Meg Hutchinson - No Place for a Woman - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340738603
    • Publication date:07 Jun 2001

No Place for a Woman

By Meg Hutchinson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

In the grand tradition of Josephine Cox and Catherine Cookson

Laura Cadman had always assumed she would marry Edmund Shaw, the son of her father's partner, and keep the Shaw and Cadman name. But Edmund's violent refusal is just the beginning. When Jabez Shaw dies, Edmund takes advantage of Laura's father and cheats him out of the engineering works. Not content with that, he manufactures an accusation that lands Mr Cadman in Winson Green Prison. Penniless, her pride hurt and her heart broken, Laura vows to repay every pound that Edmund claims he is owed.

Rafe Travers is often at hand when Laura is in trouble, but Edmund's cruel words blind her to Rafe's love. Only when he saves her from Edmund's final wickedness can she believe he loves her, and embrace happiness at last.

Biographical Notes

Meg Hutchinson lived for sixty years in Wednesbury, where her parents and grandparents spent all their lives. Her passion for storytelling reaped dividends, with her novels regularly appearing in bestseller lists. She was the undisputed queen of the clogs and shawls saga. Passionate about history, her meticulous research provided an authentic context to the action-packed narratives set in the Black Country. She died in February 2010.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444718607
  • Publication date: 10 Mar 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
She can hold her own with the most accomplished of romance writers. Her skills lie in colourful, larger-than-life characters and plotting that is able to reinvent familiar traditions of the genre. For fans of full-blooded, vividly drawn romantic drama, Hutchinson is top of the tree. — Amazon, UK
Meg Hutchinson's storytelling skills are attracting a bigger and bigger audience. — Newcastle Evening Chronicle
This super tale will appeal to lovers of romantic stories with a real bite to them — Bolton Evening News
Hodder & Stoughton

Devil's Own Daughter

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Seal

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Hitch-Hiker

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Abel's Daughter

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

A dramatic tale of a wronged woman who rises above adversity to grasp love and happiness at last. For fans of Josephine Cox and Catherine Cookson.Shocked beyond measure at her wrongful imprisonment, Phoebe Pardoe finds it hard to adjust to the harshness of life in the infamous Handsworth Prison. Abused and beaten, she struggles to maintain her unconquered spirit, little suspecting that her arrest is the work of her jealous Aunt Annie.Phoebe has a guardian angel in the form of Sir William Dartmouth, who eventually engineers her release. But even so, cruelly disinherited, Phoebe must strive to make a living for herself in a man's world. Especially as Annie has not given up her perverse quest for revenge...

Hodder & Stoughton

A Handful of Silver

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Banished from her father's sight and home since the age of four, wheelchair-bound Esther Kerral is horrified when Jos Kerral forces her into an arranged marriage with Morgan Cosmore, the son of a local factory owner. Both fathers hope the union will save their ailing businesses; little do they know that each is as bankrupt as the other. But Morgan's inclinations have long lain in another, perverse, direction and poor Esther must struggle as best she can not only to survive a loveless marriage, but also to build up a business of her own in a man's world.

Hodder & Stoughton

Friendship's Bond

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

He claimed to be a man of God. But he did the devil's work.Thomas Thorpe hides his carnal desires under the mask of a pious lay preacher. When Ann Spencer rejects his advances, he evicts her from her home, claiming she is living in sin with a young man not her blood relative. But Alec is a ward, not a lover. And Ann has made a promise to her dead father that she will protect the Russian boy with her life.Taken in by kind-hearted Leah Marshall, Ann and Alec repay her by working in the dairy. The two young people become substitutes for the children Leah has lost. But Thomas Thorpe will not leave them in peace. Playing on the paranoia engendered by the Great War, he sows seeds of doubt among the good people of Wednesbury about the foreigner in their midst. Once Ann becomes an outcast, he will be able to claim her unwilling body for his evil purposes.

Hodder & Stoughton

Child of Sin

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Agnes Ridley has a cruel tongue and a heart of stone: when she discovers housemaid Lizzie Burton has fallen pregnant, she turns her out with only the clothes on her back. If it weren't for loyal Debbie, who follows her friend into exile, Lizzie would be friendless as well as destitute.The girls are blessed when they meet big-hearted Sadie Trent, who takes them in and cherishes them like her own. But even Sadie cannot protect the girls from the vicious malice of Abe Turley, who is determined to take his pleasure - and then his revenge; and from sinister Fleur Masson, who hides an evil trade behind the respectable facade of a fashion house. After such tribulations, can there ever be true happiness for a child of sin?

Hodder & Stoughton

A Penny Dip

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Sister's Tears

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Step Too Far

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

'You be a cheat and a liar Katy Hawley, no wonder your folks d'aint want you! Well we don't want you neither, do we girls?'It was only a playground spat but the cruel words burned like acid into Katrin Hawley's brain. Revenge is a dish best eaten cold and Katrin waited until she could hit her persecutors where it hurt. However, in her pursuit of vengeance, Katrin takes a fatal step too far. Meg Hutchinson's new novel chronicles the ruthlessly destructive quest of one damaged woman at a time when the onslaught of German bombs was daily robbing families of their loved ones. Just as the stalwart men and women of the Black Country were pulling together for victory, one obsessive woman sought only to satisfy her own malignant, vindictive craving for retribution.

Hodder & Stoughton

All is Not Enough

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

With mounting disbelief, Regan Trent realises that the death of her beloved mother has left her totally at her stepfather's mercy. But mercy is a foreign concept to Sherwyn Huntley. To this ruthless man, Regan is simply an obstacle between him and the Trent fortune. Denied a place at her mother's funeral, cruelly separated from her younger brother, promised in marriage to a sadistic pervert, Regan prefers to take her chance in the wide world. But Huntley will stop at nothing to achieve his cruel ambitions . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Wanton Redhead

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

When her selfish, flighty sister leaves home to become the wife of a wealthy sugar plantation owner, Alyssa becomes solely responsible for her poor, deranged mother as well as for Thea's bastard son. Viciously raped, then thrown out of the family home, the girl goes on the run, fleeing her cruel rapist.Alyssa's journey is a perilous one. It will take her far from the Black Country to the wild shores of the Caribbean and put her in the path of evil men determined to despoil the young girl. For the palm-fringed island of Jamaica is home to a pernicious trade: white slavery...

Hodder & Stoughton

For The Love Of A Sister

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

When Myra Brent's sister Eden visits her at Moorcroft House, instead of being welcomed, Eden receives a stinging slap. Eden is devastated by her sister's cruel behaviour. Myra is simply trying to prevent her beloved sister from catching the predatory eye of Ava Russell, the cruel mistress of Moorcroft House. But her action is to have dire consequences. Believing herself abandoned, Eden sets off, penniless, to make her way in the world alone. Eden will enjoy the kindness of strangers; but her path will also cross that of vicious evildoers, bent only on drawing innocents into their web of depravity and corruption. And in the meantime, Myra makes the greatest sacrifice of all -- for the love of her sister.

Hodder & Stoughton

Ties of Love

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Pauper's Child

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Increasingly desperate poverty after her beloved father's suicide forces a crisis for Callista Stanford, for vicious rent collector Oswin Slade will accept only the girl's body in payment for the rent due. Repulsed by his advances, Callista postpones the evil day until it is too late. Homeless and destitute, Callista finds refuge with Abigail and Daniel Roberts, a kindly couple, potters by trade. Taught by her father to appreciate beauty, Callista proves to have a feeling for the clay and with Daniel's help comes to be mistress of the Leabrook Pottery. But there is no happy ending yet; an unseen enemy, a depraved woman, lurks in the shadows, intent on harm to the pauper's child.

Hodder & Stoughton

Heritage of Shame

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Sixpenny Girl

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Coronet

The Deverell Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder Paperbacks

A Love Forbidden

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder Paperbacks

For The Sake Of Her Child

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson