Jess Richards - Snake Ropes - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444737851
    • Publication date:13 Dec 2012
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444737868
    • Publication date:10 May 2012

Snake Ropes

By Jess Richards

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

Stunning fiction debut in the vein of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2012 COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD

No-one here goes to the main land, and no-one wants to. Our boats aren't strong enough, we dun know the way, them can't understand us, we're fine as we are. We have so many reasons; them stretch as wide as the distance to cross to take us there.

The day the tall men come from the mainland to trade, Mary's little brother goes missing.

She needs to find him.

She needs to know a secret that no-one else can tell her.

Jess Richards' stunning debut will show you crows who become statues and sisters who get tangled in each other's hair, keys that talk and ghosts who demand to be buried. In the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood, she combines a page-turning narrative and a startlingly original voice with the creation and subversion of myths.

Biographical Notes

Jess Richards was born in Wales in 1972, and grew up too fast in south west Scotland where she lived with her English parents and three brothers, watching the ferry boats going to and from Northern Ireland. She left home at 17, went over the border to England, and lived for a year in Carlisle, before moving to Devon. She gained a first class degree from Dartington College of Arts when she was 21. After brief stints busking and carrying on in both Leeds and London, she moved to Brighton aged 23 where she has grown up a bit slower, and has lived and worked ever since. Her debut novel, SNAKE ROPES, was shortlisted for the 2012 Costa First Novel Award and longlisted for the Green Carnation Prize.

www.jessrichards.com
www.twitter.com/jessgrr1

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444737844
  • Publication date: 10 May 2012
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Sceptre
Jess Richards's debut is a cornucopia of secrets and surprises, written in a bright, sassy style. The author is exuberantly inventive in creating a bitter-sweet world of magical transformations. — Independent
A terrific story, quirky and wildly original. — Joanne Harris
A mystical book where a harsh self-sufficient lifestyle meets myths, legends and magic . . . an unusual, haunting debut novel. — thebookbag.co.uk
From the islanders' subtle creole to their myths of sea and sky and earth, Jess Richards has nurtured a remarkable community, their home glimpsed in the sea-mist like a new Avalon. Angela Carter or Laura Esquivel would have been proud of this. — We Love This Book
Sceptre

Memories of the Future

Siri Hustvedt
Authors:
Siri Hustvedt
Hodder Paperbacks

The End of Time

Gavin Extence
Authors:
Gavin Extence

Beneath the stars, on a stony beach, stand two teenage brothers.They are wearing lifejackets that are too big for them and their most precious belongings are sealed in waterproof bags tucked inside the rucksacks on their backs.Turkey is behind them and Europe lies ahead, a dark, desperate swim away.They don't know what will come next, but they're about to meet a man who does. He calls himself Jesus, the Messiah. He is barefoot, dishevelled and smells strongly of alcohol.And he doesn't believe in chance meetings. He believes he has information about the future - information that will change three lives forever . . .

Coronet

On The Up

Alice O'Keeffe
Authors:
Alice O'Keeffe

Hodder & Stoughton

The Vanished Bride

Bella Ellis
Authors:
Bella Ellis
Hodder Paperbacks

Christmas at Silver Dale

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

What Happens in Paradise

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Voyage of Mrs Henry Parker

Joanna Nell
Authors:
Joanna Nell
Hodder & Stoughton

Witchfinder

Andrew Williams
Authors:
Andrew Williams
Hodder & Stoughton

A Gift in December

Jenny Gladwell
Authors:
Jenny Gladwell
Two Roads

How It Was

Janet Ellis
Authors:
Janet Ellis

A new, darkly compelling novel from Janet Ellis, author of the highly-acclaimed The Butcher's Hook.'Janet Ellis writes with tenderness and wisdom . . . I veered between laughter and a lump in the throat, often on the same page. This book will sneak up behind you and break your heart.' Erin Kelly, author of He Said/She SaidIn a 1970s village in rural Kent, lives go on in an unremarkable way. But Marion Deacon, struggling with being a wife and mother, is about to set events in motion that she cannot control in a story of love, motherhood, betrayal, and long-hidden secrets . . . because everyone has at least one secret.Marion Deacon sits by the hospital bed of her dying husband, Michael. Outwardly she is, as she says, an unremarkable old woman. She has long concealed her history - and her feelings - from the casual observer. And she's learned to ignore her own past, too. But as she sits by Michael's bed, she's haunted by memories of events from almost forty years ago. She and Michael were recently married; their children, Eddie and Sarah, still young. Theirs was an uneventful life in a small village. But, stiflingly bored in role as mother and wife, Marion fell for a married man, an affair that sparked a chain of events which re-sets all their lives.Moving between the voices of Marion, her teenage daughter Sarah and her youngest son, Eddie, How It Was is a story of love, loss and betrayal. Through Marion and Sarah, Janet Ellis explores the tensions at the heart of mother-daughter relationships, the pressure women face to be the perfect wife and mother, and how life rarely turns out the way we imagine it will when we are young.

Hodder & Stoughton

Miracle Creek

Angie Kim
Authors:
Angie Kim
Hodder & Stoughton

Three Days in Florence

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

The new hilariously funny summer romance from the bestselling author of SEVEN SUNNY DAYS.'Manby's novels are made for holidays' Glamour*****Can a few days in Italy change your life forever?Kathy Courage has never visited the famous Italian city before, so she's thrilled to get the chance to visit with her boyfriend Neil - even if it is for his work conference...But when Kathy finds herself unexpectedly stranded in the city after a mix-up with her flights, she decides to embrace the unexpected and stay for an extra week on her own.What follows is a life-changing few days in the Tuscan sun, as Kathy begins to question the choices that have led her here. Could Italy hold the answers to her future happiness? Or is Kathy destined to return to her old routine?

John Murray

The Aunt Who Wouldn't Die

Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay
Authors:
Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay
Sceptre

Starling Days

Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
Authors:
Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
Hodder & Stoughton

Sweet Sorrow

David Nicholls
Authors:
David Nicholls
Two Roads

M for Mammy

Eleanor O’Reilly
Authors:
Eleanor O’Reilly

'M for Magnificent! Heart-breaking, heart-warming, and hilarious . . . a glorious debut' Ruth Hogan, bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Things'Strong and taut' Anne Griffin, author of When All Is Said'Lovely, sharp, compassionate, well-observed writing' Felicity Hayes-McCoy, author of The Library at the Edge of the World'A heartfelt debut about love, understanding and the complicated ties of family' Prima'Channelling the warm heart and good cheer of Marian Keyes . . . very amusing' Irish IndependentMeet the Augustts: a loving, Irish family who, like all families, are a bit complicated. They are bound together by their love for each other, but each expresses themselves in a very different way. When misfortune strikes the family, they must learn to understand each other anew. Sometimes, in a family as complicated as the Augustts, it's not always what is spoken that makes the most sense.Everything is shaken up when Granny Mae-Anne moves in and takes charge. A force of nature, full of stern words and no-nonsense common sense, it is she who must try and hold the family together.M for Mammy is an uplifting story about the unique comfort of home, the language we can find when the words aren't there, and the power of a family to heal itself.

Hodder & Stoughton

Disturbance

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh

You don't know what's going on in Sara's house... Or in her head. Sara is lonely. No one talks to her - not even her bad-tempered workaholic husband or her two beloved sons. Her solace is her house, the biggest in the village, hidden away behind high hedges.Then she strikes up a friendship with Katie, a college student living nearby, and a new world opens up. Her neighbours have been dying to get to know her, and they rush to help when Sara is devastated by a terrible accident.But nothing is quite what it seems. And when new betrayals and shocking revelations disturb her peace, Sara realises she has no choice: she must act to protect the safety of those she loves.***'So subtly done, and well achieved, and horrifyingly, hilariously believable - just the blackest of delights.' Jenn Ashworth, author of Fell'A massively enjoyable book - creepy, funny, surprising and absolutely unputdownable... My only wish is that I hadn't finished it so quickly.' Daisy Waugh'I raced through it. Dark, tense and very twisty.' Tamsin Grey, author of She's Not There

Two Roads

Queenie Malone's Paradise Hotel

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan

'As lovely as a burst of bright bluebells' Sunday Express 'Technicolor' Daily Mail'A moving exploration of the complex relationship between mothers and daughters' Observer'A poignant tale of love and family' Good Housekeeping'Enchanting . . . divine' Prima 'Beautifully written - astute and funny' Daily Express'This book really shines . . . laugh-out-loud funny' Stylist'A tender tale' Woman & Home'Absorbing, tender and heartfelt' Mike Gayle, author of The Man I Think I Know'Her best novel yet' Hannah Beckerman, author of If Only I Could Tell You'Exuberant and full of zest' Nina PottellThe new novel from Ruth Hogan, the bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes - an uplifting novel of mothers and daughters, families and secrets and the astonishing power of friendship.Tilly was a bright, outgoing little girl who liked playing with ghosts and matches. She loved fizzy drinks, swear words, fish fingers and Catholic churches, but most of all she loved living in Brighton in Queenie Malone's magnificent Paradise Hotel with its endearing and loving family of misfits - staff and guests alike. But Tilly's childhood was shattered when her mother sent her away from the only home she'd ever loved to boarding school with little explanation and no warning.Many years later, Tilda has grown into an independent woman still damaged by her mother's unaccountable cruelty. Wary of people, her only friend is her dog, Eli. But when her mother dies, Tilda goes back to Brighton and with the help of her beloved Queenie sets about unravelling the mystery of her exile from The Paradise Hotel, only to discover that her mother was not the woman she thought she knew at all ...Mothers and daughters ... their story can be complicated ... but it can also turn out to have a happy ending.

Coronet

A Keeper

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton
Two Roads

Two Steps Forward

Graeme Simsion, Anne Buist
Authors:
Graeme Simsion, Anne Buist