Claire Lorrimer - Over My Dead Body - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Over My Dead Body

By Claire Lorrimer

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A thrilling tale of love and danger from bestselling romance author Claire Lorrimer.

A delightfully tranquil village seems a lovely place to live, but beware of seething resentments and violent passions waiting to erupt with dire consequences A typical English country lane: ten households forming a peaceful, if mundane community; it seemed the perfect environment for newlyweds lan and Migs Peters in which to raise their newborn son. A small dispute over the resurfacing and widening of their lane surely cannot cause too much discomfort in such an idyllic setting? But there are tensions and personal ambitions brewing beneath the surface, and history also has its place in such a firmly established community. Change comes at a price, particularly for certain members of the desirable Millers Lane ...

Biographical Notes

Claire Lorrimer wrote her first book at the age of twelve, encouraged by her mother, the bestselling author Denise Robins. After the Second World War, during which Claire served on secret duties, she started her career as a romantic novelist under her maiden name, Patricia Robins. In 1970 she began writing her magnificent family sagas and thrillers under the name Claire Lorrimer. She is currently at work on her seventy-first book. Claire lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444750881
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Mulholland Books

Liar, Liar

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

John Murray

This is What Happened

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

Twenty-six-year-old Maggie Barnes is someone you would never look at twice. Living alone in a month-to-month sublet in the huge city of London, with no family but an estranged sister, no boyfriend or partner, and not much in the way of friends, Maggie is just the kind of person who could vanish from the face of the earth without anyone taking notice.Or just the kind of person MI5 needs to infiltrate the establishment and thwart an international plot that puts all of Britain at risk.Now one young woman has the chance to be a hero - if she can think quickly enough to stay alive.

Hodder & Stoughton

Lincoln Rhyme thriller

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

Hodder & Stoughton

The Dark Net

Benjamin Percy
Authors:
Benjamin Percy

The dark net is an online shadowland for criminals to operate anonymously, but when a demonic force begins to hack the minds of its users there is nowhere left to hide.Twelve-year-old Hannah has been fitted with a high-tech prosthetic that restores her sight, but can't understand why she can now see shadows surrounding certain people.Lela, an emotionally shut-off, technophobic journalist stumbles onto a story nobody wants her to uncover. A story someone will kill to keep hidden.A former evangelist, Mike, suffers demons - figurative and literal - and keeps an arsenal of weapons stored in the basement of the homeless shelter he runs.And Derek, is a hacker who believes himself a soldier, part of a cyber army dedicated to changing the world for the better.With the virus spreading throughout the net and an ancient evil threatening to break lose on the real world, it falls to these strangers to stop the rising darkness. THE DARK NET is a cracked-mirror version of the digital nightmare we already live in, a timely and wildly imaginative techno-thriller about the evil that lurks in real and virtual spaces, and the power of a united few to fight back.

Hodder & Stoughton

Lucky Ghost

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad

The extraordinary new novel from the incredible author of SOCKPUPPET. Perfect for fans of BLACK MIRROREarly one morning, blogger Alex Kubelick walks up to a total stranger and slaps him across the face. Hard.He smiles.They've both just earned Emoticoin, in a new, all-consuming game that trades real-life emotions for digital currency. Emoticoin is changing the face of the economy - but someone or something is controlling it for their own, dangerous ends.As Alex picks apart the tangled threads that hold the virtual game together she finds herself on the run from very real enemies. It seems only one person has the answers she seeks. Someone who hides behind the name 'Lucky Ghost'.But Lucky Ghost will only talk to a young hacker called Thimblerig - the online troll who's been harassing Alex for months.Will Lucky Ghost lead Alex and Thimblerig to the answers they seek - or to their deaths?

Hodder Paperbacks

Almost Dead

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

Hodder & Stoughton

The Whistler

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

The Likeness

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French

Still traumatised by her brush with a psychopath, Detective Cassie Maddox transfers out of the Murder squad and starts a relationship with fellow detective Sam O'Neill. When he calls her to the scene of his new case, she is shocked to find that the murdered girl is her double. What's more, her ID shows she is Lexie Madison - the identity Cassie used, years ago, as an undercover detective. With no leads, no suspects and no clues to Lexie's real identity, Cassie's old boss spots the opportunity of a lifetime: send Cassie undercover in her place, to tempt the killer out of hiding to finish the job.(P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder Paperbacks

Georgia

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Patriot Threat

Steve Berry
Authors:
Steve Berry
Mulholland Books

Confessions

Kanae Minato
Authors:
Kanae Minato
Hodder & Stoughton

The Lincoln Myth

Steve Berry
Authors:
Steve Berry
Hodder & Stoughton

Dead Reckoning

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Faithful Heart

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Harriet was very young when her ambitious, unscrupulous mother succeeded in parting her from Paul, the impecunious medical student Harriet loved. So successfully was Harriet convinced that Paul did not return her deep-felt love, that it was not long before she turned in her loneliness to the eligible Tony, it is not long before Harriet finds herself fighting against her disillusionment and doing her best to remain loyal to her vows. But by chance Paul comes back into her life just at the point at which she is most alone and in need of a friend.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Clare and Mark Bainbury, married for four years, are gradually becoming aware that life may not turn out exactly as they might like. Mark's career is not as lucrative as he had hoped and Clare's growing obsession for a child creates a distance between them that neither is certain how to breach. When Mark meets glamorous starlet Diane Derry, Clare retreats even further from their marriage. Increasingly it seems that they love which once consumed them both maynot be strong enough to survive these troubled times.

Hodder & Stoughton

Emotions

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Truth to Tell

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

1914: Lady Beaufort already has three boys and she certainly doesn't want another child. But her husband Aubrey has always dreamed of a daughter to fill the gap his sister left when she died tragically young. In contrast Harold and Copper Varney are expecting their first child and are over the moon about it. Their children Victoria and Leila meet when Lady Beaufort sends Victoria to the village school out of spite, jealous of her captivating daughter. Victoria's parents adore their only child Leila, though they are surprised she does not excel academically as her father did. Though Harold is an impoverished teacher, whose family have a meagre existence, he was a talented Oxford scholar. Despite the differences in their backgrounds, the two girls share a special friendship as well as a birthday; but before long both families start to fear something is wrong . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Infatuation

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

The death of Lucy Godstow's best friend Vanessa on the eve of Lucy's marriage to Guy Weaver was a big enough blow; but then Vanessa's elderly aunt Joan is found brutally murdered by an unknown assailant. Lucy and Tom, Vanessa's brother, have different reasons for thinking all is not as it seems, but new husband Guy is intolerably jealous of Lucy's ongoing meetings with Tom. Tom and Lucy were childhood sweethearts, until Guy charged into Lucy's life and swiftly swept her to the altar.There are things about Guy of which his new bride is unaware. He had been threatening Vanessa in order to keep dreadful secrets from Lucy. Marriage to a tall, handsome and wealthy man is not always one of bliss and happiness and many in the congregation secretly wish the wedding had never happened...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Silver Link

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Until her father died, Adela Carstairs had lived in a secure and loving home. Then happiness was shattered when her mother remarries a cruel, hard-drinking man. With her younger brother and sister, Adela is forced to flee his drunken rages and they escape to London where they seek refuge in the squalor of the back streets. Addie's desperate hope is that her childhood companions, the Mallory twins, will find and rescue them. When all three find themselves caught up in the danger and terror of revolutionary France, the twins prove invaluable. It was to be an experience which would test their friendship, and love, to the limit.

Hodder & Stoughton

House of Tomorrow

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

This is the moving true story of Jeanette Roberts, a young London girl who survived appalling abuse in her own childhood, and so determined to give other children in the same position the love and care she had been denied. A chance meeting with a small boy she caught stealing led to a life-long commitment to a steady stream of disturbed, abused and handicapped children whom everyone else had turned away. By becoming their beloved 'Mum', Jeanette has been able to transform their lives, giving them the protection they so desperately need.