Claire Lorrimer - Over My Dead Body - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Over My Dead Body

By Claire Lorrimer

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A thrilling tale of love and danger from bestselling romance author Claire Lorrimer.

A delightfully tranquil village seems a lovely place to live, but beware of seething resentments and violent passions waiting to erupt with dire consequences A typical English country lane: ten households forming a peaceful, if mundane community; it seemed the perfect environment for newlyweds lan and Migs Peters in which to raise their newborn son. A small dispute over the resurfacing and widening of their lane surely cannot cause too much discomfort in such an idyllic setting? But there are tensions and personal ambitions brewing beneath the surface, and history also has its place in such a firmly established community. Change comes at a price, particularly for certain members of the desirable Millers Lane ...

Biographical Notes

Claire Lorrimer wrote her first book at the age of twelve, encouraged by her mother, the bestselling author Denise Robins. After the Second World War, during which Claire served on secret duties, she started her career as a romantic novelist under her maiden name, Patricia Robins. In 1970 she began writing her magnificent family sagas and thrillers under the name Claire Lorrimer. She is currently at work on her seventy-first book. Claire lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444750881
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Mulholland Books

Expecting to Die

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Narrow Bed

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

A must-read for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins.'Sophie Hannah is genuinely Christie's heir' The Scotsman'Hugely entertaining, full of uncomfortable truths' London Evening StandardWhat if having a best friend was the most dangerous thing you could do?A killer that the police are calling 'Billy Dead Mates' is murdering pairs of best friends, one by one. Before they die, each victim is given a small white book... For months, detectives have failed to catch Billy, or work out what the white books mean. And then a woman, scared by what she's seen on the news, comes forward.Stand-up comedian Kim Tribbeck has one of Billy's peculiar little books. A stranger gave it to her at a gig she did a year ago. Was he Billy, and does he want to kill her? Kim has no friends and trusts no one, so how - and why - could she possibly be Billy Dead Mates' next target?This is the next chilling novel from the queen of psychological crime - a literary puzzle set to unlock the dark side of the mind . . .

Mulholland Books

Revolver

Duane Swierczynski
Authors:
Duane Swierczynski

Three generations - torn apart by one bullet. Philadelphia 1965: Two street cops - one black, one white - are gunned down in a robbery gone wrong. The killer is never prosecuted. One of the fallen officers, Stanislaw Walczak, leaves behind a twelve-year-old boy, Jimmy... Philadelphia 1995: Homicide detective Jim Walczak learns that his father's alleged killer, Terrill Lee Stanton, is out of prison. Walczak will be waiting, determined to squeeze the truth out of him - any way he can. Philadelphia 2015: Jim Walczak's daughter Audrey, studying forensic science in grad school, reinvestigates her grandfather's murder for her dissertation. But the deeper Audrey digs, the more she realises: the man everyone thinks killed Walczak didn't do it...And when the truth comes out, the danger's only going to grow.

Hodder Paperbacks

Georgia

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

An epic, deeply moving wartime novel from the bestselling romance author Claire Lorrimer, available in ebook and paperback for the first time. Georgia Driffield is passionate, wilful, resourceful, intelligent but often foolhardy, as she grows from girl to woman in the years between the two wars. It is not until she discovers the extraordinary life of her great, great grandmother, Chantal, that she finds a way which will reconcile her to her adoption, reunite her with her adoptive parents and, unexpectedly, discover the true meaning of love.During these highly eventful years, Georgia becomes inextricably involved not only in the rising horrors of Nazi Germany, and the possible death of her best friend fighting in the Spanish Civil War, but also finds herself in terrible danger.

Mulholland Books

Confessions

Kanae Minato
Authors:
Kanae Minato

When Yuko Moriguchi's four-year-old daughter died in the middle school where she teaches, everyone thought it was a tragic accident. It's the last day of term, and Yuko's last day at work. She tells her students that she has resigned because of what happened - but not for the reasons they think. Her daughter didn't die in an accident. Her daughter was killed by two people in the class. And before she leaves, she has a lesson to teach...But revenge has a way of spinning out of control, and Yuko's last lecture is only the start of the story. In this bestselling Japanese thriller of love, despair and murder, everyone has a confession to make, and no one will escape unharmed.

Hodder & Stoughton

Dead Reckoning

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Faithful Heart

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Harriet was very young when her ambitious, unscrupulous mother succeeded in parting her from Paul, the impecunious medical student Harriet loved. So successfully was Harriet convinced that Paul did not return her deep-felt love, that it was not long before she turned in her loneliness to the eligible Tony, it is not long before Harriet finds herself fighting against her disillusionment and doing her best to remain loyal to her vows. But by chance Paul comes back into her life just at the point at which she is most alone and in need of a friend.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Emotions

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Truth to Tell

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

1914: Lady Beaufort already has three boys and she certainly doesn't want another child. But her husband Aubrey has always dreamed of a daughter to fill the gap his sister left when she died tragically young. In contrast Harold and Copper Varney are expecting their first child and are over the moon about it. Their children Victoria and Leila meet when Lady Beaufort sends Victoria to the village school out of spite, jealous of her captivating daughter. Victoria's parents adore their only child Leila, though they are surprised she does not excel academically as her father did. Though Harold is an impoverished teacher, whose family have a meagre existence, he was a talented Oxford scholar. Despite the differences in their backgrounds, the two girls share a special friendship as well as a birthday; but before long both families start to fear something is wrong . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Infatuation

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Connie's Daughter

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Never Say Goodbye

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

At 17, Scilla's world fell apart when her first love, Dallas, returned to Australia without even saying goodbye. Ten years later she moves to Libya to make a fresh start as nanny to her sister's children. Her life, at long last, is moving on. But Benghazi was the last place she expected to hear an Australian accent...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Search for Love

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

At seventeen, beautiful green-eyed Beverly Bampton knew just what she wanted. She was madly in love with Jonnie Colt and dreamt of nothing more than being his wife, lover and best friend. And once she became mother of his five children, their world was finally complete. Then why was Jonnie becoming increasingly distant? Perhaps something -- or someone -- was conspiring against her. Can the depth of her love save them?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Silver Link

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Until her father died, Adela Carstairs had lived in a secure and loving home. Then happiness was shattered when her mother remarries a cruel, hard-drinking man. With her younger brother and sister, Adela is forced to flee his drunken rages and they escape to London where they seek refuge in the squalor of the back streets. Addie's desperate hope is that her childhood companions, the Mallory twins, will find and rescue them. When all three find themselves caught up in the danger and terror of revolutionary France, the twins prove invaluable. It was to be an experience which would test their friendship, and love, to the limit.

Hodder & Stoughton

House of Tomorrow

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reunion

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Frost in the Sun

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Casilda Montero is the beautiful and hot-blooded daughter of a wealthy Spanish aristocrat. Sent from the family hacienda in Southern Spain to an English boarding school, she befriends Joscelin Howard, a shy, serious English girl. As both girls find themselves swept up in the dramatic events unfolding in 1930s Europe, this enduring friendship is the one constant in their lives. From the carefree glamour of London high society to the devastation of the battlefields in Spain, Casilda, Joscelin and their families are tragically linked by passion and bloodshed.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Spinning Wheel

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Dead Centre

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Pretty young university students Rose and Poppy Matheson are keen golfers. But one night Poppy is attacked on the footpath near the golf course and her sister, following behind, mistakenly kills the attacker in trying to rescue her twin. The girls cover up the crime by making it look like a hit and run car accident, but are overheard by another golf club member, Betty Russell, who wants to go to the police. Unfortunately her husband dissuades her and starts blackmailing the girls instead. As Inspector Govern and Sergeant Beck try to disprove the hit and run theory, first Betty, then her husband Barry also disappear. Meanwhile Rose's boyfriend John cannot understand why her manner towards him has changed. For her part Rose still loves him but is overwhelmed with guilt. And it is not until after the discovery of two more dead bodies that all can be resolved.