Melvyn Bragg - Crystal Rooms - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848942608
    • Publication date:03 Jun 1993

Crystal Rooms

By Melvyn Bragg

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

'A splendid Dickensian sweep of a book' Observer

Young Harry, an orphan from an impoverished council estate, becomes the link between starkly contrasting worlds: north and south, the deprived and the over-privileged, the powerful and the defenceless. With this compelling story of blackmail, media politics, corrupted innocence and redemptive love, Melvyn Bragg delivers an unforgettable portrait of modern life.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340579763
  • Publication date: 03 Jun 1993
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Sceptre
A splendid Dickensian sweep of a book — Observer
A decent and intelligent novel, one which can be read, and will be read, with a great deal of pleasure — Allan Massie, Scotsman
As a guide to media London, the novel is essential reading — T.J. Binyon, Times Literary Supplement
The very good Bragg has forced a complex contemporary plot to work magic — David Hughes, Mail on Sunday
Bragg has scarcely ever written better...A state of England message transfused by fiction — Tom Adair, Scotland on Sunday
Melvyn Bragg writes with a lyrical nostalgia which is as important to the novel as his energy — Penelope Fitzgerald, Evening Standard
Coronet

On The Up

Alice O'Keeffe
Authors:
Alice O'Keeffe
Hodder Paperbacks

The Only Woman in the Room

Marie Benedict
Authors:
Marie Benedict

Hodder & Stoughton

Witchfinder

Andrew Williams
Authors:
Andrew Williams

A brilliant novel of espionage and betrayal from 'one of Britain's most accomplished thriller writers' (Daily Mail)London 1963. The Beatles, Carnaby Street, mini-skirts. But the new mood hasn't reached the drab and fearful corridors of MI5 and MI6. Many agents joined the secret service to fight the Nazis. Now they are locked in a Cold War against the Russians.And some of them are traitors.The service has been shaken to its core by the high-profile defections of Cambridge-educated spies Burgess, MacLean and now Philby. Appalled at such flagrant breaches of British security, the Americans are demanding a rigorous review.Harry Vaughan is brought back from Vienna to be part of it. The Chief asks him to join two investigators - Arthur Martin and Peter Wright - who are determined to clean out the stables, and the first target of their suspicions is the Deputy Director General of MI5, Graham Mitchell.Harry slips back into a relationship with an old flame, Elsa, and joins the hunt - somewhat reluctantly. He is sceptical of the case against Mitchell and wary of the messianic fervour of the two spycatchers. But the further the investigation goes - and the deeper his commitment to Elsa becomes - the greater the sense of paranoia and distrust that spreads through the 'wilderness of mirrors' that is the secret service. The only certainty is that no-one is above suspicion. Including Harry Vaughan.

John Murray

Country

Michael Hughes
Authors:
Michael Hughes

'Reading this book is like sitting in the pub listening to a good friend tell you stories. It does what only the best retellings can and makes you see the myth anew' Daisy JohnsonThat was the start of it. A terrible business altogether. Oh, it was all kept off the news, for the sake of the talks and the ceasefire. But them that were around that part of the country remember every bit. Wait now till you hear the rest.Northern Ireland, 1996.After twenty-five years of conflict, the IRA and the British have agreed an uneasy ceasefire, as a first step towards lasting peace. But if decades of savage violence are leading only to smiles and handshakes, those on the ground in the border country will start to question what exactly they have been fighting for.When an IRA man's wife turns informer, he and his brother gather their old comrades for an assault on the local army base. But the squad's feared sniper suddenly refuses to fight, and the SAS are sent in to crush this rogue terror cell before it can wreck the fragile truce, and drag the whole region back to the darkest days of the Troubles. Inspired by the oldest war story of them all, this powerful new Irish novel explores the brutal glory of armed conflict, and the bitter tragedy of those on both sides who offer their lives to defend the honour of their country.

Two Roads

M for Mammy

Eleanor O’Reilly
Authors:
Eleanor O’Reilly
Sceptre

Love Without End

Melvyn Bragg
Authors:
Melvyn Bragg

A classic love story, retold for our times.Paris in 1117. Heloise, a brilliant young scholar, is astonished when the famous, radical philosopher, Peter Abelard, consents to be her tutor. But what starts out as a meeting of minds turns into a passionate, dangerous love affair, which incurs terrible retribution. Nine centuries later, Arthur is in Paris to recreate the extraordinary story of Heloise and Abelard in a novel. To his surprise, his daughter visits and agrees to help, challenging his portraits of a couple who seem often inscrutable, sometimes breathtakingly modern. It soon emerges she is on her own mission to discover more about her parents' fractured relationship - and that Arthur's connection to his subject is more emotional than he cares to admit.

Hodder Paperbacks

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Sceptre

Things to Make and Break

May-Lan Tan
Authors:
May-Lan Tan
Hodder Paperbacks

End of Watch

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

The cell rings twice, and then his old partner in his ear . . . 'I'm at the scene of what appears to be a murder-suicide . . . Come and take a look. Bring your sidekick with you.'Bill Hodges, who now runs a two-person agency called Finders Keepers with partner Holly Gibney, is intrigued by the letter Z written with a marker at the scene of the crime.As similar cases mount up, Hodges is stunned to discover the evidence points to Brady Hartsfield, the notorious 'Mercedes Killer' who they helped to convict. It should be impossible: Brady is confined to a hospital room in a seemingly unresponsive state.But Brady Hartsfield has lethal new powers. And he's planning revenge not just on Hodges and his friends, but on an entire city. The clock is ticking in unexpected ways...BRADY IS BACK. AND SO IS HODGES.The extract above is abridged from End of Watch.

Hodder Paperbacks

Small Great Things

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

A RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB 2017 PICK A SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERA NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERThe best books make you see differently. This is one of them. The eye-opening new novel from Jodi Picoult, with the biggest of themes: birth, death, and responsibility.When a newborn baby dies after a routine hospital procedure, there is no doubt about who will be held responsible: the nurse who had been banned from looking after him by his father. What the nurse, her lawyer and the father of the child cannot know is how this death will irrevocably change all of their lives, in ways both expected and not.Small Great Things is about prejudice and power; it is about that which divides and unites us.It is about opening your eyes. SOON TO BE A MAJOR FILM STARRING VIOLA DAVIS AND JULIA ROBERTS

Hodder & Stoughton

The Hope Family Calendar

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

A compelling and emotional novel, for fans of Jojo Moyes and Jenny Colgan.'With a style similar to David Nicholls, Gayle's writing is incisive, lyrical and very beautiful...It's impossible not to fall in love with the Hope family' Irish IndependentTom Hope is broken. Ever since his wife Laura died he hasn't been the same man, and definitely not the same father. Luckily for Tom his mother-in-law Linda is around to pick up the pieces and look after his two struggling daughters, Evie and Lola. But Tom getting arrested on the first anniversary of his wife's death is the last straw for Linda.In a last bid attempt to make Tom reconnect with his daughters she takes drastic action and leaves for Australia. With two fast-maturing daughters Tom has to learn how to accept his responsibilities and navigate the newly discovered world of single fatherhood - starting immediately. With only himself to rely on, will Tom fall back into grief or finally step up and be the father his girls need?Mike's new novel, The Man I Think I Know, is out now!

Coronet

The Vorrh

Brian Catling
Authors:
Brian Catling

'A benchmark not just for imaginative writing but for the human imagination in itself...Read this book, and marvel.' Alan Moore'A work of genius.' Iain Sinclair'Brian Catling is simply a genius. His writing is so extraordinary it hurts.' Terry GilliamIn the tradition of China Miéville, Michael Moorcock and Alasdair Gray, B. Catling's The Vorrh is literary dark fantasy which wilfully ignores boundaries, crossing over into surrealism, magic-realism, horror and steampunk.In B. Catling's twisting, poetic narrative, Bakelite robots lie broken - their hard shells cracked by human desire - and an inquisitive Cyclops waits for his keeper and guardian, growing in all directions. Beyond the colonial city of Essenwald lies the Vorrh, the forest which sucks souls and wipes minds. There, a writer heads out on a giddy mission to experience otherness, fallen angels observe humanity from afar, and two hunters - one carrying a bow carved from his lover, the other a charmed Lee-Enfield rifle - fight to the end. Thousands of miles away, famed photographer Eadweard Muybridge attempts to capture the ultimate truth, as rifle heiress Sarah Winchester erects a house to protect her from the spirits of her gun's victims.s.

Sceptre

The Hired Man

Melvyn Bragg
Authors:
Melvyn Bragg

Set in Cumbria and covering the period from 1898 to the early twenties, this is the powerful saga of John Tallentire, first farm labourer, then coal miner, and his wife Emily. John's struggle to break free from the humiliating status of a 'hired man' is the theme of a novel which has been hailed as a classic of its kind - as meticulously detailed as a social document, as evocative as the writings of Hardy and Lawrence.(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Sceptre

A Place in England

Melvyn Bragg
Authors:
Melvyn Bragg
Sceptre

Kingdom Come

Melvyn Bragg
Authors:
Melvyn Bragg

Douglas Tallentire has at last achieved what his father and grandfather before him fought for so bitterly. Educated and independent, he can carve out his own career and spread his wings. But success, freedom and happiness are more elusive than ever in the fiercely competitive Seventies. From Cumbria to the frenetic whirl of sophisticated life in New York and London, Douglas, like all the Tallentires, must come to terms with private uncertainty and pain.(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Sceptre

Now is the Time

Melvyn Bragg
Authors:
Melvyn Bragg
Hodder & Stoughton

Seeing Other People

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

Deadline

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

Doctor Sleep

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Sceptre

Grace and Mary

Melvyn Bragg
Authors:
Melvyn Bragg