Dorothy L Sayers - The Nine Tailors - Hodder & Stoughton

The Nine Tailors

Lord Peter Wimsey Book 11

By Dorothy L Sayers

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The classic British detective series featuring amateur sleuth Lord Peter Wimsey.

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.

When his sexton finds a corpse in the wrong grave, the rector of Fenchurch St Paul asks Lord Peter Wimsey to find out who the dead man was and how he came to be there.
The lore of bell-ringing and a brilliantly-evoked village in the remote fens of East Anglia are the unforgettable background to a story of an old unsolved crime and its violent unravelling twenty years later.

Biographical Notes

Dorothy L Sayers was born in Oxford in 1893, and was both a classical scholar and a graduate in modern languages. As well as her popular Lord Peter Wimsey series, she wrote several religious plays, but considered her translations of Dante's Divina Commedia to be her best work. She died in 1957.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780450001000
  • Publication date: 01 Sep 1959
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit. — P.D. James
Dorothy L Sayers is one of the best detective story writers. — E. C. Bentley, Daily Telegraph
I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail. — Ruth Rendell
A truly great storyteller. — Minette Walters