Richard Blake - Conspiracies of Rome (Death of Rome Saga Book One) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848948273
    • Publication date:11 Dec 2009

Conspiracies of Rome (Death of Rome Saga Book One)

By Richard Blake

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The first book in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

Perfect for readers of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane, Conspiracies of Rome is the thrilling first book in the new seven-part DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

Rome, 609 AD.
Empire is a fading memory. Repeatedly fought over and plundered, the City is falling into ruins. Killers prowl by night. Far off, in Constantinople, the Emperor has other concerns as The Church is beginning to flex its own imperial muscle.

Enter Aelric of England: young and beautiful, sexually uninhibited, heroic, if ruthlessly violent - and hungry for the learning of a world that is dying around him.

A deadly brawl outside Rome sucks him straight into the high politics of Empire. Soon, Aelric is involved in a race against time to find answers before he ends up as just another corpse in the gutter.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a lecturer, historian, broadcaster and writer who lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340951132
  • Publication date: 08 Jan 2009
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot and I enjoyed it very much. — Derek Jacobi, star of I, Claudius and Gladiator
The best historical novel I have ever read. — L. Neil Smith
I can't resist recommending this first volume of a promised trilogy. Set during the last pangs of Imperial Rome, with a vivid account of the machinations of the early Church, it is well-informed, atmospheric and beautifully written. — Literary Review
An enjoyable read. — Historical Novel Society
Mulholland Books

Her Beautiful Monster

Adi Tantimedh
Authors:
Adi Tantimedh
Coronet

Shadow Kill

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

Held up by rebel forces in a brutal siege, John Porter is tested to the limit in the African jungle. Strikeback hero John Porter is sent on a mission with Regimental scallywag John Bald. Where Porter plays it by the book, Bald will always want to break the rules.They are sent to Sierra Leone to extract Ronald Soames, a former CO of the Regiment and now right-hand man to the President. But when Porter and Bald arrive the Englishman has disappeared, leaving a trail of destruction in his wake. Rebels are threatening to take over the country and its diamond mines - and to massacre all foreigners.Porter and Bald find themselves fighting shoulder to shoulder with the Regiment psychopath who is already embedded in the country.But it soon becomes clear that the Firm has lied to them about the true nature of the mission.What seems at first to be a battle to control Sierra Leone's diamond mines will turn out to about a much greater evil - and with a trail that leads back to both Westminster and the Kremlin.

John Murray

Spook Street

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
Hodder & Stoughton

Icarus

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer
Hodder & Stoughton

Brush Back

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

Three page-turning, exhilarating thrillers from Richard Blake: CONSPIRACIES OF ROME, THE TERROR OF CONSTANTINOPLE AND THE BLOOD OF ALEXANDRIA. Available together as a digital-only package for the first time. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

Afraid

Mandasue Heller
Authors:
Mandasue Heller

When fifteen-year-old Skye's mother finally does something so shocking that it can't be hushed up, the police turn her over to the social workers - and that's when the nightmare begins. No one will let her talk to her father; the woman who is supposed to be helping her dumps her in a terrifying 'home' that's more like a jail. But she still has one friend to turn to: the sympathetic girl she's met in an internet chat room, the one who seems to have a home life as unhappy as Skye's. And Jade offers her a safe place to stay . . . Alone in Manchester, nearly penniless, Skye is willing to trust Jade. Even when it isn't Jade who turns up at the rendezvous, but a grown-up man who says he's Jade's brother . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Cobra

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer

Why would a mathematics professor from Cambridge University, renting a holiday home outside Cape Town, require a false identity and three bodyguards? And where is he, now that they are dead? The only clue to the bodyguards' murder is the snake engraved on the shell casings of the bullets that killed them. Investigating the massacre, Benny Griessel and his team find themselves being drawn into an international conspiracy with shocking implications. It seems it is not just the terrorists and criminals of Britain and South Africa who may fear the Professor's work, but the politicians too. As the body count begins to spiral viciously, Benny must put his new-found love life aside and focus on finding the one person who could give him a break in the case: a teenage pickpocket on the run in the city. But Benny is not the only person hunting for Tyrone Kleinbooi . . . Shortlisted for the CWA International Dagger, COBRA is a relentlessly suspenseful, topical and richly rewarding novel from an author who is acclaimed around the world as a brilliant voice in crime fiction.

Mulholland Books

Shadow of Shadows

Ted Allbeury
Authors:
Ted Allbeury

Hodder & Stoughton

Critical Mass

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky

BONUS: an exclusive first look at a special end chapter - only included in the first printing of the hardcover. When private eye V.I. Warshawski is called out to a derelict drug house in a rural town just south of Chicago, she discovers something she wasn't expecting: the mutilated corpse of a man, dumped in a cornfield.It is a discovery that throws V.I. into the fascinating world of physics and invention: a design which sparked the construction of the computer as we know it, the development of nuclear weapons, the wonder of Newton's prisms and a train of dramatic events that occurred in war-time Vienna over seventy years ago.With a range of suspects too scared to open up, V.I. must delve deep into the past to find clues. Someone holds the answers to her questions - someone who will stop at nothing to prevent the truth from resurfacing . . . Packed with Paretsky's masterfully crafted suspense and offering an illuminating insight into some of the greatest scientific developments of the twentieth century, this is set to be V.I.'s most enlightening - and exhilarating - adventure yet.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

615 AD. A vengeful Persian tyrant prepares the final blow that will annihilate the Empire.Aelric - the young adventurer from England - is now almost as powerful as the Emperor. Seemingly without opposition, he dominates the vast and morally bankrupt city of Constantinople. One step at a time, in his fortified palace, he is pushing forward reforms that are the Roman Empire's only hope of survival, and perhaps restoration to wealth and greatness. But his domestic enemies are only waiting for their moment to strike back. And the world's most terrifying military machine is assembling in secret beyond the mountains of the eastern frontier. The plot to destroy the English upstart begins with an ancient and apparently accursed Babylonian treasure - and continues with kidnap, revolution and a brutal invasion. Can Aelric overcome his greatest challenge yet? Can he call on new and unexpected forces to save the Empire? And can he find a personal happiness that has so far eluded him?

Hodder Paperbacks

You Don't Want to Know

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

Two years ago, Ava Garrison's cherished two-year-old son Noah disappeared.There was no ransom demand; his body was never found. Ava, wracked with grief, has been in and out of mental institutions since that night.Back on the family estate now, though, Ava is having strangely lifelike visions - visions of Noah on the dock of her island estate, or in his nursery. Visions that seem to be urging her to risk her own life . . .Ava doesn't trust anyone now. Not her husband. Not her cousins. Not the servants her wealth is paying for.They know more than they are saying. They appear to be anxious about her well-being. But the truth is more dangerous than Ava can imagine; and the price is higher than she ever thought to pay.

Hodder & Stoughton

V.I. for Short

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Hodder & Stoughton

Hard Time

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky

While driving home after celebrating friend Murray Ryerson's big break into TV hosting, V.I. almost collides with a fatally wounded woman lying in the street. The deceased is Nicola Aguinaldo, former employee of security giant B.B. Baladine and recent prison runaway. Taking on the case, V.I. finds herself plunged into a sinister network of corruption that pits her against the police, the prison and the entertainment industry - with potentially lethal results.

Hodder & Stoughton

Total Recall

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Hodder & Stoughton

Blacklist

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky
Hodder & Stoughton

Blood Shot

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky

The fifth novel in the V.I. Warhawski crime series, set in Chicago, from prize-winning author Sara Paretsky. When V.I. Warshawski is asked to search for the father of a childhood friend, she assumes it'll be a straightforward case. But the return to her old Chicago neighbourhood reignites dark memories from her past - memories she'd sooner forget. As the body of another old friend suddenly turns up, V.I. finds herself embroiled in a dangerous quest for justice which pits her against the bosses of big business and industrial corruption. It's one of her toughest and most personal cases yet, one from which she may not emerge entirely unscathed . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Burn Marks

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky

The sixth novel in the V.I. Warhawski crime series, set in Chicago, from prize-winning author Sara Paretsky. V.I. Warshawski receives an unwelcome shock when her aunt Elena arrives on her doorstep in the middle of the night, having fled from her burning hotel. But things go from bad to worse when Elena mysteriously vanishes and the corpse of her aunt's friend is discovered at a construction site. As V.I.'s investigation plunges her deep into the workings of the construction industry and county politics, she finds herself part of a dangerous game of corruption where her life is the prize. Someone's out to silence her, and they won't stop until they do . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Guardian Angel

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky