Anthony Riches - Altar of Blood: Empire IX - Hodder & Stoughton

Altar of Blood: Empire IX

By Anthony Riches

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

The ninth novel in the thrilling Empire sequence leads Centurion Marcus Aquila and the Tungrians to the site of one of Rome's most disastrous defeats.

'A master of the genre' The Times

The ninth novel in the thrilling Empire sequence leads Centurion Marcus Aquila and the Tungrians to the battlefield that was one of Rome's most disastrous defeats.

The Tungrians have no sooner returned to Rome than they find themselves tasked with a very different mission to their desperate exploits in Parthia.

Ordered to cross the river Rhenus into barbarian Germany and capture a tribal priestess who may be the most dangerous person on the empire's northern border, they are soon subject to the machinations of an old enemy who will stop at nothing to sabotage their plans before they have even set foot on the river's eastern bank.
But after their Roman enemy is neutralised they face a challenge greater still.

With two of the Bructeri tribe's greatest treasures in their hands they must regain Roman territory by crossing the unforgiving wilderness that was the graveyard of Roman imperial strategy two hundred years before. And capture by the Bructeri's vengeful chieftain and his warband can only end in one way - a horrific sacrificial death on the tribe's altar of blood.

Biographical Notes

Anthony Riches began his lifelong interest in war and soldiers when he first heard his father's stories about World War II. This led to a degree in Military Studies at Manchester University. He began writing the story that would become Wounds of Honour after a visit to Housesteads in 1996. He lives in Hertfordshire with his wife and three children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444732016
  • Publication date: 10 Mar 2016
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
This is fast-paced and gripping "read-through-the-night" fiction, with marvellous characters and occasional moments of dark humour. Some authors are better historians than they are storytellers. Anthony Riches is brilliant at both. — Conn Iggulden
A damn fine read . . . fast-paced, action-packed. — Ben Kane
Stands head and shoulders above a crowded field . . . . real, live characters act out their battles on the northern borders with an accuracy of detail and depth of raw emotion that is a rare combination. — Manda Scott
Coronet

A Soldier's History of the SAS

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

In A Soldier's History of the SAS, bestselling author and SAS veteran Chris Ryan uses his matchless network of contacts to give the soldiers' accounts of missions in Malaya and Borneo, the Iranian Embassy Siege, Operation Certain Death in Sierra Leone, in the Falklands, Iraq and Afghanistan. There are also some first-hand accounts of hitherto unknown operations.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Gift in December

Jenny Gladwell
Authors:
Jenny Gladwell

Journalist Jane Brooke is getting over a career high...and love life low. When her editor nominates her to join some glamorous bloggers and cynical journalists on a trip to Norway for a feature on the story behind the famous Norwegian Christmas tree, dubbed the Queen of the Forest, which the country gifts each year to the UK to be displayed in Trafalgar Square, she feels only annoyance. But Jane hasn't anticipated discovering a moving story behind this historic gift, and she certainly isn't expecting to find love amidst all that snow, but this trip could turn out to be the perfect Christmas present.

Coronet

Black Ops

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder Paperbacks

Songwoman

Ilka Tampke
Authors:
Ilka Tampke
Hodder & Stoughton

Secrets of the Homefront Girls

Kate Thompson
Authors:
Kate Thompson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Bone Fire

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes

The brand new Oswald de Lacy thriller, for fans of C.J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S.J. Parris.1361. Plague has returned to England - thirteen years after the devastation of The Black Death. As destruction advances towards his estate in Kent, Oswald de Lacy leads his family to the safety of a remote castle in the marshes - where his friend Godfrey is preparing a fortress to survive the coming disaster. The rules are clear: once the de Lacys and other guests are inside the castle the portcullis will be lowered and no-one permitted to enter or leave until the Pestilence has passed. And then a murderer strikes. Oswald is confronted with a stark choice - leave and face the ravages of the plague, or stay and place his family at the mercy of a brutal killer. With word of his skills as an investigator preceding him, it falls to Oswald to unmask the murderer in their midst. Host, guest, or servant - everyone is a suspect in this poisoned refuge of secrets, deceit and malice.

Hodder & Stoughton

Three Days in Florence

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

The new hilariously funny summer romance from the bestselling author of SEVEN SUNNY DAYS.'Manby's novels are made for holidays' Glamour*****Can a few days in Italy change your life forever?Kathy Courage has never visited the famous Italian city before, so she's thrilled to get the chance to visit with her boyfriend Neil - even if it is for his work conference...But when Kathy finds herself unexpectedly stranded in the city after a mix-up with her flights, she decides to embrace the unexpected and stay for an extra week on her own.What follows is a life-changing few days in the Tuscan sun, as Kathy begins to question the choices that have led her here. Could Italy hold the answers to her future happiness? Or is Kathy destined to return to her old routine?

Hodder & Stoughton

Summer of '69

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
John Murray

Gun Island

Amitav Ghosh
Authors:
Amitav Ghosh
Hodder & Stoughton

The Scorpion's Strike: Empire X

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder & Stoughton

A Capitol Death

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder Paperbacks

Tall Order

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

Retribution: The Centurions III

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Coronet

Head Hunters

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder & Stoughton

The King's Witch

Tracy Borman
Authors:
Tracy Borman

'An accomplished novel with a vivid historical setting' The Times'Tracy Borman's debut historical novel has it all: conspiracy, betrayal, dark intrigues, bloody deeds, a poignant love story - and the most famous plot in English history.' Alison Weir, author of the Six Tudor Queens seriesAlready a great historian, Tracy Borman proves with this thrilling debut novel that she is also a born storyteller.As she helps to nurse the dying Queen Elizabeth, Frances Gorges longs for the fields and ancient woods of her parents' Hampshire estate, where she has learned to use the flowers and herbs to become a much-loved healer.Frances is happy to stay in her beloved countryside when the new King arrives from Scotland, bringing change, fear and suspicion. His court may be shockingly decadent, but James's religion is Puritan, intolerant of all the old ways; he has already put to death many men for treason and women for witchcraft. So when her ambitious uncle forcibly brings Frances to court, she is trapped in a claustrophobic world of intrigue and betrayal - and a ready target for the twisted scheming of Lord Cecil, the King's first minister.Surrounded by mortal dangers, Frances finds happiness only with the precocious young Princess Elizabeth, and Tom Wintour, the one courtier she can trust. Or can she?**********************Praise for The King's Witch 'Exquisitely written, sumptuous in detail and thrillingly plotted . . . The first of what promises to be a magnificent trilogy.' Kate Williams, broadcaster and author of Becoming Queen'Watch out Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, I can see a new contender for the Queen of Historical Fiction!' Netgalley reviewer'The adventures of her courageous heroine put flesh on the bones of a fascinating historical framework. First rate fiction!' Sunday Mirror'A fascinating read, felt very true to time period but with that personal touch . . . Five stars' Jeannie Zelos book reviews'A compelling tale of corruption, danger and coruscating suspicion, The King's Witch carries the reader right to the heart of James I's court - and casts a dazzling new light onto one of the most dramatic moments in British history' Sarah Gristwood, author of Blood Sisters'This book just about has it all - history, mystery, sorcery, treachery and romance, no wonder it kept me hooked' Netgalley reviewer

Hodder Paperbacks

The House Between Tides

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Hodder Paperbacks

Betrayal: The Centurions I

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder & Stoughton

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder & Stoughton

The Empire Collection Volume III

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches

The most recent three novels in Anthony Riches' thrilling EMPIRE series, including The Emperor's Blood, Thunder of the Gods, Altar of Blood, now available in one page-turning collection.The Emperor's Blood (VII)Centurion Marcus Aquila is back in Rome, hunting the men who destroyed his family. But the urge to exact his own brutal justice upon the shadowy cabal of assassins who butchered his family means that he must face them on their own ground, risking his own death at their hands. A senator, a gang boss, a praetorian officer and, deadliest of all, champion gladiator Mortiferum - the Death Bringer - lie in wait.Thunder of the Gods (VIII)With Rome no longer safe, Marcus and his Tungrian legion are ordered east to the desolate border lands where Rome and Parthia have vied for supremacy for centuries. Ordered to relieve the siege of an isolated fortress, their task is doomed to bloody failure unless they can turn the disaffected Third Legion into a fighting force capable of resisting the terrifying Parthian cataphracts. And Marcus must travel to the enemy capital Ctesiphon on a desperate mission, the only man who can persuade the King of Kings to halt a war that threatens the humiliation of the empire and the slaughter of his friends.Altar of Blood (IX)Ordered to cross the river Rhenus into barbarian Germany and capture a tribal priestess who may be the most dangerous person on the empire's northern border, the Tungrians are soon subject to the machinations of an old enemy who will stop at nothing to sabotage their plans before they have even set foot on the river's eastern bank. With two of the Bructeri tribe's greatest treasures in their hands, they must regain Roman territory by crossing the unforgiving wilderness that was the graveyard of Roman imperial strategy two hundred years before.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Earthly Gods

Nick Brown
Authors:
Nick Brown

Imperial agent Cassius Corbulo is about to go rogue. His bodyguard, Indavara, has been kidnapped and has seemingly vanished off the face of the earth. Having spent weeks trying to discover his fate, Cassius's time is up: his superiors want him to return to duty. But when an old ally's daughter is enslaved, he feels obliged to repay a long standing debt. Refusing the offer of a prestigious post, Cassius - and his Christian servant Simo - join nomadic chieftain Kabir and a trio of warriors, determined to rescue the missing girl. Now operating outside the law, the unlikely band journey across the perilous plague-ridden hinterland of Asia Minor, hunting the slavers. But these are no common criminals, and Cassius finds himself up against ruthless, cunning men with powerful friends and a lot to lose.