Adrian Plass - The Shadow Doctor - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444745474
    • Publication date:09 Feb 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444745481
    • Publication date:09 Feb 2017

The Shadow Doctor

By Adrian Plass

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

In this new novel Adrian Plass, bestselling author of the Sacred Diary series, explores what might happen if you could book an appointment with a doctor who could help you with your deepest spiritual wounds, not just a headache.

The Shadow Doctor isn't your usual kind of doctor. Sure, you can bring him your problems - but the chances are his solutions will blow your mind. This man can see into your soul, and the cures he prescribes don't come from the pharmacy. If you have fears you just cannot face, wounds you can't even bear to remember - if you've been abused, ignored, damaged by all life throws at you - the Shadow Doctor is here to help.

But the Shadow Doctor has shades of his own, and the work of helping others may be the only thing keeping him afloat. Can he stay ahead of the demons that torment him long enough to help those who need him?

Biographical Notes

Adrian Plass is the author of The Sacred Diary of Adrian Plass Aged 37¾ - this and its various sequels have sold millions of copies around the world. A somewhat bemused Anglican, Adrian and his wife Bridget live in Co Durham and recently spent two years as part of the Scargill Community as well as speaking in churches prisons, schools, festivals and literary events in the UK and around the world.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444745498
  • Publication date: 08 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Hodder & Stoughton

NIV Thinline Cloth Bible

New International Version
Authors:
New International Version

A handsomely presented cloth-bound Thinline NIV Bible with elastic strap closure and 7.25PT British Text.With over 400 million Bibles in print, the New International Version is the world's most popular modern English Bible. It is renowned for its combination of reliability and readability. The NIV is ideal for personal reading, public teaching and group study.This Bible also features:- clear, readable 7.25pt text- easy-to-read layout - shortcuts to key stories, events and people of the Bible - basic reading plan - quick links to find inspiration and help from the Bible in different life situations.- Short concordance- British text Royalties from all sales of the NIV Bible help Biblica in their work of translating and distributing Bibles around the world.

Hodder & Stoughton

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

NIV Journalling Bible Illustrated by Hannah Dunnett

New International Version
Authors:
New International Version

With extra-wide margins, quality writing paper and thirty-two pages of Christian artist Hannah's Dunnett's beautiful illustrations to inspire you, this NIV Journalling Bible is perfect for those who love to reflect and journal creatively in God's presence. The single-column setting and blank margins allow for plenty of room beside the Scriptures for your notes, drawings, stencilling and illumination, bringing a new depth and imagination to your quiet times. There could not be a better gift for Bible readers who love to add their own doodles and personal reflections to their Bible. Enhanced by Hannah Dunnett's stunning biblical artwork, this edition will encourage you to spend time soaking in the Word as you meditate on her paintings.The endpapers feature original artwork by Hannah Dunnett, inspired by the story of the Garden of Eden in Genesis, and Revelation's 'Heavenly City'. This NIV Journalling Bible has an easy-to-read, single-column 8.5PT Bible text, two ribbons markers and an elastic strap closure. Also included are shortcuts to key stories, events and people of the Bible, lists of references for help and guidance and a reading plan to help you familiarise yourself with the Bible. This edition of the New International Version uses British spelling, punctuation and grammar to allow the Bible to be read more naturally. Royalties from all sales of the NIV Bible help Biblica in their work of translating and distributing Bibles around the world.

Hodder & Stoughton

NIV Life Application Study Bible (Anglicised)

New International Version
Authors:
New International Version
Hodder Paperbacks

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

In the quaint seaside town of Newbay, a beginner's cookery course is starting. And three very different students have signed up . . . Liz's husband has left her for a twenty-something clean-eating blogger, and she's determined to show the world - and her daughter - she's just as capable in the kitchen. John, newly widowed after fifty years of marriage, can't live on sympathy lasagnes forever. To thirty-year-old workaholic Bella, the course is a welcome escape from her high-pressure job. Their only common ground: between them, they can barely boil an egg! Enter talented chef Alex, who is determined to introduce his pupils to the comforts of cuisine. As Liz, John and Bella encounter various disasters in the kitchen, the unlikely trio soon form a fast friendship. Their culinary skills might be catastrophic - but could the cookery club have given them a recipe for happiness?The wonderful new novel from Chrissie Manby is perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Trisha Ashley and Cathy Bramley.

Hodder & Stoughton

God-Soaked Life

Chris Webb
Authors:
Chris Webb
Hodder & Stoughton

The Most Dangerous Place on Earth

Lindsey Lee Johnson
Authors:
Lindsey Lee Johnson
Sceptre

City of Circles

Jess Richards
Authors:
Jess Richards

CITY OF CIRCLES is an entrancing love story between Danu and Morrie, two circus performers, and Danu's Lewis Carroll-esque odyssey through the magical city of Matryoshka, that ends with a heart-warming yet bittersweet twist. Danu is a tightrope walker who is mourning her parents, after a disease has ravaged the circus where she grew up. Her mother has entrusted her with a locket that hides a secret. Over the years, Danu pushes away her grief and develops elaborate and successful high-wire acts with Morrie, a charismatic hunchback who wants to marry her. When the circus returns to Danu's birthplace, Matryoshka, Danu is enchanted by the temples, spice mists, and pleasure seekers within the intoxicating outer circle district. Here, she finally gains the courage to open her mother's locket, and discovers the name of a stranger who lives behind the locked gate of the Inner Circle. Fated to remain in Matryoshka, Danu attempts to resolve this mystery . . .Will she and Morrie ever be reunited, or will something far more unexpected be waiting for her in the mysterious heart of the city?

John Murray

Yuki Means Happiness

Alison Jean Lester
Authors:
Alison Jean Lester

Diana is young and uneasy in a new relationship when she leaves America and moves halfway around the world to Tokyo seeking adventure. In Japan she takes a job as a nanny to two-year-old Yuki Yoshimura and sets about adapting to a routine of English practice, ballet and swimming lessons, and Japanese cooking.But as Diana becomes increasingly attached to Yuki she also becomes aware that everything in the Yoshimura household isn't as it first seemed. Before long, she must ask herself if she is brave enough to put everything on the line for the child under her care, confronting her own demons at every step of the way. Yuki Means Happiness is a rich and powerfully illuminating portrait of the intense relationship between a young woman and her small charge, as well as one woman's journey to discover her true self.

Hodder Paperbacks

This Beautiful Life: the gripping and emotional summer page-turner from the #1 bestseller

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh
Hodder Paperbacks

Holding

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton
Hodder & Stoughton

Mariner

Malcolm Guite
Authors:
Malcolm Guite
Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Hodder & Stoughton

Winter Storms

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Gather under the mistletoe for one last round of carolling with the Quinn family in this heartwarming conclusion to Elin Hilderbrand's bestselling Winter Street Trilogy.Some of the stormy weather of the past few seasons seems to have finally lifted for the Quinns. Kevin is about to tie the knot with Isabelle, and there's hopeful news about Bart, who has been captured by enemy forces in Afghanistan.That doesn't mean there aren't a few dark clouds on the horizon as the family juggle health scares and love triangles. But if there's one holiday that brings the Quinn family together, it's Christmas. And this year promises to be a celebration unlike any other as they prepare to host Kevin and Isabelle's wedding at the inn.But as the special day approaches, a historic once-in-a-century blizzard bears down on Nantucket, threatening to keep the Quinns away from the place - and the people - they love most. Before the snow clears, the Quinns will have to survive enough upheavals to send anyone running for the spiked eggnog, in this touching novel that proves that when the holidays roll around, you can always go home again.

Sceptre

How Much the Heart Can Hold

Carys Bray, Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, Bernardine Evaristo, Grace McCleen, Donal Ryan, Nikesh Shukla, D.W. Wilson
Authors:
Carys Bray, Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, Bernardine Evaristo, Grace McCleen, Donal Ryan, Nikesh Shukla, D.W. Wilson
Hodder & Stoughton

Acts of Love

Talulah Riley
Authors:
Talulah Riley
Hodder Paperbacks

A Life Without You: An addictive and emotional story of love and family secrets

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh
Hodder & Stoughton

Soulfulness

Brian Draper
Authors:
Brian Draper
Hodder & Stoughton

All Questions Great and Small

Adrian Plass, Jeff Lucas
Authors:
Adrian Plass, Jeff Lucas
Hodder Paperbacks

My Everything: the uplifting #1 bestseller

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh