Richard Blake - Conspiracies of Rome (Death of Rome Saga Book One) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848948273
    • Publication date:11 Dec 2009

Conspiracies of Rome (Death of Rome Saga Book One)

By Richard Blake

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The first book in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

Perfect for readers of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane, Conspiracies of Rome is the thrilling first book in the new seven-part DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

Rome, 609 AD.
Empire is a fading memory. Repeatedly fought over and plundered, the City is falling into ruins. Killers prowl by night. Far off, in Constantinople, the Emperor has other concerns as The Church is beginning to flex its own imperial muscle.

Enter Aelric of England: young and beautiful, sexually uninhibited, heroic, if ruthlessly violent - and hungry for the learning of a world that is dying around him.

A deadly brawl outside Rome sucks him straight into the high politics of Empire. Soon, Aelric is involved in a race against time to find answers before he ends up as just another corpse in the gutter.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a lecturer, historian, broadcaster and writer who lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340951132
  • Publication date: 08 Jan 2009
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot and I enjoyed it very much. — Derek Jacobi, star of I, Claudius and Gladiator
The best historical novel I have ever read. — L. Neil Smith
I can't resist recommending this first volume of a promised trilogy. Set during the last pangs of Imperial Rome, with a vivid account of the machinations of the early Church, it is well-informed, atmospheric and beautifully written. — Literary Review
An enjoyable read. — Historical Novel Society
Hodder & Stoughton

Trembling Hills Whitney

Phyllis Whitney
Authors:
Phyllis Whitney

The nights of Sara's childhood had been haunted by dreams of a candlelit figure glimpsed in a mirror but by day she was bright, passionate and indomitable. In spite of her mother's opposition she decides to follow her benefactor's son Ritchie Temple to San Francisco. He had always been the man for her. But Sara could not know about the terrors that were in store for her. For it was in the towering old Varady mansion that she was suddenly to find her childhood nightmare turning into reality and her dreams turned to dust by the terrible secrets from the past.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder & Stoughton

The Legacy

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

The first in an exciting new series from the author of THE SILENCE OF THE SEA, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel.The murder was meant as a punishment - but what sin could justify the method?The only person who might have answers is the victim's seven-year-old daughter, found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she's not talking. Newly promoted, out of his depth, detective Huldar turns to Freyja and the Children's House for their expertise with traumatised young people. Freyja, who distrusts the police in general and Huldar in particular, isn't best pleased. But she's determined to keep little Margret safe. It may prove tricky. The killer is leaving them strange clues: warnings in text messages, sums scribbled on bits of paper, numbers broadcast on the radio. He's telling a dark and secret story - but how can they crack the code? And if they do, will they be next?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel

Underneath the Roanoke Girls' perfect exterior lies a chilling secret...'Utterly addictive' LISA HALL 'Not for the faint-hearted' THE BOOK BAG 'Deeply, darkly twisted. I loved it' SARAH HILARY An explosive, controversial thriller perfect for fans of Good Me Bad Me and The Girls.Beautiful.Rich.Mysterious.The Roanoke girls seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them which is never spoken. Every girl either runs away, or dies.Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back. She is a Roanoke girl. Is she strong enough to escape a second time?What readers are saying about The Roanoke Girls:'Deeply gripping and emotional''Heartbreaking, disturbing and utterly brilliant''One of my favourite books of 2017''A mix of sensual beauty with underlying darkness'

Hodder Paperbacks

A Banquet of Consequences

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

Inspector Lynley investigates the London end of an ever more darkly disturbing case, with Barbara Havers and Winston Nkata looking behind the peaceful façade of country life to discover a twisted world of desire and deceit.The suicide of William Goldacre is devastating to those left behind. But what was the cause of his tragedy and how far might the consequences reach? Is there a link between the young man's leap from a Dorset cliff and a horrific poisoning in Cambridge?Following various career-threatening misdemeanours, Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers is desperate to redeem herself. So when a past encounter with bestselling feminist writer Clare Abbott and her pushy personal assistant Caroline Goldacre gives her a connection to the Cambridge murder, Barbara begs DI Thomas Lynley to let her pursue the crime.Full of shocks, intensity and suspense from first page to last, A Banquet of Consequences reveals both Lynley and Havers under pressure, and author Elizabeth George writing at the very height of her exceptional powers.

Hodder Paperbacks

Dark Forces

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Sceptre

Now is the Time

Melvyn Bragg
Authors:
Melvyn Bragg

In this gripping novel, Melvyn Bragg brings an extraordinary episode in English history to fresh, urgent life.At the end of May 1381, the fourteen-year-old King of England had reason to be fearful: the plague had returned, the royal coffers were empty and a draconian poll tax was being widely evaded. Yet Richard, bolstered by his powerful, admired mother, felt secure in his God-given right to reign. But within two weeks, the unthinkable happened: a vast force of common people invaded London, led by a former soldier, Walter Tyler, and the radical preacher John Ball, demanding freedom, equality and the complete uprooting of the Church and state. And for three intense, violent days, it looked as if they would sweep all before them.Now is the Time depicts the events of the Peasants' Revolt on both a grand and intimate scale, vividly portraying its central figures and telling an archetypal tale of an epic struggle between the powerful and the apparently powerless.

Sceptre

The Fortunes

Peter Ho Davies
Authors:
Peter Ho Davies

Ah Ling: son of a prostitute and a white 'ghost', dispatched from Hong Kong as a boy to make his way alone in 1860s California. Anna May Wong: the first Chinese film star in Hollywood, forbidden to kiss a white man on screen. Vincent Chin: killed by a pair of Detroit auto workers in 1982 simply for looking Japanese.John Ling Smith: a half-Chinese writer visiting China for the first time, to adopt a baby girl.Inspired by three figures who lived at pivotal moments in Chinese-American history, and drawing on his own mixed-race experience, Peter Ho Davies plunges us into what it is like to feel, and be treated, like a foreigner in the country you call home.Ranging from the mouth of the Pearl River to the land of golden opportunity, this remarkable novel spans 150 years to tell a tale of familial bonds denied and fragmented, of tenacity and pride, of prejudice and the universal need to belong.

Hodder & Stoughton

When the Music's Over

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
John Murray

Slow Horses

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

Three page-turning, exhilarating thrillers from Richard Blake: CONSPIRACIES OF ROME, THE TERROR OF CONSTANTINOPLE AND THE BLOOD OF ALEXANDRIA. Available together as a digital-only package for the first time. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Coronet

The One You Trust

Paul Pilkington
Authors:
Paul Pilkington
Coronet

The One You Fear

Paul Pilkington
Authors:
Paul Pilkington

The gripping sequel to the million-downloaded The One You Love.Emma Holden and her friends are trying to move on from the horrific events surrounding Dan's kidnap, when a shocking revelation drags them back into the nightmare and forces them to question everything they once believed to be true. More secrets will be revealed, more lies will be told, and more lives under threat.An extended version of the self-published novella, with more secrets, more tension and more drama

Coronet

The One You Love

Paul Pilkington
Authors:
Paul Pilkington
Hodder & Stoughton

The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder Paperbacks

The Ghosts of Athens (Death of Rome Saga Book Five)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

The fifth book in the DEATH OF ROME SAGA is an exhilarating thriller and perfect for readers of Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow.612 AD. No longer the glorious cradle of all art and science, Athens is a ruined provincial city in one of the Byzantine Empire's less vital provinces. The Emperor has diverted Aelric's ship home from Egypt to send him there, but surely there is more important business in Constantinople. Isn't Aelric needed to save the Empire's finances? Is Aelric on a high level mission to save the Empire or has he been set up to fail? The only certainty is that Aelric finds himself in a derelict palace of dark and endless corridors that Martin, his cowardly secretary, assures him pulse will an ancient evil.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Tommyknockers

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

There is a reason why Stephen King is one of the bestselling writers in the world, ever. Described in the Daily Express as 'a fabulous teller of stories', Stephen King writes books that draw you in and are impossible to put down.Everything is familiar. But everything has changed.Coming back to the little community is like walking into a nightmare for Jim Gardener, poet, drunk, potential suicide.It all looks the same, the house, the furniture, Jim's friend Bobbi, her beagle (though ageing), even the woods out at the back.But it was in the woods that Bobbi stumbled over the odd, part-buried object and felt a peculiar tingle as she brushed the soft earth away.Everything is familiar. But everything is about to change.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Sword of Damascus (Death of Rome Saga Book Four)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder Paperbacks

The Blood of Alexandria (Death of Rome Saga Book Three)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

The third book of the DEATH OF ROME SAGA, perfect for readers of Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow.612 AD.Aelric of England has become the Lord Senator Alaric and the trusted Legate of the Emperor Heraclius. He's now in Alexandria, to send Egypt's harvest to Constantinople, and to force the unwilling Viceroy to give land to the peasants. But the city, with its factions and conspirators - thwarts him at every turn. And when an old enemy from Constantinople arrives, supposedly on a quest for a religious relic that could turn the course of the Persian war, the ensuing chaos may be enough to rip Egypt - and Aelric - apart.