Dorothy L Sayers - The Documents in the Case - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473621343
    • Publication date:25 Aug 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848943704
    • Publication date:15 Oct 2009

The Documents in the Case

By Dorothy L Sayers

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The best of the golden age crime writers, praised by all the top modern writers in the field including P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, Dorothy L. Sayers created the immortal Lord Peter Wimsey. But in this thrilling murder story she tells her story instead through the letters of the victim and the suspects. With an introduction by Elizabeth George.

The bed was broken and tilted grotesquely sideways. Harrison was sprawled over in a huddle of soiled blankets. His mouth was twisted . . .
Harrison had been an expert on deadly mushrooms. How was it then that he had eaten a large quantity of death-dealing muscarine? Was it an accident? Suicide? Or murder?
The documents in the case seemed to be a simple collection of love notes and letters home. But they concealed a clue to the brilliant murderer who baffled the best minds in London.

'She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller.' Minette Walters

Biographical Notes

Dorothy L Sayers was born in Oxford in 1893, and was both a classical scholar and a graduate in modern languages. As well as her popular Lord Peter Wimsey series, she wrote several religious plays, but considered her translations of Dante's Divina Commedia to be her best work. She died in 1957.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780450002434
  • Publication date: 01 Dec 1984
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Her books are English Literature at its best. Her plots are finely tuned and her Lord Peter Wimsey is delightful — The Times (letter)
She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit. — P. D. James
I admire her novels . . . she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail — Ruth Rendell
'She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller.' — Minette Walters
Mulholland Books

The Shadows We Hide

Allen Eskens
Authors:
Allen Eskens
Mulholland Books

The Forbidden Place

Susanne Jansson
Authors:
Susanne Jansson

In the North Swedish wetlands lies Mossmarken: the village on the edge of the mire where, once upon a time, people came to leave offerings to the gods. Biologist Nathalie came in order to study the peat bogs. But she has a secret: Mossmarken was once her home, a place where terrible things happened. She has returned at last, determined to confront her childhood trauma and find out the truth.Soon after her arrival, she finds an unconscious man out on the marsh, his pockets filled with gold - just like the ancient human sacrifices. A grave is dug in the mire, which vanishes a day after. And as the police investigate, the bodies start to surface...Is the mire calling out for sacrifices, as the superstitious locals claim? Or is it an all-too-human evil?An international sensation, THE FORBIDDEN PLACE is a darkly gripping tale of the stories we tell ourselves to survive, and the terrible consequences they can have.

Hodder & Stoughton

Wildfire at Midnight

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart leads her readers on an unforgettable ride across the Isle of Skye in this tale perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. Following a heart-breaking divorce, Gianetta retreats to the Isle of Skye hoping to find tranquillity in the island's savage beauty. But shortly before her arrival a girl's body is found on the craggy slopes of the looming Blue Mountain, and with the murderer still on the loose, there's nothing to stop him from setting his sights on Gianetta next . . .One arrogant wing of rock thrust itself across the sun, flinging a diagonal shadow over the bay. My eye was drawn to the great lonely bulk of the mountain in the east, stooping over the valley like a hawk. Blaven. The Blue Mountain.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd

Sceptre

The Last of the Greenwoods

Clare Morrall
Authors:
Clare Morrall
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder Paperbacks

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

'Davis's prose is a lively joy, and Flavia's Rome is sinister and gloriously real' The Times on SaturdayFlavia Albia's day-old marriage is in trouble - her new husband may be permanently disabled and they have no funds. So when Palace officials ask her to expose a traitor in their midst she is ready for the task. Ever since the Emperor Nero committed suicide in AD 68, Rome has been haunted by reports that he is actually alive and ready to reclaim his throne. Two Nero pretenders have emerged from the East and met grisly fates. But now a new pretender has been smuggled into Rome by the traitor. Flavia must negotiate with spies, dodge assassins and reveal this third Nero before he can make his move. Will she act in time or will Rome once more be plunged into civil war?

Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King

In this spectacular father/son collaboration, Stephen King and Owen King tell the highest of high-stakes stories: what might happen if women disappeared from the world of men?All around the world, something is happening to women when they fall asleep; they become shrouded in a cocoon-like gauze. If awakened, if the gauze wrapping their bodies is disturbed, the women become feral and spectacularly violent...In the small town of Dooling, West Virginia, the virus is spreading through a women's prison, affecting all the inmates except one. Soon, word spreads about the mysterious Evie, who seems able to sleep - and wake. Is she a medical anomaly or a demon to be slain? The abandoned men, left to their increasingly primal devices, are fighting each other, while Dooling's Sheriff, Lila Norcross, is just fighting to stay awake.And the sleeping women are about to open their eyes to a new world altogether...

Mulholland Books

The Alienist

Caleb Carr
Authors:
Caleb Carr
Hodder & Stoughton

The Legacy

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Hodder & Stoughton

The Graveyard of the Hesperides

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

From renowned author Lindsey Davis, creator of the much-loved character, Marcus Didius Falco and his friends and family, comes the fourth novel in her all-new series set in ancient Rome.Life is sweet for Flavia Albia and her soon-to-be husband Faustus. But his new job as a building contractor runs into a problem: At the Garden of the Hesperides a barmaid went missing years before; now the workmen start unearthing her bones.Albia takes on the task of finding out what happened. Five more skeletons are discovered. Despite the fact that nobody seems to know or care who died, violent attempts are made to stop her enquiries.Soon Albia is exploring the world of Roman streetlife, where bars are brothels, workers lead brutal lives, foreigners are muscling in on the gambling syndicates, and extortion is commonplace. What's more there's little time to solve the mystery before the wedding day when Albia is expected to show Rome that her affair with Manlius is a much more than a casual fling. The gods, however, have other ideas...(P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Striding Folly

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Three of Lord Peter Wimsey's most baffling cases demonstrate his unique detection skills at their most spectacular.The engima of a house numbered thirteen in a street of even numbers; an indignant child accused of theft, a dream about a game of chess that uncovers the true story behind a violent death. Each of the stories introduces a different side of the twentieth century's most ingenious detective hero.This book also features a biographical essay by Janet Hitchman, Sayers' first biographer.'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail' P. D. James (P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

In the Teeth of the Evidence

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Busman's Honeymoon

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Gaudy Night

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college. Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back . . .At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters obscene graffiti, poison pen letters and a disgusting effigy when she arrives at sedate Shrewsbury College for the 'Gaudy' celebrations.But soon, Harriet realises that she is not the only target of this murderous malice - and asks Lord Peter Wimsey to help.'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail' P. D. James(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Thrones, Dominations

Dorothy L Sayers, Jill Paton Walsh
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers, Jill Paton Walsh

It is 1936 and Lord Peter Wimsey has returned from his honeymoon to set up home with his cherished new wife, the novelist Harriet Vane. As they become part of fashionable London society they encounter the glamorous socialite Rosamund Harwell and her wealthy impressario husband Laurence. Unlike the Wimseys, they are not in love - and all too soon, one of them is dead. A murder case that only Lord Peter Wimsey can solve.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Presumption of Death

Jill Paton Walsh, Dorothy L Sayers, Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Jill Paton Walsh, Dorothy L Sayers, Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder Paperbacks

Madam, Will You Talk?

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

This Rough Magic

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

Lord Peter Views the Body

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder Paperbacks

Clouds of Witness

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.The Duke of Denver, accused of murder, stands trial for his life in the House of Lords.Naturally, his brother Lord Peter Wimsey is investigating the crime - this is a family affair. The murder took place at the duke's shooting lodge and Lord Peter's sister was engaged to marry the dead man.But why does the duke refuse to co-operate with the investigation? Can he really be guilty, or is he covering up for someone?