Richard Blake - The Ghosts of Athens (Death of Rome Saga Book Five) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848947047
    • Publication date:07 Jun 2012

The Ghosts of Athens (Death of Rome Saga Book Five)

By Richard Blake

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The fifth book in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

The fifth book in the DEATH OF ROME SAGA is an exhilarating thriller and perfect for readers of Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow.

612 AD.
No longer the glorious cradle of all art and science, Athens is a ruined provincial city in one of the Byzantine Empire's less vital provinces. The Emperor has diverted Aelric's ship home from Egypt to send him there, but surely there is more important business in Constantinople. Isn't Aelric needed to save the Empire's finances?

Is Aelric on a high level mission to save the Empire or has he been set up to fail? The only certainty is that Aelric finds himself in a derelict palace of dark and endless corridors that Martin, his cowardly secretary, assures him pulse will an ancient evil.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444709711
  • Publication date: 25 Apr 2013
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
This is a story of villainy that reels you in from its prosaic opening through a series of death-defying thrills and spills. — Lancashire Evening Post
Devious plotting, superb period detail and the joy of being transported back in time by a born storyteller ... Blake's perfect recipe for a sumptuous Roman Feast. — Fleetwood Today
It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy. — The Morning Star
The best historical novel I've ever read. — L. Neil Smith on, Conspiracies of Rome: Death of Rome Saga Book One
Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder Paperbacks

Ready to Die

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder Paperbacks

Unspoken

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

The King's Deception

Steve Berry
Authors:
Steve Berry

There is a secret from our history - 500 years old - startling in its revelations and devastating in its political impact. A secret that has, thankfully, stayed hidden. Until now.Former Justice Department agent, Cotton Malone, travels to England and finds himself caught in a dark conspiracy born long ago, in the time of the Tudors. Now both the CIA and MI6 seem to be competing to uncover the mystery and, for Malone, supposedly on holiday with his son, Gary, it's not just the action which comes thick and fast. When Gary disappears, Malone is forced into a race against time, as he battles to decipher a puzzle that leads him from the Middle Temple to the chapel at Windsor Castle, from an Oxford college to the sewers beneath Hampton Court. With assassins, traitors, spies, and dangerous disciples of a secret society closing in, Malone discovers that the solution to the mystery will not only draw him into a lethal trap, but force him closer to his own troubling past.And a shocking revelation.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Night Before

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

In the dark shadows of Savannah, a serial killer strikes. It's an act of sinister precision that has happened many times before - every victim an offering to a hunger that can never be sated. Catilyn Montgomery Bandeaux wakes, covered in blood. But Caitlyn has no memory of the night before, when her estranged husband was brutally murdered like so many others she has known . . . Dodging the police and haunted by horrifying, fragmented memories, Caitlyn turns to Adam Hunt, the city's new psychologist. But how far can she really trust him? For as a twisted killer strikes again and again, Caitlyn is about to discover that those who appear the most innocent can be the most evil.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Morning After

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

She wakes in a dark, closed space. From above her comes the muffled sound of cruel laughter, followed by the sound of earth being thrown. Pure terror takes over as she realizes she's being buried alive, and her last breath is a scream that no one but a sadistic killer will hear.To Nikki Gillette, this disturbing story is a ticket out of small-town Savannah and on to the big time. She's already given the killer a name - The Grave Robber - and she's spending every minute dogging tough cop Pierce Reed's investigation.Another body is found. And another. Each gruesome discovery unnerves Nikki a little more . . . there's something familiar about it, something she should know. Now, as a serial killer pulls her ever deeper into his sick game, she has no idea how close she's getting to the truth - or how deadly it will be.

Hodder & Stoughton

Lady Penelope

Lena Kennedy
Authors:
Lena Kennedy
Hodder & Stoughton

Maggie

Lena Kennedy
Authors:
Lena Kennedy
Hodder Paperbacks

Treasures on Earth

Jessica Stirling
Authors:
Jessica Stirling
Hodder & Stoughton

You Don't Want to Know

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Good Provider

Jessica Stirling
Authors:
Jessica Stirling
Hodder & Stoughton

Hearts Of Gold

Jessica Stirling
Authors:
Jessica Stirling
Hodder & Stoughton

The Asking Price

Jessica Stirling
Authors:
Jessica Stirling

The second compelling novel in the Nicholson Quartet sees Kirsty and Craig struggling to keep their family together... Imprisoned in a false 'marriage' and trapped in Glasgow's mean streets, Kirsty and Craig Nicholson are drifting apart, held together only by their son, Bobby. Kirsty finds herself drawn more and more to David Lockhart, the young minister who cares for her deeply. But David is bound to return to China and only his love for Kirsty keeps him in Scotland. Craig, now a committed policeman, is incensed by the behaviour of his family when they fall under the influence of a rich and generous patron, and seeks solace in the arms of a street woman from the burgh's dark slums. His growing obsession with her threatens not only Kirsty, but the future of his family too . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Piper's Tune

Jessica Stirling
Authors:
Jessica Stirling

Jessica Stirling's Glasgow comes to scintillating life in the story of love and fortune set in Edwardian Scotland, the first in a trilogy.Lindsay Franklin's life is an adventure she has just begin to enjoy. At eighteen, Arthur Franklin's cosseted daughter has left her Glasgow school and finds her role as a marriageable young lady with a widowed father more than agreeable. But Lindsay's life takes an unexpected turn when her ambitious, charming Irish cousin Forbes comes to Glasgow to join the family business. When her grandfather retires Lindsay is unexpectedly left with a share in the business - and equally unexpectedly, she decides that she must master that business as carefully as her male cousins. What is not surprising is that several eligible men decide that it is time to master Lindsay... As the mysteries of shipbuilding open to her, and the puzzle of male behaviour becomes both more fascinating and more dangerous, Lindsay will have to make some fateful decisions. Decisions that will make or mar her whole future.

Hodder & Stoughton

Lantern For The Dark

Jessica Stirling
Authors:
Jessica Stirling

In Georgian Glasgow, a seventeen-year-old mother stands trial for her life...Clare Kelso has been locked in the Tolbooth, accused of murdering her own infant son. The baby's father has vanished and she has no one to turn to. Maverick lawyer Cameron Adams, summoned from Edinburgh to defend the guilty, soon comes to believe that the frail girl who refuses to defend herself could be a murderer's second victim.The key to the truth lies with Frederick Striker. Gambler, seducer, adventurer, he alone can save Clare from the gallows. If he wishes to . . .Clare and Frederick's tumultuous story continues in Shadows on the Shore.

Hodder & Stoughton

Shadows On The Shore

Jessica Stirling
Authors:
Jessica Stirling
Hodder & Stoughton

Creature Comforts

Jessica Stirling
Authors:
Jessica Stirling

The second novel in Stirling's historical saga brings to light yet more dark secrets, amorous entanglements and murder...Elspeth and Anna Patterson of Balnesmoor have both married well: Elspeth to a wealthy wool merchant, Anna to the son of a respected factor. But they are far from happy. The two married sisters, leading oddly parallel lives, find themselves entangled in a web of infidelity, scandal, and heartache in the midst of Wellington's Peninsular War on the continent.The story continues in Hearts of Gold.

Hodder Paperbacks

Fair Game

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather