Richard Blake - The Ghosts of Athens (Death of Rome Saga Book Five) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848947047
    • Publication date:07 Jun 2012

The Ghosts of Athens (Death of Rome Saga Book Five)

By Richard Blake

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The fifth book in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

The fifth book in the DEATH OF ROME SAGA is an exhilarating thriller and perfect for readers of Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow.

612 AD.
No longer the glorious cradle of all art and science, Athens is a ruined provincial city in one of the Byzantine Empire's less vital provinces. The Emperor has diverted Aelric's ship home from Egypt to send him there, but surely there is more important business in Constantinople. Isn't Aelric needed to save the Empire's finances?

Is Aelric on a high level mission to save the Empire or has he been set up to fail? The only certainty is that Aelric finds himself in a derelict palace of dark and endless corridors that Martin, his cowardly secretary, assures him pulse will an ancient evil.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444709711
  • Publication date: 25 Apr 2013
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
This is a story of villainy that reels you in from its prosaic opening through a series of death-defying thrills and spills. — Lancashire Evening Post
Devious plotting, superb period detail and the joy of being transported back in time by a born storyteller ... Blake's perfect recipe for a sumptuous Roman Feast. — Fleetwood Today
It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy. — The Morning Star
The best historical novel I've ever read. — L. Neil Smith on, Conspiracies of Rome: Death of Rome Saga Book One
Mulholland Books

The Shadows We Hide

Allen Eskens
Authors:
Allen Eskens

Joe Talbert, Jr. has never once met his namesake. Now out of college, a cub reporter for the Associated Press in Minneapolis, he stumbles across a story describing the murder of a man named Joseph Talbert in a small town in southern Minnesota. Full of childhood dreams about who his father might have been, Joe is shocked to find that none of the town's residents have much to say about his father's murder - other than that it was long overdue. Joe discovers that his father was a loathsome man who cheated his neighbours, threatened his daughter, and squandered his wife's meagre inheritance after she, too, passed away - an inheritance that may now be his.Mired in uncertainty and plagued by his own tenuous relationship with his mother, whose sobriety has led her to seek reconciliation with her distant son, Joe must put together the missing pieces of his family history - before his quest for discovery threatens to put him in a grave of his own

Hodder Paperbacks

The Baltic Prize

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

1808. Parted from his new bride, Captain Sir Thomas Kydd is called away to join the Northern Expedition to Sweden, now Britain's only ally in the Baltic. Following the sudden declaration of war by Russia and with the consequent threat of the czar's great fleet in St Petersburg, the expedition must defend Britain's dearly-won freedom in those waters. However Kydd finds his popular fame as a frigate captain is a poisoned chalice; in the face of jealousy and envy from his fellow captains, the distrust of the commander-in-chief and the betrayal of friendship by a former brother-in-arms now made his subordinate, can he redeem his reputation?In an entirely hostile sea Tyger ranges from the frozen north to the deadly confines of the Danish Sound - and plays a pivotal role in the situation ensuing after the czar's sudden attack on Finland. This climaxes in the first clash of fleets between Great Britain and Russia in history. To the victor will be the prize of the Baltic!******************PRAISE FOR JULIAN STOCKWIN'S THOMAS KYDD SERIES'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' Daily Express'This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail' Nautical Magazine on VICTORY'Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book' Historical Naval Society on THE ADMIRAL'S DAUGHTER

Mulholland Books

The Prometheus Man

Scott Reardon
Authors:
Scott Reardon
Hodder & Stoughton

First Response

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

Black Ops

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

Three page-turning, exhilarating thrillers from Richard Blake: THE SWORD OF DAMASCUS, THE GHOSTS OF ATHENS and THE CURSE OF BABYLON. Available together as a digital-only package for the first time. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

615 AD. A vengeful Persian tyrant prepares the final blow that will annihilate the Empire.Aelric - the young adventurer from England - is now almost as powerful as the Emperor. Seemingly without opposition, he dominates the vast and morally bankrupt city of Constantinople. One step at a time, in his fortified palace, he is pushing forward reforms that are the Roman Empire's only hope of survival, and perhaps restoration to wealth and greatness. But his domestic enemies are only waiting for their moment to strike back. And the world's most terrifying military machine is assembling in secret beyond the mountains of the eastern frontier. The plot to destroy the English upstart begins with an ancient and apparently accursed Babylonian treasure - and continues with kidnap, revolution and a brutal invasion. Can Aelric overcome his greatest challenge yet? Can he call on new and unexpected forces to save the Empire? And can he find a personal happiness that has so far eluded him?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Sword of Damascus (Death of Rome Saga Book Four)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

The fourth book of the DEATH OF ROME SAGA is a must-read for those who loved the heroism of Gladiator and Spartacus.687 AD.Expansive and triumphant, the Caliphate has stripped Egypt and Syria from the Byzantine Empire. Farther and farther back, the formerly hegemonic Empire has been pushed - once to the very walls of its capital, Constantinople.But what is all this to old Aelric, now in his nineties, and a refugee from the Empire he's spent his life holding together? No longer the Lord Senator Alaric, Brother Aelric is writing his memoirs in the remote wastes of northern England, and waiting patiently for death. Then a band of northern barbarians turn up outside the monastery - and then another. Before he can draw another breath, Aelric is a prisoner of unknown forces, and headed straight back into the snake pit of Mediterranean hatreds. What awaits him at the end of his long and dangerous journey is a confrontation that decides the fate of all mankind.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Blood of Alexandria (Death of Rome Saga Book Three)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder Paperbacks

Realm

James Jackson
Authors:
James Jackson

Hodder Paperbacks

Fight for Freedom

Mark Keating
Authors:
Mark Keating

Sold by his father for four guineas, Patrick Devlin knows just how cheap life is in a world of slavery, violence and greed.Devlin is taken as a servant by Captain John Coxon of the Royal Navy, whose job in this uneasy peace time is to protect the stupendous wealth of the East India Trading Company.But when pirates sink Coxon's ship, Devlin willingly trades his servile existence for their life of dangerous liberty.And when he sets off in pursuit of a secret cargo of French bullion, it is Coxon - disgraced and hungry for revenge - who is despatched to bring his former dog to heel.Fight for Freedom was published in hardback under the title The Pirate Devlin.

Hodder Paperbacks

Walking in Pimlico

Ann Featherstone
Authors:
Ann Featherstone
Hodder Paperbacks

The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

If you loved Gladiator and Spartacus, you'll love the second book in the DEATH OF ROME SAGA. 610 AD. Invaded by Persians and barbarians, the Byzantine Empire is tearing itself apart in civil war. Phocas, the maniacally bloodthirsty Emperor, holds Constantinople by a reign of terror. The uninvaded provinces are turning one at a time to the usurper, Heraclius.Just as the battle for the Empire approaches its climax, Aelric of England turns up in Constantinople. Blackmailed by the Papacy to leave off his career of lechery and market-rigging in Rome, he thinks his job is to gather texts for a semi-comprehensible dispute over the Nature of Christ. Only gradually does he realise he is a pawn in a much larger game.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Witch's Trinity

Erika Mailman
Authors:
Erika Mailman

Witch. Some words can kill . . . To Güde's son and grandchildren it could mean the loss of a loved one.To Güde it could mean torture and death at the stake.And to Güde's daughter-in-law it could mean one less mouth to feed. In a time when famine is rife and panic spreading, people resort to desperate measures in order to survive. So when Güde is accused of witchcraft by her daughter-in-law she must find the strength to clear her name and save her life . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Conspiracies of Rome (Death of Rome Saga Book One)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder Paperbacks

An Affair Before Christmas

Eloisa James
Authors:
Eloisa James

One spectacular Christmas, Miss Perdita 'Poppy' Selby met the man she thought she would love forever. The devilishly attractive Duke of Fletcher was everything a convent-educated girl wished for in a suitor, and their wedding day was perfect. Unfortunately, no one had quite prepared Poppy for what would happen next. Four years later, Poppy and the duke have become the toast of London society, but behind closed doors the spark of their love affair has burned out. Fortunately, Poppy has a friend in Jemma, the Duchess of Beaumont. Jemma, who is toying with another man herself, reveals to Poppy a world of strategy and desire that will change Poppy's whole outlook on love forever.

Hodder Paperbacks

Absolute Fear

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder Paperbacks

Desperate Duchesses

Eloisa James
Authors:
Eloisa James

Spring 1783 . . . Jemma, Duchess of Beaumont, has just returned from Paris and is planning to shock all of London High Society - not to mention horrify her estranged husband - with scandalous soirees and a debauched grand ball.But irritating her husband comes naturally, and she needs a challenge. When her country cousin Lady Roberta St. Giles asks for help seducing the Duke of Villiers into marriage, Jemma jumps at the chance. She transforms Roberta into the most delicious and desirable woman in town. Then she lures Villiers to the house, ostensibly to play chess.But the plan backfires. Villiers responds enthusiastically to Jemma's challenge and, ignoring Roberta or indeed Jemma's husband, offers her a match - three games, the last of which is to be played blindfolded. And nude.And in bed.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Scarlet Pimpernel

Baroness Orczy
Authors:
Baroness Orczy