Dorothy L Sayers - Murder Must Advertise - Hodder & Stoughton

Murder Must Advertise

Lord Peter Wimsey Book 10

By Dorothy L Sayers

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The classic British detective series featuring amateur sleuth Lord Peter Wimsey.

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.

Victor Dean fell to his death on the stairs of Pym's Advertising Agency, but no one seems to be sorry. Until an inquisitive new copywriter joins the firm and asks some awkward questions...
Disguised as his disreputable cousin Death Bredon, Lord Peter Wimsey takes a job - one that soon draws him into a vicious network of blackmailers and drug pedlars.
Five people will die before Wimsey unravels a sinister and deadly plot.

Biographical Notes

Dorothy L Sayers was born in Oxford in 1893, and was both a classical scholar and a graduate in modern languages. As well as her popular Lord Peter Wimsey series, she wrote several religious plays, but considered her translations of Dante's Divina Commedia to be her best work. She died in 1957.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780450002427
  • Publication date: 01 Sep 1983
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit. — P.D. James
Dorothy L Sayers is one of the best detective story writers. — E. C. Bentley, Daily Telegraph
I admire her novels ... she has a great fertility of invention, ingenuity, and a wonderful eye for detail. — Ruth Rendell
A truly great storyteller. — Minette Walters
Hodder & Stoughton

Many Rivers to Cross

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

The twenty-sixth instalment of the internationally bestselling DCI Banks series. When the body of a teenage boy is found stuffed into a wheely bin on the East Side Estate, Banks and Annie have a homegrown murder case to solve. But Banks's attention is also on Zelda, who in helping him track down his old enemy, has put herself in danger and alerted the stonecold Eastern Europea sex traffickers who brought her to the UK. Praise for the DCI Banks series:'Robinson remains the master of the police procedural.' Mail on Sunday'Robinson is prolific, but with each book he manages to ring the changes.' Guardian'His novels track the changing nature of crime, taking on difficult subjects such as gangs of men who groom underage girls, and the new book tackles the contentious subject of widening inequality.' The Sunday Times

Hodder & Stoughton

Stone Mothers

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Mulholland Books

The Stranger Inside

Laura Benedict
Authors:
Laura Benedict

'Absorbing, addictive and downright chilling' Alison Gaylin.Fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR will love this gripping thriller.There's a stranger in your house. And he knows your biggest secret.When Kimber Hannon returns home from a work trip, she's ready to kick back and relax on the sofa. But on reaching the front door, she is shocked to discover that her key no longer works and there's a man in the bedroom window. Kimber calls the police, but the intruder tells them he's renting the house. Her neighbour corroborates his story and it is Kimber who is forced to leave. But before she does, the stranger whispers 'I was there. I saw what you did.'These words reveal a connection to Kimber's distant past, and dark secrets she'd long ago left buried. Her trespasser isn't after anything as simple as her money or her home. He wants to move into her carefully orchestrated life - and destroy it.**************Praise for The Stranger Inside'Laura Benedict turns her unique voice in suspense to this elegant scary mystery, where nothing is as it seems and one woman's truth is shattered by the hidden secrets of her past.' J.T. Ellison, New York Times bestselling author of Lie to Me'Compelling characters, lush settings, complex emotions-all in a clever plot and spiced with a hint of darkness . . . But a warning: once you pick it up, you will yield your life to the power of a great storyteller' Carolyn Haines, bestselling author of The House of Memory (P)2019 Hachette Audio

Mulholland Books

Cold Bones

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder Paperbacks

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Mulholland Books

The Shadows We Hide

Allen Eskens
Authors:
Allen Eskens

The stunning new novel from the bestselling author of The Life We Bury.A young reporter must come to terms with his past - and present - while investigating the murder of a man he believes could be his father.Joe Talbert, Jr. has never once met his namesake. Now out of college, a cub reporter for the Associated Press in Minneapolis, he stumbles across a story describing the murder of a man named Joseph Talbert in a small town in southern Minnesota. Full of curiosity about whether this man might be his father, Joe is shocked to find that none of the town's residents have much to say about the dead man - other than that his death was long overdue. Joe discovers that the dead man was a loathsome lowlife who cheated his neighbors, threatened his daughter, and squandered his wife's inheritance after she, too, passed away - an inheritance that may now be Joe's. Mired in uncertainty and plagued by his own devastated relationship with his mother, who is seeking get back into her son's life, Joe must put together the missing pieces of his family history - before his quest for discovery threatens to put him in a grave of his own.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

'Rich with descriptive detail and emotional nuance. Several alternating plot threads unspool at length, all of which weave tightly together with pleasing inevitability . . . What has been said before deserves repeating: From suspense to social commentary, from violence to pathos, from villainy to possible redemption, Ms. George can do it all, with style.' Wall Street JournalWhen a Member of Parliament shows up at New Scotland Yard requesting an investigation into the suicide of the son of one of his constituents in the beautiful town of Ludlow, the Assistant Commissioner sees two opportunities in this request: the first is to have an MP owing him a favour, and the second is to get rid of Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers, whose career at the Met has been hanging by a thread for quite some time. So he assigns Havers to the case and for good measure partners her with the one person who shares his wish to see the back of her, Detective Chief Superintendent Isabelle Ardery.But Ardery has her own difficulties. She is not happy to be sent away from London and as a result is in a rush to return. This causes her to overlook certain uncomfortable facts. Soon, the case is opened again and this time, it is Lynley who must accompany Havers to Ludlow, with little more than a week to save the Met's reputation and Barbara's job. And the more they investigate, the more it looks as if the suicide was part of a much more sinister pattern of events.

Mulholland Books

Take Me In

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant

A hot beach. A young family on holiday. A fatal moment of inattention...And now Dave Jepsom is in their lives.Dave Jepsom, with his muscles, his pale eyes, his expressionless face.He saved their child. How can they ever repay him? Especially as what he seems to want in return is everything.He's in the streets they walk down. He's at the office where they work. He's at their front door, leaning on the bell...If only they could go back. Back to when the lies were still hidden. Before the holiday, before the beach, before the moment that changed everything.Before Dave.But it's never how it starts that matters. It's always how it ends.'This class act of a novel is unputdownable.' Heat'Fabulous stuff from one of our finest thriller writers' Sunday Mirror'Sabine Durrant doesn't mess around: she's a cool, confident writer who knows exactly how to get into your psyche. Need a reminder of what makes thrillers great? Read this.' Emerald Street'An ingeniously plotted drama with an ending you won't see coming.' Good Housekeeping'I absolutely LOVED it - it's her best yet.' India Knight

Hodder & Stoughton

The Moscow Deception

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Mother

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
John Murray

Nobody Walks

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

'A first-rate modern thriller' Daily MailShortlisted for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger AwardTom Bettany is working at a meat processing plant in France when he gets a voicemail telling him that his estranged 26-year-old son is dead - Liam Bettany fell from his London balcony, where he was smoking pot.Now for the first time since he cut all ties years ago, Bettany returns home to London to find out the truth about his son's death. But more than a few people are interested to hear Bettany is back in town, from incarcerated mob bosses to those in the highest echelons of MI5. And some of them - like JK Coe - will have cause to regret his reappearance.Bettany might have thought he'd left it all behind when he first skipped town, but nobody ever really walks away.

Hodder & Stoughton

Dandy Gilver and a Most Misleading Habit

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Hodder & Stoughton

Striding Folly

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

Three of Lord Peter Wimsey's most baffling cases demonstrate his unique detection skills at their most spectacular.The engima of a house numbered thirteen in a street of even numbers; an indignant child accused of theft, a dream about a game of chess that uncovers the true story behind a violent death. Each of the stories introduces a different side of the twentieth century's most ingenious detective hero.This book also features a biographical essay by Janet Hitchman, Sayers' first biographer.'I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail' P. D. James (P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

In the Teeth of the Evidence

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Busman's Honeymoon

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Gaudy Night

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

The Nine Tailors

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers
Hodder & Stoughton

Dandy Gilver and the Unpleasantness in the Ballroom

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.Glasgow,1932, is a city in the grip of dance-fever. Public ballrooms and backstreet dancehalls are thronged every night and competition for professional titles is fierce. Even after the sudden death of one of last year's hopefuls there are plenty willing to take his place, and few who stop to wonder why he died.In the melting pot of the Locarno Ballroom in Sauchiehall Street, a debutante rubs shoulders with denizens of Glasgow's meanest streets, her respectable fiancé oblivious, her parents dismayed.When she starts receiving threats from a rival, they grow frantic enough to call on Dandy Gilver to save their precious daughter from harm.But as Dandy and her sidekick, Alec Osborne, begin to unravel the secrets of the dancehall, they soon discover that the rot goes much deeper than rivalry and there's more at stake than a silver cup. Despite the pretty frocks and dancing shoes, this apparently glittering world is a darker place than they've ever been before . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Afraid

Mandasue Heller
Authors:
Mandasue Heller
Hodder Paperbacks

Five Red Herrings

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers