Saul David - The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340953686
    • Publication date:22 Feb 2018

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

(Zulu Hart 3)

By Saul David

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The third novel in the bestselling ZULU HART series.

Major George Hart returns to England with a wife, a VC and very little money. Hoping for a new posting abroad, he is surprised to be asked to exchange into the 10th Hussars, based in London, so that he can keep an eye on one of its officers - Prince Albert Victor, second in line to the throne. Not only is the Prince a possible target for assassins, his friendships are in danger of dragging the royal family into a scandal. And when a series of murders erupts in Whitechapel, with the killer soon known as 'Jack the Ripper', the Prince's habit of making nocturnal visits to the East End give rise to an even more alarming suspicion...

Biographical Notes

Saul David is Professor of War Studies at the University of Buckingham and the bestselling author of Zulu Hart, the first novel in the George Hart series, as well as several critically-acclaimed history books, including The Indian Mutiny: 1857 (shortlisted for the Westminster Medal for Military Literature), Zulu: The Heroism and Tragedy of the Zulu War of 1879 (a Waterstone`s Military History Book of the Year) and, most recently, Victoria`s Wars: The Rise of Empire.
An experienced broadcaster, Saul David has presented and appeared in history programmes for all the major TV channels and is a regular contributor to Radio 4.
Visit Saul`s website at www.sauldavid.co.uk.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444708363
  • Publication date: 22 Feb 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

Retribution: The Centurions III

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches

Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin

Hodder Paperbacks

Light Touch

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

Working undercover is all about trust - getting the target to trust you and then betraying them in order to bring them to justice.But what do you do when you believe an undercover cop has crossed the line and aligned herself with the international drugs smuggler she was supposed to be targeting?When a deep-undercover cop stops passing on intelligence about her target, MI5 sends in Dan 'Spider' Shepherd to check that she is on the straight and narrow.Now two lives are on the line - and Shepherd discovers that the real danger is closer to home than he realised.As Spider finds his loyalties being tested to the limit, an SAS killer is on a revenge mission in London and only Spider can stop him.'[Leather] has the uncanny knack of producing plots that are all too real' Daily Mail'Let Spider draw you into his web, you won't regret it' - Sun

Hodder Paperbacks

Lucky Ghost

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad
Hodder & Stoughton

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi

A family cloaked in secrets. A beguiling woman. A unique setting. Inspector Bordelli is back to solve one of the most difficult cases of his entire career in the sixth book in this atmospheric and evocative crime noir series by Marco Vichi - perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri.1967. It is winter in Florence, and one year has passed since the city was devastated by the flood of the Arno. Though the waters have receded, the memories of that day continue to linger with the stains on the city walls. Residing in his farmhouse in the Florence hills, Inspector Bordelli is weighed down with remorse and yearning for the woman he has lost when a new case presents itself. An old, rich man loved by everyone he knew has been killed in his own Fiesole villa and the murderer has left no trace. While Bordelli questions the relatives and struggles to solve the intricacies of the crime, he encounters a stooped, worn figure, who he recognises as an old acquaintance from the War. Welcoming the man into his home, Bordelli sets out to help him recover with the aid of good food and good wine. But little does Bordelli know that his old friend is leading him ever closer to a mysterious woman - the person who holds the secrets at the heart of the mystery.

Hodder & Stoughton

1918: The Battle of Amiens and the Armistice

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David

Hodder Paperbacks

The Wild Air

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull
John Murray

Charles Darwin

A N Wilson
Authors:
A N Wilson
Hodder & Stoughton

Did You See Melody?

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

Sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats, this new novel will feature Sandra Brown's signature combination of steamy romance and jaw-dropping plot twists.'If you want romantic suspense that has teeth - big teeth - she's your gal.' Stephen King'A masterful storyteller, carefully crafting tales that keep readers on the edge of their seats' USA Today'Sandra Brown is a master at weaving a story of suspense into a tight web that catches and holds the reader from the first page to the last' Library Journal

Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Daughter

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

BLOOD DAUGHTER sees the Miller sisters' loyalties put to the ultimate test in a gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers and Mandasue Heller. They say blood is thicker than water. That's not going to stop it being spilled. Life hasn't been easy for the Miller family. Finally, mum Babs has had one bit of luck. She plans to share the profits with her daughters. She thought they'd be pleased... But money always causes trouble, especially when it's desperately needed. Jen wants to make a better life for her kids. Tiff owes a lot of bad men a lot of money. And Dee is worried that her husband is getting back into the criminal life. As the sisters fall out, a gold bullion heist brings more opportunities - and many more dangers. None of them are giving up without a fight...

Hodder Paperbacks

Takedown

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

A heart-pounding new standalone thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author Stephen Leather. 'He has the uncanny knack of producing plots that are all too real, and this is no exception' (Daily Mail on First Response)When a British Special Forces soldier goes rogue, carrying out an attack at a US army base in Syria leading to the death of two men, ex-MI5 controller Charlotte Button is hired to work out what his plan is and to take him down before he can carry it out.Charlotte puts her best man on the case - hitman Lex Harper. It's up to Lex to assemble a crack team and get to the soldier before he carries out what could be a massive terrorist attack. But Charlotte might require Lex's help with a more personal problem too . . .As ex-MI5, Charlotte holds information on thousands of the agency's dirty operations, and keeps a store of those secrets in three flash drives hidden in separate safety deposit vaults. Now someone is taking extraordinary measures to recover the secrets through Hatton Garden-style robberies. So far two vaults have been raided, and two flash drives have gone. If the third is stolen, Charlotte's life will be in jeopardy. While it's down to Lex to prevent a potential terrorist attack on British soil, Charlotte must work out who is after her and what they want.

Mulholland Books

SEAL Team Six Book 6: Hunt the Dragon

Ralph Pezzullo, Don Mann
Authors:
Ralph Pezzullo, Don Mann

An action-packed military thriller for fans of Chris Ryan and Andy McNab. Navy SEALs Crocker and Mancini are on a training exercise in Las Vegas when a moment of relaxation is interrupted by a violent altercation between hotel security and three businessmen claiming to be Chinese diplomats. They attempt to stop the fleeing businessmen, but soon realise that they may not be who they claim to be. That same night Las Vegas goes dark - someone has hacked into the Nevada Power Company system and shut down the entire city. As chaos reigns the businessmen make their escape. When Crocker and the rest of SEAL Team Six attempt to track them down, they find themselves drawn into a North Korean plot that combines cyber warfare and the theft of black market nuclear weapons. As darkness reigns, the squad is the last hope of preventing a conspiracy that could have catastrophic international consequences.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Burial Hour

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

Number one bestselling author and master of suspense Jeffery Deaver returns with the thirteenth Lincoln Rhyme thriller, which sees a crime go global...The only leads in a broad-daylight kidnapping are the account of an eight-year-old girl, some nearly invisible trace evidence and the calling card: a miniature noose left lying on the street. A crime scene this puzzling demands forensic expertise of the highest order. Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs are called in to investigate. Then the case takes a stranger turn: a recording surfaces of the victim being slowly hanged, his desperate gasps the backdrop to an eerie piece of music. The video is marked as the work of The Composer...Despite their best efforts, the suspect gets away. So when a similar kidnapping occurs on a dusty road outside Naples, Rhyme and Sachs don't hesitate to rejoin the hunt. But the search is now a complex case of international cooperation - and not all those involved may be who they seem. All they can do is follow the evidence, before their time runs out.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Hodder & Stoughton

Fallout

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dean's Watch

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

1917: Vimy Ridge to Ypres

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David
Hodder & Stoughton

The Trespasser

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French

'Contains the most tense and serpentine interrogation scenes outside of John Le Carré' - GuardianThis is the case she imagined. Precision-cut and savage, lithe and momentous.Antoinette Conway, the tough, abrasive detective from The Secret Place, is still on the Murder squad, but only just. She's partnered up with Stephen Moran now, and that's going well - but the rest of her working life isn't. Antoinette doesn't play well with others, and there's a vicious running campaign in the squad to get rid of her. She and Stephen pull a case that at first looks like a slam-dunk lovers' tiff. All she and her partner have to do is track down Lover Boy and bring him in. Then it'll be back to business as usual, watching from a distance as the real detectives go up against the psychopaths. Except when Antoinette takes a good look at the victim's face, she realises she's seen her somewhere before. And suddenly the conviction that there's a different answer takes her breath away.

Hodder & Stoughton

Sting

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown