Allan Massie - Caesar - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Caesar

By Allan Massie

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

'To take the conspiracy against Julius Caesar - one of the most famous murder plots in history - and make of it something fresh and exciting is no small feat. This is what Allan Massie has done in this fine novel which should appeal equally to those who know their Roman history and those for whom it is only a cloudy rumour of remote events' Evening Standard

'Massie's achievement is to infuse the mythical emperor with blood . . . he invigorates his characters with voices that seem to echo the present, not the past, and which are utterly convincing . . . a piece of bravura invention' Independent

Biographical Notes

Allan Massie is the award-winning author of many novels, including his Roman Quartet - Antony, Augustus, Tiberius and Caesar - as well as several works of non-fiction. He lives in the Scottish Borders and writes for the Daily Telegraph and the Scotsman.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340599105
  • Publication date: 02 Jun 1994
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Sceptre
Hodder & Stoughton

A Gift in December

Jenny Gladwell
Authors:
Jenny Gladwell

Journalist Jane Brooke is getting over a career high...and love life low. When her editor nominates her to join some glamorous bloggers and cynical journalists on a trip to Norway for a feature on the story behind the famous Norwegian Christmas tree, dubbed the Queen of the Forest, which the country gifts each year to the UK to be displayed in Trafalgar Square, she feels only annoyance. But Jane hasn't anticipated discovering a moving story behind this historic gift, and she certainly isn't expecting to find love amidst all that snow, but this trip could turn out to be the perfect Christmas present.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Bone Fire

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes
Hodder & Stoughton

Secrets of the Homefront Girls

Kate Thompson
Authors:
Kate Thompson
Hodder & Stoughton

Summer of '69

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

'I just LOVE [Elin Hilderbrand's] books, they are such compulsive reads' - Marian KeyesWelcome to the most tumultuous summer of the twentieth century . . .Every year the Levin children have looked forward to spending the summer at their grandmother's historic island home, but this year it's not to be. Blair, the oldest sister, is marooned in Boston, pregnant with twins and unable to travel. Middle sister Kirby is caught up in the thrilling vortex of civil rights protests with her friend Mary Jo Kopechne. And Tiger, the only son, has just been deployed to Vietnam.Thirteen-year-old Jessie, the youngest of them all, suddenly feels like an only child, marooned in the house with her out-of-touch grandmother who is hiding secrets of her own . . .As the summer heats up, Teddy Kennedy sinks a car in Chappaquiddick, man walks on the moon, and Jessie experiences some sinking and flying herself, as she grows into her own body and mind.In her first historical novel, Elin Hilderbrand once again cements her title as 'Queen of the Summer Novel' (People).************Praise for Elin Hilderbrand'Sink into this book like a hot, scented bath . . . a delicious, relaxing pleasure' - Kirkus'[Elin Hilderbrand] signifies the start of summer to readers' - The Book Reporter'Perfect holiday reading' - Candis'The queen regent of the easy-breezy summer novel' - New York Post(p) 2019 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd

John Murray

Gun Island

Amitav Ghosh
Authors:
Amitav Ghosh

A spellbinding, globe-trotting novel by the bestselling author of the Ibis trilogy.(P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

A Capitol Death

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder & Stoughton

Songwoman: a stunning historical novel from the acclaimed author of 'Skin'

Ilka Tampke
Authors:
Ilka Tampke

A thrilling historical novel and the sequel to the critically acclaimed Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander and Game of Thrones.One woman's quest to defend her culture.Haunted by the Roman attack that destroyed her home, Ailia flees to the remote Welsh mountains in search of the charismatic war king, Caradog, who is leading a guerrilla campaign against the encroaching army.Ailia proves herself an indispensable advisor to the war king, but as the bond between them deepens, she realises the terrible role she must play to save the soul of her country.Set in Iron-Age Britain, Songwoman is a powerful exploration of the ties between people and their land and what happens when they are broken.

Hodder & Stoughton

The King's Witch

Tracy Borman
Authors:
Tracy Borman
Hodder Paperbacks

The House Between Tides

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Hodder Paperbacks

The Earthly Gods

Nick Brown
Authors:
Nick Brown

Unable to make any progress in locating the missing Indavara, a desperate Cassius has been given an unrewarding assignment in Antioch. But when an old ally's daughter is kidnapped, he feels duty-bound to repay a long standing debt. Disillusioned with the tawdry demands of the Imperial Security Service, he disobeys his superiors and leaves Syria, determined to do some good.Accompanied by nomadic chieftain Kabir and a trio of warriors, Cassius soon finds himself in Greece hunting a vicious band of slave-traders trafficking women across the Empire. But these are no common criminals, and as Cassius sets out to bring them down, he finds himself up against ruthless, cunning men with powerful friends and a lot to lose.For the Agent of Rome, desperate times call for desperate measures.

Sceptre

King David

Allan Massie
Authors:
Allan Massie
Sceptre

Caesar

Allan Massie
Authors:
Allan Massie
Sceptre

Antony

Allan Massie
Authors:
Allan Massie

Standing on the verge of ruin, Mark Antony dictates his memoirs to his secretary Critias, who contributes an acerbic running commentary as Antony relives his struggle with Octavian for mastery of the Roman Empire in the wake of Caesar's murder, his infatuation with Cleopatra and his obsession with the East. A tragi-comedy of ambition and self-indulgence, passion and valour, ANTONY forms a triumphant conclusion to Allan Massie's acclaimed Roman Quartet.

Sceptre

Nero's Heirs

Allan Massie
Authors:
Allan Massie
Sceptre

Caligula

Allan Massie
Authors:
Allan Massie
Sceptre

Augustus

Allan Massie
Authors:
Allan Massie

Augustus was the founder of the Roman Empire, adopted son of Julius Caesar, friend and later foe of Mark Antony, patron of Horace and Virgil. Frank and forceful, this putative autobiography tells his story from the assassination of Caesar, through his military, political and personal struggles to his final days as Emperor in everything but name.

Sceptre

Tiberius

Allan Massie
Authors:
Allan Massie

Habitually vilified as a monstrous tyrant, Emperor Tiberius has been one of history's enigmas. Now he speaks for himself - a proud, secretive, troubled man, a great general yet reluctant ruler, disgusted by the degeneracy which surrounds him. In this sequel to Augustus, Allan Massie combines a compelling study in public power and private tragedy with a vibrant portrait of the Roman world.

Two Roads

The Butcher's Hook

Janet Ellis
Authors:
Janet Ellis

***LONGLISTED FOR THE DESMOND ELLIOTT PRIZE 2016***'KNOWS HOW TO KEEP HER AUDIENCE HOOKED' The Times'A MASTERFUL STORYTELLER' Clare Mackintosh'DARK, WEIRD AND GLORIOUSLY FEMINIST' ElleGeorgian London, in the summer of 1763.At nineteen, Anne Jaccob, the elder daughter of well-to-do parents, meets Fub the butcher's apprentice and is awakened to the possibilities of joy and passion. Anne lives a sheltered life: her home is a miserable place and her parents have already chosen a more suitable husband for her than Fub. But Anne is an unusual young woman and is determined to pursue her own happiness in her own way......even if that means getting a little blood on her hands.'A SHARP EYE AND A SHARPER WIT' Guardian'A SPIRITED, DARK DEBUT' Woman & Home'STRANGE, DARK AND UTTERLY MESMERIC' Hannah KentPre-order Janet Ellis's new novel, How It Was, now!

Hodder & Stoughton

Beatrice and Benedick

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato
Two Roads

The Legacy of Elizabeth Pringle

Kirsty Wark
Authors:
Kirsty Wark