John Connolly - The Whisperers - Hodder & Stoughton

The Whisperers

A Charlie Parker Thriller: 9

By John Connolly
Read by Jeff Harding

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Biographical Notes

John Connolly was born in Dublin in 1968. His debut -EVERY DEAD THING - swiftly launched him right into the front rank of thriller writers, and all his subsequent novels have been Sunday Times bestsellers. He is the first non-American writer to win the US Shamus award. `For Every Dead Thing`. In 2007 he was awarded the Irish Post Award for Literature.

twitter: John Connolly @jconnollybooks
Facebook

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444741773
  • Publication date: 10 Feb 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Sandra Brown 2018

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

#1 New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Sandra Brown returns with another suspenseful thriller - more information coming soon.

Mulholland Books

The Death Knock

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper

Is there a serial killer in East Anglia? The police deny it. Journalist Frankie suspects they're wrong. Student Ava knows they're wrong... because she's just been abducted by him. This is a gripping novel in which suspense meets investigation - as Ava struggles to stay alive, and Frankie finds herself far closer to the case than she'd anticipated...Elodie Harper is a news journalist herself and THE DEATH KNOCK is an authentic, terrifying story of dark deeds and the hunt for the truth.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

Award-winning author Elizabeth George delivers another masterpiece of suspense in her Inspector Lynley series: Lynley and his pugnacious and deeply loyal Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers find themselves up against one of the most sinister murder cases they have ever encountered.When a Member of Parliament shows up at New Scotland Yard requesting an investigation into the suicide of the son of one of his constituents in the beautiful town of Ludlow, the Assistant Commissioner sees two opportunities in this request: the first is to have an MP owing him a favour, and the second is to get rid of Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers, whose career at the Met has been hanging by a thread for quite some time. So he assigns Havers to the case and for good measure partners her with the one person who shares his wish to see the back of her, Detective Chief Superintendent Isabelle Ardery.But Ardery has her own difficulties. She is not happy to be sent away from London and as a result is in a rush to return. This causes her to overlook things, important things, and prevents her from uncovering an earlier crime that set everything in motion.

Mulholland Books

Rip Crew

Sebastian Rotella
Authors:
Sebastian Rotella

Maverick agent Valentine Pescatore is back and investigating a brutal killing that leads him across borders and reveals a vast conspiracy of wealth and power terrifyingly close to home.Valentine Pescatore, the former U.S. agent, finds himself back on American soil, investigating the merciless killing of a group of women in a motel room. At first, the crime seems to be a straightforward case of gangsters battling for territory. Soon, however, the motive is revealed to be much deeper and more sinister: a single witness who knows too much is being hunted.From an author who has been praised for his "pounding action scenes [and] ferocious prose style" (Marilyn Stasio, NYTBR), RIP CREW races at breakneck speed as Pescatore finds himself face-to-face with his most terrifying assignment yet.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Shout

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Mulholland Books

Scorched Earth

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing. The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure. McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl. But why would anyone not report a kidnapping?And how far would someone go to get revenge?The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past.

Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis

A girl missingA woman, searchingA killer, planning...A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter. FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.She knows how it feels to be lost...Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly. With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa's skin. Everything she has buried - her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death - threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself...and return to the darkness she's been hiding from for years.

Mulholland Books

The Twentieth Day of January

Ted Allbeury
Authors:
Ted Allbeury
Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King

In this spectacular father/son collaboration, Stephen King and Owen King tell the highest of high-stakes stories: what might happen if women disappeared from the world of men?All around the world, something is happening to women when they fall asleep; they become shrouded in a cocoon-like gauze. If awakened, if the gauze wrapping their bodies is disturbed, the women become feral and spectacularly violent...In the small town of Dooling, West Virginia, the virus is spreading through a women's prison, affecting all the inmates except one. Soon, word spreads about the mysterious Evie, who seems able to sleep - and wake. Is she a medical anomaly or a demon to be slain? The abandoned men, left to their increasingly primal devices, are fighting each other, while Dooling's Sheriff, Lila Norcross, is just fighting to stay awake.And the sleeping women are about to open their eyes to a new world altogether...

Hodder & Stoughton

he

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Winner of the 2017 Ryan Tubridy Show Listener's Choice Award at the Irish Book Awards.John Connolly recreates the golden age of Hollywood for an intensely compassionate study of the tension between commercial demands and artistic integrity and the human frailties behind even the greatest of artists.An extraordinary reimagining of the life of one of the greatest screen comedians the world has ever known: a man who knew both adoration and humiliation; who loved, and was loved in turn; who betrayed, and was betrayed; who never sought to cause pain to others, yet left a trail of affairs and broken marriages in his wake . . . And whose life was ultimately defined by one relationship of such tenderness and devotion that only death could sever it: his partnership with the man he knew as Babe.he is Stan Laurel.But he did not really exist. Stan Laurel was a fiction.With he, John Connolly recreates the golden age of Hollywood for an intensely compassionate study of the tension between commercial demands and artistic integrity, the human frailties behind even the greatest of artists, and one of the most enduring and beloved partnerships in cinema history: Laurel &Hardy.

Hodder & Stoughton

Lucky Ghost

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad

The extraordinary new novel from the incredible author of SOCKPUPPET. Perfect for fans of BLACK MIRROREarly one morning, blogger Alex Kubelick walks up to a total stranger and slaps him across the face. Hard.He smiles.They've both just earned Emoticoin, in a new, all-consuming game that trades real-life emotions for digital currency. Emoticoin is changing the face of the economy - but someone or something is controlling it for their own, dangerous ends.As Alex picks apart the tangled threads that hold the virtual game together she finds herself on the run from very real enemies. It seems only one person has the answers she seeks. Someone who hides behind the name 'Lucky Ghost'.But Lucky Ghost will only talk to a young hacker called Thimblerig - the online troll who's been harassing Alex for months.Will Lucky Ghost lead Alex and Thimblerig to the answers they seek - or to their deaths?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Whistler

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

Camino Island

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

A Game of Ghosts

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The annual thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series. It is deep winter. The darkness is unending.The private detective named Jaycob Eklund has vanished, and Charlie Parker is dispatched to track him down. Parker's employer, Edgar Ross, an agent of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, has his own reasons for wanting Eklund found. Eklund is no ordinary investigator. He is obsessively tracking a series of homicides and disappearances, each linked to reports of hauntings. Now Parker will be drawn into Eklund's world, a realm in which the monstrous Mother rules a crumbling criminal empire, in which men strike bargains with angels, and in which the innocent and guilty alike are pawns in a game of ghosts . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Book of Lost Things 10th Anniversary Edition

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder Paperbacks

Gaudy Night

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The twelfth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by actress Dame Harriet Mary Walter, DBE - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college. Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back . . . At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters obscene graffiti, poison pen letters and a disgusting effigy when she arrives at sedate Shrewsbury College for the 'Gaudy' celebrations. But soon, Harriet realises that she is not the only target of this murderous malice - and asks Lord Peter Wimsey to help.