Mary Stewart - Stormy Petrel - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444715088
    • Publication date:28 Apr 2011
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781529378962
    • Publication date:07 Nov 2019

Stormy Petrel

By Mary Stewart

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A classic tale of love, intrigue, adventure and the natural world, set on a beautiful isolated Hebridean island, by beloved novelist Mary Stewart.

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans

When Rose Fenemore takes a desperately needed holiday to an isolated cottage on the Scottish island of Moila she doesn't expect much in the way of adventure - just a few quiet weeks of writing, walking and bird-watching. And then, late one night during a wild storm, two young men appear in her doorway, seeking shelter from the wind and rain. Neither man is quite who he claims, and the question of who to trust will put Rose in grave peril . . .

The stormy petrels. The fragile, tiny black birds, nocturnal and solitary, that come ashore to nest but spend most of the lives flying close above the sea-waves, come storm or shine.

Biographical Notes

Mary Stewart was one of the 20th century's bestselling and best-loved novelists. She was born in Sunderland, County Durham in 1916, but lived for most of her life in Scotland, a source of much inspiration for her writing. Her first novel, Madam, Will You Talk? was published in 1955 and marked the beginning of a long and acclaimed writing career. In 1971 she was awarded the International PEN Association's Frederick Niven Prize for The Crystal Cave, and in 1974 the Scottish Arts Council Award for one of her children's books, Ludo and the Star Horse. She was married to the Scottish geologist Frederick Stewart, and died in 2014.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444715071
  • Publication date: 17 Mar 2011
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Lady Stewart's writing is illuminated by her evident affection for the Western Scottish landscape . . . a rattling good yarn — Sunday Telegraph
A sunset touch . . . a gentle love story . . . a happy return — The Times
A beautifully written, atmospheric story — Birmingham Post
She set the bench mark for pace, suspense and romance - with a great dollop of escapism as the icing — Elizabeth Buchan
A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors. — Harriet Evans
Hodder & Stoughton

The Quickening

Talulah Riley
Authors:
Talulah Riley

New novel by Talulah Riley, author of Acts of Love. Date TBC

Hodder & Stoughton

The Ivy Tree

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

Mary Stewart, one of the great British storytellers of the 20th century, transports her readers to rural Northumberland for this tale of romance, ambition, and deceit - a perfect fit for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. 'There are few to equal Mary Stewart' Daily Telegraph'Mary Stewart is magic.' New York TimesWhitescar is a beautiful old house and farm situated in Roman Wall country. It will make a rich inheritance for its heirs, but in order to secure it, they enlist the help of a young woman named Mary who bears remarkable resemblance to missing Whitescar heiress, Annabel Winslow. Their deception will spark a powder-keg of ambition, obsession and long-dead love.The ivy had reached for the tree and only the tree's upper branches managed to thrust the young gold leaves of early summer through the strangling curtain. Eventually the ivy would kill it . . . 'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent'The Ivy Tree has the ideal thriller blend of plot, suspense, character drawing and good writing' Daily Express

Hodder & Stoughton

My Brother Michael

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart leads her readers on a journey of murder and deceit through the dusty roads of mid-century Greece in this tale that fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym are sure to love.'The contemporary thriller at its very best' Guardian'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times'Nothing ever happens to me...' So begins Camilla Haven's letter home during her quiet holiday in Athens. But when a stranger begs her to drive a car to Delphi, swearing that it is a matter of life and death, Camilla impulsively takes the opportunity she's been offered. Before long she is caught up in a whirlwind of intrigue, deceit and murder as she spins along the dusty Greek roads in a race against time to solve a fourteen-year-old mystery.The longer I waited the less possible it seemed to walk out of the café and leave everything to settle itself without me, and the more insidiously did the other possibility begin to present itself. Dry-mouthed, I pushed it aside, but there it was, a challenge, a gift, a dare from the gods . . . 'One of the best British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent'There are few to equal Mary Stewart' Daily Telegraph

Hodder & Stoughton

The Gabriel Hounds

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet EvansLegend has it that when the Gabriel Hounds run howling over the crumbling palace of Dar Ibrahim, high in the Adonis Valley of Lebanon, death will follow on their heels. When rich, spoilt Christie Mansel arrives at the decaying palace to look after her eccentric Aunt Harriet, she arrives to the sound of howling dogs. The palace is riddled with hidden passages and the servants are unwilling to let anyone see Harriet during the day. It seems the palace hides an extraordinary secret . . . one that somebody is willing to kill to keep.The deep blue oblong of sky above the open court was pricking already with brilliant stars. No ugly diffusion of city light spoiled the deep velvet of that sky; even hanging as it was above the glittering and crowded richness of the Damascus oasis, it spoke of the desert and the vast empty silence beyond the last palm tree.

Hodder & Stoughton

Where There's a Will

Beth Corby
Authors:
Beth Corby

Would you take the chance that could change everything?Twenty-five-year-old Hannah has spent the last few years jumping from from university to the workplace and back again, searching for her passion in life - but nothing seems to be going her way. So when her rich, eccentric great-uncle Donald leaves her a mystery bequest in his will, she's gobsmacked.But there's a catch: before she can find out what she's inherited, she must undertake a series of unknown tasks alongside Alec, Donald's (rather gorgeous) PA.As the tasks progress and she and Alec grow closer, Hannah begins to think that Donald's real gift might have more to do with love than money. But not everything is as rosy as it seems . . .This funny, romantic and uplifting novel is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Cathy Hopkins and Anna Bell.

Hodder & Stoughton

Nine Coaches Waiting

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

The Lost One

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

John Murray

Country

Michael Hughes
Authors:
Michael Hughes
Sceptre

The Language of Birds

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Spark of Light

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder Paperbacks

Touch Not the Cat

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

Airs Above the Ground

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

The Moon-Spinners

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The pioneer of romantic suspense Mary Stewart transports her readers to the idyllic hills of mid-century Crete in this tale of peril and intrigue that will keep fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym on the edge of their seats. 'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' IndependentWhile on a walking holiday through the beautiful, deserted hills of Crete, Nicola Ferris stumbles across a critically injured Englishman, guarded by a fierce Greek. Nicola cannot abandon them and so sets off on a perilous search for their lost companion - all the while being pursued by someone who wants to make sure none of them leave the island . . . When the big white bird flew suddenly up among the glossy leaves and the lemon flowers, and wheeled into the mountain, I followed it.'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald

Hodder Paperbacks

Rose Cottage

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet EvansSummer, 1947. Kate Herrick, a war widow, returns to her childhood home for a final visit before the house is sold. But Rose Cottage is not the idyllic paradise she remembers from her youth and someone has been there before her. As Kate uncovers an old secret that haunts the home she thought she knew, she is forced to confront a dark truth from her own past . . . Beyond the weedy garden with its riot of rose bushes, nothing had changed. And someone was crossing the bridge to approach the garden gate. Someone I knew well . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Thornyhold

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet EvansThe rambling house called Thornyhold is like something out of a fairy tale. Left to Gilly Ramsey by the cousin whose occasional visits brightened her childhood, the cottage, set deep in a wild wood, has come just in time to save her from a bleak future. With its reputation for magic and its resident black cat, Thornyhold offers Gilly more than just a new home. It offers her a chance to start over. The old house, with it tufts of rosy houseleek and the spreading gilt of the lichens, was beautiful. Even the prisoning hedges were beautiful, protective with their rusty thorns, their bastions of holly and juniper, and at the corners, like towers, their thick columns of yews.

Hodder Paperbacks

Thunder on the Right

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Pilgrim

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

Alexander, nephew of the murderous King March of Cornwall, seeks to avenge his father, but falls under the sinister spell of Morgan le Fay at the Dark Tower. Alice, daughter of one of Arthur's knights, travels on pilgrimages with her father to the Holy Land and France, and brings a holy grail back to Britain. One day she meets Alexander . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Wicked Day

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Coronet

The Hollow Hills

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Coronet

The Last Enchantment

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart