Patricia Wentworth - The Benevent Treasure - Hodder & Stoughton

The Benevent Treasure

By Patricia Wentworth

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

There is a curse on the Benevents . . . classic crime in stunning new packaging

There is a curse on the Benevents . . .

Somewhere among the dust and cobwebs of the sinister Benevent Mansion lies the legendary Benevent treasure. But a terrible death has been prophesied for whoever uncovers it.

When Candida Sayle is invited to visit her elderly maiden aunts, she dismisses such gloomy thoughts. But as Candida begins to discover the family's dark secrets she puts herself in grave danger.

Thankfully Miss Silver has investigative skills of her own.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444715699
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2006
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Praise for Patricia Wentworth:
Miss Wentworth is a first-rate storyteller — Daily Telegraph
Miss Silver has her place in detective fiction as surely as Lord Peter Wimsey or Hercule Poirot — Manchester Evening News
You can't go wrong with Miss Maud Silver. — Observer
Miss Silver is marvellous — Daily Mail
Patricia Wentworth has created a great detective in Miss Silver, the little old lady who nobody notices, but who in turn notices everything — Paula Gosling
...some of the best examples of the British country-house murder mystery — Alfred Hitchcock Magazine
Hodder Paperbacks

Danger Point

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

Ladies' Bane

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

CLASSIC GOLDEN AGE MYSTERY PERFECT FOR FANS OF AGATHA CHRISTIEMiss Silver must unravel a tangled web of marriage, mystery and murder'Ranks with the best of the golden-age detectives' Daily MailNo one has seen Allegra Trent since she got married. Her husband swept her off her feet and out of London, to a faraway town called Bleake. She has stopped writing letters, and her family has begun to worry. Allegra's husband is a strange man. He is consumed with his dream of owning the ramshackle estate curiously known as Ladies' Bane, and he intends to use his new wife's money to do it. Why he wants to live there no one knows, but Josepha Bowden does not want his castle to become her goddaughter's prison. She asks the help of Maud Silver, the former governess who now makes a living using her reason to unravel the intricacies of murder. There has been no killing in Bleake, but if Miss Silver doesn't intervene quickly, there could be one soon.'A first-rate storyteller' Daily Telegraph'You can't go wrong with Miss Maud Silver' Observer'Miss Silver is marvellous' Daily Mail'Better than Miss Marple' Mary Stewart'A particular favourite' Andrew Taylor 'Miss Wentworth's plot is ingenious, her characterization acute, her solution satisfying' Scotsman'Miss Silver has her place in detective fiction as surely as Lord Peter Wimsey or Hercule Poirot' Manchester Evening News

Hodder Paperbacks

Spotlight

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder & Stoughton

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi

A family cloaked in secrets. A beguiling woman. A unique setting. Inspector Bordelli is back to solve one of the most difficult cases of his entire career in the sixth book in this atmospheric crime noir series - perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri.Florence, 1967. It is winter, and one year has passed since the historic and devastating flood of the Arno, though the memories of that day still linger with the stains on the city walls.The anniversary of the flood brings with it a new case for Inspector Bordelli. A local wealthy industrialist - fiercely loved and respected by everyone he knew - has been found murdered in his grand villa in the Fiesole hills, and the killer has left no trace.With no obvious leads to follow, Bordelli is patiently retracing the victim's last days when he encounters an old friend from the war. Inviting the frail man into his home, Bordelli doesn't realise that it is this very friend will lead him ever closer to the secrets at the heart of the mystery . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

'Rich with descriptive detail and emotional nuance. Several alternating plot threads unspool at length, all of which weave tightly together with pleasing inevitability . . . What has been said before deserves repeating: From suspense to social commentary, from violence to pathos, from villainy to possible redemption, Ms. George can do it all, with style.' Wall Street JournalWhen a Member of Parliament shows up at New Scotland Yard requesting an investigation into the suicide of the son of one of his constituents in the beautiful town of Ludlow, the Assistant Commissioner sees two opportunities in this request: the first is to have an MP owing him a favour, and the second is to get rid of Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers, whose career at the Met has been hanging by a thread for quite some time. So he assigns Havers to the case and for good measure partners her with the one person who shares his wish to see the back of her, Detective Chief Superintendent Isabelle Ardery.But Ardery has her own difficulties. She is not happy to be sent away from London and as a result is in a rush to return. This causes her to overlook certain uncomfortable facts. Soon, the case is opened again and this time, it is Lynley who must accompany Havers to Ludlow, with little more than a week to save the Met's reputation and Barbara's job. And the more they investigate, the more it looks as if the suicide was part of a much more sinister pattern of events.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Shout

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

Clockwork City

Paul Crilley
Authors:
Paul Crilley
Mulholland Books

The Deaths of December

Susi Holliday
Authors:
Susi Holliday
Mulholland Books

The Competition

Marcia Clark
Authors:
Marcia Clark

Los Angeles DA Rachel Knight is brought in to the aftermath of a high-school shooting in Marcia Clark's gripping legal thriller - perfect for fans of David Baldacci and James Patterson.It's every parent's nightmare.When a high-school shooting leaves dozens dead, including the killers, the grieving community can at least be sure it won't happen again. But as prosecutor Rachel Knight and detective Bailey Keller dig deeper, they realise that the worst isn't over. The clues at the crime scene don't add up. It seems that the real shooters are still out there... In the chaos that follows, Rachel and Bailey must scramble to identify the suspects and stop them before they can strike again. Because the killers have plans. They want to beat their competition. They want to be the best... at murder.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Girl In The Cellar

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

The Ivory Dagger

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

Grey Mask

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

Furious at being jilted at the altar by Margaret Langton, Charles Moray left England behind him. Four years later he returns only to discover that a criminal gang has been using his house to plan a vicious crime. The target is the beautiful Margot Standing, who stands to inherit a considerable fortune. But the gang has other plans for her. Charles is appalled to discover that Margaret Langton is one of the conspirators. How did she come to be involved? And who is the terrifying masked man who has her in his thrall?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Catherine-Wheel

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

There was a certain heavy air of intrigue and mystery emanating from the old inn high on the cliff top. The Catherine-Wheel had once been a home for pirates and smugglers, but now is looked like it was harbouring a murderer.It had begun with an advertisement in the paper requesting descendants of the late innkeeper, Jeremiah Taverner, to stay for a weekend at the inn. They had arrived, a mixed assortment, to the family reunion eager to discover the secrets of their ancestry. But one of them had been hideously murdered, bringing the inn's stormy past into frightening focus.Scotland Yard, already suspicious of dope smuggling in the area, sends Maud Silver to investigate before the fireworks start to fly.

Hodder Paperbacks

Eternity Ring

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

The Case of William Smith

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

Who was William Smith? And why was Mavis Jones so horrified to see him? For seven years William had worked as a woodcarver for the local toyshop, ignorant of his true identity. The war had robbed him of his memory, and no one expected him to ever find the answer. So when he took his work to Evesleys Ltd, why was his life instantly in danger?When William makes the frightening discovery that there are people determined not to let his memory return whatever the cost, Miss Silver is called in to investigate. But will she uncover their treachery before Mavis strikes again...?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Key

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

Miss Silver Intervenes

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

When her fiancé, Giles Armitage, is lost at sea in the middle of the Second World War, Meade Underwood is left in the company of a middle-aged aunt with nothing but a monotonous round of bridge parties and war work to fill her days. A chance encounter restores Giles to Meade but he has lost his memory, and their rediscovered happiness is threatened by the machinations of the scheming Carola Roland, a figure from Giles's forgotten past. So when Carola is viciously murdered, Giles becomes the chief suspect and it takes all Miss Silver's ingenuity to unravel the real significance of the crime and its electrifying consequences.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Watersplash

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

Vanishing Point

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

Nothing much ever seemed to happen in the sleepy village of Hazel Green apart from the occasional tea-party, spiced with local gossip. Until Maggie Bell went out one evening for a breath of fresh air and never came back.Could Maggie's disappearance be linked to security leaks at the nearby Air Ministry? Or is a sinister scheme being hatched closer to home? Miss Silver is called in to solve the mystery just as a second person goes missing . . .

Coronet

The Fingerprint

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth