Claire Lorrimer - Over My Dead Body - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Over My Dead Body

By Claire Lorrimer

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A thrilling tale of love and danger from bestselling romance author Claire Lorrimer.

A delightfully tranquil village seems a lovely place to live, but beware of seething resentments and violent passions waiting to erupt with dire consequences A typical English country lane: ten households forming a peaceful, if mundane community; it seemed the perfect environment for newlyweds lan and Migs Peters in which to raise their newborn son. A small dispute over the resurfacing and widening of their lane surely cannot cause too much discomfort in such an idyllic setting? But there are tensions and personal ambitions brewing beneath the surface, and history also has its place in such a firmly established community. Change comes at a price, particularly for certain members of the desirable Millers Lane ...

Biographical Notes

Claire Lorrimer wrote her first book at the age of twelve, encouraged by her mother, the bestselling author Denise Robins. After the Second World War, during which Claire served on secret duties, she started her career as a romantic novelist under her maiden name, Patricia Robins. In 1970 she began writing her magnificent family sagas and thrillers under the name Claire Lorrimer. She is currently at work on her seventy-first book. Claire lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444750881
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
John Murray

This is What Happened

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

Twenty-six-year-old Maggie Barnes is someone you would never look at twice. Living alone in a month-to-month sublet in the huge city of London, with no family but an estranged sister, no boyfriend or partner, and not much in the way of friends, Maggie is just the kind of person who could vanish from the face of the earth without anyone taking notice.Or just the kind of person MI5 needs to infiltrate the establishment and thwart an international plot that puts all of Britain at risk.Now one young woman has the chance to be a hero - if she can think quickly enough to stay alive.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Family Next Door

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth

A gripping novel full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It's the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.Isabelle Heatherington doesn't fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon captures the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers. But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange's compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won't let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park and returned home without her.As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread - and they're about to find out that when you look at something too closely, you'll see things you never wanted to see.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

A Damned Serious Business

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

There is a new cold war raging and its frontline warriors are Russian hackers - gang-members working freelance for the FSB, successor to the KGB. Massive thefts of personal information, electoral interference, catastrophic disruption of commercial and social services, banks, airlines, even whole countries disabled - this is happening now.Nicknamed 'Boot' because of his obsession with the Duke of Wellington and the battle of Waterloo, Edwin Coker is a case officer at the Vauxhall headquarters of MI6. When a young hacker falls into his hands and reveals details of a secret meeting, Boot conceives a daring plan to strike back - not with a computer virus of his own, but with a bomb that will seriously damage the Russian operation, spreading fear and distrust.Now Boot and his little team need a 'deniable' handler to deliver the explosives across the border from Estonia into Russia and bring the hacker back out. They turn to Merc, an ex-soldier fighting in Iraq, a gun-for-hire who knows how to get out of a tight spot. They hope.From the moment Merc sets out to cross the River Narva things do not go to plan and when the hacker's sister becomes involved, his mission turns from tough to near impossible. The scene is set for a classic story of pursuit and evasion and an epic battle for survival.

Mulholland Books

Red Right Hand

Chris Holm
Authors:
Chris Holm

NOMINATED FOR THE 2017 ANTHONY AWARD FOR BEST NOVELWhen the good guys can't save you, call a bad guy.A family's holiday video goes viral when it captures the moment of a terrorist attack...In the background, it reveals a witness long thought dead.The organisation the man agreed to testify against will stop at nothing to silence him, but Special Agent Charlie Thompson won't let that happen. Charlie turns to Michael Hendricks. He has history with those threatening the witness's life and getting involved will lead him right to them. All he has to do is enter an active crime scene and find someone with good reason to hide. With his skills, he figures it'll be easy. But nothing about this story is what it seems... Praise for THE KILLING KIND'Roaring tough guy fun' The Sunday Times'A one-sitting, extravagant, mind-blowing reading pleasure' David Baldacci'Pure joy' New York Times Book Review

Mulholland Books

The Smack

Richard Lange
Authors:
Richard Lange

'Richard Lange is emerging as the master of a new kind of novel: One that delivers breathless, gripping actionwhile anchored in the authentic troubles of the real world. ' Adam Sternbergh, author of Shovel ReadyRowan Petty is a conman down on his luck. Tinafey is a hooker who's tired of the streets. Their paths cross one snowy night in Reno, and they hit it off. An old friend of Petty's turns up with a rumour about a crew of American soldiers who smuggled two million dollars out of Afghanistan and stashed the money in an apartment in Los Angeles. He thinks Petty's just the guy to steal the cash. Petty thinks he hasn't got much to lose. He decides to drive down to L.A. to investigate. Tinafey decides to go with him.These might be the last decisions they will ever make.

Hodder & Stoughton

The 14th Colony

Steve Berry
Authors:
Steve Berry
Hodder Paperbacks

Georgia

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Mulholland Books

Krysalis

John Trenhaile
Authors:
John Trenhaile

David Lescombe, one of the Whitehall's top civil servants, believes he has a happy marriage to Anna, a successful barrister. But when Anna disappears and, at the same time, Krysalis, a unique NATO file, is removed from David's safe at their home, security services on both sides of the Atlantic are quick to accuse Anna of treason. David determines to find his wife and clear her name. But every step takes him further into danger ... and the evidence against Anna mounts up.As David uncovers more and more about the woman he married and thought he knew, he also begins to catch glimpses of another tantalizingly vague figure: Gerhard Kleist, the psychoanalyst first consulted by Anna some years previously. Is their relationship merely that of doctor-patient? Are they lovers? Or is Kleist's role something more sinister?

Mulholland Books

Confessions

Kanae Minato
Authors:
Kanae Minato

When Yuko Moriguchi's four-year-old daughter died in the middle school where she teaches, everyone thought it was a tragic accident. It's the last day of term, and Yuko's last day at work. She tells her students that she has resigned because of what happened - but not for the reasons they think. Her daughter didn't die in an accident. Her daughter was killed by two people in the class. And before she leaves, she has a lesson to teach...But revenge has a way of spinning out of control, and Yuko's last lecture is only the start of the story. In this bestselling Japanese thriller of love, despair and murder, everyone has a confession to make, and no one will escape unharmed.

Hodder & Stoughton

White Lies

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

Dead Reckoning

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Faithful Heart

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Harriet was very young when her ambitious, unscrupulous mother succeeded in parting her from Paul, the impecunious medical student Harriet loved. So successfully was Harriet convinced that Paul did not return her deep-felt love, that it was not long before she turned in her loneliness to the eligible Tony, it is not long before Harriet finds herself fighting against her disillusionment and doing her best to remain loyal to her vows. But by chance Paul comes back into her life just at the point at which she is most alone and in need of a friend.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Emotions

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Emotions is a delightful collection of short stories by Claire Lorrimer. Each in its way covers an emotion all women will recognize, and many of which are true reflections of women's experiences past and present. Indeed, First Love is a true story from Claire's own childhood. Her love of children and understanding of the elderly have enabled her to write these charming vignettes, all of which will touch the hearts of readers.

Hodder & Stoughton

Truth to Tell

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Infatuation

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

The death of Lucy Godstow's best friend Vanessa on the eve of Lucy's marriage to Guy Weaver was a big enough blow; but then Vanessa's elderly aunt Joan is found brutally murdered by an unknown assailant. Lucy and Tom, Vanessa's brother, have different reasons for thinking all is not as it seems, but new husband Guy is intolerably jealous of Lucy's ongoing meetings with Tom. Tom and Lucy were childhood sweethearts, until Guy charged into Lucy's life and swiftly swept her to the altar.There are things about Guy of which his new bride is unaware. He had been threatening Vanessa in order to keep dreadful secrets from Lucy. Marriage to a tall, handsome and wealthy man is not always one of bliss and happiness and many in the congregation secretly wish the wedding had never happened...

Hodder & Stoughton

Never Say Goodbye

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Search for Love

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Silver Link

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Until her father died, Adela Carstairs had lived in a secure and loving home. Then happiness was shattered when her mother remarries a cruel, hard-drinking man. With her younger brother and sister, Adela is forced to flee his drunken rages and they escape to London where they seek refuge in the squalor of the back streets. Addie's desperate hope is that her childhood companions, the Mallory twins, will find and rescue them. When all three find themselves caught up in the danger and terror of revolutionary France, the twins prove invaluable. It was to be an experience which would test their friendship, and love, to the limit.

Hodder & Stoughton

House of Tomorrow

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer