John Connolly - Dark Hollow - Hodder & Stoughton

Dark Hollow

A Charlie Parker Thriller: 2

By John Connolly

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The terrifying thriller from the acclaimed and bestselling author of Every Dead Thing

Charlie Parker returns in a gruesome new thriller, not to be missed for fans of Stephen King and Michael Connelly.

Still raw from the brutal slayings of his wife and daughter, and the events surrounding the capture of their killer, The Travelling Man, Charlie Parker retreats to the wintry Maine landscape of his childhood. By following in the steps of his beloved grandfather, Parker hopes to heal his spirit and get through the bitter anniversary of Jennifer and Susan's murder. But the echoes of the past that await him are not all benign. In a gruesome re-enactment of Parker's own nightmares, another young woman is killed with her child and his brief involvement in their lives impels Parker to hunt their vicious murderer. As the death toll mounts, Parker comes to realise that the true answer to the puzzle lies thirty years in the past, in a tree with strange fruit, in his own grandfather's history, and in the perverted desires of a monster incarnate - Caleb Kyle.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444704693
  • Publication date: 18 Feb 2010
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Despite the gore, this second novel is subtler and more complex than the best-selling EVERY DEAD THING. Connolly's lyrical language and occasional mystical passages are reminiscent of James Lee Burke. His hero is developing into a credible and sympathetic personality — Sunday Telegraph
Classic American detective fiction and of a very high order. — Bernard Cornwell, Mail on Sunday
This is an exciting thriller and Parker is an engaging hero. — Sunday Times