Richard Blake - The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848947054
    • Publication date:01 Aug 2013

The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six)

By Richard Blake

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

In his sixth novel of the Roman Empire in the decadent sixth century, Richard Blake's British adventurer Aelric fights a Persian invasion - and a dangerous woman.

615 AD. A vengeful Persian tyrant prepares the final blow that will annihilate the Empire.

Aelric - the young adventurer from England - is now almost as powerful as the Emperor. Seemingly without opposition, he dominates the vast and morally bankrupt city of Constantinople. One step at a time, in his fortified palace, he is pushing forward reforms that are the Roman Empire's only hope of survival, and perhaps restoration to wealth and greatness.

But his domestic enemies are only waiting for their moment to strike back. And the world's most terrifying military machine is assembling in secret beyond the mountains of the eastern frontier.

The plot to destroy the English upstart begins with an ancient and apparently accursed Babylonian treasure - and continues with kidnap, revolution and a brutal invasion.

Can Aelric overcome his greatest challenge yet? Can he call on new and unexpected forces to save the Empire? And can he find a personal happiness that has so far eluded him?

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444709735
  • Publication date: 01 Aug 2013
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy. — The Morning Star
The best historical novel I've ever read. — L. Neil Smith on, Conspiracies of Rome: Death of Rome Saga Book One
Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot ... I enjoyed it very much. — Derek Jacobi, star of I, Claudius and Gladiator
If you like your Dark Age stories to be, well - particularly dark - then you'll love this. — Historical Novels Review
Hodder & Stoughton

Never Go There

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Book of Luce

L R Fredericks
Authors:
L R Fredericks

My obsession begins in the magical year 1967, at Luce and the Photons' legendary last secret gig. That night changes my life: I must know who Luce is. But the deeper I dig, the more questions I turn up. Is Luce a rock star or a pretender? An artist or an acid trip?My redemption . . . or my delusion?Drawn into the machinations of mysterious powers, I become the dark shadow who follows the light of Luce. But who follows me? Are they agents of evil or figments of my imagination? And do they follow me still?The quest for Luce will lead me to the farthest corners of the earth and into the deadliest danger. I will lose everything and everyone I love . . . except for Luce.Who is pawn and who is player? Murderer or victim? Betrayer or saviour?I am the only one who knows the truth.This is the truth.This is The Book of Luce.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder Paperbacks

Dark Forces

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Coronet

The One You Trust

Paul Pilkington
Authors:
Paul Pilkington

This is the final installment of the Emma Holden trilogy, loved by millions and which Jeffery Deaver has praised for its 'breakneck pace' and 'brilliantly unfolding puzzles'.Emma Holden is a pretty young actress, living and working in London, much in demand and with a close circle of nice, fun-loving friends. Now she is married. Perfect. Except that not all of her friends are what they seem. Twists and turns throw suspicion on one friend after another and on members of her family too. As the plot reaches almost dizzying speed, she uncovers sinister machinations in the world of London film and theatre and soon finds she is engaged in a fight for her very life.The thrilling conclusion to previous books in the trilogy; The One You Love and The One You Fear.

Coronet

The One You Fear

Paul Pilkington
Authors:
Paul Pilkington
Coronet

The One You Love

Paul Pilkington
Authors:
Paul Pilkington

Days before their wedding, during their last separate nights of hard-partying singledom, Emma Holden's fiance has gone missing. Not only has Dan disappeared without a trace, his brother is found beaten and left for dead, and may not wake up from a coma. Without any evidence, suspicion for the attempted murder falls on Dan - but Emma refuses to believe his guilt. When crime scene photos get splashed across the pages of London tabloids, Emma knows that someone is following her. Watching her. It is an old, familiar feeling, though no less terrifying. A long-hidden family secret seems to unite Emma's troubled past with her dangerous present. As time runs out her trust in her family, her friends -- and Dan -- faces an ultimate test.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Inn On The Marsh

Lena Kennedy
Authors:
Lena Kennedy

Time alone would heal the sorrows of Hollinbury, bright dreams banish the old unhappy ghosts . . .The Malted Shovel, exuberant heart and soul of Hollinbury Hamlet, buzzed with talk while the ale flowed. Talk of Dumb Lukey's crazed acts and the romance between Lucinda and Joe Lee, the Thames bargee. Talk of the Crimea and the terror of Napoleon.At the tavern, hard-headed Beatrice and her sister Dot care for their invalid father and for Lucinda, their pretty orphaned niece. The inn is their livelihood but village business is ever Beat's business too. And now some dark cloud has descended on them all . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Kate of Clyve Shore

Lena Kennedy
Authors:
Lena Kennedy

Living in poverty in the Kentish marshes, young Kate dreams of a life of abundance and riches in the castle that towers over her village. So when the beautiful Lady Evelyn descends, requesting Kate to be her personal maidservant at the castle, it looks like the first stage of a dream come true.But there are blackhearted men to contend with, evil in thought and deed, and they have a sophistication well beyond that of anyone Kate has encountered before. And when her one true love, Tom the fisherman, returns from sailing the seven seas, it is to a very different Kate from the one he left behind . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Owen Oliver

Lena Kennedy
Authors:
Lena Kennedy

A turbulent tale of a young man's growth from innocence to maturity in the harsh world of Victorian England.In the teeming heart of nineteenth-century London, Owen Oliver walks out of his gloomy, unwelcoming lodgings and doesn't stop his travels until he reaches Kent.There, Owen's life is dramatically altered. An orphan, he is adopted by a loving old lady and her roguish amicable son, Tom. With Tom's help, he secures employment in the shipping agency of an old sea captain and his fortunes start to increase.But Owen is not content. All around him he sees a widening gap between the comfortable middle classes and the helpless destitution of the poor. He is horrified by the plight of the thin and hungry and the evils of child labour.So when he takes the matter into his own hands and rescues a beautiful ragged child with haunting blue eyes and long golden hair, his fate is sealed . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Ghosts of Athens (Death of Rome Saga Book Five)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dandelion Seed

Lena Kennedy
Authors:
Lena Kennedy
Hodder & Stoughton

The Sword of Damascus (Death of Rome Saga Book Four)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

The fourth book of the DEATH OF ROME SAGA is a must-read for those who loved the heroism of Gladiator and Spartacus.687 AD.Expansive and triumphant, the Caliphate has stripped Egypt and Syria from the Byzantine Empire. Farther and farther back, the formerly hegemonic Empire has been pushed - once to the very walls of its capital, Constantinople.But what is all this to old Aelric, now in his nineties, and a refugee from the Empire he's spent his life holding together? No longer the Lord Senator Alaric, Brother Aelric is writing his memoirs in the remote wastes of northern England, and waiting patiently for death. Then a band of northern barbarians turn up outside the monastery - and then another. Before he can draw another breath, Aelric is a prisoner of unknown forces, and headed straight back into the snake pit of Mediterranean hatreds. What awaits him at the end of his long and dangerous journey is a confrontation that decides the fate of all mankind.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Blood of Alexandria (Death of Rome Saga Book Three)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Templar Legacy

Steve Berry
Authors:
Steve Berry
Hodder Paperbacks

Conspiracies of Rome (Death of Rome Saga Book One)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

Perfect for readers of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane, Conspiracies of Rome is the thrilling first book in the new seven-part DEATH OF ROME SAGA. Rome, 609 AD.Empire is a fading memory. Repeatedly fought over and plundered, the City is falling into ruins. Killers prowl by night. Far off, in Constantinople, the Emperor has other concerns as The Church is beginning to flex its own imperial muscle.Enter Aelric of England: young and beautiful, sexually uninhibited, heroic, if ruthlessly violent - and hungry for the learning of a world that is dying around him. A deadly brawl outside Rome sucks him straight into the high politics of Empire. Soon, Aelric is involved in a race against time to find answers before he ends up as just another corpse in the gutter.

Sceptre

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré

The enduring novel by one of our greatest storytellers. George Smiley, small, podgy and at best middle-aged, is one of the meek who do not inherit the earth. Yet he is also a senior British Intelligence officer, as devastating as he is self-effacing. In Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy we meet him in short-lived retirement, deserted by his beautiful wife, wrestling with idleness and disillusionment. And haunted by the secret fear that one day, out of a past so complex that he himself could not remember all the enemies he might have made, one of them would find him and demand a reckoning. At the dead of night, in the house of a member of the Cabinet Office, a mission is put to George Smiley. 'You'll take the job, clean the stables? Go backwards, go forwards, do whatever is necessary?' As Smiley retraces path after path into his own past there is no longer any difference between the two: forwards or backwards, George Smiley has embarked on a blind night walk with God knows how many bodies at the end. Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy is a world of hoods and lamplighters, scalphunters and pavement artists, where men are turned, burned or bought for stock; a world of moles, legmen, listeners and watchers. And George Smiley is one of le Carré's most memorable heroes: a troubled man and superb professional of infinite compassion.