Meg Hutchinson - Abel's Daughter - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Abel's Daughter

By Meg Hutchinson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A captivating saga from 'Birmingham's Catherine Cookson'.

A dramatic tale of a wronged woman who rises above adversity to grasp love and happiness at last. For fans of Josephine Cox and Catherine Cookson.

Shocked beyond measure at her wrongful imprisonment, Phoebe Pardoe finds it hard to adjust to the harshness of life in the infamous Handsworth Prison. Abused and beaten, she struggles to maintain her unconquered spirit, little suspecting that her arrest is the work of her jealous Aunt Annie.

Phoebe has a guardian angel in the form of Sir William Dartmouth, who eventually engineers her release. But even so, cruelly disinherited, Phoebe must strive to make a living for herself in a man's world. Especially as Annie has not given up her perverse quest for revenge...

Biographical Notes

Meg Hutchinson lived for sixty years in Wednesbury, where her parents and grandparents spent all their lives. Her passion for storytelling reaped dividends, with her novels regularly appearing in bestseller lists. She was the undisputed queen of the clogs and shawls saga. Passionate about history, her meticulous research provided an authentic context to the action-packed narratives set in the Black Country. She died in February 2010.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444718539
  • Publication date: 09 Feb 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
The mistress of simmering sagas. — Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Hutchinson knows how to spin a good yarn. — Birmingham Evening Mail
The mistress of simmering sagas — Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Hutchinson knows how to spin a good yarn. — Birmingham Evening Mail
Sceptre

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Pitchaya Sudbanthad
Authors:
Pitchaya Sudbanthad
Hodder & Stoughton

The Mummy Lessons

Helen Wallen
Authors:
Helen Wallen
Hodder & Stoughton

A Spark of Light

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder Paperbacks

An Impossible Marriage

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder Paperbacks

This Bed Thy Centre

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Holiday Friend

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

'A powerful tragedy' Independent Delve into the world of Pamela Hansford Johnson in this tale of sinister obsession and friendship most deadly. . . Art historian Gavin and his wife Hannah, along with their young son Giles, arrive in a quiet seaside town in Belgium to enjoy a peaceful summer holiday. Little do they realise someone has followed them to Belgium: Melissa Hirst, a student of Gavin who has fallen in love with him, living in a romantic fantasy. The couple become distracted as Melissa obsessively follows the family, deliberately bumping into them repeatedly, and the circus arrives in town: so they miss their small son secretly pursuing his own sinister friendship... The holiday that began so peacefully explodes in a shocking, deadly climax.'Teases your curiosity and plays on your sympathy' Kirkus

Hodder Paperbacks

The Unspeakable Skipton

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

'Witty, satirical and deftly malicious' Anthony Burgess'A maliciously witty account of literary skulduggery and loft pretensions.' TLS Delve into the sparkling and satirical world of Pamela Hansford Johnson with this wickedly funny tragicomedy about a destitute English author living in Bruges. Living in near destitution in Bruges, once successful British author Skipton is skulking in a café when he spies a group of well to do countrymen on holiday. Surviving on payments from his long-suffering publishers for novels he has no intention of delivering, and money from an elderly aunt, he spies an opportunity to swindle the tourists. But when an Italian aristocrat arrives, Skipton recognises an opportunity to earn even more, and conspires with a Flemish antique dealer to sell him a convincing fake. But will the conman himself be conned?'Very funny' Independent'If this is not a great book, then I don't know what greatness is.' Edith Sitwell

Hodder Paperbacks

The Last Resort

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

'A very cool and intelligent writer' TLSDelve into the world of Pamela Hansford Johnson in this tale of love, guilt and secrecy, perfect for fans of Barbara Pym and Elizabeth Jane Howard.Writer Christine Hall's own loving relationships and empathetic intelligence make her the perfect confidante for a group of friends: architect Eric Aveling - whose wife Lois is dying, Junius Evans, Aveling's flamboyant business partner, and, above all, eccentric, impulsive Celia Baird. When death forces a realignment of relationships within the group even the perceptive Christine is not prepared for the final outcome. Moving between London and a south coast seaside town, The Last Resort is a sensitive and vividly human exploration of the hidden side of marriage, where dark undercurrents of duty, guilt, secrecy and loneliness can all play a part in deviating the course of love and influencing the choices that life thrusts upon us.'Miss Johnson is one of the most accomplished women writers' Kirkus

Hodder & Stoughton

Muse of Nightmares

Laini Taylor
Authors:
Laini Taylor
Sceptre

CoDex 1962

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón

'A masterpiece . . . I challenge any author to top it!' Sigridur Alberstsdottir, Icelandic National Broadcasting Service.Jósef Loewe can recall the moment of his birth in August, 1962 and everything that has happened since - or so he claims to the woman listening to the tale of his life . . .A love story He begins with his father, Leo, a starving Jewish fugitive in World War II Germany. In a small-town guesthouse, Leo discovers a kindred spirit in the maid who nurses him back to health; together they shape a piece of clay into a baby.A crime story Leo escapes to Iceland with the clay boy inside a hatbox, only to become embroiled in a murder mystery. It is not until 1962 that his son Jósef can be born.A science-fiction story In modern-day Reykjavík, a middle-aged Jósef attracts the interest of a rapacious geneticist. Now, what lies behind Jósef's tale emerges. And as the story of genesis comes full circle, we glimpse the dangerous path ahead for humankind. In this epic novel, Sjón has woven ancient and modern material into a singular masterpiece - encompassing genre fiction, history, theology, folklore, expressionist film, poetry, comic strips, myth, drama and, of course, the rich tradition of Icelandic storytelling.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre

'A word of advice: don't start reading this page-turner at bedtime, or you'll be staying up all night.' Psychologies, France Werner Zilch was adopted as an infant, and knows nothing of his biological family. But when, in 1970s New York, he meets the family of Rebecca, the woman he has fallen in love with, a mysterious link means he must uncover the truth of his past, or run the risk of losing her. Spanning 1945 Dresden, the Bavarian Alps and uncovering Operation Paperclip, this is a riveting novel of family and love, for anyone who loved The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Storyteller.'Adelaide de Clermont-Tonnerre weaves an enigmatic, funny, sensuous web, crossed by characters which we will struggle to forget' Le Figaro

Hodder Paperbacks

One Kind Man

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Meaning of Marriage

Timothy Keller
Authors:
Timothy Keller
Coronet

On The Road

Olly Murs
Authors:
Olly Murs

Want to know what really goes on during an Olly Murs UK tour? Then get the lowdown in my new book, On The Road - the official, uncensored, up close and personal story of 2015's Never Been Better UK adventure. Packed with 200 exclusive pictures, this fly-on-the-wall release captures all the excitement and drama of a 27-gig trip around the country, including the jokes, arguments, heartbreaks and giggles, with some parties thrown in along the way. You could say it's an exclusive insight into all the hard work that goes into putting on a nationwide tour for the best fans in the world. That's not all, though. Keep your eyes peeled for several special guest appearances from the likes of Robbie Williams, Jonathan Ross and the comedians, Russell Brand and John Bishop. One or two Premier League footballers rock up in the story, and I fall victim to a few terrible practical jokes. If that's not enough, there's also the untold story of what really happened when I got the X Factor job.Planes, tourbuses and a helicopter ride or two: On The Road is the access-all-areas tale of my biggest ever headline tour. I promise it's going to give my fans a real insight into what my life's like really behind the scenes - grumps, giggles and all. Don't believe me? Just watch...

Coronet

Paper Swans

Jessica Thompson
Authors:
Jessica Thompson
Coronet

The Prince, the Princess and the Perfect Murder

Andrew Rose
Authors:
Andrew Rose
Hodder & Stoughton

Devil's Own Daughter

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Seal

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Hitch-Hiker

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Philip Bartley stops to pick up a hitch-hiker one rainy night, hoping for sexual favours in return. But when the car crashes into a hedge, the slender, blonde figure with the seductive tongue is nowhere to be seen . . .Reverend Peter Darley has a mortal sin on his conscience, and as he struggles with his faith, he finds that even the church cannot provide sanctuary from his impure thoughts . . .A whiff of perfume, a pair of hyacinth blue eyes are oddly familiar to James Connor. Will they cause the Deputy Police Commissioner to lose his head?That is just the beginning. There are three men with one woman in common. Now that woman, Anna, is dead. Her lover Richard Torrey is determined to get at the bottom of her brutal murder and bring her killers to justice. But his investigations, helped by journalist Kate Mallory and Inspector Bruce Daniels, are hampered by a series of inexplicable events.