Saul David - The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340953686
    • Publication date:22 Feb 2018
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340953709
    • Publication date:09 Aug 2018

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

(Zulu Hart 3)

By Saul David

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The long-awaited third novel featuring George 'Zulu' from celebrated historian Saul David

'A rattling good yarn... A compelling, sexy hero who could give Cornwell's Sharpe a run for his money' The Times on ZULU HART

London 1888: George 'Zulu' Hart is the mixed-race illegitimate son of a Dublin actress and (he suspects) the Duke of Cambridge, commander-in-chief of the army. George has fought his way through wars in Africa and Afghanistan, won the VC and married his sweetheart, but he's also a gambler, short of money and in no position to turn down the job of 'minder' to Prince Albert Victor, second in line to the throne.
George is to befriend the charming young cavalry officer and keep him out of trouble - no easy task, given that the Prince is a known target for Irish nationalist assassins, while his secret sexual orientation leaves him open to blackmail and scandal.
To make matters worse, the Prince is also in the habit of heading out late at night to sample the dubious pleasures of the East End.
Both outsiders in their different ways, perhaps the two men have more in common than they know, but when a series of horrible murders begins in Whitechapel, on just the nights the Prince has been there, George is drawn into an investigation which forces him to confront the unthinkable...
A brilliant standalone adventure based on detailed research, this is a thrilling novel of suspense and a fascinating new twist on the Jack the Ripper story.

Biographical Notes

Saul David is Professor of War Studies at the University of Buckingham and the bestselling author of Zulu Hart, the first novel in the George Hart series, as well as several critically-acclaimed history books, including The Indian Mutiny: 1857 (shortlisted for the Westminster Medal for Military Literature), Zulu: The Heroism and Tragedy of the Zulu War of 1879 (a Waterstone`s Military History Book of the Year) and, most recently, Victoria`s Wars: The Rise of Empire.
An experienced broadcaster, Saul David has presented and appeared in history programmes for all the major TV channels and is a regular contributor to Radio 4.
Visit Saul`s website at www.sauldavid.co.uk.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444708363
  • Publication date: 22 Feb 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Mulholland Books

The Pandora Equation

Scott Reardon
Authors:
Scott Reardon
Mulholland Books

Surrender, New York

Caleb Carr
Authors:
Caleb Carr
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre

'A word of advice: don't start reading this page-turner at bedtime, or you'll be staying up all night.' Psychologies, FranceWerner Zilch was adopted as an infant, and knows nothing of his biological family. But when, in 1970s New York, he meets the family of Rebecca, the woman he has fallen in love with, a mysterious link means he must uncover the truth of his past, or run the risk of losing her. Spanning 1945 Dresden, the Bavarian Alps and uncovering Operation Paperclip, this is a riveting novel of family and love that seamlessly blends fact with fiction.

John Murray

Days of the Dead

Tim Glencross
Authors:
Tim Glencross

'Cynical, dry, and as sharp as a skewer. A wicked, twisty read' Mick HerronWilliam Hoffer - handsome, refined, a little cold perhaps - is an established figure in London society.But Hoffer has secrets. He is vague about his Midwestern origins. The counsel he offers a Russian billionaire may extend to murkier topics than art investments. Then there is his Kensington flat, which is only rented, and the broader question of his money, which is running out.When a ghost from his past in Mexico surfaces, Hoffer is forced to revive brutal instincts for self-preservation . . .Days of the Dead is an amoral thriller of intelligence, wit and style, and a coruscating commentary on the world we live in now.

Two Roads

Girl on the Line

Alice Vinten
Authors:
Alice Vinten
Two Roads

Pie and Mash Down the Roman Road

Melanie McGrath
Authors:
Melanie McGrath
Hodder & Stoughton

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Shout

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

'The sheer impetus of his storytelling is damned hard to resist' Sunday ExpressSunday Times bestselling author Stephen Leather's latest edge-of-your-seat thriller.*****Vicky Lewis is a force to be reckoned with: not yet thirty and already crew manager in the London Fire Brigade, she's destined for great things.But when she enters a burning building to save a man's life and leaves it with catastrophic injuries, all that changes. She's shunted over to the Fire Investigation Unit, where she's forced to team up with cantankerous veteran Des Farmer, aka the Grouch.When Vicky stumbles across the Grouch's off-the-books investigation into the fiery deaths of a series of young, blonde women, she decides to join him in his search for the truth. The answer is close - perhaps too close. Vicky's already been burnt once, and now she's playing with fire . . .

Mulholland Books

Her Beautiful Monster

Adi Tantimedh
Authors:
Adi Tantimedh
Hodder & Stoughton

Clockwork City

Paul Crilley
Authors:
Paul Crilley
Hodder & Stoughton

1918: The Battle of Amiens and the Armistice

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David
Coronet

Safe: How to stay safe in a dangerous world

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Mulholland Books

The Zealot's Bones

D.M. Mark
Authors:
D.M. Mark

From Hell, Hull and Halifax, may the Good Lord deliver us. In 1849, Hull is a city forgotten and abandoned; in the grip of a cholera outbreak that sees its poorest citizens cut down by the cartload. Into this world of flame and grief comes Meshach Stone, a former soldier, lost upon his way. He's been hired as bodyguard by a Canadian academic hunting for the bones of the apostle Simon the Zealot, rumoured to lie somewhere in Lincolnshire. Stone can't see why ancient bones are of interest in a world full of them...but then a woman he briefly loved is killed. As he investigates he realises that she is just one of many... and that some deaths cry out for vengeance. From the twisted imagination of David Mark, author of the McAvoy series, THE ZEALOT'S BONES is historical crime with a difference.

Two Roads

The Lost Daughter

David Ashton
Authors:
David Ashton

For fans of Elementary, Ripper Street and Sherlock Holmes - meet Jean Brash, a feisty, self-made woman turned sleuth in murky Victorian Edinburgh where crime and high society meet.Jean Brash is beautiful, intelligent and in her prime. Owner of The Just Land, the best and most successful brothel in Victorian Edinburgh, she's seen the highs and lows of society and been on both sides of the law, much to the frustration of her sparring partner, Inspector James McLevy. And Jean has a mind to do some sleuthing of her own ...It's Spring and Jean Brash is raring to go. A theatre company arrives in Leith to perform King Lear. A ruthless robbery is planned, a gruesome murder committed, both of which set off unwanted events and unearth long buried connections from Jean's past.Even more lethally, her own lost family life explodes in the present, as a wild young actress who trails violence and death behind her, involves Jean in a dangerous complex game that threatens to destroy the very root of her identity and everything Jean has fought to achieve. Jean Brash is my favourite character and David Ashton's writing is as delicious, elegant and compelling as she is' Siobhan Redmond (Jean Brash in BBC Radio 4's McLevy series)

Mulholland Books

The Alienist

Caleb Carr
Authors:
Caleb Carr
Hodder & Stoughton

The Book of Luce

L R Fredericks
Authors:
L R Fredericks
Hodder & Stoughton

Light Touch

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

Working undercover is all about trust - getting the target to trust you and then betraying them in order to bring them to justice.But what do you do when you believe an undercover cop has crossed the line and aligned herself with the international drugs smuggler she was supposed to be targeting?When a deep-undercover cop stops passing on intelligence about her target, MI5 sends in Dan 'Spider' Shepherd to check that she is on the straight and narrow.Now two lives are on the line - and Shepherd discovers that the real danger is closer to home than he realised.As Spider finds his loyalties being tested to the limit, an SAS killer is on a revenge mission in London and only Spider can stop him.'[Leather] has the uncanny knack of producing plots that are all too real' Daily Mail'Let Spider draw you into his web, you won't regret it' - Sun

Hodder & Stoughton

The Witchwood Crown

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

'This is flawless epic fantasy. . . Williams' grand-scale storytelling mastery is on full display here. Not just utterly readable-an instant fantasy classic' - Kirkus************Thirty years ago Ineluki, the Storm King, was destroyed and his armies scattered. Osten Ard has been at peace ever since, ruled by Simon Snowlock, kitchen boy made king, and Miriamele, King Elias' only child. But now age weighs upon their reign. Simon's dreams have deserted him, old allies die and betrayal and assassination threaten. His son and heir John Josua is years dead and his grandson, Morgan, is a wastrel. A journey of redemption and discovery beckons in the darkening world.And in the frozen North, in Nakkiga, the mountain fortress, Ineluki's ally, the Norn Queen, wakes from her deep, decades-long sleep and tells her followers that she will sleep no more. Humanity must be destroyed. Her sorcerers will bring a demon back from death, her warriors will seek the world for living dragon's blood...And finally the greatest artefact of all, the Witchwood Crown, will be hers. With a cast of hundreds - humans, giants, dragons, trolls, Sithi and Norn - The Witchwood Crown is epic fantasy as it used to be: classic, grand and sweeping and evidence that Tad Williams is the greatest living writer of the form.

Sceptre

Outskirts

John Grindrod
Authors:
John Grindrod

Forgotten edgelands, furious battles, suburban mysteries - discover the secret history of our green belts.Green belts are part of the landscape and psyche of post-war Britain, but have led to conflicts at every level of society - between conservationists and developers, town and country, politicians and people, nimbys and the forces of progress.Growing up on 'the last road in London' on an estate at the edge of the woods, John Grindrod had a childhood that mirrored these tensions. His family, too, seemed caught between two worlds: his wheelchair-bound mother and soft hearted father had moved from the inner city and had trouble adjusting. His warring brothers struggled too: there was the sporty one who loved the outdoors, and the agoraphobic who hated it. And then there was John, an unremarkable boy on the edge of it all discovering something magical.In the green belts John discovers strange hidden places, from nuclear bunkers to buried landfill sites, and along the way meets planners, protestors, foresters and residents whose passions for and against the green belt tell a fascinating tale of Britain today.The first book to tell the story of Britain's green belts, Outskirts is at once a fascinating social history, a stirring evocation of the natural world, and a poignant tale of growing up in a place, and within a family, like no other.