that will test both his personal and his professional resolve.A satisfying, standalone sequel to The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy, H.B. Lyle's brilliantly entertaining spy story is also a superb evocation of London in 1910, from the finest drawing rooms to the meanest streets.

Sceptre

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free, by the Costa Award-winning author of PURE, is a stunning historical novel with the grip of a thriller, written in richly evocative, luminous prose.'A writer of very rare and outstanding gifts' - Independent on SundayOne rainswept winter's night in 1809, an unconscious man is carried into a house in Somerset. He is Captain John Lacroix, home from Britain's disastrous campaign against Napoleon's forces in Spain.Gradually Lacroix recovers his health, but not his peace of mind. He will not - cannot - talk about the war or face the memory of what took place on the retreat to Corunna. After the command comes to return to his regiment, he lights out instead for the Hebrides, unaware that he has far worse to fear than being dragged back to the army: a vicious English corporal and a Spanish officer with secret orders are on his trail.In luminous prose, Miller portrays a man shattered by what he has witnessed, on a journey that leads to unexpected friendships, even to love. But as the short northern summer reaches its zenith, the shadow of the enemy is creeping closer. Freedom, for John Lacroix, will come at a high price. Taut with suspense, this is an enthralling, deeply involving novel by one of Britain's most acclaimed writers.'One of our most skilful chroniclers of the human heart and mind' - Sunday Times

Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

Women of the Dunes

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

The new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine, the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides and Beyond the Wild River, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Jenny Ashcroft. On the rugged, sea-lashed coast of west Scotland lies Ullaness: home to the Scottish legend of Ulla, a Viking woman who washed up on Scottish shores centuries ago. The legend will bring the stories of three different women together...In AD 800 there is Ulla, lost in a new country, struggling to save her baby after her husband dies. Ellen, a servant-girl in the 1800s, catches the unwanted attentions of the master of the house. And, in the present day, there is Libby - an archaeologist who is determined to uncover an age-old mystery. When a body is excavated from Ullaness - the body of someone who was murdered long ago - the mystery deepens, and the fates of the three women become ever more tightly bound.

Hodder Paperbacks

One Kind Man

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Two Roads

The Sealwoman's Gift

Sally Magnusson
Authors:
Sally Magnusson
Hodder Paperbacks

Should You Ask Me

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh
Hodder & Stoughton

The Beast's Heart

Leife Shallcross
Authors:
Leife Shallcross
Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David
Hodder Paperbacks

The House Between Tides

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder Paperbacks

A Time for Renewal

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

The second instalment in the best-selling Rivenshaw series, by beloved saga author Anna Jacobs. In the wake of World War Two, the whole country is desperate for houses, with very little money available to rebuild. In the town of Rivenshaw in Lancashire, Mayne Esher has no choice but to turn Esherwood, the war-damaged stately home which has been in his family for generations, into flats. Rebuilding Esherwood won't be easy but with Judith Crossley by his side, Mayne hopes to restore it to its former glory. First, he must open it up to some of his long-suffering army friends... and it soon becomes clear that the house isn't the only thing which needs rebuilding.Victor is fighting his late wife's rich and arrogant mother for custody of his daughter Betty. Ros has been cheated out of her money and has nowhere to go now she's been demobbed from the army. Daniel is still unsettled after his wartime experiences. He's waiting for his divorce to go through and has family problems that take him away from Rivenshaw. Francis hasn't even been in touch. On top of these troubles, saving Esherwood proves to be a difficult undertaking for Mayne and Judith. And certain people will stop at nothing to prevent it happening. In this time of renewal, will the group find a way to rebuild their lives, and the old house, as planned?A heartwarming saga of strong-spirited, resilient women in post-war Lancashire.

Sceptre

Moonstone: The Boy Who Never Was

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón

Winner of the Icelandic Literary Prize'An extraordinary and original writer' A.S. Byatt on Sjón Reykjavik, 1918. The eruptions of the Katla volcano darken the sky night and day. Yet despite the natural disaster, the shortage of coal and the Great War still raging in the outside world, life in the small capital goes on as always. Sixteen-year-old Máni Steinn lives for the movies. Awake, he lives on the fringes of society. Asleep, he dreams in pictures, the threads of his own life weaving through the tapestry of the films he loves. When the Spanish flu epidemic comes ashore, killing hundreds of townspeople and forcing thousands to their sick beds, the shadows that linger at the edges of existence grow darker and Máni is forced to re-evaluate both the society around him and his role in it. Evoking the moment when Iceland's saga culture met the new narrative form of the cinema and when the isolated island became swept up in global events, this is the story of a misfit transformed by his experiences in a world where life and death, reality and imagination, secrets and revelations jostle for dominance.

Hodder Paperbacks

Holy Spy

Rory Clements
Authors:
Rory Clements

Hodder Paperbacks

The Queen's Man

Rory Clements
Authors:
Rory Clements

Hodder & Stoughton

The Good Italian

Stephen Burke
Authors:
Stephen Burke
Hodder Paperbacks

The Heretics

Rory Clements
Authors:
Rory Clements

Hodder & Stoughton

Dancing On Snowflakes

Malcolm Macdonald
Authors:
Malcolm Macdonald