Richard Blake - The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848947054
    • Publication date:01 Aug 2013

The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six)

By Richard Blake

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

In his sixth novel of the Roman Empire in the decadent sixth century, Richard Blake's British adventurer Aelric fights a Persian invasion - and a dangerous woman.

615 AD. A vengeful Persian tyrant prepares the final blow that will annihilate the Empire.

Aelric - the young adventurer from England - is now almost as powerful as the Emperor. Seemingly without opposition, he dominates the vast and morally bankrupt city of Constantinople. One step at a time, in his fortified palace, he is pushing forward reforms that are the Roman Empire's only hope of survival, and perhaps restoration to wealth and greatness.

But his domestic enemies are only waiting for their moment to strike back. And the world's most terrifying military machine is assembling in secret beyond the mountains of the eastern frontier.

The plot to destroy the English upstart begins with an ancient and apparently accursed Babylonian treasure - and continues with kidnap, revolution and a brutal invasion.

Can Aelric overcome his greatest challenge yet? Can he call on new and unexpected forces to save the Empire? And can he find a personal happiness that has so far eluded him?

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444709735
  • Publication date: 01 Aug 2013
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy. — The Morning Star
The best historical novel I've ever read. — L. Neil Smith on, Conspiracies of Rome: Death of Rome Saga Book One
Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot ... I enjoyed it very much. — Derek Jacobi, star of I, Claudius and Gladiator
If you like your Dark Age stories to be, well - particularly dark - then you'll love this. — Historical Novels Review
Hodder & Stoughton

Lincoln Rhyme thriller

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Coronet

Shadow Kill

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder & Stoughton

The Trembling Hills

Phyllis Whitney
Authors:
Phyllis Whitney
Hodder Paperbacks

Inferno

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder Paperbacks

The 14th Colony

Steve Berry
Authors:
Steve Berry
Hodder & Stoughton

The Likeness

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French
Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Patriot Threat

Steve Berry
Authors:
Steve Berry

A provocative thriller for fans of Dan Brown and David Baldacci, from the top-ten New York Times bestselling author.The 16th Amendment to the Constitution legalized federal income tax, but what if there were problems with the 1913 ratification of that amendment? Problems that call into question decades of tax collecting, and could even bring down the US economy. There is a surprising truth to this possibility - a truth wholly entertained by Steve Berry in this fast-paced thriller.His protagonist, Cotton Malone, once a member of an elite intelligence division within the Justice Department known as the Magellan Billet, is now retired. But when his former-boss, Stephanie Nelle, asks him to track a rogue North Korean who may have acquired some top secret Treasury Department files - the kind that could bring the United States to its knees. Malone is vaulted into a harrowing twenty-four-hour chase that begins on the water in Venice and ends in the remote highlands of Croatia.With appearances by Franklin Roosevelt, Andrew Mellon, and a curious painting that still hangs in the National Gallery of Art, Steve Berry's trademark mix of history and suspense is 90% fact and 10% exciting speculation.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Lincoln Myth

Steve Berry
Authors:
Steve Berry
Hodder & Stoughton

Dead Centre

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Pretty young university students Rose and Poppy Matheson are keen golfers. But one night Poppy is attacked on the footpath near the golf course and her sister, following behind, mistakenly kills the attacker in trying to rescue her twin. The girls cover up the crime by making it look like a hit and run car accident, but are overheard by another golf club member, Betty Russell, who wants to go to the police. Unfortunately her husband dissuades her and starts blackmailing the girls instead. As Inspector Govern and Sergeant Beck try to disprove the hit and run theory, first Betty, then her husband Barry also disappear. Meanwhile Rose's boyfriend John cannot understand why her manner towards him has changed. For her part Rose still loves him but is overwhelmed with guilt. And it is not until after the discovery of two more dead bodies that all can be resolved.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Queen's Man

Rory Clements
Authors:
Rory Clements

Includes BONUS short storyFor fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, THE QUEEN'S MAN introduces the Queen's Spy John Shakespeare in the prequel to Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday TimesEngland is a Judas nest of conspiracyIt is 1582, and the conflict between Protestant and Catholic threatens to tear the country in two. While Queen Elizabeth I holds the reins of power, there are those whose loyalty lies with her imprisoned cousin, Mary Queen of Scots.On his first major mission for Sir Francis Walsingham, the young John Shakespeare is ordered to discover a conspiracy to free the Stuart queen from Sheffield Castle. All too soon, he realises that the tentacles of the plot reach deep into his native Warwickshire and threaten his own friends and family. His duty lies with Elizabeth - but how far will he go to protect those he loves?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Woven Thread

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Mulholland Books

Follow the Saint

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris

In these three stories, everyone's favourite criminal follows his nose and finds yet more trouble. In The Miracle Tea Party, an attack on Inspector Teal leads Simon to discover a packet of Miracle Tea with truly miraculous properties. In The Invisible Millionaire the Saint and Hoppy agree to meet a woman with information on a major swindle - only to find her dead. And finally, in The Affair of Hogsbotham, Simon is irritated by the self-appointed guardian of the nation's morality Ebenezer Hogsbotham and decides to take him down a peg or two. But though he sets out for some light-hearted fun, he soon stumbles into the middle of a bank-robbing conspiracy . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Inn On The Marsh

Lena Kennedy
Authors:
Lena Kennedy

Time alone would heal the sorrows of Hollinbury, bright dreams banish the old unhappy ghosts . . .The Malted Shovel, exuberant heart and soul of Hollinbury Hamlet, buzzed with talk while the ale flowed. Talk of Dumb Lukey's crazed acts and the romance between Lucinda and Joe Lee, the Thames bargee. Talk of the Crimea and the terror of Napoleon.At the tavern, hard-headed Beatrice and her sister Dot care for their invalid father and for Lucinda, their pretty orphaned niece. The inn is their livelihood but village business is ever Beat's business too. And now some dark cloud has descended on them all . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Trader's Gift

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

The King's Deception

Steve Berry
Authors:
Steve Berry
Hodder & Stoughton

Lady Penelope

Lena Kennedy
Authors:
Lena Kennedy
Hodder & Stoughton

Owen Oliver

Lena Kennedy
Authors:
Lena Kennedy

A turbulent tale of a young man's growth from innocence to maturity in the harsh world of Victorian England.In the teeming heart of nineteenth-century London, Owen Oliver walks out of his gloomy, unwelcoming lodgings and doesn't stop his travels until he reaches Kent.There, Owen's life is dramatically altered. An orphan, he is adopted by a loving old lady and her roguish amicable son, Tom. With Tom's help, he secures employment in the shipping agency of an old sea captain and his fortunes start to increase.But Owen is not content. All around him he sees a widening gap between the comfortable middle classes and the helpless destitution of the poor. He is horrified by the plight of the thin and hungry and the evils of child labour.So when he takes the matter into his own hands and rescues a beautiful ragged child with haunting blue eyes and long golden hair, his fate is sealed . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Kate of Clyve Shore

Lena Kennedy
Authors:
Lena Kennedy

Living in poverty in the Kentish marshes, young Kate dreams of a life of abundance and riches in the castle that towers over her village. So when the beautiful Lady Evelyn descends, requesting Kate to be her personal maidservant at the castle, it looks like the first stage of a dream come true.But there are blackhearted men to contend with, evil in thought and deed, and they have a sophistication well beyond that of anyone Kate has encountered before. And when her one true love, Tom the fisherman, returns from sailing the seven seas, it is to a very different Kate from the one he left behind . . .