Claire Lorrimer - The Shadow Falls - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Shadow Falls

By Claire Lorrimer

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A thrilling tale of love and danger from bestselling romance author Claire Lorrimer.

One-time teenage sweethearts, Samantha and Greg, decide to marry. But inexplicably, Greg postpones the wedding, disappearing for days at a time and refusing to offer any reason for his disconcerting behaviour. Gradually, a disturbing picture of Greg begins to emerge. Although he eventually agrees to the marriage, he is seen with a mysterious woman soon afterwards. Then a stranger turns up asking questions. Samantha realises something very alarming is happening. Not only does she fear for her marriage, she fears for her life too.

Biographical Notes

Claire Lorrimer wrote her first book at the age of twelve, encouraged by her mother, the bestselling author Denise Robins. After the Second World War, during which Claire served on secret duties, she started her career as a romantic novelist under her maiden name, Patricia Robins. In 1970 she began writing her magnificent family sagas and thrillers under the name Claire Lorrimer. She is currently at work on her seventy-first book. Claire lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444751369
  • Publication date: 30 Jan 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

The Perfect Couple

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Sceptre

The End of Loneliness: The International Bestseller

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells

Marty, Liz and Jules' idyllic childhood with their loving parents in Munich is shattered by the death of their parents in a car crash, and their charmed life is exchanged for a bleak state boarding school.As the three deal with the death of their parents in very different ways, they become estranged from one another; Marty focussing on his career; Liz turning to different forms of escapision; and Jules turning from a vivacious child to a quiet, withdrawn teenager. Whilst at boarding school he meets the mysterious and charming Alva - but he will only realise years later what she means to him; and what she has never told him. Just as it seems that they can make amends for the time wasted, the past catches up with them... Told episodically through the fractured lives of the siblings, The End of Loneliness is a heartfelt, enriching novel about loss, loneliness, family and love.

Hodder Paperbacks

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips

What to expect when you're not expecting... Having been fiercely focused on her career, Olivia and her husband Felix have moved to the suburbs in anticipation of their future family. But despite approaching her cycle and their sex life with military precision, there's still no sign of what felt like the sure next step, whilst friends' broods seem to be growing by the week. Meanwhile, vying for a promotion at work under the (very attentive) watch of a new boss sends Olivia down a dangerous road of risking it all. Does a happy ever after, she starts to question, even have to include a baby? This is standout, intelligently written commercial fiction for fans of Sharon Horgan's Catastrophe, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and Mhairi McFarlane's It's Not Me, It's You.

Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn
Mulholland Books

Scorched Earth

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder & Stoughton

Earth Storm

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft
Hodder & Stoughton

Iron Gold

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown

Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis

A girl, missingA woman, searchingA killer, planning...A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter. FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.She knows how it feels to be lost...Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly. With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa's skin. Everything she has buried - her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death - threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself...and return to the darkness she's been hiding from for years.

Mulholland Books

Five Minutes Alone

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

The Cleaner

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

An international bestseller and one of the top-selling novels in New Zealand's history, Paul Cleave's dark thriller is a brilliant, bloody masterpiece.Joe is in control of everything in his simple life - both his day job as a janitor for the police department and his "night work". He isn't bothered by the daily news reports of the Christchurch Carver, who, they say, has murdered seven women. Joe knows, though, that the Carver killed only six. He knows that for a fact, and he's determined to find the copycat. He'll punish him for the one, then frame him for the other six. It's the perfect plan because he already knows he can outwit the police. All he needs now is to take care of all the women who keep getting in his way, including his odd, overprotective mother and Sally, the maintenance worker who sees him as a replacement for her dead brother. Then there's the mysterious Melissa, the only woman to have ever understood him, but whose fantasies of blackmail and torture don't have a place in Joe's investigation.

JM Originals

Elmet

Fiona Mozley
Authors:
Fiona Mozley

Fresh and distinctive writing from an exciting new voice in fiction - Sally Rooney meets Sarah Perry, Elmet is an unforgettable novel about family, as well as a beautiful meditation on landscape. Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. When they were younger, Daniel and Cathy had gone to school. But they were not like the other children then, and they were even less like them now. Sometimes Daddy disappeared, and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew.Atmospheric and unsettling, Elmet is a lyrical commentary on contemporary society and one family's precarious place in it, as well as an exploration of how deep the bond between father and child can go.

Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Way Back to Us

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale
Coronet

Bad Soldier

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder & Stoughton

Acts of Love

Talulah Riley
Authors:
Talulah Riley
Hodder & Stoughton

The Rosemary Tree

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Michael Stone was once a famous author. That was before he went to prison. Now, just released, he needs to get his bearings. Weighed down by failure and despair, Belmaray seems to offer him a quiet rural escape from the past. In the dawning beauty of that lovely Devon spring he finds new happiness and peace. It is through John Wentworth's characteristic kindness that Michael first meets the vicarage family: John, a country vicar far less ineffectual than he believes himself to be, his inexplicably discontented wife Daphne, and their three daughters. Harriet, John's old nanny, deals impatiently with a world to which she cannot actively contribute. And at the grim little school in Silverbridge, facing life with the zest of a born fighter, is red-haired Mary O'Hara . . .

Sceptre

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré

The enduring novel by one of our greatest storytellers.George Smiley, who is a troubled man of infinite compassion, is also a single-mindedly ruthless adversary as a spy.The scene which he enters is a Cold War landscape of moles and lamplighters, scalp-hunters and pavement artists, where men are turned, burned or bought for stock. Smiley's mission is to catch a Moscow Centre mole burrowed thirty years deep into the Circus itself.

Sceptre

The Honourable Schoolboy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré
Sceptre

Smiley's People

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré