Patricia Wentworth - The Fingerprint - Hodder & Stoughton

The Fingerprint

By Patricia Wentworth

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A classic country house murder from one of the Queens of Crime in stunning new retro packaging.

When she found the body of her beloved Uncle Jonathan, Georgina instinctively stooped to pick up the revolver, thus becoming the prime suspect. Georgina stood to inherit a large fortune when her uncle died. But her uncle had a second secret will and the beneficiary is the wide-eyed ingenue Mirrie Fields. But there was also the puzzle of the missing fingerprint. It was the showpiece of Uncle Jonathan's collection. He had acquired it from a self-confessed murderer, who was still at large. When the old man was shot, the print had been torn from its album. Was the missing fingerprint the clue to the murderer's identity? Maud Silver is determined to find out.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444715606
  • Publication date: 05 Dec 2005
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Miss Wentworth is a first-rate storyteller — Daily Telegraph
Miss Silver has had her place in detective fiction as surely as Lord Peter Wimsey or Hercule Poirot — Manchester Evening News
Hodder Paperbacks

Danger Point

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

CLASSIC GOLDEN AGE MYSTERY PERFECT FOR FANS OF AGATHA CHRISTIEThe first wife died suddenly. Without Miss Silver's help, the new bride may be about to meet a similar fate'Ranks with the best of the golden-age detectives' Daily MailMaud Silver, demure private eye, is on a train to London when a young woman in a state of shock bursts into her compartment. She is Lisle Jerningham, a newlywed with a fortune - which may be about to get her killed.Lisle explains that she fled her home in a hurry after overhearing a sinister conversation. Her new husband's first wife died in an apparent accident, and the resultant infusion of cash saved his family home. Now, he's broke again - and she fears he is attempting to engineer a second convenient mishap. Whether the widower is bent on a second murder or his young wife is being paranoid, no one is clear. But if Lisle is in danger, it is up to Miss Silver to find out.'A first-rate storyteller' Daily Telegraph'You can't go wrong with Miss Maud Silver' Observer'Miss Silver is marvellous' Daily Mail'Better than Miss Marple' Mary Stewart'A particular favourite' Andrew Taylor 'Miss Wentworth's plot is ingenious, her characterization acute, her solution satisfying' Scotsman'Miss Silver has her place in detective fiction as surely as Lord Peter Wimsey or Hercule Poirot' Manchester Evening News

Hodder Paperbacks

Ladies' Bane

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

Spotlight

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

Dandy Gilver and The Reek of Red Herrings

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.On the rain-drenched, wave-lashed, wind-battered Banffshire coast, tiny fishing villages perch on ledges which would make a seagull think twice and crumbly mansions cling to crumblier cliff tops while, out in the bay, the herring drifters brave the storms to catch their silver darlings. It's nowhere for a child of gentle Northamptonshire to spend Christmas.But when odd things start to turn up in barrels of fish - with a strong whiff of murder most foul - that's exactly where Dandy Gilver finds herself. Enlisted to investigate, she and her trusty cohort Alec Osborne are soon swept up in the fisherfolk's wedding season as well as the mystery. Between age-old traditions and brand-new horrors, Dandy must think the unthinkable to solve her grisliest case yet.Catriona McPherson's latest novel in the series, Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble is now available for pre-order.

Mulholland Books

Cold Blooded

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

SHE CAN SEE THE KILLER, BUT CAN SHE STOP HIM?A psychological thriller that will give chills to fans of Nora Roberts and Karin Slaughter.Olivia Bechet has a terrifying vision of a murder from her bed - a woman's slashed, incinerated corpse in a seedy New Orleans apartment. Weeks later, after another vision and even after the second body turns up, Detective Rick Bentz doesn't believe her. Soon her dreams are becoming more vivid and when she sees the murderer's face as well as the victim's, she realises the danger is even closer than she first imagined...

Hodder Paperbacks

Archangel

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

When British Intelligence asks Michael Holly, a mechanical engineer, to run an errand for them in the Soviet Union, the consequences of capture are never mentioned. But what seems a simple handover carries unimaginable risks, and now Holly is facing fifteen years imprisoned in a gulag in the midst of the frozen tundra. Along with his fellow inmates, Holly has to find the strength to fight the camp's brutal regime in any way he can. But Camp 3 is the place where hopes and dreams are brought to die. Against the might of the Soviet state, is Michael Holly strong enough to sustain his will to survive?

Hodder Paperbacks

Home Run

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder Paperbacks

The Untouchable

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

Albert Packer is the supreme baron of London crime, ruling his domain with a ruthless fist and thinking of himself as the Untouchable. As yet another criminal case against him collapses, Packer turns his attention to expanding his heroin empire abroad, deciding to travel to Sarajevo himself in order to cut out the middle man. But the Customs & Excise unit tasked with taking him down are determined not to give up. Packer may be king on his home turf, but on the war-torn streets of a city where justice is enforced by gangster warlords, he might just make a mistake. And Joey Cann, obsessed with bringing Packer to justice, will be there when he does.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Fifth Season

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft

It's early May when a young family out on a forest walk stumble upon a heavily mutliated body. The female corpse is in eerily good condition, and signs of torture are all too visible.Inspector Malin Fors immediately draws parallels between this case and that of Maria Murvall, the young woman who was found raped and brutally beaten in the forest several years ago. Maria has been living as a mute in the local psychiatric hospital ever since the attack, and Malin is haunted by her inability to help her. In the course of her investigation, Malin meets with a psychologist who tells her about another similar case, and suddenly Maria appears to be a small piece of a much bigger puzzle. But what is it that is so terrible it can't be put into words? Malin is determined to find out the truth, no matter where it might take her.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Devil in the Marshalsea

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson

WINNER OF THE CWA HISTORICAL DAGGER AWARD 2014.Longlisted for the John Creasey Dagger Award for best debut crime novel of 2014.London, 1727 - and Tom Hawkins is about to fall from his heaven of card games, brothels and coffee-houses into the hell of a debtors' prison.The Marshalsea is a savage world of its own, with simple rules: those with family or friends who can lend them a little money may survive in relative comfort. Those with none will starve in squalor and disease. And those who try to escape will suffer a gruesome fate at the hands of the gaol's rutheless governor and his cronies.The trouble is, Tom Hawkins has never been good at following rules - even simple ones. And the recent grisly murder of a debtor, Captain Roberts, has brought further terror to the gaol. While the Captain's beautiful widow cries for justice, the finger of suspicion points only one way: to the sly, enigmatic figure of Samuel Fleet.Some call Fleet a devil, a man to avoid at all costs. But Tom Hawkins is sharing his cell. Soon, Tom's choice is clear: get to the truth of the murder - or be the next to die.A twisting mystery, a dazzling evocation of early 18th Century London, THE DEVIL IN THE MARSHALSEA is a thrilling debut novel full of intrigue and suspense.

Hodder Paperbacks

Critical Mass

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky

Private Eye V.I. Warshawski is roused one morning by an SOS from a woman on a farm south of Chicago. When V.I. gets there, she finds no woman - but a dead man in a cornfield, his body savagely mutilated.V.I. is happy to leave the case to the local sheriff: it looks like a falling out among meth dealers. But back in Chicago, she learns that the missing woman is a protégée of her oldest friend and confidante, Dr Lotty Herschel, and is compelled to investigate. What V.I. uncovers pulls her into a world of nuclear secrets and high-stakes computing, with roots reaching back to the Second World War. The detective soon finds herself in a hall of mirrors where she can't tell reality from video games, and her life is on the line. For V.I., this is her most profound, and terrifying, adventure yet . . .

Mulholland Books

The Winter Foundlings

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes

The girl was lying on the steps of the Foundling Museum, dressed all in white.Four girls have disappeared in North London. Three are already dead. Britain's most prolific child killer, Louis Kinsella, has been locked up in Northwood high-security hospital for over a decade. Now more innocents are being slaughtered, and they all have a connection to his earlier crimes. Psychologist Alice Quentin is doing research at Northwood. She was hoping for a break from her hectic London life, but she'll do anything to help save a child - even if it means forming a relationship with a charismatic, ruthless murderer. But Kinsella is slow to give away his secrets, and time is running out for the latest kidnap victim, who is simply trying to survive...

Mulholland Books

Deserves to Die

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

JUDGEDAs he watches, her body drifts below the water's surface, forever altered. Before he disposes of each victim, he takes a trophy. It's a sign of his power, and a warning - to the one destined to suffer most of all...CONDEMNEDIn Grizzly Falls, Montana, Detectives Selena Alvarez and Regan Pescoli are struggling with a new commander and a department in the midst of upheaval. It's the worst possible time for a homicide. A body has been found, missing a finger. Alvarez hopes this means a murderer with a personal grudge, not a madman. But then a second body turns up...EXECUTEDAs the clues begin pointing toward a suspect, Pescoli's unease grows. She senses there's more to this case than others believe. A killer has made his way to Grizzly Falls, ready to fulfil a vengeance years in the making. And Pescoli must find the target of his wrath - or die trying.

Hodder Paperbacks

Pandemic

Scott Sigler
Authors:
Scott Sigler
Mulholland Books

The Competition

Marcia Clark
Authors:
Marcia Clark
Mulholland Books

A Killing of Angels

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes
Mulholland Books

Lonely Graves

Britta Bolt
Authors:
Britta Bolt
Hodder Paperbacks

She Who Waits

Daniel Polansky
Authors:
Daniel Polansky
Hodder & Stoughton

Books to Die For

John Connolly, Declan Burke
Authors:
John Connolly, Declan Burke
Hodder Paperbacks

Grey Mask

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

Furious at being jilted at the altar by Margaret Langton, Charles Moray left England behind him. Four years later he returns only to discover that a criminal gang has been using his house to plan a vicious crime. The target is the beautiful Margot Standing, who stands to inherit a considerable fortune. But the gang has other plans for her. Charles is appalled to discover that Margaret Langton is one of the conspirators. How did she come to be involved? And who is the terrifying masked man who has her in his thrall?