Claire Lorrimer - Dead Reckoning - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Dead Reckoning

By Claire Lorrimer

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A wonderfully suspenseful romance from bestselling author Claire Lorrimer

Althea, Cressida and Phoebe have been friends since their schooldays. Talented artistic Cressida lives for her work. Phoebe has a career as an actress, but she has always given priority with her time to her married lover. Only Althea ever married, but she worries that she no longer loves her second husband, the arrogant Geoffrey Lewis.

As is there custom every summer, the Lewises are preparing for their annual charity garden fete, and Althea is delighted when Phoebe suggests she engage the services of a fortune-teller called Madame Tokoly. But what seems an excellent addition to the fete turns out to be unnerving and unwelcome when the fortune-teller's dire predictions for Geoffrey's future prove uncannily accurate...

Biographical Notes

Claire Lorrimer wrote her first book at the age of twelve, encouraged by her mother, the bestselling author Denise Robins. After the Second World War, during which Claire served on secret duties, she started her career as a romantic novelist under her maiden name, Patricia Robins. In 1970 she began writing her magnificent family sagas and thrillers under the name Claire Lorrimer. She is currently at work on her seventy-first book. Claire lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444751000
  • Publication date: 15 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder Paperbacks

The Mother-in-Law

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth

From the bestselling author of The Family Next Door comes a new domestic page-turner about that trickiest of relationships and what happens when it all goes wrong'Fiction at its finest' Liane Moriarty, Number One bestselling author 'Perfect for fans of BIG LITTLE LIES' - Library Journal She has never approved of you. But it's when her body is found the secrets really start to come out ...From the moment Lucy met her husband's mother, Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana was exquisitely polite, and perfectly friendly, but Lucy knew that she was not what Diana envisioned. Even so, Lucy wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law. That was five years ago.Now, Diana has been found dead, a suicide note near her body. Diana claims that she no longer wanted to live because of a battle with cancer.But the autopsy finds no cancer.The autopsy does find traces of poison and suffocation. Who could possibly want Diana dead? Why was her will changed at the eleventh hour to disinherit both of her adult children and their spouses?With Lucy's secrets getting deeper and her relationship with her mother-in-law growing more complex as the pages turn, this new novel from Sally Hepworth is sure to add to her growing legion of fans.

Mulholland Books

Last Night

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis
Hodder & Stoughton

Last Man Standing

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

The next explosive standalone thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author Stephen Leather - more information coming soon! Praise for bestselling author Stephen Leather'The sheer impetus of his storytelling is damned hard to resist' Sunday Express'A master of the thriller genre' Irish Times'As tough as British thriller writers get' Irish Independent

Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

'The Best Thriller Writer Alive' Ken FollettJohn Grisham's newest legal thriller takes you inside a law firm that shouldn't exist.They were three young law students. They dreamed of changing the world. But they were duped. They took out massive student loans and have no hope of graduating with a good job.Now the three friends have given up studying and spend a lot of time plotting in a bar. There is only way out of their crushing debt: pretend to be real lawyers and expose the crooked hedge fund operator who owns both the school and the bank that arranged their student loans.They are taking a desperate risk. After all, they are going to war with a billionaire and the might of the FBI.**********Praise for The Rooster Bar'Scintillating storytelling' - The Sunday Times'A buoyant, mischievous thriller . . . This reliable best-selling author is feeling real pleasure, and not just obligation, in delivering his work' - New York Times'A wild, hard-to-put-down romp' - Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Hodder & Stoughton

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
John Murray

Dead Lions

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
John Murray

Slow Horses

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
John Murray

Real Tigers

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA GOLDSBORO GOLD DAGGER AND THE IAN FLEMING STEEL DAGGER 'If you read one spy novel this year, read Real Tigers' The Spectator'The finest new crime series this millennium' Mail on SundayLondon's Slough House is where disgraced MI5 operatives are reassigned to spend the rest of their careers pushing paper. But when one of these fallen spies is kidnapped by a former soldier bent on revenge, the agents must breach the defenses of Regent's Park to steal valuable intel in exchange for their comrade's safety.The kidnapping is only the tip of the iceberg, however, as the agents uncover a larger web of intrigue that involves not only a group of private mercenaries, but also the highest authorities in the Security Service.After years spent as the lowest on the totem pole, the spies suddenly find themselves caught in the midst of a conspiracy that threatens not only the future of Slough House, but of MI5 itself . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Georgia

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

An epic, deeply moving wartime novel from the bestselling romance author Claire Lorrimer, available in ebook and paperback for the first time. Georgia Driffield is passionate, wilful, resourceful, intelligent but often foolhardy, as she grows from girl to woman in the years between the two wars. It is not until she discovers the extraordinary life of her great, great grandmother, Chantal, that she finds a way which will reconcile her to her adoption, reunite her with her adoptive parents and, unexpectedly, discover the true meaning of love.During these highly eventful years, Georgia becomes inextricably involved not only in the rising horrors of Nazi Germany, and the possible death of her best friend fighting in the Spanish Civil War, but also finds herself in terrible danger.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Faithful Heart

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Harriet was very young when her ambitious, unscrupulous mother succeeded in parting her from Paul, the impecunious medical student Harriet loved. So successfully was Harriet convinced that Paul did not return her deep-felt love, that it was not long before she turned in her loneliness to the eligible Tony, it is not long before Harriet finds herself fighting against her disillusionment and doing her best to remain loyal to her vows. But by chance Paul comes back into her life just at the point at which she is most alone and in need of a friend.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Clare and Mark Bainbury, married for four years, are gradually becoming aware that life may not turn out exactly as they might like. Mark's career is not as lucrative as he had hoped and Clare's growing obsession for a child creates a distance between them that neither is certain how to breach. When Mark meets glamorous starlet Diane Derry, Clare retreats even further from their marriage. Increasingly it seems that they love which once consumed them both maynot be strong enough to survive these troubled times.

Hodder & Stoughton

Emotions

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Emotions is a delightful collection of short stories by Claire Lorrimer. Each in its way covers an emotion all women will recognize, and many of which are true reflections of women's experiences past and present. Indeed, First Love is a true story from Claire's own childhood. Her love of children and understanding of the elderly have enabled her to write these charming vignettes, all of which will touch the hearts of readers.

Hodder & Stoughton

Truth to Tell

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Infatuation

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

The death of Lucy Godstow's best friend Vanessa on the eve of Lucy's marriage to Guy Weaver was a big enough blow; but then Vanessa's elderly aunt Joan is found brutally murdered by an unknown assailant. Lucy and Tom, Vanessa's brother, have different reasons for thinking all is not as it seems, but new husband Guy is intolerably jealous of Lucy's ongoing meetings with Tom. Tom and Lucy were childhood sweethearts, until Guy charged into Lucy's life and swiftly swept her to the altar.There are things about Guy of which his new bride is unaware. He had been threatening Vanessa in order to keep dreadful secrets from Lucy. Marriage to a tall, handsome and wealthy man is not always one of bliss and happiness and many in the congregation secretly wish the wedding had never happened...

Hodder & Stoughton

Connie's Daughter

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Never Say Goodbye

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

At 17, Scilla's world fell apart when her first love, Dallas, returned to Australia without even saying goodbye. Ten years later she moves to Libya to make a fresh start as nanny to her sister's children. Her life, at long last, is moving on. But Benghazi was the last place she expected to hear an Australian accent...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Search for Love

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Silver Link

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

House of Tomorrow

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

This is the moving true story of Jeanette Roberts, a young London girl who survived appalling abuse in her own childhood, and so determined to give other children in the same position the love and care she had been denied. A chance meeting with a small boy she caught stealing led to a life-long commitment to a steady stream of disturbed, abused and handicapped children whom everyone else had turned away. By becoming their beloved 'Mum', Jeanette has been able to transform their lives, giving them the protection they so desperately need.

Hodder & Stoughton

Over My Dead Body

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer