Ken Booth - International Relations: All That Matters - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444190014
    • Publication date:25 Jul 2014
Books in this series

International Relations: All That Matters

By Ken Booth

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Everybody these days needs to know about international relations, because their workings shape all our lives. This book, explaining the particular significance of the international level of world politics, offers a comprehensive, accessible, and challenging overview of what is at stake, and what you need to know.

World politics can be understood, simply, as Who Gets What, Where and How? (globally) to borrow a title from a famous old book by Harold Lasswell. International relations are a critical level in that business of determining who gets what across the world. Decisive things take place at the international level, and they directly or indirectly affect all our lives: war, trade, and the provision (or not) of human rights for example. This is why the practice of international relations matter. The reason academic International Relations matter is because it is the subject that asks the most fundamental questions about the politics of who gets what and how, and in the biggest political arena of all.

Biographical Notes

Ken Booth is a well-renowned expert in the field who has given talks in nearly 30 countries and his work has been translated into 10 languages. He won the 'Susan Strange Award' which recognises 'a person whose singular intellect, assertiveness, and insight most challenge conventional wisdom and intellectual and organizational complacency in the international studies community'. He is currently Senior Research Associate in the Department of International Politics, Aberystwyth University where he was formerly E.H. Carr Professor and Head of the Department and is a Fellow of the British Academy.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444190038
  • Publication date: 25 Jul 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
John Murray

Farsighted

Steven Johnson
Authors:
Steven Johnson
Coronet

Safe: How to stay safe in a dangerous world

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
John Murray

Empire of Democracy

Simon Reid-Henry
Authors:
Simon Reid-Henry
Hodder & Stoughton

The Soul of Power

Callie Bates
Authors:
Callie Bates

Magic. Romance. Music. The riveting conclusion to The Waking Land trilogy.Sophy Dunbarron has always felt like an imposter. Separated from her birth mother, raised by parents mourning the loss of their true daughter and unacknowledged by her absent father, Sophy only desires one thing: a place and a family to call her own.But fate has other ideas in mind. Caught up in Elanna Valtai's revolution, Sophy has been crowned queen - a role she has been groomed her whole life to fill.But wearing a crown is quite different to keeping a crown. With an influx of magic-bearing refugees pouring in across the border, resources already thinned by war are stretched to the breaking point. Half the nobility in her court want her deposed, and the other half question her every decision. And every third person seems to be spontaneously manifesting magical powers.When Elanna is captured and taken to Paladis, Sophy's last ally vanishes, and she is left to navigate a political maze that becomes more complex and thorny by the day. And worse, Sophy is hiding a huge secret, which, if discovered, could destroy her tenuous hold on the crown.

Mulholland Books

Deception Cove

Owen Laukkanen
Authors:
Owen Laukkanen

From the acclaimed author of the Gale Force comes a compelling new thriller for fans of CJ Box and David Baldacci.Widowed while deployed overseas, former US Marine Jess Winslow reenters civilian life with little more than a falling-down house, a medical discharge for PTSD, and a dog - Lucy, a black and white pitbull mix trained to help Jess cope with the crippling memories of her time in Afghanistan. But Jess also inherits a heap of trouble, of her late husband Ty's making. A corrupt deputy sheriff comes looking for a mysterious package - and leaves with Lucy, threatening to have the dog destroyed unless Jess delivers the goods allegedly stolen by her husband before his untimely death.The next person to appear on her doorstep is a newly released ex-convict. Surprisingly, he's there to help. The only good thing to come of Mason Burke's fifteen years in prison was the dog he trained there for a service-animal program - Lucy. She helped keep him sane; now he'll stop at nothing to keep her safe. Forced into an uneasy alliance in order to save Lucy, Jess and Mason must learn to trust each other. But finding Ty's package is only the start of their battle. To avoid becoming collateral damage in someone else's private war, they'll have to fight back - and conquer their own doubts and fears. DECEPTION COVE is a gripping story of survival and redemption set in the Pacific Northwest's most beautiful and most dangerous coastal terrain.

John Murray

Surprise, Kill, Vanish

Annie Jacobsen
Authors:
Annie Jacobsen
Hodder & Stoughton

How to Hold a Grudge

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

'Hannah is entertaining company and the book is even more amusing...' The Times'Hannah is excellent on how to embrace our grudges, nurture them and use them to become a better person' GraziaWhat if grudges are not just good for us but great?How often have you held a grudge and felt guilty about it? 'Forgive and move on' is the received wisdom, and that's what many of us try to do. Positive thinking is essential for a happy life, but how we get to that positive is even more crucial. What if grudges can ward off danger, and help us live better lives?What if they can act as stepping stones, pointing us in the right direction? This ultimate guide will give you all the tools you need to analyse, process and embrace your grudges in order to be your best possible self.** How to Hold a Grudge - The Podcast now available for download! Check out Grudge of the Week, and discover the latest Grudge Music **

Hodder Paperbacks

Rise Like Lions

Ben Okri
Authors:
Ben Okri

In Rise Like Lions, Booker Prize winning writer Ben Okri has compiled a collection of poems that celebrate the many voices of politics, from polemics and rallying cries to lyrics and meditations. Many of these poems have resonated with readers over lifetimes and through generations, from William Blake to Marvin Gaye. In exploring the impact political poems have on ideas, vision, protest, change and truth, Okri demonstrates how the need for this strand of poetry is as great as it has ever been, and its inspiration just as powerful.

Teach Yourself

The Ultimate Negotiation Book

Peter Fleming, Mo Shapiro, Di McLanachan
Authors:
Peter Fleming, Mo Shapiro, Di McLanachan

If you want to be the best, you have to have the right skillset. From influencing and persuading to choosing a negotiating style and using NLP, THE ULTIMATE NEGOTIATION BOOK is a dynamic collection of tools, techniques, and strategies for success. Discover the main themes and key ideas, and bring it all together with practical exercises.This is your complete course in negotiation. ABOUT THE SERIESULTIMATE books are for managers, leaders, and business executives who want to succeed at work. From marketing and sales to management and finance, each title gives comprehensive coverage of the essential business skills you need to get ahead in your career. Written in straightforward English, each book is designed to help you quickly master the subject, with fun quizzes embedded so that you can check how you're doing.

John Murray

Rise and Kill First

Ronen Bergman
Authors:
Ronen Bergman
Sceptre

A Shout in the Ruins

Kevin Powers
Authors:
Kevin Powers
John Murray

How Britain Really Works

Stig Abell
Authors:
Stig Abell
Hodder & Stoughton

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder & Stoughton

Operation Thunderbolt

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David
John Murray Learning

Facon de Parler 1

Angela Aries, Dominique Debney
Authors:
Angela Aries, Dominique Debney
Hodder Paperbacks

A Line in the Sand

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

In a village on the Suffolk coast, Frank Perry waits for his past to arrive. A decade before he spied for the Government on the Iranian chemical and biological weapon installations. His information damaged their killing capacity for years.Now, Iran will have its revenge and has despatched their most deadly assassin to fulfil the task. Codenamed the Anvil, he will move with stealth towards his chosen objective unless Perry's protectors can reach him first.As he draws nearer, the ring of steel around Perry grows tighter. But against a faceless adversary, and with the job fatally compromised by the stifling political bureaucracy surrounding it, there seems little chance that the past will not have its day once more...

Hodder & Stoughton

Modern Japan: All That Matters

Jonathan Clements
Authors:
Jonathan Clements
Teach Yourself

The Beating OCD Workbook: Teach Yourself

Stephanie Fitzgerald
Authors:
Stephanie Fitzgerald

Are you suffering from OCD?Do you want to learn techniques for overcoming destructive rituals or troubling thoughts?Would you like lasting strategies to help you stay free of OCD for good?This workbook provides an interactive course of CBT to tackle OCD. It doesn't just tell you how to feel better -- by using diagnostic tests, practical exercises and thought challenges, it will show you how to feel better. The coverage includes all the forms and presentations of OCD, while the exercises and support throughout will give you a feeling of real progress. Helpful sections for relatives on how to help you best will all go towards preventing future relapses and help you to regain control of your life for good."A great CBT workbook to guide towards OCD recovery" - Ashley Fulwood, Chief Executive of www.OCDUK.org

Teach Yourself

Complete Korean (Learn Korean with Teach Yourself)

Mark Vincent, Jaehoon Yeon
Authors:
Mark Vincent, Jaehoon Yeon
Teach Yourself

Get Started in Beginner's Hindi: Teach Yourself (New Edition)

Rupert Snell
Authors:
Rupert Snell

If you are an absolute beginner or simply looking for a solid foundation to your language studies for school, work or travel, this engaging course will help get you on your way to speaking, writing, reading and understanding Hindi in no time. Through culture notes, clear language presentations, and extensive practice and review, you will pick up the Hindi you need to communicate naturally in everyday situations - from shopping and travelling to food and daily life.Engaging with our interactive Discovery Method, you'll absorb language rules faster, remember what you learn easily, and put your Hindi into use with confidence.Get Started in Hindi has a learner-centered approach that incorporates the following features:- Outcomes-based approach - focus your learning with clear goals- Learn to learn - tips and skills on how to be a better language learner- Discovery method -- figure out rules and patterns for yourself to make the language stick- Self-check and test yourself - see and assess your own progress - Personalization - use the language in real situations