Claire Lorrimer - Dead Centre - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Dead Centre

By Claire Lorrimer

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A thrilling tale of love and danger from bestselling romance author Claire Lorrimer.

Pretty young university students Rose and Poppy Matheson are keen golfers. But one night Poppy is attacked on the footpath near the golf course and her sister, following behind, mistakenly kills the attacker in trying to rescue her twin. The girls cover up the crime by making it look like a hit and run car accident, but are overheard by another golf club member, Betty Russell, who wants to go to the police. Unfortunately her husband dissuades her and starts blackmailing the girls instead. As Inspector Govern and Sergeant Beck try to disprove the hit and run theory, first Betty, then her husband Barry also disappear. Meanwhile Rose's boyfriend John cannot understand why her manner towards him has changed. For her part Rose still loves him but is overwhelmed with guilt. And it is not until after the discovery of two more dead bodies that all can be resolved.

Biographical Notes

Claire Lorrimer wrote her first book at the age of twelve, encouraged by her mother, the bestselling author Denise Robins. After the Second World War, during which Claire served on secret duties, she started her career as a romantic novelist under her maiden name, Patricia Robins. In 1970 she began writing her magnificent family sagas and thrillers under the name Claire Lorrimer. She is currently at work on her seventy-first book. Claire lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444750911
  • Publication date: 27 Mar 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder Paperbacks

Never Go There

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly

What would you do if you found out your husband wasn't the man you thought he was? NEVER GO THERE is a gripping, chilling psychological thriller debut perfect for fans of Louise Jensen's THE SISTER and Jenny Blackhurst's BEFORE I LET YOU IN. 'Never go there, Nuala. Please, never go there.'Before he died, Nuala knew nothing of her husband James's past. He made her swear that she would never, EVER visit the place he was from.But now Nuala is alone, lost and grieving. Desperate for even a piece of James, she decides to ignore his warning.Nuala is about to find out that some secrets are better left buried - and that uncovering the truth will have unbearable consequences...

Mulholland Books

Make Them Sorry

Sam Hawken
Authors:
Sam Hawken

Camaro Espinoza is 'the deadliest female protagonist since Jon Land's Caitlin Strong and Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander' (Booklist).Camaro doesn't particularly want to get involved with other people's lives, other people's problems. But she can tell that the woman in her gym is looking for help. And when she learns that Faith has a stalker, she agrees to give her a few defense lessons. She's not expecting the stalker to become so violent so quickly. Or to have been hired by someone. Faith, it seems, has made some serious enemies... and now they're going after Camaro too. They're about to find out that that was a mistake.

Hodder Paperbacks

Light Touch

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

Working undercover is all about trust - getting the target to trust you and then betraying them in order to bring them to justice.But what do you do when you believe an undercover cop has crossed the line and aligned herself with the international drugs smuggler she was supposed to be targeting?When a deep-undercover cop stops passing on intelligence about her target, MI5 sends in Dan 'Spider' Shepherd to check that she is on the straight and narrow.Now two lives are on the line - and Shepherd discovers that the real danger is closer to home than he realised.As Spider finds his loyalties being tested to the limit, an SAS killer is on a revenge mission in London and only Spider can stop him.'[Leather] has the uncanny knack of producing plots that are all too real' Daily Mail'Let Spider draw you into his web, you won't regret it' - Sun

Mulholland Books

Walk Away

Sam Hawken
Authors:
Sam Hawken
Hodder Paperbacks

The Chinaman

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

Takedown

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

Lucky Ghost

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad
Mulholland Books

The Smack

Richard Lange
Authors:
Richard Lange

A novel about family, adventure, and the art of the con from acclaimed crime writer Richard Lange.Rowan Petty is a conman down on his luck. Tinafey is a hooker who's tired of the streets. Their paths cross one snowy night in Reno, and they hit it off. An old friend of Petty's turns up with a rumour about a crew of American soldiers who smuggled two million dollars out of Afghanistan and stashed the money in an apartment in Los Angeles. He thinks Petty's just the guy to steal the cash. Petty thinks he hasn't got much to lose. He decides to drive down to L.A. to investigate. Tinafey decides to go with him.These might be the last decisions they will ever make.

Mulholland Books

Trust No One

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

SEAL Team Six Book 6: Hunt the Dragon

Ralph Pezzullo, Don Mann
Authors:
Ralph Pezzullo, Don Mann
Mulholland Books

Crime Song

David Swinson
Authors:
David Swinson

Frank Marr was a good cop with a bad habit, until his addiction to cocaine forced him into retirement from the D.C. police. Now barely making a living as a private investigator, he agrees to take on a family case as a favour for his aunt. Frank's surveillance confirms that his cousin Jeffrey is involved with a drugs operation. It seems small, until Frank's own home is burgled, leaving a body on the kitchen floor: Jeffrey. Frank's .38 revolver - the murder weapon - is stolen, along with his cherished music collection.Clearly, his cousin was deeper in the underworld than anyone realised. With his reputation and his own life on the line, Frank searches for the real culprit: following the stolen goods through a tangled network of petty thieves, desperate addicts, deceiving fences, good cops and bad cops.Frank's as determined to uncover the truth as he is to feed his habit, and both pursuits could prove deadly. This time, it may just be a question of what gets him first.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Whistler

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Mulholland Books

The Second Girl

David Swinson
Authors:
David Swinson

He's a good detective... with a bad habit.Frank Marr may be a decorated former cop and the best private investigator Washington, D.C. has ever known, but the city doesn't know his dirty secret. A high-functioning drug addict, Frank has devoted his considerable skills to hiding his habit from others. But after accidentally discovering a kidnapped teenage girl in the home of a drug gang, Frank becomes a hero and is thrust into the spotlight. Reluctantly, he agrees to investigate the disappearance of another girl - possibly connected to the first - all the time knowing that the heightened scrutiny may bring his own secrets to light...The Second Girl is a raw, real and incredibly gripping thriller from a former DC Major Crimes detective. You won't regret meeting Frank Marr...but his enemies will.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Narrow Bed

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

Georgia

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

An epic, deeply moving wartime novel from the bestselling romance author Claire Lorrimer, available in ebook and paperback for the first time. Georgia Driffield is passionate, wilful, resourceful, intelligent but often foolhardy, as she grows from girl to woman in the years between the two wars. It is not until she discovers the extraordinary life of her great, great grandmother, Chantal, that she finds a way which will reconcile her to her adoption, reunite her with her adoptive parents and, unexpectedly, discover the true meaning of love.During these highly eventful years, Georgia becomes inextricably involved not only in the rising horrors of Nazi Germany, and the possible death of her best friend fighting in the Spanish Civil War, but also finds herself in terrible danger.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Faithful Heart

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Clare and Mark Bainbury, married for four years, are gradually becoming aware that life may not turn out exactly as they might like. Mark's career is not as lucrative as he had hoped and Clare's growing obsession for a child creates a distance between them that neither is certain how to breach. When Mark meets glamorous starlet Diane Derry, Clare retreats even further from their marriage. Increasingly it seems that they love which once consumed them both maynot be strong enough to survive these troubled times.

Hodder & Stoughton

Emotions

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Emotions is a delightful collection of short stories by Claire Lorrimer. Each in its way covers an emotion all women will recognize, and many of which are true reflections of women's experiences past and present. Indeed, First Love is a true story from Claire's own childhood. Her love of children and understanding of the elderly have enabled her to write these charming vignettes, all of which will touch the hearts of readers.

Hodder & Stoughton

Truth to Tell

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Infatuation

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer