Scott K. Andrews - Second Lives - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444752090
    • Publication date:19 May 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444752106
    • Publication date:19 May 2016
Books in this series

Second Lives

The TimeBomb Trilogy 2

By Scott K. Andrews

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The adventure continues: time is in flux, and only Jana, Dora and Kaz can fix it. But can they trust each other?

It began when three people from three different moments in history discovered that they could travel through time when they clasped hands. But the mysteries surrounding them have only deepened.

There are risks to tampering with established events... timelines become snarled, histories become tangled... and one false move could destroy time itself!

Jana, Kaz and Dora have escaped from their mysterious enemy, Quil, wounded and scared. Taking refuge in a place outside of time, they devise a plan to change the past, altering Quil's life so that she never meets them.

From the streets of Beirut in 2010 to the domed cities of Mars in 2155 and beyond, the three teenagers fight for their future, and that of all humanity, by trying to rewrite the history of the person who has sworn to destroy them.

What could be more complicated - and important - than trying to save the world? As their feelings for each other grow stronger, though, Jana, Kaz and Dora find themselves at the centre of a different kind of battle. And when it comes to matters of the heart, there can be no real victors.


*~*Readers love the TimeBomb series!*~*

'A fast-paced, time-hopping thriller' SciFiNow

'Tremendous fun... a riveting series opener... I finished the book in one sitting. If you enjoy fast-paced, action-driven time travel stories, this book is for you' A Fantastical Librarian

'A rip roaring roller coaster ride of a read that keeps you on your toes and is a WHOLE lot of fun' Liz Loves Books

'I was sucked into this book from the beginning and found it extremely hard to put down' Escapades of a Bookworm

'Impeccably unique and mesmerising, Andrews takes an astoundingly interesting take on time travel' Once Upon a Moonlight Review

'Executed perfectly, with likeable, intelligent and witty characters thrust into the mix of things' The Book Bag

'Well-written, funny, sad and exciting... a rocket of a timeslip adventure, designed to appeal to adults young and old and it most certainly succeeds' For Winter's Nights

Biographical Notes

Scott K. Andrews is the author of three novels in Abaddon's Afterblight Chronicles series - School's Out, Operation Motherland and Children's Crusade - which follow the adventures of a group of schoolchildren trying to rebuild society after a viral apocalypse. He has also written audio dramas, comics, episode guide books and a computer game.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444752113
  • Publication date: 23 Feb 2017
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Praise for THE TIMEBOMB TRILOGY
Tremendous fun... a riveting series opener... If you enjoy fast-paced, action-driven time travel stories, this book is for you — A Fantastical Librarian
A thrilling and well-developed SF adventure, the characterisation is as multi-dimensional as the time-travel plot — GeekLife
Timebomb tackles dizzying paradoxes at an exhilarating pace — Sophia McDougall, author of Mars Evacuees
Andrews pulls out all the stops... and he has masterfully interwoven past, present and future into a story that will have you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end — Feeling Fictional
TimeBomb is a rocket of a timeslip adventure, designed to appeal to adults young and old and it most certainly succeeds. — For Winter Nights
Fun, fast and furious... a huge step-up from Timebomb. It will leave you demanding more — Escapades of a Bookworm
TimeBomb was a fast-paced, astounding novel that races in time, weaving into mystery and what lies within time itself. — Pretty Little Memoirs
A fast-paced, time-hopping thriller — Sci Fi Now
John Murray

Hashim & Family

Shahnaz Ahsan
Authors:
Shahnaz Ahsan
Sceptre

The Whispering Muse

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón

Sceptre

Memories of the Future

Siri Hustvedt
Authors:
Siri Hustvedt
Coronet

Earwig

Brian Catling
Authors:
Brian Catling
Hodder Paperbacks

A Sea of Gold

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

There's Something About Sweetie

Sandhya Menon
Authors:
Sandhya Menon

'I'm head-over-heels for this charming, funny, romantic, life-affirming book.' Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens AgendaThe irresistible companion novel to the New York Times bestseller When Dimple Met Rishi, which follows Rishi's brother, Ashish, and a confident, self-proclaimed fat athlete named Sweetie as they both discover what love means to them.Ashish Patel didn't know love could be so...sucky. After being dumped by his ex-girlfriend, his mojo goes AWOL. Even worse, his parents are annoyingly, smugly confident they could find him a better match. So, in a moment of weakness, Ash challenges them to set him up.The Patels insist that Ashish date an Indian-American girl-under contract. Per subclause 1(a), he'll be taking his date on "fun" excursions like visiting the Hindu temple and his eccentric Gita Auntie. Kill him now. How is this ever going to work?Sweetie Nair is many things: a formidable track athlete who can outrun most people in California, a loyal friend, a shower-singing champion. Oh, and she's also fat. To Sweetie's traditional parents, this last detail is the kiss of death.Sweetie loves her parents, but she's so tired of being told she's lacking because she's fat. She decides it's time to kick off the Sassy Sweetie Project, where she'll show the world (and herself) what she's really made of.Ashish and Sweetie both have something to prove. But with each date they realize there's an unexpected magic growing between them. Can they find their true selves without losing each other?'A thoroughly delightful romance featuring a spirited, confident, and lovable heroine and an unexpectedly dashing romantic hero. Add to your must-read shelves!' Melissa de la Cruz

Hodder & Stoughton

The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna

Juliet Grames
Authors:
Juliet Grames
Hodder Paperbacks

The Mother-in-Law

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth

From the bestselling author of The Family Next Door comes a new domestic page-turner about that trickiest of relationships and what happens when it all goes wrong'Fiction at its finest' Liane Moriarty, Number One bestselling author 'Perfect for fans of BIG LITTLE LIES' - Library Journal She has never approved of you. But it's when her body is found the secrets really start to come out ...From the moment Lucy met her husband's mother, Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana was exquisitely polite, and perfectly friendly, but Lucy knew that she was not what Diana envisioned. Even so, Lucy wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law. That was five years ago.Now, Diana has been found dead, a suicide note near her body. Diana claims that she no longer wanted to live because of a battle with cancer.But the autopsy finds no cancer.The autopsy does find traces of poison and suffocation. Everyone in the family is hiding something. But what? And where will the secrets stop?With Lucy's secrets getting deeper and her relationship with her mother-in-law growing more complex as the pages turn, this new novel from Sally Hepworth is sure to add to her growing legion of fans.'The Mother-in-Law is indeed twisty and suspenseful, but even more than that, it's clever and nuanced' Kelly Rimmer, bestselling author of Me Without You

Hodder & Stoughton

A Book of Bones

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Swap

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell

Two women. Two children. But whose is whose?When two strangers, Tess and Annie, undergo IVF at an American clinic, their embryos are mixed up and each woman gives birth to the wrong child.The women only discover the devastating error three years later. Tess wants to swap the children back; Annie doesn't. As the pair wrangle, neither of them expect what unfolds.*******PRAISE FOR THE SWAP'A gripping, heartbreaking and original story which asks some important questions about motherhood and keeps you guessing until the very end, absolutely loved it.' - Clare Empson, author of HIM'A wonderfully written, thought provoking and moving read. I raced through the pages, desperate to know the outcome. Such a clever, original idea. I loved it.' - Claire Douglas'Oh how it was worth the wait! Fiona has crafted an emotive and credible read . . . Harrowing in parts, but uplifting in others, Fiona keeps the pace constant . . . deeply moving and beautifully written.' - Louise Jensen, author of THE SURROGATE and THE DATE'The hook on the cover would grab anyone, but it's the gorgeous writing, the stunning attention to detail, and the searingly difficult themes explored that kept me. I read this in just two days. The impossible dilemma is so sensitively addressed, and yet Mitchell has still created an addictive, page-turner. An unforgettable book.' - Louise Beech, author of THE LION'Just finished the brilliant THE SWAP by Fiona Mitchell and my heart aches. It explores the gut-wrenching dilemma of two women following an IVF mix-up. A gripping tale written with great sensitivity and humour, even in its darkest moments. Book club gold.' - Francesca Jakobi, author of BITTER

Sceptre

The Language of Birds

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson
Sceptre

CoDex 1962

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón
Hodder & Stoughton

The Perfect Couple

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood
Hodder & Stoughton

The New World

Scott K. Andrews
Authors:
Scott K. Andrews
Two Roads

A Dying Breed

Peter Hanington
Authors:
Peter Hanington

A SUNDAY TIMES THRILLER OF THE MONTH'HANINGTON EXCELS... THERE ARE NODS TO LE CARRE' BUT HIS IMPRESSIVE DEBUT IS HIS OWN THING' The Sunday Times'THOUGHTFUL, ATMOSPHERIC AND GRIPPINGLY PLOTTED' Guardian'IMPRESSIVE... HANINGTON HAS TRUE TALENT' The Times'TREMENDOUS' William Boyd'ENTHRALLING' Michael Palin'AMAZINGLY GRIPPING' Melvyn Bragg'A BELTING GOOD READ' A.L. Kennedy'I LOVED EVERY MINUTE IN THIS BOOK'S COMPANY' Fi Glover'A NATURAL STORYTELLER' John Humphrys'DEEPLY INTELLIGENT' Will GompertzKabul, Afghanistan.In a brilliantly plotted contemporary thriller with echoes of Graham Greene and John le Carré, William Carver, a veteran but unpredictable BBC hack, is thrown into the unknown when a bomb goes off killing a local official. Warned off the story from every direction, Carver won't give in until he finds the truth.Patrick, a young producer, is sent out on his first foreign assignment to control the wayward Carver, but as the story unravels it looks like the real story lies between the shadowy corridors of the BBC, the perilous streets of Kabul and the dark chambers of Whitehall.Set in a shadowy world of dubious morality and political treachery, A Dying Breed is a gripping novel about journalism in a time of war, about the struggle to tell the stories that need to be told - even if it is much easier not to.And William Carver returns in Peter Hanington's new novel, A Single Source - available to pre-order now!

Hodder Paperbacks

Dune

Frank Herbert
Authors:
Frank Herbert
Hodder & Stoughton

TimeBomb

Scott K. Andrews
Authors:
Scott K. Andrews
Hodder Paperbacks

The System (The Killables Book Three)

Gemma Malley
Authors:
Gemma Malley
Sceptre

The Professor of Poetry

Grace McCleen
Authors:
Grace McCleen