Claire Lorrimer - Dead Reckoning - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Dead Reckoning

By Claire Lorrimer

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A wonderfully suspenseful romance from bestselling author Claire Lorrimer

Althea, Cressida and Phoebe have been friends since their schooldays. Talented artistic Cressida lives for her work. Phoebe has a career as an actress, but she has always given priority with her time to her married lover. Only Althea ever married, but she worries that she no longer loves her second husband, the arrogant Geoffrey Lewis.

As is there custom every summer, the Lewises are preparing for their annual charity garden fete, and Althea is delighted when Phoebe suggests she engage the services of a fortune-teller called Madame Tokoly. But what seems an excellent addition to the fete turns out to be unnerving and unwelcome when the fortune-teller's dire predictions for Geoffrey's future prove uncannily accurate...

Biographical Notes

Claire Lorrimer wrote her first book at the age of twelve, encouraged by her mother, the bestselling author Denise Robins. After the Second World War, during which Claire served on secret duties, she started her career as a romantic novelist under her maiden name, Patricia Robins. In 1970 she began writing her magnificent family sagas and thrillers under the name Claire Lorrimer. She is currently at work on her seventy-first book. Claire lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444751000
  • Publication date: 15 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder Paperbacks

Never Go There

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly

What would you do if you found out your husband wasn't the man you thought he was? NEVER GO THERE is a gripping, chilling psychological thriller debut perfect for fans of Louise Jensen's THE SISTER and Jenny Blackhurst's BEFORE I LET YOU IN. 'Never go there, Nuala. Please, never go there.'Before he died, Nuala knew nothing of her husband James's past. He made her swear that she would never, EVER visit the place he was from.But now Nuala is alone, lost and grieving. Desperate for even a piece of James, she decides to ignore his warning.Nuala is about to find out that some secrets are better left buried - and that uncovering the truth will have unbearable consequences...

Hodder Paperbacks

Light Touch

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

Lucky Ghost

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad
Mulholland Books

The Smack

Richard Lange
Authors:
Richard Lange

A novel about family, adventure, and the art of the con from acclaimed crime writer Richard Lange.Rowan Petty is a conman down on his luck. Tinafey is a hooker who's tired of the streets. Their paths cross one snowy night in Reno, and they hit it off. An old friend of Petty's turns up with a rumour about a crew of American soldiers who smuggled two million dollars out of Afghanistan and stashed the money in an apartment in Los Angeles. He thinks Petty's just the guy to steal the cash. Petty thinks he hasn't got much to lose. He decides to drive down to L.A. to investigate. Tinafey decides to go with him.These might be the last decisions they will ever make.

Mulholland Books

SEAL Team Six Book 6: Hunt the Dragon

Ralph Pezzullo, Don Mann
Authors:
Ralph Pezzullo, Don Mann

An action-packed military thriller for fans of Chris Ryan and Andy McNab. Navy SEALs Crocker and Mancini are on a training exercise in Las Vegas when a moment of relaxation is interrupted by a violent altercation between hotel security and three businessmen claiming to be Chinese diplomats. They attempt to stop the fleeing businessmen, but soon realise that they may not be who they claim to be. That same night Las Vegas goes dark - someone has hacked into the Nevada Power Company system and shut down the entire city. As chaos reigns the businessmen make their escape. When Crocker and the rest of SEAL Team Six attempt to track them down, they find themselves drawn into a North Korean plot that combines cyber warfare and the theft of black market nuclear weapons. As darkness reigns, the squad is the last hope of preventing a conspiracy that could have catastrophic international consequences.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Whistler

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Mulholland Books

The Second Girl

David Swinson
Authors:
David Swinson

He's a good detective... with a bad habit.Frank Marr may be a decorated former cop and the best private investigator Washington, D.C. has ever known, but the city doesn't know his dirty secret. A high-functioning drug addict, Frank has devoted his considerable skills to hiding his habit from others. But after accidentally discovering a kidnapped teenage girl in the home of a drug gang, Frank becomes a hero and is thrust into the spotlight. Reluctantly, he agrees to investigate the disappearance of another girl - possibly connected to the first - all the time knowing that the heightened scrutiny may bring his own secrets to light...The Second Girl is a raw, real and incredibly gripping thriller from a former DC Major Crimes detective. You won't regret meeting Frank Marr...but his enemies will.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Narrow Bed

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

What if having a best friend was the most dangerous thing you could do?A killer that the police are calling 'Billy Dead Mates' is murdering pairs of best friends, one by one. Before they die, each victim is given a small white book... For months, detectives have failed to catch Billy, or work out what the white books mean. And then a woman, scared by what she's seen on the news, comes forward.Stand-up comedian Kim Tribbeck has one of Billy's peculiar little books. A stranger gave it to her at a gig she did a year ago. Was he Billy, and does he want to kill her? Kim has no friends and trusts no one, so how - and why - could she possibly be Billy Dead Mates' next target?This is the next chilling novel from the queen of psychological crime - a literary puzzle set to unlock the dark side of the mind . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

A Time for Renewal

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

Georgia

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

An epic, deeply moving wartime novel from the bestselling romance author Claire Lorrimer, available in ebook and paperback for the first time. Georgia Driffield is passionate, wilful, resourceful, intelligent but often foolhardy, as she grows from girl to woman in the years between the two wars. It is not until she discovers the extraordinary life of her great, great grandmother, Chantal, that she finds a way which will reconcile her to her adoption, reunite her with her adoptive parents and, unexpectedly, discover the true meaning of love.During these highly eventful years, Georgia becomes inextricably involved not only in the rising horrors of Nazi Germany, and the possible death of her best friend fighting in the Spanish Civil War, but also finds herself in terrible danger.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Time to Remember

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

1945 - the war in Europe is over. It should be a time of utter joy and celebration.Most women can't wait for their men to return, but in the small town of Rivenshaw in Lancashire, Judith Crossley fears having her husband back in the house. He'd grown into a bully and a drunkard, and on the occasions he'd come home from leave, he'd hit her. He wasn't a good father, either. Luckily Judith has found an unlikely ally, a friend to turn to - Maynard Esher, from an old aristocratic family on the other side of town. But Judith knows that when her husband returns, she and her children will be back in the firing line again. She decides that for the children's sake, she must leave her husband. But with the house rented in his name and other accommodation scarce, where on earth can they go...?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Faithful Heart

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Clare and Mark Bainbury, married for four years, are gradually becoming aware that life may not turn out exactly as they might like. Mark's career is not as lucrative as he had hoped and Clare's growing obsession for a child creates a distance between them that neither is certain how to breach. When Mark meets glamorous starlet Diane Derry, Clare retreats even further from their marriage. Increasingly it seems that they love which once consumed them both maynot be strong enough to survive these troubled times.

Hodder & Stoughton

Emotions

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Truth to Tell

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

1914: Lady Beaufort already has three boys and she certainly doesn't want another child. But her husband Aubrey has always dreamed of a daughter to fill the gap his sister left when she died tragically young. In contrast Harold and Copper Varney are expecting their first child and are over the moon about it. Their children Victoria and Leila meet when Lady Beaufort sends Victoria to the village school out of spite, jealous of her captivating daughter. Victoria's parents adore their only child Leila, though they are surprised she does not excel academically as her father did. Though Harold is an impoverished teacher, whose family have a meagre existence, he was a talented Oxford scholar. Despite the differences in their backgrounds, the two girls share a special friendship as well as a birthday; but before long both families start to fear something is wrong . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Infatuation

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Search for Love

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

At seventeen, beautiful green-eyed Beverly Bampton knew just what she wanted. She was madly in love with Jonnie Colt and dreamt of nothing more than being his wife, lover and best friend. And once she became mother of his five children, their world was finally complete. Then why was Jonnie becoming increasingly distant? Perhaps something -- or someone -- was conspiring against her. Can the depth of her love save them?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Silver Link

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Until her father died, Adela Carstairs had lived in a secure and loving home. Then happiness was shattered when her mother remarries a cruel, hard-drinking man. With her younger brother and sister, Adela is forced to flee his drunken rages and they escape to London where they seek refuge in the squalor of the back streets. Addie's desperate hope is that her childhood companions, the Mallory twins, will find and rescue them. When all three find themselves caught up in the danger and terror of revolutionary France, the twins prove invaluable. It was to be an experience which would test their friendship, and love, to the limit.

Hodder & Stoughton

House of Tomorrow

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Over My Dead Body

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

A delightfully tranquil village seems a lovely place to live, but beware of seething resentments and violent passions waiting to erupt with dire consequences A typical English country lane: ten households forming a peaceful, if mundane community; it seemed the perfect environment for newlyweds lan and Migs Peters in which to raise their newborn son. A small dispute over the resurfacing and widening of their lane surely cannot cause too much discomfort in such an idyllic setting? But there are tensions and personal ambitions brewing beneath the surface, and history also has its place in such a firmly established community. Change comes at a price, particularly for certain members of the desirable Millers Lane ...