Richard Blake - Conspiracies of Rome (Death of Rome Saga Book One) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848948273
    • Publication date:11 Dec 2009

Conspiracies of Rome (Death of Rome Saga Book One)

By Richard Blake

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The first book in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

Perfect for readers of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane, Conspiracies of Rome is the thrilling first book in the new seven-part DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

Rome, 609 AD.
Empire is a fading memory. Repeatedly fought over and plundered, the City is falling into ruins. Killers prowl by night. Far off, in Constantinople, the Emperor has other concerns as The Church is beginning to flex its own imperial muscle.

Enter Aelric of England: young and beautiful, sexually uninhibited, heroic, if ruthlessly violent - and hungry for the learning of a world that is dying around him.

A deadly brawl outside Rome sucks him straight into the high politics of Empire. Soon, Aelric is involved in a race against time to find answers before he ends up as just another corpse in the gutter.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a lecturer, historian, broadcaster and writer who lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340951132
  • Publication date: 08 Jan 2009
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot and I enjoyed it very much. — Derek Jacobi, star of I, Claudius and Gladiator
The best historical novel I have ever read. — L. Neil Smith
I can't resist recommending this first volume of a promised trilogy. Set during the last pangs of Imperial Rome, with a vivid account of the machinations of the early Church, it is well-informed, atmospheric and beautifully written. — Literary Review
An enjoyable read. — Historical Novel Society
Hodder & Stoughton

The Bone Fire

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes

The brand new Oswald de Lacy thriller, for fans of C.J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S.J. Parris.It's 1361 and Plague has returned to England. In an attempt to flee the approaching danger, Oswald de Lacy escorts his family from their estate of Somershill in Kent, to a remote island castle situated in the tidal mud flats of Romney Marsh. It seems the de Lacys have kept one step ahead of the contagion, but soon they discover that this castle is no safe haven from death.As a murderer strikes, they find themselves trapped in this lonely outpost with a killer - somebody who must be one of their fellow guests. But who? Each of the other guests is a fugitive from the Plague. But each has a secret to hide, and each has a reason to kill. The body count rises, but nobody can leave. Plague has now reached the marsh and is surrounding the castle.Cut off from the mainland and encircled by the horrors of the pestilence, Oswald is in the fight of his life. Protect his family and find the killer in the midst of this small and poisonous community, or leave and risk falling prey to the Plague.

Hodder & Stoughton

This is Gomorrah

Tom Chatfield
Authors:
Tom Chatfield
Hodder & Stoughton

Don't Say a Word

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly
Mulholland Books

Willing to Die

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

Stone Mothers

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

You can't keep the secret.You can't tell the truth.You can't escape the past...Marianne was seventeen when she fled her home, her family, her boyfriend Jesse and the body they buried. Now, forced to return, she can feel the past closing around her. And Jesse, who never forgave her for leaving, is finally threatening to expose the truth. Marianne will do anything to protect the life she's built; the husband and daughter who must never know. Even if it means turning to her worst enemy...But Marianne may not know the whole story - and she isn't the only one with secrets they'd kill to keep. Moving back through time to reveal twists you'll never see coming, STONE MOTHERS is the gripping new suspense novel from the bestselling author of HE SAID/SHE SAID.'Poignant and tragic, full of unexpected shifts and twists, addictively scary and thrillingly audacious.' Nicci French'The plot is so CLEVER... and the writing is perfection.' Marian Keyes'STONE MOTHERS is a beautifully written puzzle, a thriller with heart that had me racing through the pages to find out what happens.' Kate Hamer

Hodder & Stoughton

A Capitol Death

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder Paperbacks

Before I Find You

Ali Knight
Authors:
Ali Knight
Mulholland Books

The Elephant of Surprise

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Hodder & Stoughton

Disturbance

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh
Mulholland Books

Cold Bones

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder Paperbacks

The Iberian Flame

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

'Rich with descriptive detail and emotional nuance. Several alternating plot threads unspool at length, all of which weave tightly together with pleasing inevitability . . . What has been said before deserves repeating: From suspense to social commentary, from violence to pathos, from villainy to possible redemption, Ms. George can do it all, with style.' Wall Street JournalWhen a Member of Parliament shows up at New Scotland Yard requesting an investigation into the suicide of the son of one of his constituents in the beautiful town of Ludlow, the Assistant Commissioner sees two opportunities in this request: the first is to have an MP owing him a favour, and the second is to get rid of Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers, whose career at the Met has been hanging by a thread for quite some time. So he assigns Havers to the case and for good measure partners her with the one person who shares his wish to see the back of her, Detective Chief Superintendent Isabelle Ardery.But Ardery has her own difficulties. She is not happy to be sent away from London and as a result is in a rush to return. This causes her to overlook certain uncomfortable facts. Soon, the case is opened again and this time, it is Lynley who must accompany Havers to Ludlow, with little more than a week to save the Met's reputation and Barbara's job. And the more they investigate, the more it looks as if the suicide was part of a much more sinister pattern of events.

Coronet

Head Hunters

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

The attack dog had its jaws clamped round the target's forearm and had sunk its teeth into his flesh. Danny could see the dark stain of blood through his night-vision goggles. The screaming had stopped. The target was staring blindly into the darkness, but he clearly knew there were armed men approaching him...Helmand Province, Afghanistan. The Taliban are on the rise.A top-secret SAS kill team is assassinating high-value targets. It is bloody, violent, relentless work, suitable only for the Regiment's most skilled and ruthless head hunters.Like Danny Black.But when Danny joins the kill team, he learns that Taliban militants are not his only problem. There are elements within the British Army who want to bring the SAS to book. And there are elements within the SAS who have their crosshairs on Danny himself.Framed for a sickening war crime, Danny finds himself hunted in a brutal, dangerous terrain where his wits, training and strength may not be enough to survive. And in a world where his enemies are closer than he could have imagined, he must do whatever it takes to get to the truth. If he fails, it will mean the end not only of Danny Black, but of the SAS itself.

Mulholland Books

Take Me In

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant
Hodder & Stoughton

The Cutting Edge

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

Number one bestselling author and ultimate thriller writer Jeffery Deaver returns with a new Lincoln Rhyme investigation.Rhyme and Amelia Sachs' latest case: catching a terrifying killer targeting couples...The happiest time of their lives - will be their last. William and Anna went to collect her engagement ring. 1.5 carat, almost flawless. But the Promisor had other ideas for their future...Their murder - and that of the diamond cutter they were visiting - is only the first of a series of macabre attacks. Someone is targeting couples just as they start their lives together. Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs, newly married themselves, are on the hunt. But the killer is hunting down any witnesses who can help them. He has promised one thing: to destroy. Rhyme and Sachs will have to use all their own skills and determination to break his vow.'It is really top-drawer writing' SHOTS

Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

'Yrsa is a magnificent writer' Karin SlaughterYrsa Sigurdardottir, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel, delivers another tour de force in her second novel in the Freyja and Huldar series.A chilling note predicting the deaths of six people is found in a school's time capsule, ten years after it was buried. But surely, if a thirteen-year-old wrote it, it can't be a real threat...Detective Huldar suspects he's been given the investigation simply to keep him away from real police work. He turns to psychologist Freyja to help understand the child who hid the message. Soon, however, they find themselves at the heart of another shocking case.For the discovery of the letter coincides with a string of macabre events: body parts found in a garden, followed by the murder of the man who owned the house. His initials are BT, one of the names on the note.Huldar and Freyja must race to identify the writer, the victims and the murderer, before the rest of the targets are killed...'The Reckoning is another chilling, atmospheric tale from the undisputed Queen of Icelandic Noir. I loved it.' Simon Kernick

Mulholland Books

Murder at the Grand Raj Palace

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan
Coronet

Global Strike

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder Paperbacks

Pet Sematary

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

A perennial classic from Stephen King - timeless and topical.Soon to be a major motion picture from Paramount.The house looked right, felt right to Dr Louis Creed.Rambling, old, unsmart and comfortable. A place where the family could settle; the children grow and play and explore. The rolling hills and meadows of Maine seemed a world away from the fume-choked dangers of Chicago.Only the occasional big truck out on the two-lane highway, grinding up through the gears, hammering down the long gradients, growled out an intrusive threat.But behind the house and far away from the road: that was safe. Just a carefully cleared path up into the woods where generations of local children have processed with the solemn innocence of the young, taking with them their dear departed pets for burial.A sad place maybe, but safe. Surely a safe place. Not a place to seep into your dreams, to wake you, sweating with fear and foreboding.