Brian D. McLaren - We Make the Road by Walking - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444703719
    • Publication date:18 Jun 2015
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444785944
    • Publication date:19 Jun 2014

We Make the Road by Walking

A Year-Long Quest for Spiritual Formation, Reorientation and Activation

By Brian D. McLaren

  • Paperback
  • £11.99

A year-long interactive walk through the Bible from widely acclaimed author of A New Kind of Christian Brian McLaren.

For over a decade, author and activist Brian McLaren has been challenging Christian leaders to explore what he calls a new kind of Christianity. In WE MAKE THE ROAD BY WALKING, McLaren offers a basic orientation on what it means to be a new kind of Christian, and how it might look to be alive in the way of Christ.

WE MAKE THE ROAD BY WALKING comes in the form of 52+ sermons, each one easily read aloud in ten to twelve minutes. Working with the framework of the church year, they provide a Genesis-to-Revelation overview of the Bible that can be used (together with a wide array of accompanying resources) in a variety of ways: a year of church services, a year of weekly dinner-dialogue gatherings, a year of classes or online interactions, a series of retreats, or simply a rich reading experience.

Biographical Notes

Brian McLaren is an internationally acclaimed speaker and outspoken advocate for 'a new kind of Christianity'. Named one of Time magazine's 25 most influential Evangelical Christians, McLaren was a pastor for over 20 years. He is a frequent guest on radio and television programmes, and an in-demand blogger on faith and public policy (brianmclaren.net). @brianmclaren

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444703702
  • Publication date: 19 Jun 2014
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
This could be an ideal resource for a church to use to travel the Christian year together; or the book you find being shared by a group in the home of someone who, you remember, used to be part of your church. — Revd Martin Wroe, Church Times
We Make the Road by Walking is a year's worth of innovative and refreshing reflections on scripture. . .I liked the accessibility and open-mindedness of McLaren's material. He encourages a participative form of Bible engagement in which new meanings are discovered and old meanings are appreciated afresh. The book is a very flexible resource that can be used individually or in groups, or as part of church services. — Christianity Magazine
We Make the Road by Walking (Hodder) is a year's worth of reflections on the Bible designed to fit with the Church's year ... a rich resource for spiritual growth. — Church of England Newspaper
Whether used on its own or as an enrichment of your other personal or small group reflections, "We Make the Road by Walking" provides excellent stimulation for holy conversation. — The United Methodist Reporter
A new book by Brian McLaren is never dull or predictable; he is a creative and imaginative wordsmith, who likes to stay close to the edge. The journey through the year with McLaren is a stimulating ride ... a beneficial spiritual exercise. — John Woods, Inspire Magazine

Rating: 4/5 Stars

This is arguably McLaren's most practical application of his theological approach. What I liked was his willingness to let people consider each story and wonder about its application for themselves. It isn't pushing a particular agenda, orthodox or unorthodox.

— Engage Magazine
It isn't the kind of book you can start at the beginning and read over a weekend. It is a pilgrimage. A journey. It's a book that if you click with it will sit next to you for the next year and be part of you and your life . . . It made me think in ways I'd not thought before, some things weren't mindblowing, some things made me stop. It's excellent as a starting place for journaling. — Birds Have Nests blog
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Autobiography

Derek Pringle
Authors:
Derek Pringle
John Murray Learning

The Oddysium

David Bramwell, Jo Keeling
Authors:
David Bramwell, Jo Keeling

Chambers

The Life of a Song Book 2

Jan Dalley, David Cheal
Authors:
Jan Dalley, David Cheal
Hodder & Stoughton

Alan Ball: The Man in White Boots

David Tossell
Authors:
David Tossell
Hodder & Stoughton

Rise Like Lions

Ben Okri
Authors:
Ben Okri

'Rise like Lions after slumber In unvanquishable number, Shake your chains to earth like dew Which in sleep had fallen on you - Ye are many - they are few.'(Shelley)Booker Prize winning writer Ben Okri chooses 100 poems that celebrate (in the broadest sense) the many voices of politics, from polemics to meditations, from Shakespeare to Grime.

Hodder & Stoughton

What We Talk about when We Talk about Faith

Peter Stanford
Authors:
Peter Stanford

John Murray Learning

Human Origins

Sceptre

Lost and Found

Jules Montague
Authors:
Jules Montague

If a loved one changes as a result of a brain disorder, are they still the same person? So begins a beautifully written and deeply moving book for our times, about who we become when our minds misbehave - from dementia to sleep disorders. Written by a leading neurologist, it is perfect for readers of Henry Marsh, Oliver Sacks and Stephen Grosz. Dr Jules Montague is a neurologist who spends her days helping people who are experiencing dementia other brain disorders. In Lost and Found, she explores what remains of the person left behind when the pieces of their mind go missing. Along the way she answers fascinating questions about how we remember, think and behave. Why do some memories endure and others fade? Why do you sometimes forget why you went into a room? And what if rather than losing memories, your mind creates false ones - are they still yours, and do they still make you, you?Yet there is more to identity than just memory. Who are we when we dream, fall unconscious or wake from a coma? What if our personality changes radically because of dementia or multiple personality disorder - are we still inherently the same person? And could a brain disorder awaken your creativity, release your talents, enhance your identity rather than damage it? Blending first-hand accounts from the author's day-to-day medical work with the latest thinking into what makes us who we are, this is an unforgettable book about how we lose ourselves and those around us - and how we can be found again.

Mulholland Books

The Strange Disappearance of a Bollywood Star

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan
Hodder & Stoughton

Never Go There: a gripping psychological thriller with a twist that'll shock you to the core

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly
Mulholland Books

Green Sun

Kent Anderson
Authors:
Kent Anderson

The acclaimed author of Night Dogs and Sympathy for the Devil returns with a blistering new novel.'Green Sun tells the unvarnished truth about what it is to be a cop in modern day America. I can give a suspense novel no higher compliment' James PattersonHanson thought he had witnessed the worst of humanity after a tour of duty in Vietnam and a stint as a cop in Oregon. Then he moves to Oakland, California to join the under-funded, understaffed police department. Hanson chooses to live - alone - in the precinct that he patrols; he, unlike the rest of the white officers, takes seriously his duty to serve and protect the black community of East Oakland.He will encounter prejudice and hate on both sides of the line... and struggle to keep true to himself against powerful opposition and personal danger. Green Sun is a raw, unflinching novel about America's divided cities and one man's divided soul.

John Murray

Sight

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass

It seemed, at times, an act of profound selfishness, to have a child so that I might become a parent; but selfish, too, to have a child and stay the same, or not to have one - unless the only honest choice would have been to try to become this kinder version of myself without the need to bring another into it . . .Sight is about X-rays, psychoanalysis, and the origins of modern surgery. It is about being a parent, and being a child. Fiercely intelligent, brilliantly written and suffused with something close to forgiveness, it is a novel about how we see others and how we imagine ourselves.

Mulholland Books

Rusty Puppy

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale

Hap and Leonard investigate a racially motivated murder that threatens to tear apart their East Texas town.Hap, a former 60s activist and self-proclaimed white trash rebel, is recovering from a life-threatening stab wound. He's hoping to take it easy, but then Louise Elton arrives with a job... Months earlier, a bully cop pulled over and sexually harassed Louise's daughter, Charm. When he started stalking her, her brother Jamar tried to get evidence on him. The next thing Louise knew, Jamar got in a fight and was killed by local hoods. It doesn't add up: he was a straight-A student, destined for better things, until he began to ask too many questions about the racist police force. Leonard, a tough black gay Vietnam vet and Republican, joins Hap in the investigation, and they stumble upon the racial divides that have shaped their Eastern Texas town. But if anyone can navigate these pitfalls and bring the killers to justice, it's them.Filled with Lansdale's trademark snappy dialogue, colourful characters, and relentless pacing, Rusty Puppy is Joe Lansdale at his page-turning best.

Hodder & Stoughton

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips

'Funny, bittersweet and touching. Will resonate with anyone who is "trying"' - MARIAN KEYES*********A hugely funny, searingly honest comedy about to expect when you're not expecting.Olivia and Felix are trying for a baby. They even moved to the suburbs in anticipation of their future family. But despite approaching her cycle and their sex life with military precision, there's still no sign of what felt like the sure next step, whilst friends' broods seem to be growing by the week. Meanwhile, vying for a promotion at work under the (very attentive) watch of a new boss sends Olivia down a dangerous road of risking it all. Does a happy ever after, she starts to question, even have to include a baby? This is standout, intelligently written commercial fiction for fans of Sharon Horgan's Catastrophe, Dawn O'Porter's The Cows and Mhairi McFarlane's It's Not Me, It's You.

Hodder & Stoughton

Curiosity House: The Fearsome Firebird (Book Three)

Lauren Oliver, H C Chester
Authors:
Lauren Oliver, H C Chester

In this third book in the exceptional Curiosity House mystery series by bestselling author Lauren Oliver and mysterious recluse H. C. Chester, four children must uncover the evil Nicholas Rattigan's newest dastardly scheme, wage war with a rival freak show, and deal with a spy who may have infiltrated their happy home.Sam, Philippa, Thomas, and Max have just started to recover from their capture and subsequent escape from Rattigan. But the children's lives don't stay quiet for long.A slew of bank robberies is terrorizing the city. And when Professor Farnum, the ringmaster of the museum's now immensely popular flea circus, is charged with murder, the search for the real killer uncovers a plot much bigger than any individual crime-a plot that can only be the work of Nicholas Rattigan.

Hodder & Stoughton

City of Masks

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes
Hodder Paperbacks

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle
Hodder & Stoughton

Fallout

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Sceptre

The Barrowfields

Phillip Lewis
Authors:
Phillip Lewis
Teach Yourself

Understand Ethics: Teach Yourself

Mel Thompson
Authors:
Mel Thompson