Guy Gavriel Kay - Hodder & Stoughton

Guy Gavriel Kay



Guy Gavriel Kay has published twelve novels which have been translated into more than 25 languages and have appeared on bestseller lists around the world. He is also the author of the acclaimed poetry collection, Beyond This Dark House. His most recent work is River of Stars and his newest novel is CHILDREN OF EARTH AND SKY. Before beginning his career as a novelist, Kay was retained by the Estate of J.R.R. Tolkien to assist in the editorial construction of The Silmarillion, the first and best-known of the posthumously published Tolkien works. Called to the Bar of Ontario in 1980, he has also been principal writer and associate producer for the CBC's award-winning crime-drama series, The Scales of Justice. Kay has twice won the Aurora Award, is a multiple World Fantasy Award nominee, and won that award in 2008 for Ysabel. He also won the Sunburst and Les Chevaux Célestes awards for Under Heaven, and is the recipient of the International Goliardos Prize, presented in Mexico City, for his contributions to the literature of the fantastic. In 2014 he was invested with the Order of Canada, the country's highest civilian honour. Kay's authorized website may be found at www.brightweavings.com. Guy Gavriel Kay lives in Toronto with his wife and two sons.
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Hodder & Stoughton

A Brightness Long Ago

Guy Gavriel Kay
Authors:
Guy Gavriel Kay

In a decadent, often violent world in which mercenaries destroy city-states for the highest bidder and women's lives remain desperately limited, the lives of extraordinary figures play out . . .Guidanio Cerra is the son of a tailor whose intelligence had won him entry to a renowned school. He goes into service at the dangerous court of a count known as The Beast . . .Adria Ripoli, born to power, has rejected the choices offered to her, opting for a life of danger - and freedom - in the service of her mercenary uncle. But freedom always comes at a price - in this case a night-time encounter from which she is unlikely to escape alive. And Danio, living in a chamber overlooking the waterways of a maritime city, looks back in time to relate his part of this sweeping tale that contains unforgettable characters in an extraordinary era, including a healer who has also defied life's expectations of her, and the two larger-than-life war leaders, lifelong adversaries, whose encounters put the world's survival in the balance . . .A standalone prequel to Guy's previous Children of Earth and Sky, A Brightness Long Ago offers compelling drama and moving reflections on the nature of memory, the choices we make in life, and the role played by the turning of Fortune's wheel. Perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson, Robin Hobb, Tad Williams and George R.R. Martin.Praise for Guy Gavriel Kay'The greatest living author of epic fantasy' - Brandon Sanderson'Guy Gavriel Kay has a wonderful talent. He tells stories in an invented world that is so rich in historical echoes that I found myself smiling with pleasure as I heard the echoes, while engrossed in the story. Warmly recommended' - Edward Rutherfurd, author of Sarum

Hodder & Stoughton

The Darkest Road

Guy Gavriel Kay
Authors:
Guy Gavriel Kay
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wandering Fire

Guy Gavriel Kay
Authors:
Guy Gavriel Kay
Hodder & Stoughton

The Summer Tree

Guy Gavriel Kay
Authors:
Guy Gavriel Kay
Hodder & Stoughton

Children of Earth and Sky

Guy Gavriel Kay
Authors:
Guy Gavriel Kay

Guy Gavriel Kay, bestselling author of the groundbreaking novels Under Heaven and River of Stars, once again visits a world that evokes one that existed in our own past, this time the tumultuous period of Renaissance Europe-a world on the verge of war, where ordinary lives play out in the grand scheme of kingdoms colliding.From the small coastal town of Senjan, notorious for its pirates , a young woman sets out to find vengeance for her lost family. That same spring, from the wealthy city-state of Seressa, famous for its canals and lagoon, come two very different people: a young artist traveling to the dangerous east to paint the Grand Khalif at his request-and possibly to do more-and a beautiful oman, posing as a doctor's wife in her role of a spy.The trading ship that carries them is commanded by the clever younger son of a merchant family -with ambivalence about the life he's been born to live. And farther east a boy trains to become a soldier in the elite infantry of the khalif-to win glory in the war everyone knows is coming.As these lives entwine, their fates-and those of many others-will hang in the balance, when the khalif sends out his massive army to take the great fortress that is the gateway to the western world...(P) 2016 Recorded Books