Adrian Plass - The Shadow Doctor - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444745481
    • Publication date:09 Feb 2017
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444745498
    • Publication date:08 Feb 2018

The Shadow Doctor

By Adrian Plass

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

In this new novel Adrian Plass, bestselling author of the Sacred Diary series, explores what might happen if you could book an appointment with a doctor who could help you with your deepest spiritual wounds, not just a headache.

The Shadow Doctor isn't your usual kind of doctor. Sure, you can bring him your problems - but the chances are his solutions will blow your mind. This man can see into your soul, and the cures he prescribes don't come from the pharmacy. If you have fears you just cannot face, wounds you can't even bear to remember - if you've been abused, ignored, damaged by all life throws at you - the Shadow Doctor is here to help.

But the Shadow Doctor has shades of his own, and the work of helping others may be the only thing keeping him afloat. Can he stay ahead of the demons that torment him long enough to help those who need him?

Biographical Notes

Adrian Plass is the author of The Sacred Diary of Adrian Plass Aged 37¾ - this and its various sequels have sold millions of copies around the world. A somewhat bemused Anglican, Adrian and his wife Bridget live in Co Durham and recently spent two years as part of the Scargill Community as well as speaking in churches prisons, schools, festivals and literary events in the UK and around the world.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444745474
  • Publication date: 09 Feb 2017
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
The Shadow Doctor is a brilliantly crafted and thoroughly engaging story. This is Adrian Plass at his best! — Wm Paul Young - Author of The Shack
Adrian does what he does best, he makes you question the things that you have trusted and felt to be true about your beliefs in God, Church, Prayer, Faith...It is a breath of fresh air that moves away from the gimmicks of some modern Christianity and more towards an expressible spirituality that keeps Christ at the centre. — One Man in the Middle
With deftness and understanding the author sets the stage and introduces the characters. On turning the page I felt rather as if they had departed a perfectly dressed stage and left me staring at it as they exited to the wings. — The Preacher's Blog
Hodder & Stoughton

Lean On Me

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
John Murray

Imaging

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass
Hodder & Stoughton

Unshakeable Trust

Joyce Meyer
Authors:
Joyce Meyer

In her new book, New York Times bestselling author Joyce Meyer explores a life lived in complete and total dependence on God. Drawing on her own experiences and inspiration from the Word of God, Joyce makes the case that in every area of your life--spiritually, relationally, emotionally, financially--you can trust that God has your very best in store.

Sceptre

City of Circles

Jess Richards
Authors:
Jess Richards
Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall
Hodder & Stoughton

Home

Jo Swinney
Authors:
Jo Swinney

Where is Home?This question troubles many of us. We may live far from where we grew up, away from those we love or in a culture not our own. But we all need somewhere to belong, to find a sense of home in this world.Jo Swinney was born in the UK, but grew up in Portugal and France. She went to an English boarding school, did a gap year in southern Africa and in her twenties studied theology in Canada, where she met her American husband. Now back in the UK, she's had more reason than most to wonder what 'home' really means.Is home where you come from - where you live now - where the people you love are - or what?Interweaving a frank and poignant retelling of her own story with theological and psychological insights, Jo's original and authentic exploration of home in all its many and varied forms is a heartfelt call to find our home in the things that are truly of most value.

Hodder & Stoughton

As Kingfishers Catch Fire

Eugene Peterson
Authors:
Eugene Peterson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Real Liddy James

Anne-Marie Casey
Authors:
Anne-Marie Casey
Hodder & Stoughton

20 Ways to Make Every Day Better

Joyce Meyer
Authors:
Joyce Meyer

The traffic is backed up, the kids are screaming, and the car is making a funny noise again. Any one of these challenges can test our temperament and rob us of joy. Our impulse is to write today off and hope for a better tomorrow. However, this creates a hard pattern to break. One terrible day easily turns into many-and soon we're living a life far from what God has in mind for us. A new, transforming sense of excitement, happiness, and contentment in our lives is possible when we pursue God's goodness each day. In 20 WAYS TO MAKE EVERY DAY BETTER, Joyce Meyer shares biblical illustrations, actionable advice, uplifting stories, and the encouragement we need to start enjoying the life God created for us.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
John Murray

Rockadoon Shore

Rory Gleeson
Authors:
Rory Gleeson
Hodder & Stoughton

Finding God in the Waves

Mike McHargue
Authors:
Mike McHargue
Hodder & Stoughton

Secrets at the Little Village School

Gervase Phinn
Authors:
Gervase Phinn

The fifth Little Village School novel.'It's a small village is Barton-in-the-Dale, Mrs Stirling,' said the shopkeeper. 'You ought to know that by now. Nothing can be kept secret for too long. News travels fast.'In the little village of Barton-in-the-Dale, long-hidden secrets are bubbling to the surface. Ashley Underwood and Emmet O'Malley are set to tie the knot, when a revelation from the handsome Irishman's past returns to haunt him. The town's resident nosey-parker discovers some juicy gossip about the primary school's dishy new staff-member, and head teacher Elisabeth Stirling has a very special secret of her own.As the wedding day draws closer, brewing secrets threaten to boil over. But along with the skeletons tumbling out of the closet comes plenty of laughter, drama, friendship and love. One thing's for sure: for some, life in Barton-in-the-Dale will never be the same again.

Hodder & Stoughton

Bertie's Gift: the perfect feel-good read!

Hannah Coates
Authors:
Hannah Coates

This is the inspirational story of how one cheeky little dog, his sister and two grumpy cats save a family.'If you love animals, you will adore this gorgeous book' - MILLY JOHNSON'Charming, touching - an absolute gift of a book!' - KATIE FFORDE'The perfect feel-good read!' - MANDY BAGGOTBertie is alone, devastated after his beloved sister and fellow beagle Molly is adopted, leaving him behind. When Bertie is taken in by the Green family, it seems he's finally found a place to call home...Yet Bertie swiftly realises that the kind and loving Green family is in crisis. After a tragedy two years ago, they've never recovered, and with Christmas approaching, grief is pulling them apart. Never has a four-legged friend been more in need - and brave, warm-hearted Bertie must rise to the challenge. Can he enlist the help of hostile felines Kitty and Rico to help him find Molly - and can he bring the Green family back together again, all in time for Christmas?

Hodder & Stoughton

Holding

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton

'A considerable achievement ... one of the more authentic debuts I've read in recent years ... in such an understated manner, eschewing linguistic eccentricity ... in favour of genuine characters and tender feeling...this is a fine novel.' John Boyne, Irish Times'Poised and perceptive' the Sunday Times'It's funny and wonderfully perceptive' Wendy Holden'It is beautiful and yet devastatingly sad' Daily Express'Deeply accomplished...brilliantly observed' Good Housekeeping'An undercurrent of black comedy accompanies the ripples that ensue - but with a pathos that makes this deftly plotted story as moving as it is compelling.' Sunday Mirror'Strenuously charming...surprisingly tender' Metro 'Heartwarming and observant' StylistThe remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama; and yet its inhabitants are troubled. Sergeant PJ Collins hasn't always been this overweight; mother of­ two Brid Riordan hasn't always been an alcoholic; and elegant Evelyn Ross hasn't always felt that her life was a total waste.So when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke - a former­ love of both Brid and Evelyn - the village's dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated PJ struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community's worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret.Darkly comic, touching and at times profoundly sad. Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore - with searing honesty - the complexities and contradictions that make us human. Graham Norton's masterful debut is an intelligently crafted story of love, secrets and loss.

Hodder & Stoughton

Mr Gandy's Grand Tour

Alan Titchmarsh
Authors:
Alan Titchmarsh
Hodder & Stoughton

In the Shelter

Padraig O Tuama
Authors:
Padraig O Tuama

It is in the shelter of each other that the people live.Drawing on this Irish saying, poet, storyteller and theologian Pádraig Ó Tuama relates ideas of shelter and welcome to journeys of life, using poetry, story, biblical refelction and prose to open up gentle ways of living well in a troubled world. The fourth gospel tells of Jesus arriving in the room where the disciples are gathered, full of fear, on Easter Sunday. He does not chide or admonish; instead he says 'Peace be with you', which, in the Aramaic of his day, was simply a greeting. To people locked in a room of fear he said 'Hello,' welcoming them to a place of deep encounter: encounter with themselves, with their fear, with each other and with the incarnate one in their midst.Interweaving everyday stories with narrative theology, gospel reflections with mindfulness and Celtic spirituality with poetry, In the Shelter reveals the transformational power of welcome.

John Murray

The Good Guy

Susan Beale
Authors:
Susan Beale

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2016A deeply compelling novel set in 1960s suburban America for fans of The Engagements and Tigers in Red Weather.Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiration. His wife, Abigail, longs for a life of the mind. Single-girl Penny just wants to be loved. When a chance encounter brings Ted and Penny together, he becomes enamoured and begins inventing a whole new life with her at its centre. But when this fantasy collides with reality, the fallout threatens everything, and everyone, he holds dear.The Good Guy is a deeply compelling debut about love, marriage and what happens when good intentions and self-deception are taken to extremes.

Hodder & Stoughton

Soulfulness

Brian Draper
Authors:
Brian Draper
Hodder & Stoughton

The Sisterhood

Bobbie Houston
Authors:
Bobbie Houston

The Sisterhood explores God's vision for women: what they should believe about God, themselves, and their ability to make the world a better place. Bobbie shows readers how to embrace and implement that vision in every aspect of their lives, helping them to discover their gifts and talents, and includes personal stories from women around the world. The book concludes with a challenge to join the worldwide 'Sisterhood' movement, motivated by the belief that if one woman can change the lives around her, then a united group of women can change the world.