Tad Williams - Happy Hour in Hell - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444738605
    • Publication date:26 Sep 2013
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444738643
    • Publication date:26 Sep 2013

Happy Hour in Hell

Bobby Dollar 2

By Tad Williams

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Love is Hell.

Bobby Dollar has a problem or four of epic proportions. Problem one: his best friend Sam has given him an angel's feather that also happens to be evidence of an unholy pact between Bobby's employers and those who dwell in the infernal depths. Problem two: Eligor, Grand Duke of Hell, wants to get his claws on the feather at all costs, but particularly at all cost to Bobby . Problem three: Bobby has fallen in love with Casimira, Countess of Cold Hands, who just happens to be Eligor's girlfriend. Problem four: Eligor, aware of Problem three, has whisked Casimira off to the Bottomless Pit itself, telling Bobby he will never see her again unless he hands over the feather.

But Bobby, long-time veteran of the endless war between above and below, is not the type of guy who finds Hell intimidating. All he has to do is toss on a demon's body, sneak through the infernal gates, solve the mystery of the angel's feather, and rescue the girl. Saving the day should just be a matter of an eon or two of anguish, mutilation and horror.

If only it were that easy.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444738629
  • Publication date: 27 Mar 2014
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks

Praise for THE DIRTY STREETS OF HEAVEN:

'When I heard that Tad Williams was writing an urban fantasy novel, I got all tingly. Now I've read it, and it's even better than I'd dared to hope. It's snarky, fast-paced, and above all, original. You should be tingly, too.'

— Patrick Rothfuss
'Tad Williams' ... famous four-book trilogy was one of the things that inspired me to write my own seven-book trilogy. [ I ] said, "My god, they can do something with this form," and it's Tad doing it.' — George R.R. Martin
'This is urban fantasy at its best.' — EpicBookReviews
'A very promising start to an exciting new series from one of our greatest modern F/SF authors.' — Geek Syndicate
'Readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, Kate Griffin's A Madness of Angels, Jim Butcher's Dresden Files will most likely be as entertained as I was... Highly recommended.' — SFF World
Coronet

The Cloven

Brian Catling
Authors:
Brian Catling
Hodder & Stoughton

Empire of Grass

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Hodder & Stoughton

Early Riser

Jasper Fforde
Authors:
Jasper Fforde

Imagine a world where all humans must hibernate through a brutally cold winter, their bodies dangerously close to death as they enter an ultra-low metabolic state of utterly dreamless sleep. All humans, that is, apart from the Sleep Marshalls, a group of officers who diligently watch over the vulnerable sleeping citizens. When John Fugue, a junior Sleep Marshall, finds himself in the forgotten rural outpost of Sector Twelve, he hears of a conspiracy - a viral dream is somehow spreading amongst those in the hibernational state, causing paranoia, hallucination and a psychotic episode that can end in murder. When Fugue enters the Sleepstate himself and wakes two months later, all those who knew about the dream have disappeared and, more disturbingly, Fugue himself can recall parts of the viral dream - a dream that shouldn't be possible.

Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Osten Ard Story

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

Hodder & Stoughton

Clockwork City

Paul Crilley
Authors:
Paul Crilley
John Murray

Ghosts of Christmas Past

M. R. James, Jenn Ashworth, E. Nesbit, Louis de Bernières, Muriel Spark, Frank Cowper, E. F. Benson, Bernard Capes, L. P. Hartley, Robert Aickman, Neil Gaiman, Jerome K. Jerome, Kelly Link
Authors:
M. R. James, Jenn Ashworth, E. Nesbit, Louis de Bernières, Muriel Spark, Frank Cowper, E. F. Benson, Bernard Capes, L. P. Hartley, Robert Aickman, Neil Gaiman, Jerome K. Jerome, Kelly Link
Sceptre

City of Circles

Jess Richards
Authors:
Jess Richards
Hodder & Stoughton

The Witchwood Crown

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

Thirty years ago Ineluki, the Storm King, was destroyed and his armies scattered. Osten Ard has been at peace ever since, ruled by Simon Snowlock, kitchen boy made king, and Miriamele, King Elias' only child. But now age weighs upon their reign. Simon's dreams have deserted him, old allies die and betrayal and assassination threaten. His son and heir John Josua is years dead and his grandson, Morgan, is a wastrel. A journey of redemption and discovery beckons in the darkening world.And in the frozen North, in Nakkiga, the mountain fortress, Ineluki's ally, the Norn Queen, wakes from her deep, decades-long sleep and tells her followers that she will sleep no more. Humanity must be destroyed. Her sorcerers will bring a demon back from death, her warriors will seek the world for living dragon's blood...And finally the greatest artefact of all, the Witchwood Crown, will be hers. With a cast of hundreds - humans, giants, dragons, trolls, Sithi and Norn - The Witchwood Crown is epic fantasy as it used to be: classic, grand and sweeping and evidence that Tad Williams is the greatest living writer of the form.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Waking Land

Callie Bates
Authors:
Callie Bates
Hodder & Stoughton

Flame in the Mist

Renée Ahdieh
Authors:
Renée Ahdieh

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn, comes a sweeping, action-packed YA adventure set against the backdrop of Feudal Japan.Mariko has always known that being a woman means she's not in control of her own fate. But Mariko is the daughter of a prominent samurai and a cunning alchemist in her own right, and she refuses to be ignored. When she is ambushed by a group of bandits known as the Black Clan enroute to a political marriage to Minamoto Raiden - the emperor's son - Mariko realises she has two choices: she can wait to be rescued... or she can take matters into her own hands, hunt down the clan and find the person who wants her dead.Disguising herself as a peasant boy, Mariko infiltrates the Black Clan's hideout and befriends their leader, the rebel ronin Ranmaru, and his second-in-command, Okami. Ranmaru and Okami warm to Mariko, impressed by her intellect and ingenuity. But as Mariko gets closer to the Black Clan, she uncovers a dark history of secrets that will force her to question everything she's ever known.

Hodder Paperbacks

Children of Earth and Sky

Guy Gavriel Kay
Authors:
Guy Gavriel Kay

Guy Gavriel Kay, bestselling author of the groundbreaking novels Under Heaven and River of Stars, once again visits a world that evokes one that existed in our own past, this time the tumultuous period of Renaissance Europe-a world on the verge of war, where ordinary lives play out in the grand scheme of kingdoms colliding.From the small coastal town of Senjan, notorious for its pirates , a young woman sets out to find vengeance for her lost family. That same spring, from the wealthy city-state of Seressa, famous for its canals and lagoon, come two very different people: a young artist traveling to the dangerous east to paint the Grand Khalif at his request-and possibly to do more-and a beautiful oman, posing as a doctor's wife in her role of a spy.The trading ship that carries them is commanded by the clever younger son of a merchant family -with ambivalence about the life he's been born to live. And farther east a boy trains to become a soldier in the elite infantry of the khalif-to win glory in the war everyone knows is coming.As these lives entwine, their fates-and those of many others-will hang in the balance, when the khalif sends out his massive army to take the great fortress that is the gateway to the western world...

Hodder & Stoughton

Strange the Dreamer

Laini Taylor
Authors:
Laini Taylor
Hodder Paperbacks

Poison City

Paul Crilley
Authors:
Paul Crilley
Hodder & Stoughton

Caraval: the mesmerising Sunday Times bestseller

Stephanie Garber
Authors:
Stephanie Garber
Hodder & Stoughton

City of Golden Shadow

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Hodder & Stoughton

River of Blue Fire

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Hodder & Stoughton

Sea of Silver Light

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Hodder Paperbacks

Mountain of Black Glass

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

Otherland is a realm of the imagination where anything can happen, a triumph of technology, a virtual world of enormous complexity and possibility. But Otherland is owned and controlled by a secret cartel, The Grail Brotherhood, whose motives remain shrouded in mystery.Trapped in this extraordinary world, the quest of a small band of companions to unlock the secrets of Otherland is running perilously short of time. For the Brotherhood has finally set the date for the Ceremony when they will make their bid for immortality. The journey will lead them through a strangely unfinished land and an endlessly labyrinthine house. They will suffer the ferocity of the siege of Troy and battle against the might of the Egyptian gods on their journey to find the Mountain of Black Glass. But even there, the danger will not be over. Other's darkest secret, an entity known only as the Other, awaits.

Hodder & Stoughton

Night of Cake and Puppets

Laini Taylor
Authors:
Laini Taylor

In this stand alone novella from New York Times bestselling author Laini Taylor comes the story of a funny and fantastical first date. In NIGHT OF CAKE & PUPPETS, Taylor brings to life a night only hinted at in the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy - the magical first date of fan-favorites Zuzana and Mik. Told in alternating perspectives, it's the perfect love story for fans of the series and new readers alike.Petite though she may be, Zuzana is not known for timidity. Her best friend, Karou, calls her 'rabid fairy', her 'voodoo eyes' are said to freeze blood, and even her older brother fears her wrath. But when it comes to the simple matter of talking to Mik, or 'Violin Boy', her courage deserts her. Now, enough is enough. Zuzana is determined to meet him, and she has a fistful of magic and a plan. It's a wonderfully elaborate treasure hunt of a plan that will take Mik all over Prague on a cold winter's night before finally leading him to the treasure: herself!Violin Boy's not going to know what hit him.

Hodder Paperbacks

Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King