Jojo Moyes - The Last Letter from Your Lover - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848946774
    • Publication date:08 Jul 2010

The Last Letter from Your Lover

By Jojo Moyes

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Spanning forty years, two women's stories of love, loss and betrayal are intertwined in this perfect reading group novel.

The 2011 Romantic Novel of the Year, from the bestselling author of Me Before You.

When journalist Ellie looks through her newspaper's archives for a story, she doesn't think she'll find anything of interest. Instead she discovers a letter from 1960, written by a man asking his lover to leave her husband - and Ellie is caught up in the intrigue of a past love affair. Despite, or perhaps because of her own romantic entanglements with a married man.

In 1960, Jennifer wakes up in hospital after a car accident. She can't remember anything - her husband, her friends, who she used to be. And then, when she returns home, she uncovers a hidden letter, and begins to remember the lover she was willing to risk everything for.

Ellie and Jennifer's stories of passion, adultery and loss are wound together in this richly emotive novel - interspersed with real 'last letters'.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340961643
  • Publication date: 03 Feb 2011
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
I lost myself completely in THE LAST LETTER FROM YOUR LOVER, I totally adored it. Utterly compulsive and swooningly romantic, it's just perfect. — Jenny Colgan
An utterly absorbing and blissfully romantic read. — Daily Telegraph
A fabulous, emotional and evocative book - perfect for anyone who loves Mad Men — Sophie Kinsella
A gorgeously romantic and partner-ignoringly compulsive read. — Independent on Sunday
John Murray

Rockadoon Shore

Rory Gleeson
Authors:
Rory Gleeson

'Rockadoon Shore is terrific' Roddy Doyle'One of the most exciting Irish storytellers to have emerged in years' Gavin CorbettCath is worried about her friends. DanDan is struggling with the death of his ex, Lucy is drinking way too much and Steph has become closed off. A weekend away is just what they need so they travel out to Rockadoon Lodge, to the wilds in the west of Ireland. But the weekend doesn't go to plan. JJ is more concerned with getting high than spending time with them, while Merc is humiliated and seeks revenge. And with long-ignored tensions now out in the open, their elderly neighbour Malachy arrives on their doorstep with a gun in his hands . . .Honest, moving and human, Rockadoon Shore is a novel about friendship and youth, about missed opportunities and lost love, and about the realities of growing up and growing old in modern-day Ireland. Highly energetic and tensely humorous, it heralds a new and exciting voice in contemporary Irish fiction.

John Murray

Imaging

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass

Sceptre

City of Circles

Jess Richards
Authors:
Jess Richards
Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall
Hodder & Stoughton

A City of Bells

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

When Dimple Met Rishi

Sandhya Menon
Authors:
Sandhya Menon

The arranged-marriage YA romcom you didn't know you wanted or needed...Meet Dimple.Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.Meet Rishi.He's rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she's got other plans...Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI is a frothy, funny contemporary romance set at a coding convention in San Francisco over one exciting summer. Told from the dual perspectives of two Indian American protagonists, Dimple is fighting her family traditions while Rishi couldn't be happier to follow in the footsteps of his parents. Could sparks fly between this odd couple, or is this matchmaking attempt doomed to fail?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Bird in the Tree

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

Flavia Albia's day-old marriage is in trouble - her new husband may be permanently disabled and they have no funds. So when Palace officials ask her to help expose a plotter in their midst she is obliged to accept their commission. The plot could not be bigger. Ever since he died in AD 68, apparently by his own hand, Rome has been haunted by reports that the Emperor Nero is in fact very much alive and about to return to claim his throne. Two Nero pretenders have emerged in the East and met grisly fates. But now, as the Emperor Domitian, whose tyrannical, paranoid reign grows ever more unpopular, fights a war in faraway Dacia, there emerges a far more sinister contender. What's more the rumour is that this false Nero is already in Rome. Plunged into the conspiracy, Flavia must infiltrate the house of the Parthians who have smuggled in this new impostor, negotiate with spies, dodge the assassins sent by the Palace traitor, and somehow cope with her stricken husband.Can she succeed before the impostor is revealed? Or will Rome once more be plunged into civil war?(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
Hodder Paperbacks

Before I Fall

Lauren Oliver
Authors:
Lauren Oliver
Hodder & Stoughton

Lean On Me

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

Whatever happens to those kids at school who are always being tipped to be stars in adult life?It's a question all of us find ourselves asking at some time and Mike Gayle's powerful, poignant novel answers it with regard to Danny Morgan and James McManus - rivals for top honours in everything throughout their school years in Birmingham.Whatever their friends and teachers might have expected, neither Danny nor James is currently running the country.Depressed and unemployed, Danny is facing an ultimatum from his girlfriend Maya: if he doesn't get out and get a job, she's leaving.It was an accident that changed James's life and now he is looked after affectionately by his parents. But his sister Martha believes that the role of full-time carers is destroying their lives - and infantilising her brother.She suggests that James should go into a respite home while her parents take a break.The respite home, as it turns out, where Danny has just got a job.What is the path that has brought these two people to this unexpected place, and where will it take them next?This is the story of Danny and James, but also of the families who love them and of the women they love. It is a story of many surprising twists, by turns funny and sad, painful and uplifting, and marks a brilliant new stage in the writing career of one of Britain's favourite novelists.

Hodder & Stoughton

Secrets at the Little Village School

Gervase Phinn
Authors:
Gervase Phinn
Hodder & Stoughton

Bertie's Gift: the perfect feel-good read!

Hannah Coates
Authors:
Hannah Coates

This is the inspirational story of how one cheeky little dog, his sister and two grumpy cats save a family.'If you love animals, you will adore this gorgeous book' - MILLY JOHNSON'Charming, touching - an absolute gift of a book!' - KATIE FFORDE'The perfect feel-good read!' - MANDY BAGGOTBertie is alone, devastated after his beloved sister and fellow beagle Molly is adopted, leaving him behind. When Bertie is taken in by the Green family, it seems he's finally found a place to call home...Yet Bertie swiftly realises that the kind and loving Green family is in crisis. After a tragedy two years ago, they've never recovered, and with Christmas approaching, grief is pulling them apart. Never has a four-legged friend been more in need - and brave, warm-hearted Bertie must rise to the challenge. Can he enlist the help of hostile felines Kitty and Rico to help him find Molly - and can he bring the Green family back together again, all in time for Christmas?

Hodder & Stoughton

Holding

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton
Hodder & Stoughton

Mr Gandy's Grand Tour

Alan Titchmarsh
Authors:
Alan Titchmarsh

Timothy Gandy has kept his lifetime's ambition secret for forty years.Now, suddenly (if tragically) released from the hen-pecked tedium of his ordinary existence, he is unexpectedly free to realize his dreams.He will embark on a Grand Tour of Europe, following in the footsteps of the aristocrats of the eighteenth century.He anticipates high art, culture and pleasant weather. He never expected to encounter new friendships - and possibly even love - along the way. It seems that Mr Gandy has embarked on the journey of a lifetime...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Real Liddy James

Anne-Marie Casey
Authors:
Anne-Marie Casey

'Witty, clever, elegantly-written, fascinating and wise' Marian KeyesEveryone who meets her thinks they know Liddy James.A single mother of two, she is one of New York City's top lawyers (with the ruthless reputation and capsule wardrobe to match) and seems to juggle her complicated life with ease. Her work is all-consuming, her divorce was devastating, her sons are playing up and she's forgotten what more than five hours sleep a night feels like, but still - here she is - on top of the high wire.Until she isn't.When a series of unexpected events culminate in a catastrophic incident on prime time TV, Liddy realises the act is over. She decides to take some time off with the boys and retrace her family's history in Ireland. But being marooned in the Celtic countryside is by no means an instant fix, and it is not until Liddy has encountered a stormy neighbour, an unorthodox wedding and a very surprising guest, that she remembers how to be The Real Liddy James.

John Murray

The Good Guy

Susan Beale
Authors:
Susan Beale
Hodder & Stoughton

Foreign Fruit

Jojo Moyes
Authors:
Jojo Moyes
Hodder & Stoughton

Sheltering Rain

Jojo Moyes
Authors:
Jojo Moyes
Hodder & Stoughton

The Ballroom Class

Lucy Dillon
Authors:
Lucy Dillon