Nigel Tranter - High Kings And Vikings - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444740202
    • Publication date:24 Nov 2011

High Kings And Vikings

By Nigel Tranter

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

In this compelling tale, Nigel Tranter vividly recreates the so-called Dark Ages, one of the most little-known - and violent - periods in the whole of Scotland's dramatic history.

As Christendom approached the first Millennium, conflict and war prevailed throughout a troubled Scotland. The population remained under constant threat from bloodthirsty Viking raids, and the High Kings of Scots came and went, their brief reigns usually coming to a violent end. In 995, young Cormac mac Farquhar, newly succeeding his father as Thane of Glamis, was to find himself reluctantly caught up in the misfortunes of the ruling monarch, Kenneth the Second, and the ensuing national chaos. But little did Cormac know that out of his legacy of hatred, he would find unexpected happiness.

Biographical Notes

One of Scotland's best-loved authors, Nigel Tranter wrote over ninety novels on Scottish history. He died at the age of ninety on 9 January 2000.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340696699
  • Publication date: 03 Dec 1998
  • Page count: 344
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

The Bone Fire

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes
Hodder Paperbacks

Phoebe

Paula Gooder
Authors:
Paula Gooder
Hodder & Stoughton

A Capitol Death

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder & Stoughton

A Sea of Gold

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder Paperbacks

The Iberian Flame

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder Paperbacks

Pandora's Boy

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Sceptre

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller

The rapturously acclaimed new novel by the Costa Award-winning author of PURE, hailed as 'excellent', 'gripping', 'as suspenseful as any thriller', 'engrossing', 'moving' and 'magnificent'.One rainswept winter's night in 1809, an unconscious man is carried into a house in Somerset. He is Captain John Lacroix, home from Britain's disastrous campaign against Napoleon's forces in Spain.Gradually Lacroix recovers his health, but not his peace of mind. He will not - cannot - talk about the war or face the memory of what took place on the retreat to Corunna. After the command comes to return to his regiment, he lights out instead for the Hebrides, unaware that he has far worse to fear than being dragged back to the army: a vicious English corporal and a Spanish officer with secret orders are on his trail.In luminous prose, Miller portrays a man shattered by what he has witnessed, on a journey that leads to unexpected friendships, even to love. But as the short northern summer reaches its zenith, the shadow of the enemy is creeping closer. Freedom, for John Lacroix, will come at a high price. Taut with suspense, this is an enthralling, deeply involving novel by one of Britain's most acclaimed writers.'His writing suspends life until it is read and is a source of wonder and delight' Hilary Mantel on Casanova in the Sunday Times

Hodder Paperbacks

The House Between Tides

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Hodder Paperbacks

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides, winner of the Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent.'Maine writes beautifully' THE TIMES'Riveting' PUBLISHERS WEEKLYScotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them. An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.*****'Stunning' Booklist'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines' RT Reviews

Hodder & Stoughton

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder Paperbacks

Inferno

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd's famous sea action aboard Tyger has snatched his reputation from ignominy. He is the hero of the hour. But though Britain's Navy remains imperious, a succession of battles has seen Napoleon victorious on mainland Europe. In an attempt to prevent the French from taking control of Denmark's navy, Kydd's great friend Nicholas Renzi - now Lord Farndon - is sent on a desperate diplomatic mission to persuade the Danes to give up their fleet to Britain. But the Danes are caught between two implacable forces and will not yield, opting instead for the inferno of battle . . .********************What readers are saying about INFERNO'An absolute must' - 5 stars'His books are always awesome, and Inferno is no exception' - 5 stars'As always, a great book' - 5 stars'Another great read in the series' - 5 stars'Another cracking read from an authoritative historical novelist' - 5 stars

Hodder Paperbacks

The Cat of Yule Cottage

Lili Hayward
Authors:
Lili Hayward

A magical tale of Christmas and cats, perfect for everyone who loves A Street Cat Named Bob and Alfie the Doorstep Cat.It's nearly Christmas, and Jessamine Pike needs a serious life overhaul.Jess moves into Enysyule, a centuries-old cottage in Cornwall, and begins the process of renovating the rundown house by day and finishing her novel by night, planning to have both finished in time for the holidays. She's got good company: a beautiful, arrogant tomcat stalks around like he owns the place, and seems very skeptical of Jess' tenancy. But there's magic in the air... Local legends tell of a spirit that inhabits the area, and an ancient standing stone that keeps watch over the valley. As Christmas comes closer and closer, Jess uncovers treasures from Enysyule's past, and becomes involved in a fight for its future. For Jess has stumbled into a story that's been going on for five hundred years. A story about land, love, friendship, the Yuletide... and one remarkable cat.

Hodder Paperbacks

Enemies at Home

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder Paperbacks

Holy War

Jack Hight
Authors:
Jack Hight

In HOLY WAR, the final book of the Saladin Trilogy, telling the story of the legendary war leader who united Arabia, Saladin recaptures Jerusalem from the Crusaders, and prepares for his ultimate battle against Richard the Lionheart. A full-blooded historical adventure novel for all fans of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell, Anthony Riches, Ben Kane, Robyn Young and Simon Scarrow. While Saladin ruthlessly sets about uniting the whole of Arabia under his rule, the Kingdom of Jerusalem is torn apart by treachery and intrigue, and when the murderous knight Reynald of Chatillon raids a caravan heading from Damascus to Mecca and rapes Saladin's sister, the scene is set for war.In June 1187, Saladin marches into the Kingdom with an army of over 24,000 and imposes a crushing defeat on the Crusader forces at the Horns of Hattin. It is only a matter of time before he marches on a panicked and demoralized Jerusalem.But what about Saladin's longtime ally, the Saxon knight John of Tatewic? In the face of annihilation, is he friend or foe? It will take all John's knowledge of the man he calls his brother to negotiate a peaceful fate for Jerusalem - but this is not the end of the story. For in England the soon-to-be crowned King Richard has pledged revenge and a new Crusade . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Spanish Galleon

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Cable From Kabul

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Drug on the Market

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

A stealthy fishing-boat, blacked-out in the dead of night, and strange blinking lights on the shores of Aberlady Bay add up to a mystery that Lieutenant-Commander Philip Hepburn can't ignore. Following a chance sighting of the elusive vessel while on shore-leave, and a violent encounter with some shady characters on the desolate salt-marsh, Philip is drawn into investigating the sinister goings-on in the bay. He and his newfound companion, feisty local girl Trisha Denholm, stumble across something neither of them expected to find and uncover a criminal conspiracy in sleepy East Lothian. 'One of Scotland's most prolific and respected writers' The Times

Hodder & Stoughton

The Enduring Flame

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Chain of Destiny

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

Following the murder of his father at Bannockburn in 1488,fifteen-year-old James Stewart was crowned James IV of Scotland. Fromthose inauspicious beginnings, the inexperienced boy-king was to becomeone of the finest and most popular kings in Scotland's history, leadinghis people bravely through some of the nation's most dramatic andcolourful years. Bold, vigorous, headstrong and romantic, he inspiredgreat loyalty from men, and passionate love from women. So great was hispeople's affection that the bravest and best of Scotland's young menfinally laid down their lives for him - at the tragic Field of Flodden.Accomplished lover, able king, complex personality, James IV of Scotlandis brought to memorable life in Nigel Tranter's compelling tale ofdrama, intrigue and treachery.

Hodder & Stoughton

Lord in Waiting

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

In 1460, when clan feuds were rife, and the threat of English invasionwas ever-present, James III, one of Scotland's weakest monarchs, came tothe throne.Before long, John, Lord of Douglas, a born leader and a man ofconscience and vision, found himself wishing that James' wise andstrong-minded sister Princess Mary had succeeded in her brother's place.A fact compounded by the feeble king's habit of ignoring high-bornnobles, and succumbing instead to the influence of the astrologer andalchemist William Sheves, Archdeacon of St Andrews, one of the cleverestand most unscrupulous individuals in Scotland's history.Continuing the story of Princess Mary Stewart that began in Price of aPrincess, Lord in Waiting is a gripping tale of 15th century Scotland byNigel Tranter, master of Scottish historical fiction.