Patricia Wentworth - The Girl In The Cellar - Hodder & Stoughton

The Girl In The Cellar

By Patricia Wentworth

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A witness who remembers nothing is in mortal danger - classic Miss Silver in stunning new packaging

A witness who remembers nothing is in mortal danger.

A young woman regains consciousness and finds herself on some cellar steps. At the bottom of the steps there is the corpse of a dead girl. She cannot remember who she is, what has happened or why she is there. Terrified and confused she manages to find a way out and as she flees she runs into Miss Silver, who offers to help her.

A letter in her bag is the only clue to her identity. But by investigating what has happened to her will she find herself in danger? Can she trust the letter writer? And who is the girl in the cellar?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444715613
  • Publication date: 13 Dec 2007
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Praise for Patricia Wentworth: — -
Miss Wentworth is a first-rate storyteller — Daily Telegraph
Miss Wentworth's plot is ingenious, her characterization acute, her solution satisfying — Scotsman on GREY MASK
You can't go wrong with Maud Silver — Observer
'...some of the best examples of the British country-house murder mystery' — Alfred Hitchcock Magazine
Miss Silver is marvellous — Daily Mail
Sceptre

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Pitchaya Sudbanthad
Authors:
Pitchaya Sudbanthad
Hodder & Stoughton

The Mummy Lessons

Helen Wallen
Authors:
Helen Wallen

The award winning 'Just A Normal Mummy' blogger returns with another frank and hilarious novel on those first twelve months of motherhood. Eat. (Sleep.) Cry. Repeat.After a tough pregnancy, Emily is determined to tackle motherhood like a pro. But perfection (and sleep) is hard to come by, no matter how much you spend in Mothercare. Her friend Molly seems to be breezing it. But with a business venture as well as a baby, is she taking on too much?And Liz has some serious choices to make about her new relationship when tragedy strikes.Celebrating female friendship, the highs and lows of motherhood, and the lifesaving power of a jumperoo, THE MUMMY LESSONS is a hilariously warm and frank novel for mums who have no idea what they're doing.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Spark of Light

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder & Stoughton

An Impossible Marriage

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Plunge yourself into the wry world of Pamela Hansford Johnson in this story of seduction and marriage, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Jane Howard and Barbara Pym.Living out her happy teenage years in south-west London, Christine's only worries are living in the shadow of her beautiful, dazzling best friend Iris, and avoiding the disapproval of her manager if she's late from her lunch break. But when Chris is suddenly whisked off her feet by the mysterious - and much older - Ned, her life takes a swift about turn. Choosing to give up her job as a secretary in order to marry, Chris commits herself to life with Ned, only to discover that this beguiling man may not be the person she originally thought... "I told him that I would do whatever he said, that I would learn from him, that I would trust my life to him. When he thought I was sufficiently conscious of my errors he took me and kissed me until I was breathless with joy and on the edge of hysterical tears; but inside of me a small, cold critic sat aloof..."

Hodder & Stoughton

This Bed Thy Centre

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

'Striking first novel . . . qualities of vitality and humour which set it apart.' New York Times Delve into the world of Pamela Hansford Johnson through her explosive, banned debut, This Bed Thy Centre. . . Sixteen year old Elsie Cotton, who lives with her widowed mother in south London, wants someone to explain to her what sexual intercourse is. Her mother won't tell her, and nor will her teacher; her boyfriend Roly is only too willing to show her, but fear of the unknown and her understanding of the potential consequences stop her. As she and Roly continue their courtship, it becomes clear that the only way Elsie will take the leap into bed is if they're married... This era-defining novel - which was banned from Battersea library on publication - explores down-at-heel south London in the 30's and attitudes towards sex. The Daily Express said at the time: 'Miss Johnson will be able to write when she has persuaded herself that there are other things in the world besides sex.' Luckily for Miss Johnson, this was the debut novel that was followed by 27 other novels in a career that ended in her being called 'one of Britain's best-known novelists' by the New York Times.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Holiday Friend

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Unspeakable Skipton

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Resort

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

'A very cool and intelligent writer' TLSDelve into the world of Pamela Hansford Johnson in this tale of love, guilt and secrecy, perfect for fans of Barbara Pym and Elizabeth Jane Howard.Writer Christine Hall's own loving relationships and empathetic intelligence make her the perfect confidante for a group of friends: architect Eric Aveling - whose wife Lois is dying, Junius Evans, Aveling's flamboyant business partner, and, above all, eccentric, impulsive Celia Baird. When death forces a realignment of relationships within the group even the perceptive Christine is not prepared for the final outcome. Moving between London and a south coast seaside town, The Last Resort is a sensitive and vividly human exploration of the hidden side of marriage, where dark undercurrents of duty, guilt, secrecy and loneliness can all play a part in deviating the course of love and influencing the choices that life thrusts upon us.'Miss Johnson is one of the most accomplished women writers' Kirkus

Hodder & Stoughton

Muse of Nightmares

Laini Taylor
Authors:
Laini Taylor

Sarai has lived and breathed nightmares since she was six years old. She believed she knew every horror, and was beyond surprise. She was wrong. In the wake of tragedy, neither Lazlo nor Sarai are who they were before. One a god, the other a ghost, they struggle to grasp the new boundaries of their selves as dark-minded Minya holds them hostage, intent on vengeance against Weep.Lazlo faces an unthinkable choice - save the woman he loves, or everyone else? - while Sarai feels more helpless than ever. But is she? Sometimes, only the direst need can teach us our own depths, and Sarai, the muse of nightmares, has not yet discovered what she's capable of.As humans and godspawn reel in the aftermath of the citadel's near fall, a new foe shatters their fragile hopes, and the mysteries of the Mesarthim are resurrected: Where did the gods come from, and why? What was done with the thousands of children born in the citadel nursery? And most important of all, as forgotten doors are opened and new worlds revealed: must heroes always slay monsters, or is it possible to save them instead?Love and hate, revenge and redemption, destruction and salvation all clash in this gorgeous sequel to the New York Times bestseller, Strange the Dreamer.Praise for Strange the Dreamer 'Magical' Grazia'Prepare to be enchanted' Sun'Leaves the reader enthralled, enchanted and entirely entranced' New York Journal of Books'Laini Taylor is so damn good and like no other' Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom

Hodder Paperbacks

Danger Point

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

Ladies' Bane

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

Spotlight

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

When a blackmailer is stabbed at his own celebration, Miss Silver must find the guilty party'Ranks with the best of the golden-age detectives' Daily MailWhen the menacing Gregory Porlock invites a group of unacquainted friends into his home, no one is quite sure what to expect.But after the host himself is stabbed in the back it soon becomes clear to all that he was a blackmailer. Every person in his house has something to hide, and many have good reason for wishing Porlock ill. It is up to Miss Silver to see through the lies and determine which guest made certain the party was really over.'A first-rate storyteller' Daily Telegraph

Hodder & Stoughton

Women of the Dunes

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Sceptre

Things to Make and Break

May-Lan Tan
Authors:
May-Lan Tan

SHORTLISTED FOR THE GUARDIAN FIRST BOOK AWARDA motorcycle courier finds a cache of nude photos in her boyfriend's desk. The daughter of East German emigrants encounters her doppelgänger, who has crossed another cultural divide. Twin brothers fall for the same girl. When a stripper receives an enigmatic proposal from a client, she accepts, ignorant of its terms.Shadows, doubles, and the ghosts of past and future lovers haunt these elegantly structured and often hallucinatory stories. The language is hypnotic, deadpan, intense; the sentences jewel-hard and sublime. Things to Make and Break is the work of a stylish, exuberant new voice in modern fiction.'Quite dazzling' TLS

Hodder Paperbacks

Mr Mercedes

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Coronet

It's Up to You, New York

Tess Daly
Authors:
Tess Daly
Coronet

The Christmas Spirits

Whitley Strieber
Authors:
Whitley Strieber
Hodder & Stoughton

Traveller Returns

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

Anne Jocelyn had been a beautiful, wealthy young woman. She had died three years ago. At least, that was what her husband Philip and the rest of the family had always thought. But then a woman calling herself Anne Jocelyn appeared and managed to convince everyone that she was the real Anne. Everyone, that is, except Miss Silver, whose suspicions are aroused by an apparently senseless murder.

Hodder Paperbacks

Anna, Where Are You?

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

There is no doubt in Thomasina Elliott's mind that her oldest schoolfriend is a creature of habit. So when, after three years of regular correspondence, Anna's letters suddenly stop, Thomasina becomes concerned. And even more so when it transpires that her friend has disappeared without trace, in extremely odd circumstances. Fortunately, however, the indomitable Miss Silver is on hand to investigate.

Hodder Paperbacks

Pilgrim's Rest

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

Judy Elliot, meeting an old friend, Detective Sergeant Abbott tells him that, having been left the custody of her motherless little niece, she is taking a domestic job in the country with a family named Pilgrim. Frank is appalled, mysterious deaths have been taking place there. A curse is on the house of Pilgrim's Rest and by the time Miss Silver investigates she has four murders to solve.